Reviews

4.3.2.1

3

Lots of get up and Go…

4.3.2.1 review

4.3.2.1 review - All hail brash ambition and brass-neck brio. Noel Clarke has both, as proven by this funky time-splicer.

Taking a big leap forward in scope, the Adulthood do-it-all and industryanointed flag-flyer for British yoof cinema makes a baby- Tarantino excursion into jagged narrative and visual friskiness that’s like Doug Liman’s Go starring the Pussycat Dolls.

It’s in four parts, kicking off in a café with its lippy heroines – sweet depressive Shannon (Ophelia Lovibond), blonde virgin Cassandra (Tamsin Egerton), token American Jo (Emma Roberts) and explosive sass-bomb Kerrys (Shanika Warren-Markland) – dropping a bag-snatcher before heading their separate ways through mean streets, mini marts and panic rooms in West London and NYC.

Each girl’s passage is traced before rewinding to the next, as they tangle with heisted diamonds, date rape, exasperating families and aggro-dishing macho dickheads.

Clarke hobbles himself by running the weakest link first (Lovibond’s energy-sapping segment) and there’s a raggedness to most aspects of 4.3.2.1, from pacing to performance to sensibility (for all their ass kicking, this quartet have as much to do with female empowerment as the aforementioned Dolls, though they do dress better).

Compensation comes with spiky cameos from R&B singer Eve and Kevin Smith, whose plane ride with Egerton harks to his recent Twitter fracas with a sizeist American airline. And while we’re on size… When Clarke has Jo surmise that his character must have a big dick, it’s either gobsmacking egotism or a joke we didn’t get. Or both.

Hollywood teems with young tyros who have an unswerving belief in their own genius, so it’d be churlish to run down Clarke for blazing his beacon across the skies of British cinema.

His talent has yet to catch up with his ego, but you can’t help wishing more Brit indies flaunted 4.3.2.1’s verve.
 

Verdict:

Lacking the polish of the Tarantino frescoes he’s striving to emulate, Clarke’s multistrander still packs enough infectious gusto, humour and surprising detours to paper its obvious cracks. He’s still on the way up, but the future is bright.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Flashpler011

      Feb 8th 2011, 18:14

      4

      I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else! payday loans

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 9th 2011, 16:36

      This movie is fantastic and I really appreciated the director who made this film great and writer who wrote great script:) New York Limo

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 11th 2011, 2:52

      4

      I was looking for some interesting post on Beta nature of business and this is what I found here, that's simply great. I am inspired by the writing style of author. I will be visiting in future to extend my knowledge. Thanks sextants for sale

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 12th 2011, 14:39

      5

      I think we need to bring more ideas for this purpose. Involvement of young people can be handy in this regard. I am happy to find a good post here. Thank you Passive House

      Alert a moderator

    • Fisherman011

      Feb 23rd 2011, 8:50

      4

      Another great example of innovation, I am glad to find it. There are so many developers working on this segment but this is one of the best innovative idea ever. Thanks for sharing it here. Blue Cross California

      Alert a moderator

    • rahuldev1234

      Feb 24th 2011, 14:18

      4

      I want to take this moment to say that I really love this blog. It has been a good resource of information for me. Thank you so much new jersey divorce lawyers

      Alert a moderator

    • michaelroy1

      Feb 24th 2011, 16:36

      These kind of post are always inspiring and I prefer to read quality content so I happy to find many good point here in the post, writing is simply great, thank you for the post forex trading

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 13:58

      4

      I was looking for some interesting post on Beta nature of business and this is what I found here, that's simply great. I am inspired by the writing style of author. I will be visiting in future to extend my knowledge. Thanks locksmith houston

      Alert a moderator

    • rahuldev1234

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:49

      Interesting post and thanks for sharing. Some things in here I have not thought about before.Thanks for making such a cool post which is really very well written.will be referring a lot of friends about this.Keep blogging lost dogs

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 2:08

      I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else! Wood Projects

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 2:08

      4

      I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else! Wood Projects

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 2:19

      4

      I am happy to find so many useful information here in the post, we need develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. Limousine Orange County

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 16:38

      3

      Thanks a lot for enjoying this beauty article with me. I am appreciating it very much! Looking forward to another great article. Good luck to the author! all the best! home insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • jessmarchant123

      Mar 2nd 2011, 9:43

      Send Flowers to your Mother any time any where through our services mothers day flowers DominicanRepublic Very Interesting And Very Great Post To Read ! Thanks For Sharing with us! mothers day flowers delivery UAE Happy Mother's Day

      Alert a moderator

    • JohnsonSmith

      Mar 3rd 2011, 10:50

      The movie is quite fantastic and I just want to appreciate the director who has put his effort to make this film excellent. I was in search of this kind of exciting post and lastly I found it. Payday cash advance

      Alert a moderator

    • Jean39a

      Mar 8th 2011, 2:03

      Really interesting to read all the comments. Hopefully we can get new posts-thanks for all the input. Raid Data Recovery

      Alert a moderator

    • kevin22

      Mar 9th 2011, 9:07

      Very useful erectile dysfunction pills

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular