Reviews

Abduction

1

Bourne yesterday...

Abduction review

The makers of Abduction probably haven’t seen Hitchcock’s North By Northwest.

If they’d borrowed from some decent source material, this teen take on the mistaken- identity thriller would have been more entertaining.

Instead it’s Agent Cody Banks meets post-shark jump 24, with what appears to be an 8-year-old Soviet body builder in the lead role.

Look closer and you may recognise Twilight’s runner-up heartthrob Taylor Lautner starring as suburban teen Nathan.

Nathan lives out every unhappy adolescent’s fantasy when he discovers those boring grown-ups living in his house aren’t his parents, after all.

The discovery of his more glamorous true lineage places Nathan at the centre of an international espionage conspiracy. Soon enough, he’s on the run with love interest Karen (Lily “sprung-from-the-loins-of-Phil” Collins) in tow.

It’s the perfect opportunity for some screwball banter, but what little romantic tension these two lightweights can muster is dissipated early on by a super cheesy kiss.

No doubt the intention was to position Lautner as an action hero with teenybopper appeal.

Unfortunately, he’s so fatally lacking presence that the support cast (Alfred Molina, Sigourney Weaver, Jason Isaacs) easily eclipses him. And they aren’t even trying.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • writerdave87

      Sep 28th 2011, 11:56

      Owch. I know it's got Taylor Lautner in it but I was hoping for a bit more than 1 star for a Singleton film with that supporting cast :(

      Alert a moderator

    • jonnykerr13

      Sep 28th 2011, 12:48

      Surprised it managed to even muster a star! Saw the advert. Nearly ruptured some important organs due to my immense shock at how bad this looked. The only role Lautner should be allowed is 'Pinocchio'... Wooden. And desperate to be a real boy...

      Alert a moderator

    • MikeyRix

      Sep 28th 2011, 16:11

      Not planning on seeing it anyway but owch. Is it really THAT bad?! Haha.

      Alert a moderator

    • Siban1982

      Sep 28th 2011, 16:57

      Love that you gave it one star! How funny! If it's one thing we need to stop, it's this whole idea that pretty people can act. Still it will make money I expect, unfortunately.

      Alert a moderator

    • piffle

      Sep 28th 2011, 23:03

      Generally I would put a review like this down to TF being mean spirited, but after seeing the trailer several times this summer I'm actually pretty sure its deserved. Taylor Lautner is pretty to look at, but in this he looks totally, shockingly wooden.

      Alert a moderator

    • Rytrospyk

      Sep 28th 2011, 23:34

      Haha I feel so bad for Taylor, you interviewed the poor guy last week.

      Alert a moderator

    • StevePotter

      Sep 29th 2011, 1:27

      My best friend said that three of HER friends said Drive was horrible and Abduction was good. I don't think I want to know these friends. (Granted, I haven't seen either, but...)

      Alert a moderator

    • Hadouken76

      Sep 29th 2011, 10:15

      Whats more shocking is that John Singleton choses this to break his 6 year absence from directing. Boyz n the hood was a loooong time ago..

      Alert a moderator

    • moviemoments

      Sep 30th 2011, 0:24

      1

      From the beginning it was known that the movie wasn't made to be a potencial oskar winner. It was created to attract fans, especially the female audience, of Taylor Lautner and Twilight saga. Despite this film is pretty enjoyable.

      Alert a moderator

    • PJY88

      Sep 30th 2011, 12:33

      Enjoyable like a colonoscopy. Seriously, if you're going to enter a genre led by Craig, Cruise and (formerly) Damon, don't hire Eyecandybot. His abs don't mask his inability to act.

      Alert a moderator

    • ringdow

      Oct 1st 2011, 14:22

      Sorry but I ejoyed this movie very much. How can you give this film 1 star after rating it worse than The Human Centipede. It started off badly but I felt it moved along really well. The theatre was half full the time that I saw it and everyone was really talking about it on the way out. I know that the lead actor was from Twilight but I feel he did a really great job. As far as reviewing a film without seeing it, how does that work? Don't bag a movie without knowing what you are reviewing.

      Alert a moderator

    • civai7

      Oct 5th 2011, 16:58

      2

      two stars because nothing can be worse than Batman and Robin or Glitter.. Imagine the worst of Michael Bay without Jerry Bruckheimer or ridiculous car chases and things blowing up, a plot worthy of eagle eye or transformers 2 and you get abduction..

      Alert a moderator

    • FBMDykes

      Oct 7th 2011, 12:31

      Have you noticed that all the people saying that the film was good make at least one spelling mistake. I knew this was going to but c**p from the first time I saw the trailer. It's another nail in the coffin of Hollywood. They can't make a decent action film anymore. I wish I was my age I am now back in the 80s, which is undoubtably the golden age of the action film.

      Alert a moderator