Reviews

Antichrist

1

Von Trier brings the horror…

Chances are you either love Lars von Trier or you hate him – and that’s exactly the way he’ll want it.

Whether it’s the emotional cruelty of Breaking The Waves, the manifesto of Dogme ’95 or the clean chalk lines of Dogville, everything he does is designed to provoke. Well he’s really gone and done it this time...

Made to lever himself out of a severe depression, Antichrist is an arthouse horror film, of sorts. Psychological, theological, positively pornographic in its lurid torture scenes (including a DIY female castration), it plays like Strindberg adapted by Eli Roth.

It is, as such, too esoteric to satisfy the gorno crowd, too icky to engage anyone else. Divided into chapters (Grief, Despair, other such nonsense), Antichrist first serves up a preposterous black-and-white prologueshot in super slow-mo: a toddler tumbling to his death while the parents (Willem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg, credited as He and She) make beautiful love. Replete with a hardcore penetration shot.

The couple then retreat to a cabin in the woods, where He – a therapist – attacks with psychobabble, and She – a nutjob – retaliates by drilling a hole through his leg. “Chaos reigns,” growls a disembowelled fox, and he’s not far wrong.

Such sarcasm would be mean-spirited were it not for the nagging suspicion that von Trier got there first. OK, so it’s possible that Antichrist is actually this notorious prankster’s most sincere film to date, that it’s a profound, personal meditation on Original Sin and a bold attempt to reclaim the art film. But it’s also possible – nay, probable – that Lars is taking the piss.

Whatever his motive, he wants viewers to be outraged, enraged, anything but disengaged, and to give Antichrist any rating other than one star or five stars would be to thwart his sterling efforts.

So here’s the one star, delivered with affection and yes, a fair amount of anger. It’s exactly what he would have wanted.

Verdict:

Catcalled at Cannes, this thoroughly pretentious offering is more childish and terrible than enfant terrible. The most startling – and boring – film you’ll see this year.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • captainchod

      Aug 12th 2009, 13:30

      2

      Looks amazing in places, but it's an absolute mess overall. Feels like there could have been a good film in there, but ruined by sections where nothing happens and then the utter confusion that runs riot. Only worth a look if you really want to see all the contraversial bits, which you really don't!

      Alert a moderator

    • ChristoLaurent

      Mar 8th 2010, 10:28

      4

      (Spoilers...maybe) Thats a pretty cack review guys. Only bits I didnt like myself were the "real sex" bit...utterly pointless but managed not to spoil a stunning prologue. And the self-mutilation scene, did it really need the close up? But other than that, I thought it was brilliant.

      Alert a moderator

    • durden

      Apr 4th 2010, 17:29

      3

      whoever wrote this article should be shot in the knee!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • watchfordream

      Sep 28th 2010, 10:56

      2

      Alert a moderator

    • cocokathy123

      Oct 11th 2010, 9:37

      5

      cocokathy1106Here let me introduce the louis vuitton outlet to you. Coating in shiny patent leather as well as textile lining with a striking louis vuitton in large golden brass letters, it would be standing out other gorgeouslouis vuitton handbags from top fashion brands due to its brilliant material and exquisite design. Therefore, it would be an ideal louis vuitton outlet store for participating a party or a date when you don't need to carry a lot. Open with the magnetic Louis Vuitton Wallets, one zipped pocket adds its interior space. And this clutch is designed for hand-held. From louis vuitton outlet store. cocokathy1106Gucci Bags advertisement series lay great importance to two words " Forever Now " this time. The advertisement of Gucci Handbags hold theme of long history of brand and a series of activities of establishment of Gucci Outlet for 90th anniverary. We can already see the new advertisement of Discount Gucci handbags on some International magazines, and the day of publication was the same time of Gucci Men Shoes fall show. The new advertisement is two black and white picture, it takes us returning back to the factory of Gucci Walltes in Florence of 1950s. cocokathy1106This amazing coach handbags for those busy days or nights of perfect. discount coach handbags , leaders and affordable for the American luxury brand known to create attractive designer coach handbags outlet stores and accessories. cheap coach handbags fashion handbags and signature characteristics and use of quality fabrics materials.Shop these coaches and the latest design wallet Coach Wallets Coach Patchwork Handbags here. Coach purses are new arrivals direct from the factory area . .Check more classical style Poppy Coach bags our online store, buy more and more concessions. cocokathy1106his rare deep red chanel bags are with the hermetic crocodiles. Locking close to add luxury this chanel handbags. In our store, we provide you with the best quality reproductions, chanel bags – red bag HB021 crocodile line all. Therefore, we are lower, the wholesale price reproductions, Chanel Handbags 2010. It may have used more leather than some people would have preferred, but leather chanel jewelry sale are their bread and butter. chanel purses have always been a favorite choice among a lot of celebrities. so celebrities and everyone who have this sure made a great choice with this chanel 2.55. cocokathy1106Coach Outlet to maintain the same position for too long after walking the main useful function of structure. And many common shoes may aggravate the situation. But now,cheap Coach Outlet Store online the main battle tank in your shoes can eliminate these problems and cheapCoach Handbags can help you maintain your health. When do you usually wear Coach handbags,painless leisure and Cultural Services Department to accept. so shoes and bresk interpretation of daylight saving time, a pair of coach handbags outlet feet relax and rest. Now we present you a few shots of what Moncler has set to release as part of their Holiday 2010 collection. Pictures are two new colorways of the Moncler Jackets one in black/white and the other in red/black.There is also a Moncler Coat in purple, a Supra Society Shoes in maroon, a Supra Vaider in black/red and another in black/blue. Follow the jump to have a closer look at all the Moncler Jackets On Sale and stay tuned to coachshandbags.com, we will keep you posted about these moncler jackets women.Supra shoes Sale gives us a first look at their TUF Black Tape Pack. The pack will consist of three sneaker, all in which is introduced in a red and black colorway. The shoe’s that are included in the models are the Skytop, Vaider, and Skylow 1.5,moncler jackets mens

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Oct 20th 2010, 8:19

      its good to see this information in your post, i was looking the same but there was not any proper resource. Custom Coursework Custom Assignment Custom Dissertation

      Alert a moderator

    • hongchen

      Dec 21st 2010, 7:54

      Good day from Russia! Will it be possible for me to quote a post in your weblog using the link to you? I’ve tried emailing you about this issue but it appears i cant reach you, please reply when have a moment, thanks. GenFX HGH Releasers Review – Natural Human Growth Hormone

      Alert a moderator

    • hongchen

      Dec 21st 2010, 7:55

      Good day from Russia! Will it be possible for me to quote a post in your weblog using the link to you? I’ve tried emailing you about this issue but it appears i cant reach you, please reply when have a moment, thanks. Software Reviews

      Alert a moderator

    • Georgia19

      Jan 27th 2011, 8:22

      1

      Oh, yeah. I saw Antichrist last week. Saying that it is boring and strange - it means saying nothing. Well, you say, that directer wanted to call exactly these emotions... Perhaps, you're right. But now I regret that I watched it. I'd better play online roulette for two hours.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sheeelashela

      Feb 18th 2011, 8:32

      3

      These kind of post are always inspiring and I prefer to read quality content so I happy to find many good point here in the post, writing is simply great, thank you for the post good night quotes

      Alert a moderator

    • Fisherman011

      Feb 21st 2011, 15:24

      3

      I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else! Loan Modification

      Alert a moderator

    • jordansshoes

      Feb 22nd 2011, 9:06

      In planning for Chad's official nike jordan shoes service, I poured over dozens of other verses about love. Nothing jordan shoes eleven spoke to me.as I read it, I felt it coming alive for the first time. Really, what cheap nike jordan on sale got me the most that day wasn't just the passage itself. Or the way The Message nike jordan translated it. Instead, these verses spoke to me mostly because of where I was emotionally at the nike air jordan time. My younger brother was getting married. I wasn't dating anyone. I was lonely. and jordans shoes worst of all, I was struggling with low confidence and the whole authentic nike air jordan shoes concept of why someone would love me. This emotional mess all came to a head on a family trip only jordan shoes clearance weeks before Chad had asked me to read in his ceremony. To make a long story air jordan shoes short, I felt like everyone was out to get me, so I attacked first. I treated the very people I love jordan on sale free shipping the most without love or trust and with much jordan men shoes clearance bitterness. My temper flared, I thought only of myself, and people got air jordan retro series hurt. HYD

      Alert a moderator

    • JohnsonSmith

      Mar 3rd 2011, 13:48

      I saw Antichrist last week. In this post, you told that the director wanted to call exactly these emotions... maybe, you are correct. However, the story is very conceptual and the way you have expressed your thoughts are just appreciating. It makes the reader too curious to read the complete story. No credit check loans | Personal credit

      Alert a moderator

    • treysmith01

      Mar 3rd 2011, 15:25

      more and more anti christ movie have been coming out lately..and, they could greally be boring. Trey Smith | best iphone games | Google VS Yahoo VS Bing

      Alert a moderator

    • glegs

      May 6th 2011, 10:46

      5

      So good. One of the best films of the decade without a doubt.

      Alert a moderator

    • calumbo

      Aug 11th 2011, 18:29

      1

      agree with glegs, amazing show.

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular