Reviews

Black Death

3

Goes off the boil…

Black Death review

Black Death review - Centurion, Solomon Kane, Valhalla Rising… British horror has been getting seriously medieval on our asses lately.

Now it’s Severance director Christopher Smith’s turn. Can his fourth effort find some dark poetry in the Dark Ages?

Smith is a talented director, one of the great British hopes, but accusations of narrative magpie-ing dogged both Creep and Triangle, and Dario Poloni’s (Wilderness) screenplay is unlikely to provide absolution. The year is 1348 and the pestilence of the title – “more cruel and more pitiless than war” – has decimated England’s God-fearing populace.

Taking young monk Osmund (Eddie Redmayne) as their guide, Ulric (Sean Bean) and his band of mercenaries are on a mission to reclaim a remote village from necromancer Langiva (Carice van Houten) – by force if necessary. It’s all in the name of The Lord, of course, but that doesn’t stop Bean and his not-so-merry-men raising merry hell along the way.

The period recreation is (well, looks) flawless, the fights are suitably brutal (Bean was born to wear armour, lop off limbs and shout, “We ride at dawn!”) and Smith conjures a benighted world of witch burnings and black-toothed corpses with handheld élan.

It’s only when the tragically miscast Tim McInnerny (too genial) and Van Houten (too Dutch) turn up that the film, like the protagonists, finds itself stuck. The supernatural threat they pose palls in comparison to the corporeal horrors of the plague outside – it’s hard to believe a bunch of tree-huggers could take on Boromir himself.

Things get back on track for the denouement, though genre fans may still feel they have bones to pick with Smith and Poloni. While the points the duo raise about the tyrannies of faith and indoctrination are valid ones, to borrow scenarios so baldly from two cult British classics (we’re not saying which) is practically blasphemy
 

Verdict:

Having set his characters adrift in a world gone-to-hell, Smith proceeds to leave them (and us) hanging. The result is a brave, serious-minded but odd film that promises more than it delivers

Film Details

User Reviews

    • jimb45

      Jan 23rd 2011, 3:39

      5

      There is so much great action in this movie. The storyline behind the movie is so good. Keep up with the great movies. orlando cosmetic dentists

      Alert a moderator

    • alexia747

      Jan 24th 2011, 2:55

      This was a really great movie. I work for a letting agents Cardiff and I really love to watch movies with co-workers. This is very interesting.

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Jan 25th 2011, 7:34

      4

      Recently I came across your blog and I've been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I do not know what to say except that I liked reading. Nice blog. I'll keep visiting this blog often. life experience associate degree AND life experience bachelor degree AND life experience master degree

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Jan 25th 2011, 7:34

      4

      Just wanted to leave a quick comment to say that your blog was beautiful. I found it on google search after going through much more information that was not really relevant. I thought I would find it much before examining how the information is correct. life experience doctorate degree AND life experience phd degree

      Alert a moderator

    • meliss33c

      Jan 26th 2011, 21:27

      I loved watching this movie. It was really very interesting for me and I am going to buy the DVD when I can. This was really a great article. Thanks Melissa Hanson - affordable health insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Jan 27th 2011, 9:40

      I loved watching this movie. It was really very interesting for me and I am going to buy the DVD when I can. watch the roommate online | watch sanctum online | watch cedar rapids online

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Jan 29th 2011, 6:55

      I'd watched this movie with my friends and I really great movie Horror movie and They did good action in this movie:) Job

      Alert a moderator

    • Megan259

      Jan 30th 2011, 0:58

      This is a great movie. It has action and a great plot. Thanks for the review and I now want to watch this again. Megan - Hard Drive Recovery Agent

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Jan 31st 2011, 14:14

      This was a well great movie ,. we saw this movie in our Projector with whole family...Nice horror movie Herniated Disc

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 1st 2011, 15:36

      I watched this movie and I will rate 10/10 to this movie...It is fantastic + dramatic and horror as well Plantas electricas caracas

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Feb 2nd 2011, 7:55

      I watched this movie and I will rate 10/10 to this movie...It is fantastic + dramatic and horror as well lights out season 1 episode 4 southland season 3 episode 5 white collar season 2 episode 12 cougar town season 2 episode 14 american idol season 10 episode 5 human target season 2 episode 10 chase season 1 episode 15 off the map season 1 episode 4 blue bloods season 1 episode 13 wipeout season 4 episode 5 grey's anatomy season 7 episode 13 the big bang theory season 4 episode 14

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 2nd 2011, 14:53

      Black death is horror movie to watch and I think it will be more fun if we watch with friends or night show Pest control

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 5th 2011, 15:03

      I'd bought this movie DVD 2 days back and I am assure that this is great movie to watch Horror + dramatic. Egg donor agency

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 6th 2011, 9:44

      This is fantastic horror movie to watch and I really want to see it once more time. Pikavippi

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 7th 2011, 15:57

      This is great movie to watch and I really like this movie it is full dramatic + horror Herniated Disc

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 8th 2011, 15:22

      This is fantastic movie we had saw it in cinema and Its full horror Movie...! Tienda virtua

      Alert a moderator

    • Flashpler011

      Feb 8th 2011, 18:13

      5

      I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else! VLC

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 10th 2011, 15:13

      I'd watched this movie and It is one of the best movie of the year which I like most to watch It....! I appreciate the writer who wrote it script:) Los angeles DUI lawyer

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 11th 2011, 14:42

      I was watched this movie in cinema with my friends and Really we was scared this is great movie ..! Portable Vaporizers

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 13th 2011, 15:12

      Black death is nice movie to watch in cinema and with the friend ...It was very horror and very Impressive movie:) Lego

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 16th 2011, 14:01

      I really love to watch movies with co-workers. The storyline behind the movie is so good. Keep up with the great movies Cat Condo

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 18th 2011, 6:49

      There are so many great steps in this film. the storyline behind movie is so a good. Keep up the great films MMA Houston

      Alert a moderator

    • danielwilkins

      Feb 19th 2011, 11:00

      Thanks for sharing the information dude. my blogs: cityville cheats | master cleanse

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 19th 2011, 11:38

      We had watched this movie in cinema and I'm keen not understand how's it possible it is dramatic and horror movie Will have to watch one more time:) Used cars UK

      Alert a moderator

    • willsonn

      Feb 23rd 2011, 13:45

      Wow I am crazy about films......i love to see your site......thanks for executing such a wonderful collection....when you say tragically miscast Tim McInnerny..........its a good analysis.... artho@electronic cigarette

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:29

      3

      I am happy to find so many useful information here in the post, we need develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. Business Credit

      Alert a moderator

    • mariogirl

      Mar 5th 2011, 12:09

      3

      Recently I came across your blog and I've been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I do not know what to say except that I liked reading. Nice blog. I'll keep visiting this blog often. Barbie spelletjes are cool don't you think?

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 10th 2011, 15:08

      Proposals to censor the Net emerged lipitor no prescription at the university, and then in the government: I started Banned Books Online lipitor without prescription to alert folks of what this could mean for online books and for free expression in general. Copyright law also shifted over the years, becoming more and more restrictive just as the Net was making the benefits of free online metformin no prescription books apparent to citizens at large. So I started to gather information about copyright, and pass along messages metformin without prescription urging copyright reform, and trying to organize folks producing and using nexium 40 mg online books. The Book People list was one of the results.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 10th 2011, 15:10

      I'm also looking forward buy sibutramine to a lot of public domain material soon being made freely readable in full online via the Google Lihrary project and other mass-digitization efforts mentioned in this forum. I hope buy suhagra that the public-domain side of the Google Print service can continue unabated even as this lawsuit continues. The original announcement that went out to the Net didn't even mention the books page. It was just cipro without prescription another page on a departmental web site. It had a few links to some books that Robert Stockton, a collegue of mine, had adapted for the Web from Project Gutenberg. And it had a few links to Project Gutenberg's main FTP site, and some other book FTP and Gopher sites. Gutenberg diflucan without prescription itself had fewer than 100 books, but its founder was claiming that they'd have over 10,000 before long. Most folks, myself prednisone 10 mg included, found it hard to believe there'd be that many online in the foreseeable future.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 6:55

      Coming back to the Darwinian prozac with out prescription thing, lawyers, since they are smart, and generally well-meaning prozac no prescription (generally) they do an absolutely amazing job of rationalizing each and every one of the above areas. There is a germ of truth in all of their risperdal no prescription defenses. They are trained to make their arguments well. They are motivated to do so as they do not want to see the negative in what they do. They are much strattera with out prescription more motivated than you or I are on the other side of these arguments. My personal experience has been that the longer they do it, the more invested in the defenses strattera no prescription they become. Completely human. Completely understandable. To me the contrast is engineers. engineers are trained to create things. To build things. To make something where nothing was before.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:08

      Before I turn to some examples, let me give my theory of causality. For a number of systemic and societal reasons the North American educational cheap accupril system has produced a huge number of lawyers. This is true both in absolute numbers and in relative numbers. Relative to other countries and relative to other professions. Lawyers also tend to be smarter than average. Humans cheap acomplia are generally Darwinian in that they are amazingly adept at survival. Thus, we have had an oversupply of smart, Darwinian parasites. Nature takes cheap avandamet its course. They create systems that benefit themselves to the detriment of the economy cheap bactrim generally. They are good at it. Almost without exception they do it in a way that maximizes both the size of the pie they can eat as well as the number of individuals cheap clomidonline impacted. This ensures that very, very few individuals feel the impact beyond that of a few crumbs while the parasites enjoy all-they-can eat desserts

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:11

      A few things up front. First, my wife is a lawyer, my sister pariet 20mg is a lawyer, my brother-in-law is a lawyer, my best friend is a revia 50mg lawyer, heck I used to be a lawyer. Second, I will be making a number side effects of diflucan of ad hominem arguments. There is no way to go deep on all of the points I wish to put forward. Third, my comments are general. There are lawyers who create zovirax no prescription value. There are also smokers who live to 100. Most are good people. Most mean well. Most are good parents and friends. Even better, they control the making of the societal rules just in case.

      Alert a moderator

    • williamsmith61

      Mar 14th 2011, 6:16

      I visited this site and found it informative u also visit this site and surely u will find this visit productive Kreditkort

      Alert a moderator

    • deesydia

      Apr 15th 2011, 13:14

      3

      Huh? This isn't horror, but your average, medieval-themed movie. Some action scenes were good, while others fall short. The background scenery makes it more realistic, and that's a good point of the movie. Giving it 3 out of 5 stars. Dee - http://woodworkingplansdiy.org/

      Alert a moderator

    • eugenekhaytsin

      Oct 11th 2012, 12:07

      Wow, this post is very interesting and elegant; I love to read this every day, thanks for sharing this to us, I definitely shared this to my friends. Dentist 11223 Gravesend Brooklyn

      Alert a moderator