Reviews

Brooklyn's Finest

3

Copper load of Snipes…

Brooklyn's Finest review

Brooklyn's Finest review - Director Antoine Fuqua clocks in for another Training Day with this gritty urban thriller about a trio of New York City cops treading murky moral waters in Brooklyn’s crime-ridden projects.

Expanding his earlier film’s 24-hour time frame to a week, Fuqua takes a similarly leisurely approach to plotting in this engrossing yet seldom gripping saga, which populates its vivid setting with over-familiar archetypes that will feel wearily predictable to anyone who has seen Serpico, Donnie Brasco and their ilk.

That’s not to say the reliable Don Cheadle doesn’t bring admirable conviction to his role as an undercover ’tec whose hopes of career advancement rest on him bringing down his drug-dealing friend (Wesley Snipes). Or that Richard Gere can’t make you empathise with his veteran plod as he faces his last seven days on the beat. It’s just that we can chart their future trajectories as soon as they arrive on screen, turning this twohour tale into something of a long haul towards a conclusion you can see coming from the lobby.

We know it is only a matter of time before Cheadle, Gere and Ethan Hawke – overacting somewhat as a desperate narc struggling to make ends meet – cross paths, and that it really won’t be pretty when they do. Until that point comes, there is little to do except put our feet up while we watch them go through their sub-Wire motions and wait for tyro screenwriter Michael C Martin to get to the point.

Martin – a former subway employee whose script was spotted after it came runner-up in a writing competition – has better luck on the fringes of his story, giving Cheadle a formidable opponent in Ellen Barkin’s ball-busting Fed and Snipes his best part in years as the ruthless but oddly noble kingpin to whom he owes his life. But subtlety, alas, is hardly his strong point, Hawke’s ethical decay being rather too obviously signified by the creeping wood mould rotting his house from within.
 

Verdict:

Fuqua shot on real locations to give this drama an authentic sheen. Shame, then, that some of his characters ring false. But no gripes about Snipes, reminding us how good he once was and could be again.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Marita259

      Jan 21st 2011, 3:20

      This was a great movie. It had the best cast that any director could ever pick and it was just a great time all around. I went to see it as a preview I got through my cheap auto insurance job and I loved it.

      Alert a moderator

    • mariah33z

      Jan 21st 2011, 17:51

      This was a great review that I really do appreciate. I love this awesome website and I cant wait to read the next review. Thanks Maria Johnson - datarecovery

      Alert a moderator

    • katelynfd34

      Jan 22nd 2011, 7:39

      Thanks I love this site! Keep up the great work! Love the review. Look forward to more! Kate from Luxury Ski HolidaysAll Inclusive Ski Packagess

      Alert a moderator

    • mackenziehjdg

      Jan 22nd 2011, 21:02

      Thanks I really like the site. The review was awesome. This movie was better than I thought! Mackenzie from Mercedes Contract Hire

      Alert a moderator

    • Kylie259

      Jan 23rd 2011, 22:50

      This was a great movie with a good plot and kept you in suspense the whole movie. Can't wait to see it again. Kylie from Find Loads

      Alert a moderator

    • AndrewBurns1234

      Jan 25th 2011, 2:54

      I love this movie! Good review too! I really appreciate the post! Thanks! Andy from Sell Gold

      Alert a moderator

    • katelynfd34

      Jan 28th 2011, 2:00

      Love this movie, Ethan Hawke is better in this than in Training Day. Good Review! Can't wait to read more! Golf Hotel

      Alert a moderator

    • non12step

      Jan 28th 2011, 21:00

      4

      This movie did remind me of Training Day, but with more character portrayal and roles involved. mixed martial arts | mma for beginners

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Jan 31st 2011, 23:35

      5

      I'm no expert, but I just made an excellent point. Of course I understand what your speech, and can really get behind that. Thanks for staying so far ahead and so sincere. Pay Per Click Management

      Alert a moderator

    • non12step

      Feb 1st 2011, 1:28

      4

      After watching it a second time, I think Training Day is still better. FHA Loans

      Alert a moderator

    • marktaylor5151

      Feb 3rd 2011, 14:00

      Love this movie Computer Repairs

      Alert a moderator

    • winikkalanderos

      Feb 3rd 2011, 14:16

      5

      Hi. I love this movie! Good review too! Thanks. resveratrol

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Feb 5th 2011, 18:55

      4

      my fevorat hero and movie....Massage Mattoon Illinois

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Feb 8th 2011, 15:37

      This was a great movie with a good plot and kept in suspense throughout the film. I can not wait to see it again. web marketing services Wireless Security System

      Alert a moderator

    • zariadurkin

      Feb 11th 2011, 8:44

      4

      Hi. I've watched this movie two times and I love this movie! oem software sales

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Feb 13th 2011, 20:30

      Draws you right in from the start, builds tension to a climactic point late in the film. In the middle, you get to absorb a lot of NYC atmosphere which somewhat compensates for the formulaic nature of the film. Buying Binoculars GuideYou've seen it all before, there's no new ground, but its done in a way that will hold your interest

      Alert a moderator

    • vepolo

      Feb 18th 2011, 9:44

      great movie! canada online

      Alert a moderator

    • kimhoerner

      Feb 19th 2011, 15:35

      4

      This was a great movie. Cool review ! Thanks! faxless payday loans

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Feb 24th 2011, 18:08

      Heavy, portentous acting, stylized filming and an operatic ending (the best part of the story) still leave us wondering what the whole sordid trip is for. The story's just three unoriginal plot lines, competently if bombastically put together – though the writer may have realized he needed three tales to make up for each one's paucity. Again, the lack of any theme other than "life's a b***h on NYC streets" makes the whole effort tedious.birds for sale.Proof again what makes a good movie is not primarily the directing and acting but the script: Fuqua can't begin to make another Training Day out of this can of generic beans.

      Alert a moderator

    • mohsin2

      Feb 27th 2011, 17:31

      I just made an excellent point. Of course I understand what your speech, and can really get behind that. clarinet repairs

      Alert a moderator

    • gordon6o9

      Feb 28th 2011, 9:07

      4

      We know it is only a matter of time before Cheadle, Gere and Ethan Hawke – overacting somewhat as a desperate narc struggling to make ends meet – cross paths, and that it really won’t be pretty when they do. hard drive diagnostic

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Feb 28th 2011, 9:53

      It was weird, my comment was eaten. Anyway, I meant it is good to know that someone mentioned also having trouble finding the same information elsewhere. This was the first place, that tells me the answer. Thanks. online undergraduate certificate AND online graduate certificate

      Alert a moderator

    • katrina1212

      Feb 28th 2011, 12:36

      I like this type of blog because it is about film.I love the efforts you have put in this, thank you for all the great content . blue film|blue films

      Alert a moderator

    • mccarey4j

      Mar 1st 2011, 10:50

      The story's just three unoriginal plot lines, competently if bombastically put together – though the writer may have realized he needed three tales to make up for each one's paucity. Best Sportsbook

      Alert a moderator

    • aaronmokoena

      Mar 1st 2011, 13:02

      This was a great review that I really do appreciate. I love this awesome website and I cant wait to read the next review. Sports Handicappers

      Alert a moderator

    • mathieu4h

      Mar 2nd 2011, 9:54

      In the middle, you get to absorb a lot of NYC atmosphere which somewhat compensates for the formulaic nature of the film YouTube movies

      Alert a moderator

    • mathieu4h

      Mar 2nd 2011, 9:54

      In the middle, you get to absorb a lot of NYC atmosphere which somewhat compensates for the formulaic nature of the film YouTube movies

      Alert a moderator

    • Jagielka

      Mar 2nd 2011, 13:09

      Draws you right in from the start, builds tension to a climactic point late in the film. In the middle, you get to absorb a lot of NYC atmosphere which somewhat compensates for the formulaic nature of the film. TV shows online

      Alert a moderator

    • darwin8u

      Mar 2nd 2011, 13:52

      5

      Fuqua was born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, graduating from Taylor Allderdice High School in 1983. Fuqua attended West Virginia University and West Virginia State University but did not graduate. His uncle was singer, songwriter, record producer, and record label executive Harvey Fuqua. FSBOads

      Alert a moderator

    • mccarey4j

      Mar 3rd 2011, 7:16

      portentous acting, stylized filming and an operatic ending (the best part of the story) still leave us wondering what the whole sordid trip is for. The story's just three unoriginal plot lines, competently if bombastically put together – though the writer may have realized he needed three tales to make up for each one's paucity. Aftershave

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Mar 3rd 2011, 8:06

      Every day I see your website as it helps me in my many works and is very beneficial for me,Bangkok Condo Rentals because it gives the work a professional touch that is really an amazing thing.

      Alert a moderator

    • Glovek77

      Mar 3rd 2011, 20:14

      Brooklyn's finest has a great plotline...I really like this! Thanks for the awesome review. mens linen shirts

      Alert a moderator

    • non12step

      Mar 3rd 2011, 23:00

      Anyone know what projects director Fuqua is currently working on? He always puts out great films. HYIP monitoring

      Alert a moderator

    • Hangeland

      Mar 4th 2011, 5:57

      5

      Proof again what makes a good movie is not primarily the directing and acting but the script: Fuqua can't begin to make another Training Day out of this can of generic beans. bedford website design

      Alert a moderator

    • jagosvukovic

      Mar 4th 2011, 10:52

      5

      In the middle, you get to absorb a lot of NYC atmosphere which somewhat compensates for the formulaic nature of the film. top netbooks

      Alert a moderator

    • mohsin2

      Mar 5th 2011, 15:43

      Heavy, portentous acting, stylized filming and an operatic ending (the best part of the story) still leave us wondering what the whole sordid trip is for. The story's just three unoriginal plot lines, competently if bombastically put together – though the writer may have realized he needed three tales to make up for each one's paucity. Again, the lack of any theme other than seo consultants

      Alert a moderator

    • johnym

      Mar 6th 2011, 8:27

      5

      Great movie. I watched it several times already. A retired cop, despite its flaws, aroused in me a little sympathy. I recommend this movie. Utube

      Alert a moderator

    • flemming7y

      Mar 7th 2011, 6:34

      still leave us wondering what the whole sordid trip is for. The story's just three unoriginal plot lines, competently if bombastically put together – though the writer may have realized he needed three tales to make up for each one's paucity. Again, the lack of any theme other than "life's a b***h on NYC streets" makes the whole effort tedious iphone repair parts

      Alert a moderator

    • dannycollins

      Mar 7th 2011, 8:38

      5

      This was a great movie with a good plot and kept you in suspense the whole movie. Can't wait to see it again. Free Games for iPod Touch

      Alert a moderator

    • shebag12

      Mar 7th 2011, 11:39

      I believe other website proprietors should take this web site as an example , very clean and superb user pleasant design and style . bangla song|bangla movie

      Alert a moderator

    • young63h

      Mar 7th 2011, 13:22

      Fuqua attended West Virginia University and West Virginia State University but did not graduate. His uncle was singer, songwriter, record producer, and record label executive Harvey Fuqua. ipad repair

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Mar 8th 2011, 7:06

      I am visiting this site for the first time and really happy to navigate this site cause is full of power packed contain. Very warm welcome from the best provider of enterprise Walker.camera video hd

      Alert a moderator

    • heskey4h

      Mar 8th 2011, 10:51

      Proof again what makes a good movie is not primarily the directing and acting but the script: Fuqua can't begin to make another Training Day out of this can of generic beans ipad repair parts

      Alert a moderator

    • alves43J

      Mar 9th 2011, 9:55

      Pennsylvania, graduating from Taylor Allderdice High School in 1983. Fuqua attended West Virginia University and West Virginia State University but did not graduate.Hand Scraped Teak Floors

      Alert a moderator

    • rockey

      Mar 9th 2011, 10:38

      4

      Its always good to have tips on good blog posting. As I just started posting comments for blog and faced a lot of rejections. I think your suggestion would be helpful for me. I will let you know if this works for me.Cheap Sex Toys

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Mar 9th 2011, 17:22

      5

      It is really hard to think in depth about this subject. I appreciate your efforts about this article.colon cleanse I have heard much about this country and the particular class in the country but never got a chance to get a deep idea about its economical and social structure.colon cleanse I read the whole article and found it impressive and appreciable. I was not much even aware with the concept of mine workers in Bolivia. I am thankful for such wonderful information on the subject.penny auctions

      Alert a moderator

    • AndrewBurns1234

      Mar 10th 2011, 6:44

      4

      This is great! Keep up the good work. Love the review! Property For Sale Abroad

      Alert a moderator

    • valera7h

      Mar 10th 2011, 9:43

      West Virginia University and West Virginia State University but did not graduate. His uncle was singer, songwriter, record producer, and record label executive Harvey Fuqua Green Egg grill

      Alert a moderator

    • zusica

      Mar 10th 2011, 15:56

      4

      I was expecting this move would have done much better. I see what you are saying about the predictibility of the end, but is not the case in almost all movies of this type? auto insurance quotes

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Mar 10th 2011, 21:05

      4

      I also found interesting your blogs. In fact, after reading, I had to go to show my friend and he liked too! electronic cigarette | electric cigarette

      Alert a moderator

    • lauradw1

      Mar 10th 2011, 21:27

      Movies about cops often delude our thinking. screen printing chemicals are needed to give us an illusion of force.

      Alert a moderator

    • zidanezidan

      Mar 11th 2011, 8:07

      4

      I like this ice machine post.

      Alert a moderator

    • zidanezidan

      Mar 11th 2011, 8:08

      4

      I like this ice machine post.

      Alert a moderator

    • TenantScreening

      Mar 18th 2011, 10:04

      this is very humorous "Cheadle a formidable opponent in Ellen Barkin’s ball-busting Fed and Snipes his best part in years as the ruthless but oddly noble kingpin to whom he owes his life. But subtlety, alas, is hardly his strong point, Tenant Screening

      Alert a moderator

    • baines45h

      Mar 31st 2011, 10:09

      This was a great movie with a good plot and kept you in suspense the whole movie. Can't wait to see it again. Kylie from Find Loads outsource link building

      Alert a moderator

    • deesydia

      May 24th 2011, 6:22

      3

      A disappointing film, really. It was hyped as the "blockbuster film of the month", but failed to achieve said status. They could have done better, really. Dee - http://woodworkingplansdiy.org

      Alert a moderator

    • deesydia

      Aug 29th 2011, 2:30

      Watched it a while ago with our friends during our movie marathon (weird, it seems that all the movies we watched end up in here), and it's still kinda boring. Dee - http://www.marketbold.com/KeywordSniperPro/

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular