Reviews

Cheri

3

Hats off to Pfeiffer…

The last time Stephen Frears directed Michelle Pfeiffer in a Christopher Hampton script, the outcome was Dangerous Liaisons: a film that thrust a hot poker up the literary costume drama and somehow made John Malkovich sexy.

Two decades on, the same talent serve up something far less heady. Compared to the quadruple-espresso injection provided by Liaisons’ conniving aristocrats, Chéri is like a mug of Horlicks – a bit of steam on top but nothing to trouble your heart rate.

Which isn’t to say the film doesn’t deliver its share of indulgent pleasures. In its Colette-authored tale of the eponymous rake (Rupert Friend) and his uneasily navigated path between insufferable mother (Kathy Bates) and older lover (Pfeiffer) – rival courtesans past their sell-by and living lives of lonely leisure – Chéri revels in the claustrophobic lives of a rich, cynical breed with little to occupy their time apart from peacock-strutting and bitchy broadsides.

Yes, the parlour games burden Chéri with a stagebound ambience but they also allow Hampton to dispense a healthy quota of cracking stingers and Frears to bask in the period’s silky-smooth detail.

The opposite of her pained, devotional Madame de Tourvel, Pfeiffer sinks her teeth into Lea de Lonval, although she (and the audience) probably wishes there’d been more meat on the bone. Still, she’s a compulsive act to watch, swanning about in ridiculous hats and sharpening her talons on former sex-worker competitors. Where Chéri suffers is in its doomed central romance.

Pfeiffer has magnetic moments as the older woman in lust with youth, but it’s impossible to give a fig for Friend’s bland, spoiled brat-boy. When Bates railroads Chéri into an arranged marriage, his torment generates as much sympathy as you’d feel watching David Beckham shed tears over not being able to flee LA Galaxy… in other words, zero.

Matt Mueller

Verdict:

This reunion of Dangerous Liaisons talent is a lighter, less demanding confection than its blistering predecessor. Languid delights come in the shape of Pfeiffer, Bates and some extraordinary hats, but the title character is a wash-out.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • ellyka19

      Oct 25th 2010, 8:57

      5

      I like your blog, currently we are looking for a part time article writer would you be interested? comparatif tarif assurance auto

      Alert a moderator

    • ellyka19

      Oct 27th 2010, 10:04

      5

      Nicely presented information in this post, I prefer to read this kind of stuff. The quality of content is fine and the conclusion is good. Thanks for the post. tarif assurance voiture sans permis

      Alert a moderator

    • joeroeder

      Nov 23rd 2010, 6:34

      5

      Check back soon for updates!I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post Acai Berry Diet

      Alert a moderator

    • jaini

      Nov 26th 2010, 5:33

      4

      Just 3 stars to this movie? I thought it should go more than 4 or maybe 4 1/2 Not sure how you people rate movies Channel 7 Acai Berry

      Alert a moderator

    • tommyhilq

      Dec 19th 2010, 8:20

      5

      A great and entertaining movie for sure. Love it huge Colleges

      Alert a moderator

    • ewok75

      Dec 20th 2010, 18:08

      4

      Well Michelle was wonderful in this movie. She really is very talented. Regards from fat burning furnace ripoff office site.

      Alert a moderator

    • willsonn

      Dec 30th 2010, 14:38

      I am crazy about movies.I want to say that films deliver its share of indulgent pleasures. It is an interesting blog. curt nike shox

      Alert a moderator

    • smith

      Jan 7th 2011, 7:52

      I have seen Madame de Tourvel,it is very inter setting movie the story of the movie is very different i. I like it very much. colon cleanse reviews

      Alert a moderator

    • AutoInsurance

      Jan 8th 2011, 6:26

      hey this was a great post. I really liked what you had to say Now I know it and will tell to my friends about this blog That was pretty good information. Wonderful to read your post You rock it up and keep rocking. Auto Insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • jonathan200

      Jan 25th 2011, 23:28

      Well Michelle was wonderful in this movie. She really is very talented. Regards from fat burning furnace ripoff office site. como bajar de peso dietas para bajar de peso en una semana shed plans

      Alert a moderator

    • AcaiDietNews

      Feb 12th 2011, 5:22

      5

      I wanted to write a quick note to express my thanks. I'm really impressed by a blog unique and perfectly chosen and organized! Channel 6 Acai Berry New

      Alert a moderator

    • Insurance

      Feb 16th 2011, 14:15

      I am very much happy that I've learnt something new and good information... Insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • Sheeelashela

      Feb 18th 2011, 8:46

      4

      Still there is room for greater development and I would recommend more emphasis on research and of course it will bring a better situation. Thanks for sharing a nice read. Cheers happy birthday messages

      Alert a moderator

    • CreditExpert

      Feb 18th 2011, 9:10

      5

      This is truly informative post. I'll share with my friends.. well I really like what you had mentioned in your post... Credit Expert Credit Expert

      Alert a moderator

    • Fisherman011

      Feb 22nd 2011, 2:24

      4

      Still there is room for greater development and I would recommend more emphasis on research and of course it will bring a better situation. Thanks for sharing a nice read. Cheers Loan Modification Help

      Alert a moderator

    • ColonCleanse

      Feb 25th 2011, 13:30

      5

      I am happy that I learn something new. Colon Cleanse on CBS

      Alert a moderator

    • ColonCleanse

      Feb 27th 2011, 10:16

      5

      I will visit again, keep updating your blogs. I like it. Work at Home on CBS

      Alert a moderator

    • Insurance

      Mar 1st 2011, 4:15

      Very good information.. you have also posted statistics which is very easy to understand... I am very much happy that I've learnt something new and good information... It is truly informative one... Health Insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • AutoInsurance

      Mar 1st 2011, 6:52

      5

      You post sounds great.. Very unique informations you've posted.. good job done.. Gadget

      Alert a moderator

    • CreditExpert

      Mar 3rd 2011, 15:39

      Thats what i called awesome, truly and informative information.. Good work done... You post sounds great.. Very unique informations you've posted.. good job done.. Best Video Projector | Car Insurance | Ereader Forum| Buy Ereaders

      Alert a moderator

    • CreditExpert

      Mar 4th 2011, 14:28

      Thats what i called awesome, truly and informative information.. Good work done... You post sounds great.. Very unique informations you've posted.. good job done.. tattoo kits | tattoo kits |

      Alert a moderator

    • CreditExpert

      Mar 9th 2011, 4:15

      You have expressed the information clear and crisp.. You've done a great job.. keep up the good work.. Almighty Marketing |car insurance |

      Alert a moderator

    • AcaiBerryDiet

      Mar 24th 2011, 7:28

      I am happy that I learn something new. Awesome way of expressing your ideas. You are my favourite. Acai Berry Diet

      Alert a moderator

    • miller50

      Mar 26th 2011, 5:41

      very good article,i like it.

      Alert a moderator

    • AcaiBerryscams

      Apr 16th 2011, 13:23

      Wonderful posts you have on your blog and I have bookmarked you and will visit yours often. I will be sharing this info on my facebook page with my friend and relatives. Thanks. Acai Berry Scams

      Alert a moderator

    • AcaiBerryscams

      May 6th 2011, 18:21

      I am happy that I learn something new. Awesome way of expressing your ideas. You are my favourite. Work From Home Jobs

      Alert a moderator

    • AcaiBerryscams

      May 7th 2011, 19:12

      Im impressed, I must say. Very rarely do I come across a site thats both informative and entertaining, and let me tell you, youve hit the nail on the head. Your site is important; the issue is something that not enough people are talking intelligently about. Im really happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this issue.Fox Work At Home Mom

      Alert a moderator

    • AcaiBerryscams

      May 11th 2011, 15:01

      I discovered so numerous interesting stuff in your weblog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all of the enjoyment here! maintain up the great work.Acai Berry Diet

      Alert a moderator

    • AutoInsurance

      Jun 22nd 2011, 10:00

      5

      I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea. Cheers. Web Design

      Alert a moderator