Reviews

Clash Of The Titans (2010)

2

Hooked on classics? Look away now…

Nostalgia shouldn’t blind us to the weaknesses in the original Clash Of The Titans. The effects were old-hat even by ’80s standards, Harry Hamlin’s hairdo was a disaster and the all-star cast of Olympian deities looked mortified to be pratting about in togas on a set apparently modelled after Caesar’s Palace.

Not surprisingly, the CG wizardry in Louis Leterrier’s reprise is light years ahead of Ray Harryhausen’s primitive model work. That apart, alas, this rebooted Clash is inferior in almost every department. From Sam Worthington’s dull hero Perseus to the stilted script to the rush-job 3D, Titans is hardly titanic.

It even feels wanting next to Percy Jackson And The Lightning Thief, the teen spin on classical mythology that so shamelessly stole its thunder earlier this year.

The problems set in early with a confusing opening that fails to establish the relationship between men and gods and why (let alone how) the former has declared war on the latter.

As a consequence, it’s hard to get too concerned when Hades (Ralph Fiennes) appears in Argos, threatening its destruction if its king does not sacrifice his daughter to the Kraken in a week’s time. (What, did they screw up his catalogue order?)

This arbitrary deadline does at least give the midsection some momentum, a buzz-cutted Worthington having joined up with Mads Mikkelsen’s band of war-weary Argonauts to foil the lord of the underworld’s scheme.

For all the set-pieces that follow, however – a scrap with monster scorpions, a pow-wow with sightless witches, a confrontation with a snake-tressed Medusa – it’s hard to shake the feeling this is just one big video game, the successful completion of one challenge leading immediately to another with little pause for humour, reflection or character interaction.

Throw in dialogue cheesier than Gorgon-zola and you’re left asking why so much cash was splashed making a Clash so unremittingly average.

Verdict:

Big sets, wall-to-wall mayhem and hi-tech pixelry only go so far in a movie sure to leave anyone with fond memories of the original feeling shortchanged. It’s proof, too, that 3D can’t simply be tacked on as an afterthought.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Mattsimus

      Mar 31st 2010, 21:12

      3

      Not happy with this review as i was obviously hoping it would get atleast a 4* rating since the dreadful alice in wonderland got 3*, plus as i am a fan of the original......but hey ya did give Transformers 2 4* so ill take my chances!!!!!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • thesundancekid

      Mar 31st 2010, 23:10

      well said. Leterrier hasn't guest edited this issue so ofcourse it got 2 star

      Alert a moderator

    • gylbert

      Apr 2nd 2010, 14:25

      3

      good point sundance - if they find gervais funny then i'll go see anything they say has no humour

      Alert a moderator

    • alkamal

      Apr 2nd 2010, 14:46

      They gave Transformers 2 4*?? What the hell, how do they expect us to take their reviews seriously?

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      Apr 3rd 2010, 22:11

      3

      The movie was disappointing. Ralph Feinnes stole the show.

      Alert a moderator

    • DanielMcA

      Apr 4th 2010, 22:22

      Coincidentally,I saw Ralph Fiennes in Argos last week, although the 3D was better (I just got new lenses).

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisWootton

      Apr 6th 2010, 9:35

      1

      Absolute bag of s**te. I saw it in 2D and the quality of the print was just as bad..avoid

      Alert a moderator

    • euanmcgrath

      Apr 6th 2010, 16:04

      2

      Poor (read non existent!) 3D.. sucky story, sucky script, no characters, boring main character, Hades was weak as hell villain. Why was he played as a crippled hobo?? And Worthington's time has GOT to be up now.. he fluked T4, Got lucky in Avatar.. but in this he's shown as the thick headed Aussie spud he is!

      Alert a moderator

    • piffle

      Apr 6th 2010, 23:51

      2

      Waste of everyone's time. Loads of inane people on the screen but pretty much no characters you could give a s**t about. Worthington is unbelievably brain-numbingly bad and his moaning Perseus is possibly the most irritating lead role I have ever watched in a film.

      Alert a moderator

    • dztop

      Apr 7th 2010, 21:39

      1

      What a piece of s-t. Redhill Amateur Theater actors are acting beter than bunch of muppets in this one. CGI is miles away from 21st century. I'd rather browse porn at home than watch this c**p, the sript would be be better anyways.

      Alert a moderator

    • nc1234

      Apr 9th 2010, 12:50

      3

      Hollywood stick to the original script btw Perseus wasnt a sissy

      Alert a moderator

    • endaoconnor

      Apr 9th 2010, 16:28

      1

      Utter s**te!

      Alert a moderator

    • jack357

      Apr 26th 2010, 5:01

      3

      I thought the movie was missing a few key scenes; I'll even give that it was missing some character developing scenes. But what I thought it was lacking the most was the romance, which had fueled much of the plot of the first version of this film. I didn't even care that the chemistry was between the hero and his guardian girlfriend, but it just didn't hit home. The three stars are for the action scenes only.

      Alert a moderator

    • Tyron

      Apr 27th 2010, 23:11

      3

      i read a bunch of reviews about this movie and while agree to the rating most of then gave it, but to rother differnt reasons. i liked this movie a lot in terms of cinematography, but what dissapointed me was the story, not compared to the original, because even if the original was more related to the mythology there where a few errors, but this one is completley out. feels like they took the the characters from the myth and created a different story, with common checkpoints. to name a few... Perseus was Denae's son (King Acrisius's daughter not wife), he went for the quest to kill medusa to save his mother not andromeda, even if on his way back he met with andromeda and saved her. calibos, the kraken, io and hades are'n mentioned originally. few details that compromise the integrity of the movie with relations to the myth. of course its a movie and more often than not they change a lot about the story.

      Alert a moderator

    • hulk68

      Apr 28th 2010, 10:23

      2

      I agree the most boring lead character of all time, what's with the stupid tan! Sam was not bad at all in Avatar and T4 but here. I think its propoably the director's fault who concentrated on the set pieces-they are not greatly interesting either- rather than the characters and story. I sortta liked the tribute paid to the mechanical owl though!

      Alert a moderator

    • blogcabins

      Apr 30th 2010, 17:10

      3

      I'd give this a 2.5 were I able to. It's biggest sin is being forgettable. Neither great nor terrible, I agree wholeheartedly with the videogame analogy. While it felt like a videogame that would indeed be fun to play, that didn't make it any more memorable. All that despite what's really a terrific overall international cast and some excellent special effects (and a few not-so-excellent ones).

      Alert a moderator

    • district9

      Aug 29th 2010, 10:12

      3

      I can't believe they have given this only 2 stars when they gave Alice in Wonderland 3! A very entertaining film but in it they said Persues was the son of Zeus were in Percy Jackson they said he was the son of Poseiden

      Alert a moderator

    • jimb45

      Jan 23rd 2011, 3:21

      5

      This is one of the best movies that i will ever see. The drama in this movie is so good. I just love a true story. whistleblower

      Alert a moderator

    • williamsmith61

      Mar 7th 2011, 17:22

      its really really nice nad important information which you are sharing with us värdera bostad.

      Alert a moderator

    • kevin22

      Mar 9th 2011, 9:19

      I love this movie erectile dysfunction pills

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular