Reviews

Date Night

3

Carell and Fey join farces…

Date Night review

Steve Carell might be Hollywood’s greatest current tragi-comic thespian (if you’ve seen The Office US, you already know this). Tina Fey is one of America’s smartest, sharpest comediennes (she wrote Mean Girls, remember).

James Franco might be the best young actor in Hollywood (check out funnyordie.com, then watch him in Milk). Mark Wahlberg is leading-man poison but supporting-man genius (well worth that Oscar nod in The Departed).

And, more often than not, Hollywood has no idea what to do with any of them. So they end up in movies like Date Night, in which Carell and Fey play Phil and Claire Foster, a middle-aged couple grinding through marriage, work and parenthood like robots.

They love each other. They’re just tired. So they visit an expensive Manhattan restaurant to rediscover their passion for each other before they end up as another divorce statistic. Then, just when it looks like a witty exploration of adult relationships – an Apatow-esque drama of swears, subtlety and silliness – the movie spins off hopelessly into the night like a bizarre romcom remake of After Hours. At least, that’s just one of the many things that it might have been.

Screenwriter Josh Klausner (Shreks 3 and 4) just keeps shovelling on more madness: mistaken identity, a pair of armed goons, Ray Liotta as a Mob boss, Franco and Mila Kunis as crims and, best of all, Wahlberg as a former Black Ops expert (!) who refuses to put a shirt on.

Climaxing on a ludicrous conjoined car chase, Date Night could (and maybe should) have been an absolute traffic accident. But amid the dumbness and dross, Carell and co keep mining shards of comic brilliance and, even more unlikely, some disarming glints of emotion.

Night At The Museum director Shawn Levy keeps the movie barrelling along obliviously, seemingly without ever knowing or caring what he’s doing. Worth the ride? Just. Only just.

Verdict:

Pulling in all sorts of directions, Date Night is held together by a terrific cast that make a little go a long, long way. Somewhere in all of this there was a seriously good movie. As it is, we have a seriously weird one.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • lordofthepies

      May 15th 2010, 14:26

      4

      I hate this sort of film and am so assumed at the amusement I derived from it, i think it helped that i married and have kids, but I really enjoyed myself (is that bad?)

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 19th 2010, 19:53

      4

      great site vigrx plus

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Jan 26th 2011, 4:14

      5

      I really loved reading your blog. It was very well authored and easy to understand. Unlike additional blogs I have read which are really not tht good. I also found your posts very interesting. In fact after reading, I had to go show it to my friend and he enjoyed it as well! Fixed Annuities

      Alert a moderator

    • Flashpler011

      Feb 8th 2011, 18:13

      3

      I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else! Potenzmittel

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Feb 10th 2011, 16:46

      5

      Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about information and love learning more on this. If possible, as you gain expertise, It is extremely helpful for me. would you mind updating your blog with more information? injury claims

      Alert a moderator

    • johndd

      Feb 13th 2011, 15:15

      2

      I love Steve Carrel in The Office but so far I've yet to see a movie that lets him use all of his potential. All of the movies I've seen him in have been quite poor, and this one is no different. I like Tina as well, and I think they're both grossly underused in this movie. Oh well, they'll have to get it right sooner or later, right? -John

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Feb 14th 2011, 1:53

      5

      I found your website perfect for my needs. It contains wonderful and helpful posts. I have read most of them and got a lot from them. To me, you are doing the great work. Carry on this. work at home In the end, I would like to thank you for making such a nice website. Watch TV Online

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Feb 14th 2011, 9:37

      I found your website perfect for my needs. It contains wonderful and helpful posts. I have read most of them and got a lot from them. To me, you are doing the great work. Carry on this. work at home In the end, I would like to thank you for making such a nice website. personal injury claim

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Feb 21st 2011, 2:55

      5

      So informative things are provided here,I really happy to read this post,I was just imagine about it and you provided me the correct information I really bookmark it,for further reading,So thanks for sharing the information. VA used cars

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Feb 24th 2011, 15:41

      Relying on the internet to earn income than normal work will need to have better understanding and effort. There are various process you can earn and that if you know some strategies. Earning online may be from online job, ppc, ptc, referrals or direct marketing from your website. chicago commercial cleaning

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:30

      4

      The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement the concept. Thank you for the post. Buy HCG Diet

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Feb 28th 2011, 15:24

      5

      Je ne pense pas que la légalisation des drogues en Californie va être bénéfique. À mon avis honnête Américains sont connus pour leur gourmandise et le manque de contrainte quand il s’agit de profiter de la vie, aliments et boissons, biens matériels. Ayant médicaments facilement et légalement disponibles reviendrait à peine wholesale jewelry

      Alert a moderator

    • Jean39a

      Mar 8th 2011, 2:00

      Informative, great to read all the responses and news, thank you for your contributions and input. Raid Data Recovery

      Alert a moderator

    • rockey

      Mar 8th 2011, 7:55

      4

      Relying on the internet to earn income than normal work will need to have better understanding and effort. There are various process you can earn and that if you know some strategies Read more: Date Night review | TotalFilm.com sunglasses wholesale

      Alert a moderator

    • Jolene29u

      Mar 9th 2011, 18:00

      Great to read all the excellent responses, nice website, hopefully more people will contribute with new ideas. Cheap Health Insurance Quotes

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 10th 2011, 15:07

      "Where are the women pariet 20 mg?" a friend of mine asked one day, enraged that the early offerings of the Net, like those in the typical unversity revia 50 mg "canon" were nearly all male. Thus did Mary Mark begin A Celebration of Women Writers, as a partner site to mine. (In the years to follow, we'd also become partners in marriage and parenthood too. We're happy to report that both of our kids are already enthusiastically side effects of diflucan picking up the books that are all around the house, though we haven't let them at the scanner yet. Despite my "day job" being computer science, the site was rapidly pulling me toward the library world. Not long after graduation, then, I was happy to take up Penn's offer to work in their library designing digital library programs and projects. And, yes, as time permitted, continuing zovirax without prescription to develop The Online Books Page.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 10th 2011, 15:11

      Congress may also be able zoloft without prescription to help here. One of the reasons the "opt in" policy favored by some publisher groups won't work particularly tetracycline 500 mg well for doing library-scale text searching is that copyright holders of many older books are now unreachable, and their books are out of print, but still of interest to some readers and researchers. Enacting reasonable buy cialis super rules for the reuse of "orphaned works", the recent subject of hearings by the Library of Congress, would make it easier for indexers like Google and publishers to come to workable, amicable arrangements buy cialis superactive for applications like Google Print. It would also enable neglected works to more easily benefit and educate readers around the world. Congress also has the power to more clearly note fair-use exemptions in the area of search indexing, which would make buy flovent it easier both for this project and for other search applications-- including those we use regularly-- to operate without fear of unwarranted legal action.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 6:55

      Coming back to the Darwinian prozac with out prescription thing, lawyers, since they are smart, and generally well-meaning prozac no prescription (generally) they do an absolutely amazing job of rationalizing each and every one of the above areas. There is a germ of truth in all of their risperdal no prescription defenses. They are trained to make their arguments well. They are motivated to do so as they do not want to see the negative in what they do. They are much strattera with out prescription more motivated than you or I are on the other side of these arguments. My personal experience has been that the longer they do it, the more invested in the defenses strattera no prescription they become. Completely human. Completely understandable. To me the contrast is engineers. engineers are trained to create things. To build things. To make something where nothing was before.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:01

      There is a whole world of subsidies and exemptions kytril no prescription that favors the large and the wealthy. The more Byzantine omnicef with out prescription the system, the greater the tithe that goes to lawyers. My recent favorite is Income Trusts in Canada. These are creatures of statute omnicef no prescription that essentially allow slow/no-growth businesses to use a trust structure to avoid taxation at any level. They have essentially shifted massive amounts of (somewhat dear) capital in the Canadian economy away from a normal growth distribution and towards low/no-growth businesses. There will be HUGE scandals order avandia in the next 24 months (IMHO) that will, on a relative basis, be larger than the S&L scandals in the US. The cost of waste from the aricept with out prescription scandals will pale in comparison to the damage done to the Canadian economy by the redistribution of capital away from growth.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:04

      Personal injury litigation and contingency cymbalta no prescription fees. Originally intended to allow individuals generic accupril online to take on big corporations. Now an industry in and of itself with numerous examples that Lewis Carroll could not have made up. The defendants are almost glucophage with out prescription exclusively insurers who serve as perfect glucophage online conduits for spreading the pain across society broadly. Personal injury lawyers are now some of the richest individuals in the United States. Class actions. See personal injury litigation, except add kytril with out prescription that, as opposed to personal injury, the plaintiffs rarely see any of the payoff. The parasites certainly do.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:05

      Intellectual property. IP as a concept was originally accupril no prescription intended to keep ideas in the public domain while creating cheap tadacip enough incentive to allow creators a fair return for their creativity. Over time it has come to take on a completely different character. Software and business process patents are a massive threat to innovation. Copyright now exists to support cartels that are effectively at war with their customers. Securities litigation. Has now created a huge base cost around being a public company. This raises the level necessary for companies to have access to public capital. At a time when the economy is more and more moving to smaller and smaller business units, access to capital cheap keftab structurally favors larger and larger units. This is an economic distortion that will be expensive going forward.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:06

      Intellectual property. IP as a concept was originally accupril no prescription intended to keep ideas in the public domain while creating cheap tadacip enough incentive to allow creators a fair return for their creativity. Over time it has come to take on a completely different character. Software and business process patents are a massive threat to innovation. Copyright now exists to support cartels that are effectively at war with their customers. Securities litigation. Has now created a huge base cost around being a public company. This raises the level necessary for companies to have access to public capital. At a time when the economy is more and more moving to smaller and smaller business units, access to capital cheap keftab structurally favors larger and larger units. This is an economic distortion that will be expensive going forward.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:06

      Am I suggesting a grand conspiracy cheap doxycycline amongst all lawyers? Of course not. This is the "Invisible Hand" at its finest. Each individual cheap glucophage parasite is motivated to engage cheap levaquin in exactly the behavior that will allow the system to work cheap levitraonline to all the parasites greatest advantage. Now for some examples. These are in random cheap synthroid order as they all tend to be equally offensive. I also note there is a germ of good policy in each of these categories. It is just the current implementation that sucks (just in case anyone thought this was a plea for anarchy).

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:07

      Am I suggesting a grand conspiracy cheap doxycycline amongst all lawyers? Of course not. This is the "Invisible Hand" at its finest. Each individual cheap glucophage parasite is motivated to engage cheap levaquin in exactly the behavior that will allow the system to work cheap levitraonline to all the parasites greatest advantage. Now for some examples. These are in random cheap synthroid order as they all tend to be equally offensive. I also note there is a germ of good policy in each of these categories. It is just the current implementation that sucks (just in case anyone thought this was a plea for anarchy).

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:08

      Before I turn to some examples, let me give my theory of causality. For a number of systemic and societal reasons the North American educational cheap accupril system has produced a huge number of lawyers. This is true both in absolute numbers and in relative numbers. Relative to other countries and relative to other professions. Lawyers also tend to be smarter than average. Humans cheap acomplia are generally Darwinian in that they are amazingly adept at survival. Thus, we have had an oversupply of smart, Darwinian parasites. Nature takes cheap avandamet its course. They create systems that benefit themselves to the detriment of the economy cheap bactrim generally. They are good at it. Almost without exception they do it in a way that maximizes both the size of the pie they can eat as well as the number of individuals cheap clomidonline impacted. This ensures that very, very few individuals feel the impact beyond that of a few crumbs while the parasites enjoy all-they-can eat desserts

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:09

      I would describe lawyers, as many have zyban no prescription, as parasites. I mean it in the literal sense zyprexa with out prescription however. Other parasites include bankers, accountants, pr firms and vc firms. Not all parasites are bad. Just like in nature, some of them are extremely valuable members of the accupril with out prescription ecosystem. But they are aricept no prescription parasites. They do not create things. They create structures that allow them to extract value from things. Unfortunately, when too many parasites try and live off of the same online purchase keftab host eventually the host becomes unhealthy and both the host and the parasites suffer. Think here of the economy as the host.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:11

      A few things up front. First, my wife is a lawyer, my sister pariet 20mg is a lawyer, my brother-in-law is a lawyer, my best friend is a revia 50mg lawyer, heck I used to be a lawyer. Second, I will be making a number side effects of diflucan of ad hominem arguments. There is no way to go deep on all of the points I wish to put forward. Third, my comments are general. There are lawyers who create zovirax no prescription value. There are also smokers who live to 100. Most are good people. Most mean well. Most are good parents and friends. Even better, they control the making of the societal rules just in case.

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Mar 15th 2011, 8:18

      5

      So informative things are provided here,I really happy to read this post,I was just imagine about it and you provided me the correct information I really bookmark it,for further reading,So thanks for sharing the information. motion activated cameras

      Alert a moderator

    • Nina88

      Mar 15th 2011, 8:21

      5

      So informative things are provided here,I really happy to read this post,I was just imagine about it and you provided me the correct information I really bookmark it,for further reading,So thanks for sharing the information. motion activated cameras

      Alert a moderator

    • sagarbunkar1984

      Apr 25th 2011, 8:01

      Good to watch trailer of Day night in my point of view I enjoyed watching it. I need to watch more or full film...I admiring time and effort you put in your film, because it is obviously one great place where I can find lot of comedy seen and everything you wants .. Thanks for providing the trailer of Day night .. love quotes watch free movies online

      Alert a moderator

    • huynguyen

      Sep 15th 2011, 10:06

      Interesting presentation. I don't doubt it's helpful to me. share trading

      Alert a moderator

    • huynguyen

      Sep 15th 2011, 10:07

      You got a really useful blog I have been here reading for about an hour. I am a newbie and your success is very much an inspiration for me. http://www.tradefromhome.co.za

      Alert a moderator