Reviews

Get Him To The Greek

3

Brand and Hill go full Bacchanalian…

Get Him To The Greek review

Get Him to the Greek review - Bearing a strong family resemblance to a hit movie famous for its swinging dick (and we don’t mean Russell Brand), this raucous rock’n’roll buddy comedy shares a shedload of spun-off DNA (and Judd Apatow’s producer mojo) with its predecessor Forgetting Sarah Marshall.

Brand gleefully reprises his chatty, preening, shag-meister rock star Aldous Snow, this time in career freefall, wildly off the wagon and newly heartbroken by Lily Allen-style songstress Jackie Q (Rose Damages Byrne, deliciously stroppy).

He’s reteamed with Jonah Hill, cheekily recast here as wideeyed Aaron, a shy record label lackey escorting “the most self-destructive man in rock’n’roll” from London to LA for a comeback concert.

If you’re expecting the usual yucks-and-life-lessons trip round Apatown, however, think again. Writer/ director Nicholas Stoller’s raunchy, music-biz bromance runs on a gag driven, globe-trotting energy miles from the goofy sweetness he gave Forgetting Sarah Marshall.

Bitch slapping the dumber excesses of rock celebrity, it’s at its best ridiculing Aldous’ shameless tabloid-taunting lifestyle or satirising record industry ruthlessness as personified by Aaron’s bullying boss, self-styled mind-fucker Sergio. He’s the movie’s stand-out comic creation, not least because he’s played by Sean ‘P. Diddy’ Combs. Rollicking, rueful and raunchy partying episodes keep the guffaws coming, as Hill suffers vomit-crusted absinthe binges, pervy groupie gropes and a spiked encounter that leaves him literally climbing the walls.

Where Stoller’s film comes unstuck is in trying to shift into heartfelt ‘relationship’ mode. Hill’s pleasant but underpowered straight guy routine can’t sustain much beyond slapstick and isn’t a patch on his motormouthed Superbad stylings, although a disarmingly charismatic Brand has a ball playing a character mined from his own life story.

Prepare to have a bawdy, taboobusting good time. Just don’t expect it to resonate anywhere except your funnybone.
 

Verdict:

Brand rocks the house in this frantic sex‘n’drugs’n’rock’n’roll road trip. Seat-wetting, knee-pounding fun.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • lightscameraash

      Jun 24th 2010, 19:10

      4

      So, so, so funny. Jonah Hill and Russell Brand worked really well together and made a brilliant team. The film has an amazing story line which is all worked out and resolved by the end, it's heart warming, hilarious and just damn right clever. P Diddy is also hilarious, with lines such as "can you feel my dick f*****g your mind Aaron?" you can't get any better. The songs from Aldous Snow are also extremely, just about to download them :P you'll thoroughly enjoy this film if you enjoyed Superbad, Pineapple Express and Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Judd Apatow is definitely a genius :)

      Alert a moderator

    • totalmilf

      Jul 3rd 2010, 17:55

      3

      I went to see this film when I was feeling a bit grumpy, but came out feeling in a much better mood - which was the sign of a good comedy I think! Although not quite on the same par as Forgetting Sarah Marshall, this film did have me really laughing through most of it. It did feel a bit slow in the middle, because there isn't really that much of a plot to speak of... so not quite deserving of 4 stars. But, the laughs come so often, you don't really mind. If you're a fan of Russell Brand and Apatow, you will enjoy this film.

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Jan 8th 2011, 18:07

      1

      Having seen Forgetting Sarah Marshall i thought when i when to see this that there would be comedy being a spin off from director Nicholas Stoller.The plot line is that Aldous Snow (Russell Brand) and Aaron Green (Jonah Hill) have a wild 3 days where green has to get snow to the Greek Theatre in LA to preform for his 10th aniversary. Having never been a fan of hill or brands work i did not expect my views to be changed with this movie, and they did not as this movie lacks humar and entertament. The only good points are Rose Byrne who plays Jackie Q seems really different to any other role she has been it before. also Sean P Diddy Combs pops up as Aarons boss Sergio but adds nothing to the product.

      Alert a moderator

    • Alesia259

      Jan 21st 2011, 23:02

      I have not seen this movie yet, but it is at the top of my list. Thanks for letting us review this movie to see if it is worth watching. Alesia from Data Recovery Los Angeles

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Jan 25th 2011, 7:11

      4

      Great post, I have to agree with that this is so Hot & perfect. Thank you very much. But I prefer more information about this topic. online degree AND online associates degree AND online bachelors degree

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Jan 25th 2011, 7:11

      4

      I wanted to thank you for this great read! I enjoyed every bit of it, I checked to see all news to publish .... online masters degree AND online doctorate degree

      Alert a moderator

    • Hannah675xx

      Jan 29th 2011, 2:14

      Thank you for the video and the information. I really enjoyed reading it. This is a fun site that I will definitely bookmark. Hannah Hilson Personal Loans Officer

      Alert a moderator

    • Flashpler011

      Feb 8th 2011, 18:12

      5

      Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! ventrilo server

      Alert a moderator

    • feoxo

      Feb 15th 2011, 23:11

      3

      This is a nice post in an interesting line of content. Thanks for sharing this article, great way of bring this topic to discussion. Keep up the excellent work ! free 3ds

      Alert a moderator

    • maxer

      Feb 18th 2011, 19:06

      3

      While in college, Hill began writing his own plays and performing them in the Black and White bar in the East Village neighborhood of New York City.[3] His plays developed a small following and helped him realize that his true desire was to act in films. Hill was befriended by Dustin Hoffman's children, Rebecca and Jake, who introduced Hill to their father. The elder Hoffman asked him to audition for a role in I Heart Huckabees, in which Hill made his film debut. SEO Orange County

      Alert a moderator

    • danielwilkins

      Feb 19th 2011, 10:59

      Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful my blogs: cityville cheats | master cleanse

      Alert a moderator

    • markwaugh

      Feb 21st 2011, 17:58

      5

      it really most amazing gadget**s good i am thank full to you free 3ds its amazing for this century.Hi, It is really nice, but could you tell me how should I use this code,thanks for this information.

      Alert a moderator

    • orlifit

      Feb 21st 2011, 21:44

      5

      I very interested in the article,people pay more attention to high quality life style. High quality means ,comfortable and healthy,Thanks for sharing the info.Regards, Car Search Websites

      Alert a moderator

    • bezmor

      Feb 23rd 2011, 21:53

      3

      reteamed with Jonah Hill, cheekily recast here as wideeyed Aaron, a shy record label lackey escorting “the most self-destructive man in rock’n’roll” from London to LA for a comeback concert.If you’re expecting the usual yucks-and-life-lessons trip round Apatown, however, think again. Writer/ director Nicholas Stoller’s raunchy, music-biz bromance runs on a gag driven, globe-trotting energy miles from the goofy sweetness he gave Forgetting Sarah Marshall.artificial Trees Read more: Get Him To The Greek review

      Alert a moderator

    • andymaule

      Feb 24th 2011, 15:42

      5

      Trec Nutrition is the top brand for protein supplements having products in every area of the bodybuilding repertoire. Designed with highly developed techniques, the tablets, diet supplements and training aids all combine to ensure you can achieve huge fitness milestones. Bodybuilders can use Trec's whey Protein Powder, creatine supplements to booster muscle growth and weight gain powder to increase the calorie count. Fighting fat is also possible with Trec Nutrition products with their fat transporter tablets which reduce and at the same time limit cravings.

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 13:53

      4

      Thanks for making such a cool project. I've been checking the site for the Windows version, but I never left a comment about it. I know you are working hard and doing it for free so you shouldn't feel rushed or anything. houston gun safes

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:28

      5

      Post very nicely written, and it contains useful facts. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement. Thanks for sharing with us. Bitty Baby Twins

      Alert a moderator

    • stevewaugh

      Mar 1st 2011, 22:51

      5

      In the history of sexuality, Greek love is a concept of homoeroticism within the classical tradition. It is one of the "classically inspired erotic imaginings" by means of which later cultures have articulated their own discourse about homosexuality. The metaphor of "Greek love" becomes most vivid historically in periods when the reception of classical antiquity is an important influence on dominant aesthetic or intellectual movements. Shredder

      Alert a moderator

    • chastermatt

      Mar 14th 2011, 6:08

      5

      Modern Greece traces its roots to the civilisation of ancient Greece, generally considered the cradle of Western civilization. As such, it is the birthplace of democracy,Western philosophy,the Olympic Games, Western literature and historiography, political science, major scientific and mathematical principles, and Western drama, including both tragedy and comedy. This legacy is partly reflected in the 17 UNESCO World Heritage Sites located in Greece. The modern Greek state was established in 1830, following a victorious uprising against Ottoman rule. Custom kitchen Cabinets

      Alert a moderator

    • jessmarchant123

      Mar 16th 2011, 7:42

      5

      Flowers is the beautiful thing of the world and the flowers gift is sweetest gift now you can send flowers to any one any where very easily in flowers to uae | flowers from china

      Alert a moderator

    • maxgarnar

      Apr 4th 2011, 11:56

      A film, also called a movie or motion picture, is a story conveyed with moving images. It is produced by recording photographic images with cameras, or by creating images using animation techniques or visual effects. The process of filmmaking has developed into an art form and industry. debt consolidation companies

      Alert a moderator

    • jackkallis

      Apr 13th 2011, 5:51

      The Greek is a fictional character on the HBO drama The Wire, played by actor Bill Raymond. The Greek is the head of an international criminal organization involved in narcotics and human trafficking. debt relief usa

      Alert a moderator

    • maxgarnar

      Apr 15th 2011, 6:29

      A film, also called a movie or motion picture, is a story conveyed with moving images. It is produced by recording photographic images with cameras, or by creating images using animation techniques or visual effects. The process of filmmaking has developed into an art form and industry. Debt Consolidation Program

      Alert a moderator

    • maxgarnar

      Apr 15th 2011, 10:39

      A film, also called a movie or motion picture, is a story conveyed with moving images. It is produced by recording photographic images with cameras, or by creating images using animation techniques or visual effects. kitchen cabinets Los Angeles

      Alert a moderator

    • johnnydeff

      Apr 27th 2011, 5:50

      Total Film is a British film magazine published 13 times a year (every four weeks) by Future Publishing. The magazine was launched in 1997 and offers film, DVD and Blu-ray news, reviews and features. Guest editors have included Peter Jackson, Kevin Smith, and Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant. Office Space

      Alert a moderator

    • karlosmaze

      Apr 27th 2011, 7:07

      4

      Total Film is a British film magazine published 13 times a year (every four weeks) by Future Publishing. The magazine was launched in 1997 and offers film, DVD and Blu-ray news, reviews and features. Guest editors have included Peter Jackson, Kevin Smith, and Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant. Document Destruction

      Alert a moderator