Reviews

Green Zone

4

Say hello to The Bourne Insurgency…

Green Zone review

“I came here to find weapons and save lives,” sighs Matt Damon in Green Zone, “and I haven’t found shit!”

With the benefit of hindsight, it’s no surprise to us that Chief Warrant Officer Roy Miller keeps coming up short in his quest to locate the weapons of mass destruction he’s been dispatched to find in the immediate aftermath of the US-led invasion of Iraq.

But director Paul Greengrass isn’t dealing with Now. His eye is on Then, plunging us headlong into the chaotic and confused early days of the 2003 occupation with the same kinetic velocity as a Jason Bourne car chase.

It’s a high-risk strategy that could have turned Green Zone – named after the heavily fortified region of Baghdad where the US forces set up shop – into a virtual period piece, rendered obsolete by subsequent events. As in Bloody Sunday or United 93, however, Greengrass concentrates on a specific situation and lets the context take care of itself.

It’s easy to see Miller as tragically deluded, but soldiers like him were not to know they were misinformed seven years ago. Indeed, if there’s a link between this film and the director’s previous collaborations with Damon, it’s in its focus on a hero doing his utmost to prevail without being in full possession of the facts.

Frustrated by his official duties, Miller decides to pursue a different objective: a still-at-large Ba’athist commander he stumbles upon with the help of a local. This quickly puts him at odds with oily Pentagon man Greg Kinnear and Special Forces commando Jason Isaacs, facilitators of a conspiracy to conceal the real reason for war from the American public.

Damon’s breakneck race to apprehend his target involves a tense house raid, an undercover op inside a military prison and an explosive finale redolent of Black Hawk Down. What drives him onwards, though, is his indignation at being lied to by the supposed ‘good guys’ – the same thing, you suspect, that motivated Greengrass to make the film in the first place.
 

Verdict:

Breathless action and complex intrigue ensure we are hooked throughout an expertly orchestrated war-zone thriller

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Latz1987

      Mar 16th 2010, 12:54

      4

      Alert a moderator

    • penderfer

      Sep 30th 2010, 16:58

      I think superb site. Check out my blog too. My Mahjong and Hidden object games, great Farm games free, news Pet games for kids, awesome Salon games for girls, usa Babysitting games free, best Air traffic controller game trial, free Download games and new Roads of rome game cheats for Hospital Haste fans

      Alert a moderator

    • u2010

      Oct 18th 2010, 13:51

      Share with you this website whom supply oakley sunglasses and ray ban sunglasses, you can get cheap oakley sunglasses, discount oakley sunglasses, cheap ray ban sunglasses and discount ray ban sunglasses from their website.

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 19th 2010, 19:52

      3

      great site vigrx plus

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 9:40

      4

      Just dropping in to let you know you have an interesting site. I hope you’ll continue to work on it. Wishing you all the best. computer Science degree AND psychology degree AND criminal justice degree

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 9:40

      5

      Thank you for the great web site - a true resource, and one many people clearly enjoy marketing degree AND early childhood education degree

      Alert a moderator

    • ennalewis2

      Dec 8th 2010, 15:47

      5

      This is really a fantastic and helpful post. Believe me guys, you can really applied this one especially when you're having interviews. Thanks a lot for sharing this one to us Best Books Ever | Technologies For Business

      Alert a moderator

    • rileyg21c

      Jan 7th 2011, 3:07

      This was a great movie. I would love to see it again. Thank you for such an interesting post. I was just dropping in to let you know you have an interesting site. I hope you’ll continue to work on it. Wishing you all the best. Raid 5 Data Recovery Manager

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Jan 27th 2011, 9:06

      Movies of the Iraq War have proven quite unpopular at the box office ... " That is only partly true. Iraq war movies that show clearly the U.S. as the "real" villain of the war is unpopular. "Good people, red blood .... You believe that there are weapons of mass destruction after all" .... " If we find weapons of mass destruction in Iraq - you can find many references to this with a simple Google search. We found all stocks, since they were defeated in Syria and elsewhere. Of course some of the weapons of mass destruction have been used to kill thousands of Kurds, before intervening. I hate the idea of impressionable young people come to this site, read their case-in-fact (but totally erroneous scraps para orkut) claims, and take as gospel. George Bush had many shortcomings as president and commander in chief, but not to protect our country was not among them.

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 12th 2011, 14:24

      4

      Still there is room for greater development and I would recommend more emphasis on research and of course it will bring a better situation. Thanks for sharing a nice read. Cheers Colon Cleanse

      Alert a moderator

    • gonziwill

      Feb 21st 2011, 14:09

      Great movie. alquiler apartamentos vacaciones I enjoyed reading it. I need to read more on this topic...I admiring time and effort you put in your blog, because it is obviously one great place where I can find lot of useful info.

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:33

      4

      Very nicely written post it contains useful information for me. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement the concept. Thank you for the post. Commercial Playground Equipment

      Alert a moderator

    • kennethj

      Mar 3rd 2011, 11:39

      Matt Damon has just brilliant in the Bourne Identity and this movie I guess has led him to achieve more success. I've still not watched the Green Zone but it sounds awesome. dow jones history

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:22

      At present, the site looks almost exactly the way it did at Carnegie Mellon. It will continue to elavil online provide an index of freely readable on-line books for the whole Internet. You should also see an increase in the rate that books are added, after the mostly dry spell in June and July while I was mostly off-Net. (There will, however, probably be another break when I go traveling propecia 1mg in mid-August.) In the months and years to follow, we hope to enhance propecia with out prescription the site and its listings, integrate the listings here with the increasing resources of Penn's Digital Library, and experiment with new ways of finding propecia no prescription and presenting books on-line. Because the site is likely to be revised over time, especially in the first few months here, I cannot at this time guarantee the persistence of URLs below the main page. The new main URL for the On-Line Books Page.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:24

      Major developments zyrtec 10mg in these cases will be reported at this site; for day-to-day developments, or to collaborate ampicillin 500mg on the appeal, check the OpenLaw site at Harvard. If the judges do find in favor of the public domain, we will be very happy to list any newly freed books at this site. Welcome to the new home for the On-Line Books Page. This Web site, and its editor, have moved canadian cialis to the University of Pennsylvania's Digital Library. I'll be working here to research, plan, and develop digital library canadian levitra resources and technology, to benefit readers both at Penn and throughout the Internet.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:28

      The Supreme Court accepts online purchase amitriptylin only a small fraction of the cases brought to it. Its acceptance online purchase bactrim of the Eldred case instantly put the battle over copyright and the public online purchase norvasc domain into the public spotlight. Should the plaintiffs prevail, thousands of books and other works, everything from overlooked classics of Harlem Renaissance poetry to widely-loved books like Winnie-the-Pooh, would immediately become eligible for going online. Interests on both sides of the case will now be drawing up arguments and amicus briefs, in preparation for the hearings later this keppra 500mg year.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sekondman

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:29

      It's even harder to argue trazodone without prescription that such extensions can provide any new incentives trileptal no prescription to authors who are no longer alive trileptal without prescription the new extensions almost always only apply long after an author has died. Instead, the extensions stop works from entering the public domain, where the progress of science and the arts would be promoted by having the works freely distributed, performed, and reused in new works zithromax no prescription. Furthermore, the repeated extension of existing copyright terms means that the Constitution's "limited Times" could be effectively unlimited, as copyrights about to expire could continue to be extended in this manner zovirax 400 mg indefinitely. Hence, the plaintiffs conclude, retrospective extensions of copyright are unconstitutional.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:30

      The U.S. Constitution gives Congress the power prozac no prescription to "promote the Progress of Science and the useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries". The plaintiffs prozac without prescription argue that progress of science and arts is not promoted when works that have already been created and published are delayed from entering the public domain. Copyright creates risperdal without prescription incentives for authors and other artists to create and publish new works. But, the plaintiffs strattera no prescription argue, once a work has been introduced to the public under an established rule of copyright terms, further extensions to its copyright strattera without prescription term can't provide additional incentive for something that has already happened.

      Alert a moderator

    • Samyisam

      Mar 11th 2011, 7:32

      With or without this bill, academic researchers order buspar have been increasingly resisting a system in which they write and review articles for free, and then their institutions order erythromycin have to buy them back from for-profit publishers at exorbitant prices. In response, a number of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals order levaquin now provide their content free for all to read, either immediately, or after a short delay. In the coming weeks, we'll be listing many such journals in the Serials section proscar no prescription of The Online Books Page, when these journals are tracked by major universities, and have at least a year's worth of content permanently proscar without prescription and freely available for all to read. I hope that scholars will increasingly support and write for these journals, both to relieve the financial pressure on their own institutions paying ever-larger serials fees, and to share their knowledge with the world.

      Alert a moderator