Reviews

Horrible Bosses

3

We need to talk about killing Kevin...

Horrible Bosses review

Corporate cog Nick (Jason Bateman) has a horrible boss: sadistic micro manager Harken (Kevin Spacey).

Dental assistant Dale (Charlie Day) has a horrible boss: sexual predator Julia (Jennifer Aniston).

Accountant Kurt (Jason Sudeikis) has a nice boss – fatherly Jack (Donald Sutherland) – but then the old boy clocks off permanently, leaving his corrupt douchebag of a son (Colin Farrell) in charge.

Clearly, the only solution is to kill these bosses, horribly. So beer buddies Nick, Dale and Kurt agree to slaughter each other’s supervisors...

Swapping murders? It’s the same plot hook as Strangers On A Train and ‘remake’ Throw Momma From The Train (both slyly namedropped by the script). But don’t expect the psychological nuance of vintage Hitchcock; Seth Gordon’s (Four Christmases) revenge-com is pure and simple a vicarious fix for pissed-off wage-slaves everywhere.

Yet it’s the bosses themselves having the most fun. With our heroes styled as relatable everyguys (a Jason Bateman speciality), their tormentors are cackling devils. Farrell wins the anti-vanity award, with a combover and pot-belly make-under. If Spacey is essentially reprising his Swimming With Sharks (1994) VP-from-hell, no one does pitiless power-abuse better.

As for Aniston, if you’ve seen the banana-teasing, hotdog-swallowing trailer, you’ve only seen half the lewd lengths she goes to as a gleefully irredeemable, meat-seeking missile.

Besides this axis of evil, scenes are smoothly stolen by Jamie Foxx as ‘murder consultant’ Motherfucker Jones.

The story behind his Oedipal moniker is a highlight; like the film, it’s not as dark as you imagine, but it will get you grinning.

Verdict:

Frantic, funny and packed full of big names behaving badly – Ioan Gruffudd, OMG...

Film Details

User Reviews

    • McSerious

      Jul 13th 2011, 2:46

      This review is so incredibly positive... Why just three stars?

      Alert a moderator

    • etzioni

      Jul 13th 2011, 9:55

      1

      Awful and unfunny. Been there, seen that unoriginal movie. It had such great potential but was let down by a weak script and even weaker jokes. Also, Jason Sudeikis playing a ladies man, what a joke in itself. This is more of a 'watch once' movie - but only if it's on DVD or on terrestrial television.

      Alert a moderator

    • Westy25

      Jul 14th 2011, 19:37

      1

      We thought it was great and I have not been in a full theatre for ages where everyone was laughing throughout the movie!

      Alert a moderator

    • Westy25

      Jul 14th 2011, 20:19

      4

      That was 4 stars, not 1!

      Alert a moderator

    • baldeelox

      Jul 15th 2011, 22:41

      1

      4 stars easily! very funny and I don't remember a film like this before please enlighten me.

      Alert a moderator

    • glegs

      Jul 16th 2011, 5:52

      2

      Alert a moderator

    • ALISONMJ123

      Jul 19th 2011, 11:01

      4

      It was really funny. Was great to see Jennifer Anniston playing a s**tty role it made her chacter's lines even more shocking. All of the roles were quirky and It was great not to have a main cool dude in the story line the characters were believable and likeable even the bad guys. A shockinly good dirty laughoutloud film.

      Alert a moderator

    • ALISONMJ123

      Jul 19th 2011, 11:04

      4

      It was really funny. Was great to see Jennifer Anniston playing a s**tty role it made her chacter's lines even more shocking. All of the roles were quirky and It was great not to have a main cool dude in the story line the characters were believable and likeable even the bad guys. A shockinly good dirty laughoutloud film.

      Alert a moderator

    • Rikib004

      Jul 19th 2011, 15:05

      What is it with terrible movie titles recently.... Bad Teacher, Horrible bosses, what next mediocre medical staff and reasonable receptionist?

      Alert a moderator

    • shazrins

      Jul 19th 2011, 19:06

      I'm with agree about changing up the comment style. I had to watch the trailer as I didn't remember seeing Robert Downey Jnr in Horrible Bosses. I've now realised that you have to click on review and then post your comment. My review is , A great film and I've already recommended it to my friends. I wasn't too keen on all the swearing but overall it hit the mark for a great comedy.

      Alert a moderator

    • shazrins

      Jul 19th 2011, 19:06

      1

      I'm with agree about changing up the comment style. I had to watch the trailer as I didn't remember seeing Robert Downey Jnr in Horrible Bosses. I've now realised that you have to click on review and then post your comment. My review is , A great film and I've already recommended it to my friends. I wasn't too keen on all the swearing but overall it hit the mark for a great comedy.

      Alert a moderator

    • shazrins

      Jul 19th 2011, 19:06

      1

      I'm with agree about changing up the comment style. I had to watch the trailer as I didn't remember seeing Robert Downey Jnr in Horrible Bosses. I've now realised that you have to click on review and then post your comment. My review is , A great film and I've already recommended it to my friends. I wasn't too keen on all the swearing but overall it hit the mark for a great comedy.

      Alert a moderator

    • zjh11350

      Jul 24th 2011, 4:20

      Click : ==( http://tinyurl.com/2c8ursf )== jordan shoes $32 nike shox $32 Christan Audigier bikini $23 Ed Hardy Bikini $23 Smful short_t-shirt_woman $15 ed hardy short_tank_woman$16 Sandal$32 christian loubo utin $80 Sunglass $15 COACH_Necklace $27 handbag $33AF tank woman $17 puma slipper woman $30 ==( http://tinyurl.com/2c8ursf )==

      Alert a moderator

    • jackcarlin

      Jul 30th 2011, 22:27

      4

      this film was full of laughs from start to finish! Great charcters and hilarious bosses. this film is short of boring and giggles... just pure fun and laughter! Horroble Bosses comes runner-up in comedy in 2011 (bridesmaids no.1) and sure as hell will be laughed at because of it comedy genuis for years to come!

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular