Reviews

I Love You, Man

4

Paul Rudd needs a bud…

For Hollywood, friendship is the new romance – for women anyway, who flocked on ‘mate dates’ to friend-fests like Mamma Mia! and Sex And The City.

Now John Hamburg’s smart, slyly hilarious and amiably chat-packed ‘bro-mance’ puts the pitfalls of male friendship under the microscope, as Paul Rudd’s gentle estate agent Peter Klaven has to hunt up a best man, after fiancée Zooey is horrified by his friendless status.

Hamburg, who’s got form as a revenger of the nerds (he scripted Meet The Parents and Meet The Fockers), cues up a string of slick, sharply observed man dates, in which Klaven nimbly dodges needy soccer-nuts, closeted gays and lonely OAPs, before a chance meeting with witty slacker Sydney (Jason Segel) bears fruit. But can he get him to the altar?

From its tongue-in-cheek title to its zinging dialogue scenes, this obviously ain’t laddish Farrelly-style farce, but a deft, rather charming comedy of awkward moments. Peter’s gaffes (projectile vomiting in a beer chug, unwarily copping a gay kiss) may be the film’s chortle triggers, but don’t come looking for Forgetting Sarah Marshall snickering. Hamburg is working in a warmer, more affectionate register than guy movies have used lately, so while there’s dirty talk aplenty, the movie has more yucks than yuck factor.

What powers it along is an easy, emerging chemistry between the appealingly nerdy straight-arrow Peter and Segel’s Sydney, wreathed in dope, divorcees and good advice, as an engaging Big Lebowski-lite.

Yes, like Hamburg’s Along Came Polly, it’s another odd couple movie – or counting Rashida Jones’ increasingly sidelined love interest, an odd triangle. And yes, like Along Came Polly, its hot cameos (Jaime Pressly and Jon Favreau as enraged fuck-and-fight young marrieds) camouflage some predictable plotting. But if Wes Anderson is planning that US remake of My Best Friend, he should screech to a halt. I Love You, Man has probably got the homme-com covered.

Kate Stables

Verdict:

There’s continuous chuckles rather than a barrel of belly-laughs in this warm winner. A sweet, slightly shambling buddy-movie that will please those who prefer gags to gagging.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • emi20s

      Apr 24th 2009, 16:45

      4

      This film is not like the typical Paul Rudd, Jason Seagal offerings of nakedness and drugs...it has a huge heart and a big love for brolove and man dates. This is definatly one that has changed the way comedies have seen and has set the bar high!

      Alert a moderator

    • Phoenix81

      Jul 28th 2009, 15:04

      2

      4 stars are you kidding me!! This was poor all the way through. Not very funny, and not really much else...

      Alert a moderator

    • jacoblost48

      Nov 28th 2009, 18:32

      3

      Alert a moderator

    • u2010

      Oct 18th 2010, 14:07

      Share with you this website whom supply oakley sunglasses and ray ban sunglasses, you can get cheap oakley sunglasses, discount oakley sunglasses, cheap ray ban sunglasses and discount ray ban sunglasses from their website.

      Alert a moderator

    • ellyka19

      Oct 29th 2010, 15:56

      5

      Hello,I love reading through your blog, I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wishing you the best of luck for all your blogging efforts. devis assurance auto en ligne

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 11th 2010, 12:06

      5

      I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often. affordable degree AND degrees by mail AND fast degree

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 11th 2010, 12:07

      5

      I think the first is always the most memorable but topping the first in the 2nd sequel can be a challenge. So I'm looking forward to the next post. online diploma AND free diploma

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 12th 2011, 14:25

      I am glad to read this post, its an interesting one. I am always searching for quality posts and articles and this is what I found here, I hope you will be adding more in future. Thanks Handgun Safe

      Alert a moderator

    • michaelroy1

      Feb 24th 2011, 11:07

      What powers it along is an easy, emerging chemistry between the appealingly nerdy straight-arrow Peter and Segel’s Sydney, wreathed in dope, divorcees and good advice, as an engaging Big Lebowski-lite. model sailboats

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 24th 2011, 15:21

      4

      Another great example of innovation, I am glad to find it. There are so many developers working on this segment but this is one of the best innovative idea ever. Thanks for sharing it here. tax lien investments

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 13:55

      4

      Electric utility stocks and their dividend feature is great for retirement plans and a conservative way to play the recovery of the economy in a regular investment account. gun safes houston

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 2:10

      2

      Still there is room for greater development and I would recommend more emphasis on research and of course it will bring a better situation. Thanks for sharing a nice read. Cheers Fashion Editorials

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Mar 7th 2011, 14:56

      4

      Still there is room for greater development and I would recommend more emphasis on research and of course it will bring a better situation. Thanks for sharing a nice read. Cheers carpet cleaning

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular