Reviews

Kick-Ass

4

A little girl spouting filth. And it gets better…

A costumed crime-fighter stands atop a New York skyscraper. As the music swells, stoking memories of Superman with Metropolis laid out before him, this chap in grey and yellow spreads his blood-red wings and takes off, plummeting headfirst towards the fast-approaching pavement. At any moment, we think, he’s going to pull out of this swan-dive and fly up, up and away... But, he smashes onto the roof of a taxi with a bone-crunching SPLAT!

Welcome to Kick-Ass, a comic-book movie where no power equates to no responsibility; where wannabe superheroes fall foul of gravity and get the crap kicked out of them by ordinary street trash. Written by Scottish scribe Mark Millar (Wanted), the original Kick-Ass comic was an instant hit when the first issue appeared in early 2008, outselling even Spider-Man. No wonder, really; Millar mined a conceit so brilliant yet so simple – real superheroes in the real world – you had to ask yourself why no one had stumbled across it before.

The writer describes it as his “love letter to superhero comics” and reckons the film version will “redefine superhero movies in the same way Pulp Fiction redefined crime movies”. Talk about setting yourself up for a fall. But you know what? He’s not too wide of the mark. Kick-Ass is the most refreshing thing to happen to spandex cinema in years, a profane, violent, gory, gleeful romp that’s as OTT as it is un-PC. It pokes a sharp stick in the eye of po-faced, ‘dark’, ‘edgy’ super-flicks and shrieks, “Why so serious? Let’s have some fun for a change.”

It is, inevitably, an origin story. Geeky high schooler Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) lives a Peter Parkeresque existence with his widowed dad, hanging out with his mates at the local comic shop, jerking off to his voluptuous teacher, and wondering why no one’s ever tried dressing up as a superhero in real life. “Because they’d get their ass kicked,” he’s told, matterof- factly. Not to be put off, Dave buys a green ski-suit from eBay and sets out to prove it can be done...

Alas, his early attempts at righting wrongs ends with him in intensive care. Meanwhile, across town, two well-armed, well-trained, clearly not that well in the head agents of justice are plotting the downfall of mobster Frank D’Amico (Mark Strong). Meet ex-cop Damon Macready AKA Big Daddy (Nicolas Cage) and his 11-year-old sidekick Mindy, AKA Hit Girl (Chloe Moretz). They’re father and daughter, mentor and student, an alt-rock Batman and Robin.

Their undeniably twisted but deeply affectionate relationship is the heart of the movie. In one defining moment unlikely to win the support of the NSPCC, Damon lovingly fires a semi-automatic handgun at the chest of his Kevlar-wearing moppet. Today’s lesson? How to take a bullet. Your brain will tell you this scene is very wrong. But you’ll be cackling too loudly to hear it.

It’s all about tone – dark enough to be anarchic, playful enough to amuse – and director Matthew Vaughn has it down pat. Honing storytelling skills first flexed on Layer Cake and Stardust, Vaughn ensures none of the source material’s graphic novelty is lost in translation. (Perhaps no big surprise given that the script – by himself and Jane Goldman – was adapted concurrently with the writing of the comic’s first six-issue arc.)

Working with a much smaller budget than Hollywood usually signs off on such fare, Vaughn doesn’t even try and compete in terms of scale, focusing instead on tone character and dialogue. His set-pieces – and there are tons – rely more on physicality than digi-trickery, and are all the punchier for it.

As the plot pounds along, the worlds of Kick-Ass and Big Daddy/Hit Girl collide. What’s more, another masked vigilante emerges – Red Mist (Superbad’s Christopher Mintz-Plasse), a flash-cardriving upstart with a hidden agenda. Spoilt, snotty and bumbling, it’s Mintz- Plasse’s chewiest role since McLovin - not that there’s any stealing the show from Moretz’s Hit Girl. Think Natalie Portman in Leon without the brooding. Slashing baddies down to size with martial arts moves and a mouth foul beyond her years, she’s deadly funny.

By contrast, Kick-Ass himself is a tad dull, though Johnson’s transformation (and American accent) thoroughly convince. Cage, a massive comic-book fan who missed his chance to play the Man Of Steel when the plug was pulled on Tim Burton’s proposed movie, here gets to channel the Caped Crusader. The costume’s an obvious Dark Knight nod, while the voice is a subtler gag, a spot-on Adam West impersonation.

It’s that kind of movie, one that works on multiple levels: in-jokes for the fanboys, straight-up kicks for the Saturday nighters, fun for all.
 

Verdict:

Hyper-violent, hyper-knowing and just plain hyper, Kick-Ass marks a bold costume-change for the superhero movie but veers clear of pastiche or parody. For best results, view with a large audience. You will cheer. Guaranteed.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • KATELM76

      Mar 30th 2010, 16:55

      5

      I had seen articles about this film and was not really interested, then I saw a review which put my interest up a little. Now after I've seen the film all I can say is ..... it's a brillant film, laugh out loud funny with an interesting twist to a Superhero film. If you don't like bad language and bad taste this isn't for you!!

      Alert a moderator

    • Jrdnsans1792

      Apr 4th 2010, 18:49

      2

      After all the hype and great reviews surrounding kickass, i went to the cinema expecting an absolutely fantastic film, shortly over two hours later i came out of the cinema feeling, well lets put it this way - to say i was disappointed would be an understatement. Now I enjoyed the first half of the film a lot, it was funny, smart and a definate change from all the other mediocre super-hero movies of recent years. But i found the longer the film went on, the less and less i began to enjoy it. The film tries to keep you hooked through its rather excessive use of violence, now don't get me wrong there's nothing wrong with a bit of violence but in kickas you'll find that the countless stabbings and headshots soon become tedious, no doubt it will hold your interest for the first hour or so but after that it just gets dull. Another problem is the characters, apart from Dave/Kickass, none of the characters are likeable, this is especially true with the characters Big Daddy and Hit-Girl, who are more annoying rather than funny, thus making it so you don't really care about what happens to their characters preventing Matthew Vaughn from getting across the desired effect. If you enjoy pointless violence with no real thought put into the rest of the film whatsoever (e.g Shoot'em Up), then this is for you, for anyone else then this is best avoided.

      Alert a moderator

    • Connor94

      Apr 8th 2010, 16:06

      4

      When this movie first appears on the screen and the superhero crash lands, isnt a methaphor for the movies events or hype, as this movie is bloody good, literally. The annoyance that our main superhero kikc-a*s isnt really a superhero, but a wimp with no powers at all does disapoint a little but we grow to love his innocence. The girl and her father steal the show. Hit girl is a marvellous and funny actor, killing lots of men and sheding bad mans blood, MAKES the audience lover her and root for her, whereas her father isnt the same. He is a god superhero and is good and has a brilliant 'back story' but isnt as 'inspirational' as hit girl, the best superhero in the movie. As most (neraly all) superhero movie have conventions, this movie does follow them. The fact that the superhero gets the girl, the man beats the baddy and there is a cliffhanger ending, follow typical conventions religiously, but is bearbale. Kick-a*s overlal is a young, hip, orignal take on an action movie, with brilliant action and flith from a 12 year old girl is amazing, it has its tiny flaws but is a good watch! Well done Matthew Vaughn!

      Alert a moderator

    • Connor94

      Apr 8th 2010, 16:15

      4

      As soon as this movie comes on our cinema screens, and the un names superhero crashes off of a tall building, this is defientely not a metaphor for the movies plot or characters, in fact its the opposite. Our 'hero' kick a*s is a vunerable ,oveable hero who tries ( and fails) to deliver a notable performacne to save people in the movie, he has no potential to be a superhero, but a convention here is kept the same; always beleive in your dreams! and kick a*s dreams alright. Our main (and awesome) superheros are hit girl and big daddy, a father and daughter pair which are brillaint fighters and bond through violence. Hit Girl (Chloe Moretz) is the best hero and one of the best actors. She has brilliant and witty filith, theres a weird but satisfactory feeling to watching a 12 year old slice up men and swear at them. Kick a*s follows usual action movie conventions but is original. A good watch, with a follow-able polt and good acting. The violence and Chloe Moretz steal the show and make the movie even better. Well done to Matthew Vaughn on a brilliant movie!

      Alert a moderator

    • Connor94

      Apr 8th 2010, 16:16

      I posted two by mistake :)

      Alert a moderator

    • nc1234

      Apr 9th 2010, 12:53

      1

      Alert a moderator

    • Noza619

      Apr 11th 2010, 22:31

      5

      The greatest superhero movie of all time.

      Alert a moderator

    • freqy1

      Apr 14th 2010, 16:05

      Hey guys, saw the film 3 times and it was (no pun intended) ‘Kick-a*s’. Inspired by the film we have a group set up on Facebook for all you people with weird and wonderful everyday super powers! Anything from contortionism to insane party tricks! WE WANT TO SEE THEM ALL! You will be in with the chance of being part of FREQUENT PEOPLE’S new music video for the up and coming hit ‘Superhero’ All you have to do is join up to the Facebook group linked below and show us what you’ve got! http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=105875319433479

      Alert a moderator

    • stateofflux

      Apr 15th 2010, 20:14

      5

      When I saw the teaser for this I thought to myself “What the f**k is this?” Then I decided to look at the red band trailer and immediately knew that I wanted to see it. It was better than I expected, and does exactly what is says on the tin; it kicks a*s! The over the top violence, which some viewers may see as unnecessary, makes this film what it is. At first the idea of an 11 year old running around swearing and chopping bad guys up seemed too controversial for my liking, but Hit Girl (Chloe Moretz) ending up being my favourite character in the film. The contrast between each of the key characters (including with their alter-ego's) is classical, as is the downright outrageous action that pulls the entire movie together without deeming itself uncalled for. People who have read the comics may prefer certain aspects showcased there- I for one believe that villains downfall in the comic highlights Kick-a*s (Aaron Johnson) as more of a hero than the film does. That being said, there were definitely some aspects that I preferred in the movie, i.e. the strobe light scene and the soundtrack, which were both perfect. This movie doesn't hold back and manages to deliver a combinaton of jaw-dropping action, emotion and everyday issues without compromising any of these factors. If you want to see a super hero movie that stands out and ignores the stereotypical ‘guys, this is serious’ approach, get your a*s over to the cinema and see Kick-a*s.

      Alert a moderator

    • madrox

      Apr 19th 2010, 11:17

      5

      Alert a moderator

    • AbAeterno

      May 8th 2010, 18:52

      5

      Absolutely worth the hype. Every bit as violent and brutal as you'd expect, but never in a way that is too outlandish for the plot. Speaking of, aside from brief slumps in pace in the first act the plot powers along, building towards a completely bat-s**t insane and ridiculous finale that needs to be seen to be believed. Any film in which Nicolas Cage plays a sadistic, over-protective Adam West-era Batman-alike should be greeted with the praise it deserves. Chances are you'd know if you would like the film from that very sentence. Well, that and what your stance on the ever-controversial c-word is.

      Alert a moderator

    • madrox

      Aug 2nd 2010, 14:00

      5

      Alert a moderator

    • Jkaltz11

      Sep 14th 2010, 21:06

      5

      Brilliantly entertaining and perfectly paced.

      Alert a moderator

    • KingofSpain

      Oct 6th 2010, 17:52

      4

      Doesn't live up to the hype but fun all the same. Hit Girl is here to stay!

      Alert a moderator

    • ellyka19

      Oct 27th 2010, 10:27

      5

      nice blog,but you could have made this blog more cool if you could configure the language changer pluigin but all the same you have done a good job tarif assurance auto

      Alert a moderator

    • johnalbert486

      Nov 8th 2010, 8:49

      I agree with chuffster tho great review but I fear their is a little harry (fat ginger w**k) Knowles thesis help in all of us so I'm going to have to wait research writing and see for myself....still looking forward to it tho coursework writing

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 19th 2010, 19:53

      3

      great site vigrx plus

      Alert a moderator

    • egipt

      Nov 24th 2010, 9:26

      Kick-a*s tells the story of Dave, a common teenager without anything special about him. Through his sense of justice and some events he decides to become a "Superhero" and hardly tries to save innocent people. Why did I like this movie so much? Well, that's not easy to explain. The acting was flawless (in my opinion) with Aaron (Dave/Kick-a*s), Chloe (Hit-girl) and Christopher (Chris/Red Mist) giving their best and shining throughout the entire movie. The storyline, even though it may not be the most original one, is amazingly well developed. The movie goes by at a perfect rhythm, combining comedy with action just perfectly. The music was amazingly well picked and combined 100% with every scene. and so on and so forth... When I left the theater I was so excited, so happy and so energetic, it looked like I just had a shot of adrenaline! And I couldn't stop talking about the movie. It's been a really long time since I felt this way about a movie. Now I know this movie is going to feed a lot of haters. It's normal. A lot of people walk into the theater with wakacje 2011 their mind already set, like "This movie is for nerds. It's going to suck so much.", if you have that kind of mentality just save yourself the time and don't watch it. Why bother if throughout the whole movie you're just going to be looking for flaws or rolling your eyes at every joke. I loved this movie. I don't care about anything other people say. Kick- a*s is my favorite movie of all time. I have no doubt about that.

      Alert a moderator

    • jmorris80

      Nov 29th 2010, 1:20

      5

      So entertaining, absolutely loved it. - Bear Spray

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 9:24

      4

      Thanks for the first newsletter, I enjoyed reading it. Thanks a lot and i am eagerly waiting for your next blog. online degrees AND online undergraduate diploma AND online graduate diploma

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 9:24

      4

      This great blog is very interesting and enjoyable to read. I am a big fan of the subjects discussed. I also enjoy reading the comments, but notice that a lot of people should stay on topic to try and add value to the original blog post. I would also encourage everyone to bookmark this page to your favorite service to help spread the word online undergraduate certificate AND online graduate certificate

      Alert a moderator

    • ShelbyAustinID

      Dec 15th 2010, 15:17

      5

      Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson. Still of Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd in Back to the Future Michael J. Fox at ... is accidentally sent back to 1955 in a plutonium-powered DeLorean "time machine" ... Marty McFly just broke the time barrier. He's only got one week to get it fixed. ... Doc Brown invented time travel, 1 3 dimethylamylamine

      Alert a moderator

    • onochan

      Dec 19th 2010, 19:13

      interesting to read this great article indeed because I have known many great and new things from you. Thanks a lot one more time. Mesothelioma Prognosis Asbestos cancer mesothelioma Medical Tourism Gadgets And Gizmos Basische Ernährung prepaid legal service united states trends prepaid legal scams No win no fee accident claims Rockefeller Center Rockefeller center christmas Rockefeller Center tours forex trading for beginners

      Alert a moderator

    • BPsvaile

      Dec 22nd 2010, 18:17

      It’s all about tone – dark enough to be anarchic, playful enough to amuse – and director Matthew Vaughn has it down pat. Honing storytelling skills first flexed on Layer Cake and Stardust, Vaughn ensures none of the source material’s graphic novelty is lost in translation. electronic cigarette

      Alert a moderator

    • BPsvaile

      Dec 22nd 2010, 18:18

      The music was amazingly well picked and combined 100% with every scene. and so on and so forth... When I left the theater I was so excited, so happy and so energetic, it looked like I just had a shot of adrenaline! And I couldn't stop talking about the movie. smokeless cigarettes

      Alert a moderator

    • BPsvaile

      Dec 22nd 2010, 18:19

      Any film in which Nicolas Cage plays a sadistic, over-protective Adam West-era Batman-alike should be greeted with the praise it deserves. Chances are you'd know if you would like the film from that very sentence. electric cigarette

      Alert a moderator

    • BPsvaile

      Dec 22nd 2010, 18:20

      The acting was flawless (in my opinion) with Aaron (Dave/Kick-a*s), Chloe (Hit-girl) and Christopher (Chris/Red Mist) giving their best and shining throughout the entire movie. The storyline, even though it may not be the most original one, is amazingly well developed. facebook emoticons

      Alert a moderator

    • BPsvaile

      Dec 22nd 2010, 18:21

      always beleive in your dreams! and kick as dreams alright. stretch marks

      Alert a moderator

    • cnanursing

      Jan 8th 2011, 6:37

      Very good post I enjoy your blog keep up the great posts cna license online online cna exam sample cna resume lpn salary CNA Resume Cover Letter

      Alert a moderator

    • mohsin2

      Jan 15th 2011, 21:45

      3

      Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson. Still of Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd in Back to the Future Michael J. Fox at Naruto Episodes Treating Arthritis Notebook review Blog links IPad Site Windows phone

      Alert a moderator

    • mohsin2

      Jan 16th 2011, 11:22

      3

      A costumed crime-fighter stands atop a New York skyscraper. As the music swells, stoking memories of Superman with Metropolis laid out before him, this chap in grey and yellow spreads his blood-red wings and takes off, Naruto Episodes Treating Arthritis Notebook review Blog links IPad Site Windows phone

      Alert a moderator

    • paultretior

      Feb 18th 2011, 19:23

      It’s all about tone – dark enough to be anarchic, playful enough to amuse – and director Matthew Vaughn has it down pat. Honing storytelling skills first flexed on Layer Cake and Stardust, Vaughn ensures none of the source material’s graphic novelty is lost in translation. watch the adjustment bureau online watch beastly online download beastly download the adjustment bureau watch rango online download rango watch take me home tonight online watch battle los angeles online download battle los angeles download take me home tonight watch jane eyre online download jane eyre watch red riding hood online download red riding hood

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonwill920

      Mar 3rd 2011, 10:41

      Kick on the a*s L0olZz.. programming assignment Accounting Assignment

      Alert a moderator

    • haiyan

      Mar 10th 2011, 8:52

      Since these community of Pick-Up Artists are growing, the concepts once uncommon are becoming a growing number of common. You will observe people wearing goggles, top hats or maybe a pink furry coat to the club. Which is the answer why you should get this rare blue flash watch. Unless, you need to be stereotyped being a Pick-Up Artist.

      Alert a moderator

    • glegs

      May 11th 2011, 8:29

      5

      Alert a moderator