Reviews

MacGruber

4

Vegetable matters...

MacGurber review

MacGruber review - Pop quiz: could you, under the right circumstances, find a man with a piece of celery up his bottom funny? If the answer’s no – fine. Maybe you suffered some veg-related trauma in a past life. If the answer’s yes, MacGruber might just be for you.

Short on sophistication, but long on belly laughs, it’s as unlikely – but entertaining – as its hero’s luxuriant mullet. Falling, quite vociferously, into the vegetables + bum = unfunny camp is MacGyver creator Lee Zlotoff, who’s apparently suing Forte and co for this cheeky Saturday Night Live spin-off. Frankly, he can get in line.

MacGruber (Forte) may defuse bombs with paperclips, but it’s ’80s action cinema in the firing line. A cross between John Matrix and Ron Burgundy, MacGruber is a soft-cocked hard man who thinks he’s the shit, but turns out not to require the definite article.

Called back to action by Colonel Faith (Powers Boothe), he sets out to avenge himself on archenemy Dieter Von Cunth (Kilmer). This involves dialogue straight from the Steven Seagal soundboard (“MacGruber? I thought you were dead.”/“So did I – but I’m not.”), lots of throat rips (his gory signature move) and Cunth jokes aplenty.

Though it sounds tired, the gaps between how MacGruber and the world rate his abilities proves fertile ground. A ridiculous, blue-filtered sex scene is revealed to be MacGruber grunting atop his lover like a horny pig.

When he’s dropped from the mission, he offers his body as a bribe in a nanosecond. “Just point at something in the room and I’ll fuck it for you!” he pleads.

Like the trailer for a so-bad-it’s-good action movie, MacGruber wastes no time creating a believable universe, expending all of its efforts trying to crack us up instead. Unless you’ve got a stick – or something else – up your behind, you’ll find resistance is futile.
 

Verdict:

Throwaway but genuinely funny throughout, MacGruber plays like Hot Shots: Part Trois or a live-action Team America: World Police – a summer six-pack movie that makes up for in laughs what it lacks in longevity.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • cashman1

      Jun 18th 2010, 9:44

      5

      one of the funniest films ive seen in ages really stupid but thats where the best comedy is

      Alert a moderator

    • Jazzysheff

      Nov 19th 2010, 19:14

      4

      Don't Understand the hate for this movie over on IMDB. Haven't laughed so much in a long while. Totally agree with TF on the 4 star rating for this

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Jan 9th 2011, 4:01

      1

      Before seeing this movie i expected nothing special but a funny comedy. This was nether of these. the film plot is that Dieter Von Cunth (Val Kilmer) has stolen a nuclear war head and trying to destroy washington DC. When Macgruber (Will Forte) and his first team (WWE Stars M.V.P, Chris Jericho, Big Show, Kane, Mark Henry And Great Khail) Then his second (Kristen Wiig And Ryan Phillippe)after he blowing up everyone in his first team. They then spend the next 80 minutes trying to prevent the warhead from being lauched. I could understand this being billed as a spoof action and comedy movie. If it was funny but nothing about this is funny or worth watching. The only funny parts of the movie (Which there are few) can be seen in all the trailers. Not only this but the film was very dull and preditable. Which shows in box office taking that it did not even make the budget of the production.

      Alert a moderator

    • Blanca259

      Jan 22nd 2011, 21:30

      Cool movie & we can tell it's a satire of MacGyver. Still a funny movie. Blanca from Data Recovery Companies

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Jan 25th 2011, 7:50

      4

      Thanks for another informative blog. Where I can get this information written in a way that promotes complete? I have a project I'm working, and I was in search of more information computer Science degree AND psychology degree AND criminal justice degree This blog is fun and interesting to read. I am a big fan of the topics. I also love reading the comments, but note that many people must remain in the field to try to improve the original blog post. I would also like to encourage everyone to bookmark this page to your favorite service to help spread the word marketing degree AND early childhood education degree

      Alert a moderator

    • Marissa892

      Jan 26th 2011, 2:57

      He appear to be a funny comedian. This is such an interesting website; I want to share it with my friends. Thank you for the post. Auto Insurance Quote

      Alert a moderator

    • Flashpler011

      Feb 8th 2011, 18:12

      4

      Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! multicar insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • zariadurkin

      Feb 16th 2011, 8:39

      4

      Hi. Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more information? buy oem software

      Alert a moderator

    • danielwilkins

      Feb 19th 2011, 11:06

      Thank you for share it my blogs: cityville cheats | master cleanse

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 13:52

      4

      Thanks a lot for enjoying this beauty article with me. I am appreciating it very much! Looking forward to another great article. Good luck to the author! all the best! houston gun safes

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:26

      3

      These kind of post are always inspiring and I prefer to read quality content so I happy to find many good point here in the post, writing is simply great, thank you for the post Best Cat Food

      Alert a moderator

    • zidanezidan

      Mar 11th 2011, 8:22

      4

      Thanks a lot for enjoying this beauty article with me. I am appreciating it very much! Looking forward to another great article. www.flash-watch.com

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular