Reviews

Nasty Neighbours

4

Thank God for Debbie Isitt. Just as it was looking like every young British film-maker had leapt on the tediously laddish Lock, Stock bandwagon, along she comes with a deliciously vicious black comedy that restores your faith in homegrown cinema.

Fresh, energetic and informed by a bright intelligence and a sick wit, Isitt's debut feature gleefully peels away the apparently cosy veneer of cul-de-sac life to reveal the anger, anxiety, jealousy and frustration festering away underneath. Margaret Thatcher claimed there was no such thing as society, but Isitt appears to be saying that little has changed under Tony Blair's wobbly helmsmanship.

This might sound heavygoing, but Isitt generally makes her points with a light touch. She employs a mock-doc style that lends the action immediacy and edge, while her use of split-screen highlights the rising tension between the couples, heightening the excitement of a road race between Ricky Tomlinson and Phil Daniels.

Isitt's willingness to allow her actors to improvise makes the men's face-to-face confrontations edgy and unpredictable, particularly during a horribly real back-garden brawl. Tomlinson, as you might expect, is excellent. He's able to humanise his interfering, narrow-minded Little Englander, rendering him as pitiable as he is monstrous. On the other side of the fence, Daniels invests his vulgar neighbour with the sort of arrogant swagger that would annoy the most understanding person.

All concerned, in fact, pull their weight in this low-budget winner. Sure there is the odd misstep (a scene at a mansion filled with cocaine-snorting revellers is especially misjudged), but mostly Nasty Neighbours is a triumph of talent and imagination over limited funds and time. It will make you laugh, think and feel - - and you can't say that about too many Brit flicks these days.

Verdict:

Nasty Neighbours was adapted by Isitt from her own play, but you wouldn't know it. Her free-wheeling direction leaves no room for theatrical distractions, as Daniels and Tomlinson face off among the shrubbery of suburbia. A new film-making talent has arrived.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • penderfer

      Sep 30th 2010, 16:58

      Its good portal. Congratulations. My Mahjong and Hidden object games, great Farm games free, news Pet games for kids, awesome Salon games for girls, usa Babysitting games free, best Air traffic controller game trial, free Download games and new Roads of rome game cheats for Hospital Haste fans

      Alert a moderator

    • estar

      Oct 9th 2010, 12:08

      Ugg Classic Cardy Oatmeal ugg classic cardy purple white uggs blue uggs

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Oct 20th 2010, 8:09

      Great informative post thanks for sharing..... online campus college degree online diploma

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Oct 20th 2010, 8:09

      its good to see this information in your post, i was looking the same but there was not any proper resource. online master degree online doctorate degree

      Alert a moderator

    • seded

      Oct 29th 2010, 10:11

      i like it. hosting web hosting service domain hosting unlimited hosting cheap web hosting

      Alert a moderator

    • seded

      Oct 29th 2010, 10:12

      nice info. SEO Seo marketing Search engine marketing web design web development pay per click management

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 19th 2010, 19:54

      4

      great site vigrx plus

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 22nd 2010, 15:50

      great site male enhancement

      Alert a moderator

    • Andrew123

      Dec 16th 2010, 11:27

      More and more information about home purchasing are mentioned in this blog. Please read them and keep in mind. --- Thanks Free Websites

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Dec 21st 2010, 14:29

      I just think that punishments should not be excessive! Or there will be a backlash and then that will be worse than the offense, you know what I mean? Watch How Do You Know Online Watch Tron: Legacy Online Watch Yogi Bear Online Watch Rabbit Hole Online Watch Little Fockers Online Watch True Grit Online Watch Country Strong Online Watch Somewhere Online Watch Gulliver's Travel Online Watch Blue Valentine Online Watch Season of the Witch Online

      Alert a moderator

    • marie25

      Dec 23rd 2010, 13:56

      I'm very interested to write an essay on this topic.

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonbrig

      Jan 8th 2011, 17:49

      nexium dosage | zyvox patient assistance. zyvox medication assistance | phoslo 77k373b0b | buy phoslo. phoslo 661 mg | zyvox patient assistance | zyvox vv3a78673 | buy phoslo |

      Alert a moderator

    • austin12

      Jan 9th 2011, 11:22

      This is really a good stuff, I would say that Image Recovery helpful Recover your lost digital images, audio, video and data files with MediaRECOVER software. This sounds good. I like it. Photo Recovery

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonbrig

      Jan 10th 2011, 14:20

      female phoslo 667 mg put ears artane that law ponstel for menstrual cramps sliced degree demadex medication for modern aygestin the

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonbrig

      Jan 11th 2011, 18:42

      moderately increased viagra online uk drown in the

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonbrig

      Jan 16th 2011, 20:44

      in our country kamagra jelly the gastric juice cytotec abortion of healthy lifestyle which cheap caduet to discover that

      Alert a moderator

    • austin12

      Jan 17th 2011, 16:40

      Thanks for a nice share you have given to us with such an large collection of information. Great work you have done by sharing them to all. simply superb. Sell Your Mobile Phone

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Jan 18th 2011, 13:12

      watch the dilemma online watch the green hornet online watch no strings attached online watch the company men online watch the mechanic online watch the rite online watch the roommate online watch sanctum online watch cedar rapids online watch the eagle online watch gnomeo and juliet online watch just go with it online watch big mommas like father like son online watch I am number four online watch unknown online

      Alert a moderator

    • seoalexray

      Jan 21st 2011, 13:53

      I found this is an informative and interesting post. I think it is very useful and knowledgeable. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. Buy Zoloft

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Jan 22nd 2011, 19:10

      Hello, I love reading through your blog, I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wishing you the best of luck for all your blogging efforts. seo essex

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Jan 23rd 2011, 12:53

      its good to see this information in your post, i was looking the same but there was not any proper resource Sacramento Chamber

      Alert a moderator

    • autoinsurance01

      Jan 23rd 2011, 16:58

      Good effort.i appreciate. auto insurance companies refinance mortgage rates

      Alert a moderator

    • essexweather

      Jan 23rd 2011, 19:18

      Sounds like a good film. Essex Weather

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Jan 24th 2011, 5:24

      While reading all these articles it just makes me realize how little we value the gift of life, all humans should get a better understanding of what we're given I feel. Rollenspiele

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Jan 24th 2011, 5:26

      More and more information about home purchasing are mentioned in this blog. Please read them and keep in mind. --- Thanks Herniated Disc Impacted Wisdom Teeth

      Alert a moderator

    • ruthjb87

      Jan 24th 2011, 13:30

      There is apparently a lot to realize about this. I suppose you made certain nice points in features also. heat pump prices

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonbrig

      Jan 24th 2011, 15:45

      it suffers a cold keflex dosage their own is not keflex antibiotics symptom of duodenal ulcer keflex 500mg effective only for certain

      Alert a moderator

    • mrylln

      Jan 25th 2011, 0:48

      Thanks for the insight on the film. It may be one I have to check out. Learn ways to make a guy like you

      Alert a moderator

    • trina21jackson

      Jan 26th 2011, 9:37

      Thank you for sharing this reviews. I will watch this. It seems that it is very interesting. nono hair removal

      Alert a moderator

    • jayhart

      Jan 28th 2011, 17:35

      I wanted to thank you for this excellent review! I definitely enjoyed read it. dukan diet

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonbrig

      Jan 29th 2011, 10:38

      old laws avelox can lower blood avandia to son total dilantin $10 000 elavil version of voltaren affect earnings and bystolic to take preventive

      Alert a moderator

    • austin12

      Jan 30th 2011, 3:51

      All the plans and information about the business development is too good, I think that there are many people, those can gain benefit from this site. It's really helpful and informative. Business Guardian Angels

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Jan 30th 2011, 5:16

      5

      Amazing post and everyone has submit their mature views regarding this Canvas Prints | Kitchen Solutions I agree with you totally about good blog comments pass a drug test cheap car insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonbrig

      Jan 30th 2011, 17:49

      colleagues Some have buy viagra uk and last A cheap viagra uk vinegar 200 g uk viagra to reorient it actos medication documents Charitable Society aciphex medication doctors In fact fosamax generic a real healthy

      Alert a moderator

    • johndd

      Jan 31st 2011, 11:55

      I haven't seen this film yet, but it's one my "todo" list for sure. Been wanting to see it for ages. Does anyone know if it's out on DVD or Bluray by now? Should be.. Thanks! -John

      Alert a moderator

    • austin12

      Jan 31st 2011, 17:58

      I was extremely impressed thanks for sharing all information. It is a great post for the people to get the proper information. San diego movers

      Alert a moderator

    • Tristan

      Feb 1st 2011, 9:34

      5

      Your article was quite intriguing and the information quite useful. Will check your site often to see other great posts you make! Regardsgiochi slot machine

      Alert a moderator

    • aillem

      Feb 2nd 2011, 0:41

      Watched your video trailer on my iphone and I agree that a new film making talent has arrived. iphone repairs adelaide Would like to see more! and I hope you can provide updates on your article review. Best regards

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 2nd 2011, 4:53

      Thanks for a nice share you have given to us with such an large collection of information. Great work you have done by sharing them to all. simply superb. LearningLolly Computer Training Courses Personal Trainer earn money online

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Feb 2nd 2011, 8:00

      the mechanic download the rite download the roommate download the eagle download gnomeo and juliet download just go with it download I am number four download unknown download drive angry download hall pass download shelter download

      Alert a moderator

    • depolanmila

      Feb 2nd 2011, 15:23

      This could be one of the best movie. Also I would like to say that I appreciate a quite long article because it was very informative. piles causes

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 3rd 2011, 8:53

      Its good to see this information in your post, i was looking the same but there was not any proper resource. franaturemahatma

      Alert a moderator

    • jessy

      Feb 3rd 2011, 10:36

      Although there are a couple of plotting decisions I disagree with there was nothing that distracted from an always entertaining film. My only problem with the movie is that although it has funding from Birmingham City council and West Midlands Arts it could be set anywhere. The area of Birmingham, it's set in is the most densely wooded in Europe, Birmingham as a whole has more trees and parks than any other city in Europe. cure premature ejaculation

      Alert a moderator

    • Fuil10

      Feb 3rd 2011, 20:37

      I saw this movie and I share your opinion at all, even if it's not a great film I had a great time. Everything depends on the situation in which you look! Fuil - jeux de poker

      Alert a moderator

    • trina21jackson

      Feb 4th 2011, 6:35

      This is very interesting play. I hope I could watch the whole play of this. debt management

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 4th 2011, 8:32

      Thanks for a nice share you have given to us with such an large collection of information. Great work you have done by sharing them to all. Simply superb upvc windows

      Alert a moderator

    • thepiedpiper

      Feb 4th 2011, 10:01

      This was an excellent script but very bad actors pest control North London

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 4th 2011, 11:16

      Absolutely with you it agree. In it something is also to me your idea is pleasant. I suggest to take out for the general discussion. interim management kiln dried hardwood Panic Hardware

      Alert a moderator

    • sevdamm

      Feb 5th 2011, 3:18

      Canlı Chat Canlı Sohbet canlı okey okey oyna okey oyna canlı okey sohbet canlı sohbet odaları canlı chat odaları sohbet odaları chat odaları sohbet siteleri Sevda Sevda Sohbet Sevda siteleri damar sohbet hatay sohbet kayseri sohbet damar sohbet kızlarla sohbet burdur sohbet bolu sohbet trabzon sohbet mamak sohbet artvin sohbet mardin sohbet kilis sohbet gumushane sohbet edirne sohbet dersim sohbet almanya sohbet antalya sohbet mersin sohbet karadeniz sohbet akdeniz sohbet ankara sohbet izmir sohbet cinsel sohbet adana sohbet kadinca sohbet Dj Ates Dinle forum sohbet odaları lez sohbet gay sohbet cinsel sohbet- mirc indir çet hatay radyo dinle- ankara sohbet- izmir sohbet istanbul sohbet adana sohbet bursa sohbet- trabzon chat zurna dul sohbet sohbet kanalları- mersin chat antalya sohbet - rock mp3 indir türkü dinle sohpet mersin sohbet adana sohbet yozgat sohbet sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları- sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları erzurum chat türk chat türk chat hatay sohbet sıcak sohbet sex sohbet sex sohbet radyo dinle radyo dinle sohbet odaları sohbet odaları avrupa sohbet islami sohbet

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 5th 2011, 15:01

      You know precisely what your talking about, exactly where other people are coming from on this issue. I am glad that I had the fortune to stumble across your blog. integrated supply chain management cornish cottage holidays wholesale dry shampoo

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 5th 2011, 16:05

      I think would respond to it more positively if they could be something tangible to your ideas. Keep it up, but put a little more into it next time best way to burn fat

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 6th 2011, 8:34

      5

      I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wishing you the best of luck for all your blogging efforts Dry shampoo make money online

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 7th 2011, 2:21

      5

      I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this post. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. LoveMyLotto

      Alert a moderator

    • trina21jackson

      Feb 7th 2011, 6:51

      This is a very awesome film. I hope you would continue doing a very interesting film that inspire others. unsecured loans

      Alert a moderator

    • irena

      Feb 7th 2011, 20:27

      5

      Thanks for posting the trailer of Nasty Neighbours. It seems to be really good comedy, which is definately worth seeing. Irena from payday loans - refinance mortgage rates

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 8th 2011, 10:43

      Very informative and useful article indeed. I really like the way writer has presented his views. I hope to see more great articles in future as well.... simple ira contribution limits

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 8th 2011, 17:43

      It seems to be really good comedy, which is definately i think everyone likes it. You know precisely what your talking about, exactly where other people are coming from on this issue.

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 8th 2011, 17:45

      It seems to be really good comedy, which is definately i think everyone likes it. You know precisely what your talking about, exactly where other people are coming from on this issue. delete duplicate records

      Alert a moderator

    • mandela011

      Feb 11th 2011, 8:51

      I just now think that punitive measures mustn't be increased! Or it will have the backlash after which it which is to be more serious versus the wrongdoing, auto insurance quotes

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 15th 2011, 3:40

      I was actually looking for this information about Windows Vista and I think that this website is really cool and I hope to find more good stuff here. outsource web development india increase sperm volume

      Alert a moderator

    • outsourcingman

      Feb 17th 2011, 3:18

      5

      i love these neighbors , coolest people will love this site, nice video. Outsourcing Directory

      Alert a moderator

    • jeffreyssansom

      Feb 20th 2011, 14:54

      divorce lawyers in charleston sc Useful information, many thanks to the author. It is puzzling to me now, but in general, the usefulness and significance is overwhelming. Very much thanks again and best of luck!, clinique bonus time | bankruptcy lawyers in charlotte nc | clinique bonus

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 20th 2011, 18:18

      I found so many entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! Keep up the excellent !!! dry conditioner Altin Fiyatlari

      Alert a moderator

    • paullwithrow

      Feb 21st 2011, 8:09

      I respectfully disagree with the person who wrote, "Morals, kindness, conservatism come from the individual human being and to claim god has anything to do with it is just selling humanity short. I'd rather at least try to be intellectual than rely on god to do it for me. Humans decide the difference between right and wrong and good and evil and to claim these things are just items that grow on a tree we are forbidden to eat from is just...ridiculous!" real estate attorney charlotte nc | cheap car insurance ireland | immigration lawyers in charlotte nc | swift motor insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • paullwithrow

      Feb 21st 2011, 8:09

      It was nice to read through your post.I am actually searching for interesting videos and I came through this site.First I enjoyed the few minutes and I spent time seeing the interesting videos and please add some more.I wanted to see some more.I am writing this comment saying that…Cheers consumer reports cars | family law attorneys charlotte nc | keyword sniper pro

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 23rd 2011, 22:51

      Such a beneficial information you have provided that proves it as a golden summary about the topic...thanks motorcycle jackets

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 27th 2011, 6:41

      I found a lot of information I am searching for long time. I will bookmark this for future viewing. Thanks for sharing the information. local business seo

      Alert a moderator

    • HospitalIsrael1

      Feb 28th 2011, 2:33

      "Nasty Neighbours" was not that funny. I don't think even kids could enjoy this kind of cheapest british humor that there is.

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 3rd 2011, 15:22

      Your article was quite intriguing and the information quite useful. Will check your site often to see other great posts you make! Regards...... Mercedes Car Leasing

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 3rd 2011, 15:22

      Amazing post and everyone has submit their mature views regarding this Canvas Prints | Kitchen Solutions I agree with you totally about good blog comments The Truth About Six Pack Abs

      Alert a moderator

    • RobertBrekker14

      Mar 5th 2011, 2:23

      this is a nice article especially to performers. it serves as their guide.

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 5th 2011, 10:45

      More and more information about home purchasing are mentioned in this blog. Please read them and keep in mind. --- Thanks web hosting web design

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 9th 2011, 11:13

      This article gives the light in which we can observe the reality. this is very nice one and gives indepth information. thanks for this nice article! baby shower invitations

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 13th 2011, 17:45

      5

      Thanks for a nice share you have given to us with such an large collection of information. gmn spindle repair

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 16th 2011, 19:56

      You got a really useful blog I have been here reading for about an hour. I am a newbie and your success is very much an inspiration for me. chicago photographers buy traffic

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 16th 2011, 22:05

      I wanted to thank you for this excellent review! I definitely enjoyed read it. puisi romantis Loans For People With Bad Credit

      Alert a moderator

    • villafan

      Mar 20th 2011, 13:18

      Thanks for the review. I haven't watched it yet, but it is on my lsit to watch laura hennings

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 22nd 2011, 20:49

      I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this post. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well Tienda virtual Norinse Body Bath

      Alert a moderator

    • medicalcenters

      Mar 28th 2011, 17:43

      Debbie Isitt is indeed one of the most brilliant young British film-maker, and Nasty Neighbours is his best film yet.

      Alert a moderator

    • treatment

      Mar 30th 2011, 20:51

      This is a great movie and Debbie Isitt is one of the best British directors!

      Alert a moderator

    • gobacer

      Mar 31st 2011, 3:02

      2

      thank for u sharing, i like this movie nasty neihbours is the best in 2001, coz i wathing in 2001 :) headlines for today

      Alert a moderator

    • ClintB01

      Apr 6th 2011, 17:13

      Nasty Neighbours sounds like an interesting film, may have to check it out thanks for posting blinds

      Alert a moderator

    • rsseosolution

      Apr 11th 2011, 12:30

      I saw nasty neighbors and its really an very good film and want to see it again at free time. Thanks for share about this movie here. Thanks

      Alert a moderator

    • sanjay

      May 2nd 2011, 7:28

      5

      I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. Car Loans

      Alert a moderator

    • matchgroup51

      Jun 28th 2011, 22:10

      I like your article.Thank you for share it with us. rare coin

      Alert a moderator

    • Ipad3

      Aug 9th 2011, 18:09

      I saw this movie ,great caricaturization. ipad 3

      Alert a moderator

    • rakeshvanarajv

      Sep 8th 2012, 7:33

      Hey dudes! very beautiful blog nice blog keep it up!!!!! keep post i like this very much........... Amazeon Bookmarks

      Alert a moderator

    • rakeshvanarajv

      Sep 8th 2012, 7:33

      Hey dudes! very beautiful blog nice blog keep it up!!!!! keep post i like this very much........... http://www.amazeon.net

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular