Reviews

Nowhere Boy

3

He’s leaving home…

With this account of the troubled adolescence of the young John Lennon, conceptual artist Sam Taylor-Wood makes her leap into feature films.

But if you’re expecting anything as audaciously original as Hunger, last year’s Bobby Sands movie from Taylor-Wood’s fellow conceptual artist Steve McQueen, you’ll be disappointed.

Nowhere Boy is an accomplished but conventional biopic – troubled upbringing, early struggles, social rebellion and all – rescued from banality by screenwriter Matt Greenhalgh’s ear for dialogue and two riveting lead performances.

As Lennon, Aaron Johnson makes a fair shot at the soon-to-be Beatle but looks altogether too comfortably bred, missing the raw Scouse edginess of the young misfit. (Also he’s too old for the early scenes where John’s only 14.)

But the dialogue oftencompensates, giving us the full force of Lennon’s cruel wit. When his mother Julia (Anne-Marie Duff), who walked out on him when he was five, points out he has something in common with Paul McCartney, who’s also lost his mother, Lennon snaps back pitilessly, “She ’ad cancer. What’s your excuse?”

Duff’s portrayal of Julia – warm, flighty, helplessly unstable – offers one of the film’s two standout performances; the other is Kristin Scott Thomas as her sister Mimi, John’s de facto foster mother. Mimi’s everything Julia isn’t – buttoned-up, sardonic, controlled to the point of frigidity.

In the face of Julia’s unabashed, near-incestuous delight in John’s burgeoning talent, Mimi grows colder and more censorious (“She liked company, if you know what I mean,” she tells John), and the climactic clash of sisters judders with unleashed emotion and years of resentment.

The name of The Beatles is never mentioned, though we get the occasional premonitory nudge: at one point John, out on the town, is contemptuously turned away from The Cavern by a beefy bouncer. We end with John and his band heading off for Hamburg – and all that followed.
 

Verdict:

No surprises in this account of the troubled pre-Beatles adolescence of John Lennon, but sharp scripting and a pair of outstanding performances lift it out of routine biopic territory.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Reilly08

      May 17th 2010, 11:37

      2

      Not much of a story, with a bad ending

      Alert a moderator

    • sjsmith88

      May 24th 2010, 17:55

      4

      Alert a moderator

    • Flashpler011

      Feb 8th 2011, 18:11

      3

      Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! locksmith houston

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 12th 2011, 14:30

      4

      That's interesting portfolio and I am always looking for this kind of stuff. I hope you will be adding more in future. Thanks for sharing Myrtle Beach Condos For Sale

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 12th 2011, 14:38

      4

      I think we need to bring more ideas for this purpose. Involvement of young people can be handy in this regard. I am happy to find a good post here. Thank you Myrtle Beach Condos For Sale

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:48

      3

      Very interesting article. Content has been written in very nice manner. I enjoy reading this kind of stuff. Thanks for sharing good knowledge. Tampa Bay Self Storage

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 2:17

      3

      Very nicely written post it contains useful information for me. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement the concept. Thank you for the post. Lake Travis Homes For Sale

      Alert a moderator

    • alexroy

      Mar 4th 2011, 11:29

      I enjoyed reading it. I need to read more on this topic...I admiring time and effort you put in your blog, because it is obviously one great place where I can find lot of useful info. essay writing service free essays analysis essay write my research paper write my essay

      Alert a moderator

    • TenantScreening

      Mar 9th 2011, 9:01

      Thank you for posting such article. Its great to see such eye opening post.There are still many things to learn and more surprises to come. Meanwhile, while we are waiting why don't we try Tenant Screening. It teaches us how to achieve the best protection for the best times.

      Alert a moderator

    • Lamhan0022

      Mar 9th 2011, 14:01

      4

      I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else! sms

      Alert a moderator

    • freddie2u

      May 1st 2012, 23:55

      3

      yet another john lennon bio movie covering yet another gap in his cinematic biography - if you are a big beatles fan then you will definitely like this movie as it looks at how the band first met and the determination of lennon to make his mark desptie (or because) of his shambollic home life

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular