Reviews

Prometheus

4

The spacegirl who played with fire

He refused to show us an Alien in the sensational trailers (‘Aaaaah! Aaaaah!’), he wouldn’t even use the word ‘Alien’ in the title, but Ridley Scott gives us one almost immediately in Prometheus’ opening scene. Not the kind you’re expecting, mind. 


Breathtaking stereoscopic shots swoop across a gorgeous landscape. Black mountains wreathed in volcanic steam, glassy lakes and, at the top of a crashing waterfall, a tiny man. Only he’s not tiny. He’s not a man. Like an extra-terrestrial Greek titan, this tower of muscle flexes inside smooth pale skin. And then dies.


Creation and destruction are the twin-burners of Jon Spaihts and Damon Lindelof’s ambitious screenplay, which bricks up an epic new mythology around the tantalisingly unexplained image of the space jockey in Scott’s original 1979 space-horror. 



It’s 2093, three decades before Ellen Ripley’s first bug-hunt, and we’re aboard another starship funded by sinister mega-corporation Weyland Industries. Joining the 17-man crew are scientist couple Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) and Charlie (Logan Marshall-Green), who’ve discovered that etchings from every ancient civilisation on Earth have all left clues to the same faraway planet.

Their mission: to discover where we come from – and why.

Once they touch down, we’re on familiar ground: the crew begin exploring a giant hollow labyrinthine of tunnels and, uh-oh, something sticky leaking from countless cylinders stored deep within one of the chambers...

Game over, man, game over. But if we’re been here before, Prometheus inhabits the host mythology without becoming suffocated by it. Pulling its own twists on many of the queasier elements of the quadrilogy, it tightens its grip slowly, making us wait until what’s out there gets in here. 


Proving how wasted she was in Sherlock Holmes: Game Of Shadows, Rapace is a gentle, driven proto-Ripley who mirrors nicely with Charlize Theron’s glacial mission leader Meredith Vickers, strutting tightly in a witty silver-grey suit.

But it’s the brilliantly constructed character of Prometheus’ android – sorry, synthetic person – David (Michael Fassbender) that provides much of the movie’s dramatic frisson. We first discover him alone on the ship, spinning a basketball on his fingertip, bleaching his hair and - in the movie's loveliest invention - studying Peter O’Toole’s performance in Lawrence Of Arabia. 


Owning every scene he steps into, Fassbender once again proves a truly magnetic screen presence, balancing Bishop’s even-mannered likeability with Ash’s unsettling lack of empathy.

Now if only they’d cast O’Toole himself as Peter Weyland instead of Guy Pearce, unrecognisable behind melty-faced prosthetics.

“I didn’t think you had it in you,” quips David, in a wry moment that Prometheus could have used more of.

Truth be told, the rest of the cast – Idris Elba’s effortlessly sardonic captain aside – are bug food for the film’s skin-crawlingly effective antagonists. Ooze trickles, tentacles coil and gore splatters, not least in the movie’s standout scene, involving Noomi Rapace and some desperate surgery.


Back in the sci-fi genre for the first time since 1982’s Blade Runner, director Ridley Scott has always been more at home with Big Spectacle than Big Ideas. And sure enough, once people start dying, Prometheus’ ambitious thematic payload goes straight out of the airlock.

But Scott's movie is flawlessly designed, with the beautiful 3D cinematography contrasting the clean white futurism of Prometheus' interiors with the black corporeal surfaces of the alien catacombs.



It might not pack the unbearable menace or blazing horror of the saga’s first two movies, but it utterly eclipses the last two. It’s exciting, tense and fully impregnated for sequels…

Verdict:

You can relax. Prometheus is very good. Not as frightening as Alien, not as thrilling as Aliens, but a 3D sci-fi blockbuster that’s easily the saga’s most spectacular entry.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • IHATESNAKES2896

      May 30th 2012, 16:48

      Yay, a great review, evenly balanced-and iI suspect the star was dropped for a) being unable to live up to hype and the best two of the franchise in certain aspects and b) for, as you say, chucking out the thematic aspirations when people start dying. but no problem, rarely have there been 5-star films released this year as of yet. *SPOILER ALERT* Would just like to register my complaint that you have given away who lives and dies, and for a horror movie that is a big No-N, as it removes the tension from their scenes. I hope it's a red herring, but if not.... I am not happy.

      Alert a moderator

    • indiebud

      May 30th 2012, 17:10

      Great review, I've been reading a lot of reviews and they all seem to concur that Fassbender delivers a great performance! I thought this would be true after watching the 'David' viral on YouTube. And just as this review touches on, David's (Fassbender's) emotional response to the events in the film is fresh and void of cliché. The setting seems to be overused in this genre but I think the grand-daddy of Sci-Fi himself can turn that round, please Sir Ridley Scott makes this as epic & awesome as I expect it to be!

      Alert a moderator

    • marc96

      May 30th 2012, 17:45

      enjoyed this review, was worried about reading it and finding out too many spoilers, but i knew i was going to read it no matter what. hope after seeing it i give it 4 stars at least but have to wait for sunday to find out, CANT WAIT !! :D

      Alert a moderator

    • Gman33

      May 30th 2012, 18:42

      Ok so i made an account just so i could write this comment, I am sick and tired of you including spoilers in pretty much all of your reviews I did not want to know the 'Little man' dies which you explained in the beginning of the review, i read these reviews to find out if the film i've been eagerly waiting 3 years for is as good as i thought. This isn't the only film you've done it for either, a review is a review of the film not explaining scenes which involves telling us exactly what happens, we dont need to know. thats what we want to watch the film for. I have no idea if you will see this comment or not but if you do I would like to personally say that you are spoiling movie after movie by not reviewing it!

      Alert a moderator

    • Ichi1

      May 30th 2012, 19:44

      "I am sick and tired of you including spoilers in pretty much all of your reviews" So you know they do this, yet you continue to read them, and then whine about it.....yeah man, that's on you.

      Alert a moderator

    • StevePotter

      May 30th 2012, 22:48

      I believe that it was stated that he dies at the beginning of the film. That's hardly a spoiler.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBNBlackwell

      May 31st 2012, 0:23

      Its sickeningly unprofessional and inconsiderate to litter your review with spoilers. I couldn't care less if I'll know in the first few minutes, what you have already told me, that is NO excuse. I was disappointed in one of the first Avengers reviews which straight away said who Loki's army are. I was wanting to find that out when I pay my MONEY to see a film which hasn't already been spoilt. If you are going to include spoilers, label them as such. You diminish my pleasure in my entertainment, which I have eagerly awaited, and given that I pay for that you are robbing me of some of its value. That is clearly so far removed from what the intention should be, and you really should rethink how you approach such things in future. Paying £15 to see a film is robbery enough for me; I don't want some inconsiderate fool robbing me before I've even purchased my ticket.

      Alert a moderator

    • moviemandan77

      May 31st 2012, 6:17

      FBNBlackwell - Where do you got to watch your films. £15!!! Move up north - it's £4 at my local in Manchester!

      Alert a moderator

    • tristanmccorry

      May 31st 2012, 8:04

      Don't read the review then. If you waited to see a film just go and see it, otherwise you are an impressionable idiot.

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisWootton

      May 31st 2012, 8:25

      Yeah I agree.. I thought this (along with the Avengers review) was perfect. Doesn't spoil anything really. Very well written and respectful to TF's fans who they know are excited to see this. You can't read something out of choice and then complain because you've read it.. that's just stoopid. Anyway, cheers TF can't wait to see this.

      Alert a moderator

    • Jsilver

      May 31st 2012, 11:36

      Best review I've read, nice work Jon, a far cry from your RBS days! Jonny

      Alert a moderator

    • Kellend11

      May 31st 2012, 14:44

      @moviemandan77 How I envy you Northerners for your cheap ticket prices! London prices are ridic, I paid £13 for mine and I'm going to a cinema in Kent. £10+ is about standard for a 3D film, or a normal film if you go to central London - bloody rip off merchants!

      Alert a moderator

    • Indianabones

      May 31st 2012, 17:33

      Just paid £36 for london imax lol it is a rip off, but tired of my local cinema with their food of the world and talking and playing on their mobiles! I have actually stopped going to the cinema! but for this! hell I'll pay it, the amount i have saved by not going so much is worth it and the chances of people talking through a film that they have paid through the nose for are a lot lower :) Can't wait

      Alert a moderator

    • gwales

      May 31st 2012, 17:36

      Having seen it in the IMAX myself, I would say it's well worth shelling out that extra couple of quid...

      Alert a moderator

    • moviemandan77

      May 31st 2012, 19:02

      Admittedly it's £4 before 12pm but I'm an early riser so.... It's no wonder people download movies though when they're having to pay £36 for a film though. Please tell me you were taking the whole family and your kid's class too!

      Alert a moderator

    • veers

      May 31st 2012, 21:44

      I have to agree with the people complaining about the spoilers in the review: If you are going to include them, please do put in a warning like your competitor magazine did in theirs and as is the policy on IMDb. ••• Also, for those people instructing others to stop reading TF's reviews if there are too many spoilers: Think for a moment what you said. 1) It is not in the interest of TF for readers to go elsewhere. 2) Not all TF reviews contain spoilers, only a portion - TF only needs to inform us which ones they are. ••• And one last thing: I thought the pseudo-word coined by 20th Century Fox when they realesed the DVD Alien box set was already out of use, because it is NOT even a word. 'Tetralogy' is what you are looking for.

      Alert a moderator

    • MorganRoss

      Jun 1st 2012, 2:12

      I've just got back from a midnight screening and TF have got it bang on; solid 4* sci-fi and just as good as I hoped. As for the spoilers in the review, you know people are going to die as that's what these films do; place bit part characters as canon fodder. I will say, however, that they haven't spoiled anything, they've just pointed out that you don't really get invested in a lot of the characters and that some are just there to be killed. Good film, go enjoy!

      Alert a moderator

    • akaLogan

      Jun 1st 2012, 6:55

      4

      Havin watched the film last nite,I shall reveal my thoughts with Nil Spoilers..Hhmmmm, first off, the musical score was. . . . .melancholic and not befitting a movie of this genre imho, that I think was the only REAL let down..the visuals were Amazing, Stunning. . . Epic in every way,I wish I was sat a bit closer as was quite far back, something I shall remedy on my next visit ( It is most definately a multi view movie ) in order to best appreci ate them.The acting was faultless, but some characters lacked depth which in a film so long cud easily have bin fattened out just to make us care a little more.Apart from all that, its a kick a*s ride.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBDBullock

      Jun 1st 2012, 7:30

      3

      This, is one of the most balanced reviews out there right now. Empire's is a bit shoddy in comparison. I'd move to 3 stars, over 4, but that doesn't make it a bad film. Visually stunning, still so intriguing and inventive in places and enough there to tease eventuality. Sure, there's 33 years of expectation on this one, so give it credit and just sit back, take it in and enjoy.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBSDhondt

      Jun 1st 2012, 8:48

      3

      Visually stunning but flat storytelling that in no way delivers tension or excitement. You'll forget character names and faces, you'll ask yourself why these 'scientists' are behaving like idiotic children when faced with an unexplored world. You'll wonder about the 'flute' and who came up with that marihuana induced idea. I can't say I wasn't entertained at all, I just wasn't entertained enough by a script that poses too many questions and only delivers half-arsed answers. But I guess that's what you get when you hire a scriptwriter from LOST. Let's face it people: If this hadn't been directed by a skilled craftsman like Scott it would've gone belly up. BAD movie? No. Just a very mediocre one pretending to be worth more than it is.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBKMason

      Jun 1st 2012, 8:49

      3

      I managed to see this last night - Spoilerless review coming Poor character development, everyone seemed a bit thin Film was far to long considering very little happened Poor scripting, including to many plot elements ruins films, same can be said here, half the stuff in the film is actually not needed, the better elements are spoiled by pointless sub plots that if they werent there, you would not have missed them. The score was bad, i think i counted the same music being played over 12-13 if not more tines, it felt lazy. The actual over all plot had a lot of loose ends, i know he'll probably be aiming to make more of these so some stuff has to be left unexplained for later installments, but some elements ridley does not explain leave parts of the film confusing for most people (talking to people after the showing). It looked very good, showed a lot of promise in the trailer, and well gave a seemingly average performance, its not great but Good, it builds suspense well in some areas, shows a very intersting take on some of lifes biggest questions and in general very interesting, I would like to find out where Ridley is going with this story arc, but i just hope next time ill have a better experience doing so, it took so long to get going, if it was a little bit shorter it would had a lot more impact. From Kris @ films and that

      Alert a moderator

    • SystemLogic

      Jun 1st 2012, 9:08

      4

      I watched the midnight screening of Prometheus last night, and whilst I have to say that it was a good film, it raised a lot more question for me than answers. I'm a huge fan of the Alien franchise, and whilst this isn't a direct prequel to the originals, I atleast thought that it would answer some questions that I have had since first watching Alien back when I was a young lad. One thing that let the film down for me was the lack of character building, as people starting getting bumped off, I had little to no empathy for the characters, maybe Ridley opted for the grand spectical over the development of the characters. Which when watching in 3D certainly does pay off. The only character I really had any emotional connection with was surprisingly David. Michael Fassbender did another outstanding job, an actor that never fails to amaze, and the thing that I find funny about that is I felt more emotion for a character that doesn't have emotions, than the ones that do. Ironic really. Overall, I thought it was a great film. It works well as a stand alone, and as a prequel of sorts. I would reccomend this to anyone with an interest in the Alien franchise, or with an interest in Sci-Fi in general. Although it lacks the intensity of the first two Alien films, it does hold it's own in some parts with regards to the suspence and gore.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBSCornwell

      Jun 1st 2012, 9:39

      I thought your review was very good, I obviously wasn't stupid enough to read it prior to watching Prometheus, I'd already been given too much info by the several trailers that have aired in the past 6 months. Faith, though plays such a huge role in the story. So much so, I'd suggest that any Richard Dawkins' fans with the Atheist d***o rammed up their a**e should steer clear of the movie.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBSCornwell

      Jun 1st 2012, 9:40

      Also, WOW! 3D was amazing. I avoid it wherever possible, but it really worked on Prometheus.

      Alert a moderator

    • moviegeek2000

      Jun 1st 2012, 9:55

      4

      After 33 years it's almost impossible to satisfy the hunger of so many fans out there. Prometheus is certainly not as ground-breaking as we all hoped but intriguing enough. What ever you may think, it must be watched on a big screen and possibly on 3D. This is my 2 pence review http://wp.me/p19wJ2-zI

      Alert a moderator

    • georgeWW

      Jun 1st 2012, 11:00

      4

      Seriously enjoyed it, however I guess it was over hyped which Is why I was expecting more but its not Alien and it was never going to be so I won't lose any sleep over that, and as a standalone film it was really decent and visually perfect in every way the first 10mins or so where so beautiful I did feel that the pacing was off in some parts It felt to me like Ridley had made it shorter for theatrical release, I'm hoping that if this is the case he will release a directors cut in time to come probably my only real complaint is the cliffhangers as it means I will have to wait god knows how many years till Scott finds the time to make it (which he plans to).

      Alert a moderator

    • Chufferstud

      Jun 1st 2012, 16:54

      4

      Just got back from watching it and...really enjoyed it! I agree with comments that the score wasn't right for this movie and some characters were purely monster munch, but the main characters were very good, especially Michael Fassbender. I will be honest and say that the ending did make me groan and was a bit, I don't know, convenient I suppose is the right word. It left a lot of questions too. Weylands dog got the biggest laugh!

      Alert a moderator

    • Denzil

      Jun 1st 2012, 17:44

      I wouldn't mind further explanation of how exactly the suit is "witty". Do the pockets make sardonic wisecracks every time someone gets killed?

      Alert a moderator

    • Hadouken76

      Jun 1st 2012, 18:45

      3

      It was alright. *shrugs*

      Alert a moderator

    • ANPCooper

      Jun 1st 2012, 19:01

      Saw the film this afternoon and really enjoyed it, the review is fair (spoiler issues aside), what I dont get is why Ridley Scott and the cast are going to such pains to deny its a prequel to Alien when it so clearly is. I've heard Scott in interview saying that the idea for Prometheus stemmed from the question of the identity of the space jockey in Alien, it involves Weyland, the android bleeds white and cant be trusted, theres a sculpture of an alien on the wall and at the end the creature we saw earlier tuens in to an Alien. Its a great film but its certainly a prequel. May Scott and co just dont understand the term.

      Alert a moderator

    • shiny

      Jun 1st 2012, 20:27

      "..not least in the movie’s standout scene, involving Noomi Rapace and some desperate surgery." You gotta be kidding - that was the most RIDICLOUS scene - though arguably one of the scenes which wasn't a cliche or something we've seen many times before.

      Alert a moderator

    • sansbinho

      Jun 1st 2012, 20:36

      3

      *********SPOILERS********** ***********PLEASE DON'T READ IF YOU DON'T WANT BIG SPOILERS******* Questions, questions, questions. The planet they were on wasn't LV426, it was LV226 or something. This being the case, how did the aliens get to LV426 if they were only evolved or 'birthed' by incubating inside the final 'engineer' as shown in the final scene? The space jockey in the original was left in his seat with chest buster injuries, I don't see how that could have happened, I get that the ship Shaw and David left on could have ended up on LV426 but how would the newly evolved alien end up there too? Maybe I'm over thinking it.....other than that I thought it was a decent 'stand alone' Sci-Fi film. Fassbender outstanding.

      Alert a moderator

    • jamieneish

      Jun 1st 2012, 20:53

      My review of Prometheus - http://emptyscreens.com/2012/06/01/review-prometheus-2012/

      Alert a moderator

    • ANPCooper

      Jun 1st 2012, 21:37

      @sansbinho - Theres approx 30 years between Prometheus and Alien, maybe another ship lands on LV226 and transports the creatures to LV426, maybe the engineer managed to make it to a ship after it burst from his chest, maybe he wasnt the last engineer, remember there were many other ships (according to David). It doesnt tie up completely the loose ends but its an earlier story set in the same universe, therefore its a prequel.

      Alert a moderator

    • BigPaul

      Jun 1st 2012, 22:31

      Went to the midnight showing last night and when I 1st came out I didn't know what to think, I had more questions than when I went in to the cinema. This left me wondering if I enjoyed it as much as I should have. Now I have had time to think about it I believe this is a great film in it's self and un-like allot of prequels it doesn't contradict what came before it (or what is to come in the movie time line). Yes you could say there are characters that are under developed but in this sort of film you will never have every character back story your only ment to really care about one or two of them. I do have one little gripe and one little worry though. Gripe 1st, from about three quaters of the way in you really do start to think its going to end right where Alien took off (just 30 years earlier) with that image of the dead Space Jockey the derlilict ship and maybe the start of some eggs being laid. But you dont get that, which left me a liitle dissapointed at the time. Now that I think about it though it does leave it wide open for another installment which should bring the universe round full circle and make everything tip top. This leads me to me worry. What if it doesnt make enough money for the sequel. If your not a die hard fan of the franchise I'm concerned that there isn't enough set pieces to keep the others interessted. Its odd, even though there is a grand specticle 90% of the film is people talking which if your fan like I said it wont bother you because you'll be interested in what they're talkin about. But what about under 20 audience who might be seeing the Alien universe for the 1st time will they go in there drones to see this, I just dont know. All we can do is hope. This is Paul signing off!

      Alert a moderator

    • SiMan

      Jun 1st 2012, 22:41

      ***SPOILERS*****Completely and utterly underwhelmed. Have to say i actually feel rather dissappointed. Too many questions left unanswered, a 'creature'/alien/'films big bad' that was in no way as iconic and memorable as the original Alien and too many "so your room is actually the ships life-boat" and "Oh, you just happen to have a machine that performs surgery," moments....Hmm, wonder what plot devise they could be used for later on. A lot of it seemed rushed to me as well. It built up at a steady and purposeful pace, then all of a sudden a dozen things happen in no time at all - and NONE of the characters seem to react to a situation with any real urgency, or refer back to it later! Oh, you just fought off and pushed away two crew-members who were trying to sedate you to put you into stasis. Hope they don't come after you to try to....oh, they've forgotten all about you. Oh well. And don't get me started on the giant Octopus at the end! Avengers = Thoroughly enjoyed Prometheus = Dissappointed Dark Knight Rises = Getting more exited - hopefully a satisfying conclusion (just worried they'll kill off Bats!) The Hobbit = Trailer made it feel like never leaving middle earth. Should be brilliant. I always thought 1 of my big 4 of the year would dissappoint. Was worried it would be Avengers. Guess not.

      Alert a moderator

    • nacho316

      Jun 1st 2012, 22:45

      Was pretty garbage horse shi,t too rushed, mince acting, the opening scene was just horrific and the end scene was equally as bad the film was not as gory as i'd hoped no suspense not really any horror terrible make up effects space jockey's look like giant jars of mayonnaise waste of time and money it should be expunged from the anal's of cinema and it's pretty clear after his recent track record of films ridley scott im sorry has become a hack.......tripe tripe tripe tripe tripe tripe sir riders and damon lindelof should be dragged into the street and beaten to death with the alien head box set...p**s on ridley and p**s on damon........alien ressurection is yeah im gonna say it more entertaining and makes more sense than this bollocks f**k YOU RIDLEY JUST RETIRE AND FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DONT DO A SEQUEL I think i'd rather go back to just remembering the space jockey as a fossilized enigma rather than the god awful monstrosity that was played out before me not more than 2 hours ago.........

      Alert a moderator

    • jaykays hat

      Jun 1st 2012, 23:43

      One word.....disappointing. I can't even be bothered to type anything else about this movie.

      Alert a moderator

    • Darkstar

      Jun 1st 2012, 23:48

      2

      Here we go, i'm going to keep this brief and spoiler free. PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! will 20th century fox put this now redundant bloody franchise to bed once and for all. Lets go back in time it all started back in 1979 with a faultless fright machine. Then an expectation exceeding (how the hell did they do that) guns blazing sequel followed by ..... a succession of increasingly rubbish p**s poor insults (okay in fairness the production cut of 3 has some merrit), and now in 2012 we get a prequel/reinvention with leaden pacing lumpen dialogue and absolutely no decent set pieces whatsoever, it's as if the director got halfway through filming and thought you know what i can't be arsed.Not to mention one of the great mystery's of the franchise i.e the space jocky is nothing more than a "IS THAT IT?" revalation. It would appear that thier really is no more mileage left in this particular mythology, p.s if you didn't know the director of this is the bloke "Wot did!" the first one. how much more proof do you need?

      Alert a moderator

    • DonisFun

      Jun 2nd 2012, 6:50

      2

      Sadly I thought it fell flat, it showed a lot of promise but I think it was all hype, the trailers showed far too much. One plus point is that Michael Fassbender is absolutely brilliant and so is Charlize Theron

      Alert a moderator

    • 3459ERICS

      Jun 2nd 2012, 8:15

      2

      a mixed film, parts amazing, parts rubbish same as the characters some amazing some i dont even know why they were there and it does not give you as many answers as you want

      Alert a moderator

    • FBJRider

      Jun 2nd 2012, 10:59

      I'm going to see this film in a couple of hours, do you know how hard it is not to read this review just in case?!

      Alert a moderator

    • barneystinson

      Jun 2nd 2012, 11:08

      2

      WARNING! CONTAINS LOADS OF SPOILERS!!!! Saw this last night and came out extremely disappointed and after sleeping on it I'm still absolutely gutted at how poor Prometheus is. First things first though, the positives: Michael Fassbender is brilliant, manages to keep his accent under control for once and is the most realistic character in the movie (which can also be seen as a negative considering he's an android). Every scene with him in is a standout. Other standouts are Elba and Theron although both have terrible final moments and feel a little wasted The opening scene is both epic and potentially myth-making. It really sent shivers down my spine. Unfortunately, it pretty much gives the game away regarding the entire film. There's no suspense when we find out that humans share DNA with the Space Jockeys because we've already established that within the first 5 minutes and all Scott does it hammer the point home, time and time again throughout the film....yes our "gods" are just space versions of ourselves we get it! now the negatives. The script is terrible and the dialogue is unbelievably clunky. Sean Harris and Rafe Spall are just given the worst character developments ever and some of the film's worst dialogue and motivations ("here beautiful" - what the f**k!). The final line between David and Shaw is also horrible...again hammering home a point that had been made countless times before during the film....subtly is not in Scott's vocabulary Rapace suffers from Fassbender-itis with her all over the shop accent...we see her as a very English child in a dream sequence and she manages a passable accent during some opening scenes but that flies out the airlock throughout the rest of the film. The line about "not having a home to go back to" seemed awful in the trailer but in the finished product was just wince-inducing. Just absolutely terribly delivered and just one of many moments where Rapace proved that Girl With The Dragon Tattoo was a fluke (although she's not as bad as she is in Sherlock Holmes). The 3D - apart from the star map bit - is terrible. The 3D looked so good in the trailers for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter and The Amazing Spiderman before Prometheus and I was genuinely excited about the possibilities for the movie only to be completely let down. The whole "is it an Alien prequel" debate is now answered and for all the denials from cast and crew it turns out it is a prequel after all. The film is basically one long opening sequence explaining how "Aliens" were created and drops so many huge signposts towards the original movie and Aliens that it seems ridiculous for Scott to state otherwise. Personally I was hoping that this was a stand alone movie where Aliens were only hinted at. As I watched the film I mistakenly thought that maybe the Jockeys were developing different biological weapons on different planets and that this was just a story about one sort of those experiments (LV-426 to be explored at some other point). Unfortunately that wasn't the case and instead we had some very confusing evolutionary jumps as the black goo from the X-Files turned into the p***s shaped alien from the trash compactor in Star Wars before turning into both The Thing and then some sort of squid like creature that reminded me of the "aliens" from Society - yes Prometheus rips off so many films my brain hurt - until finally a real proto-Alien emerged without really making any sense at all (The final scene - just completely annoyed me, there was no need to show an Alien at all except as a crowd pleaser but all it did was serve to make the rest of the film seem redundant) Plotholes are all over the place. No one addresses Shaw's "baby", talks about Fifield's change and subsequent rampage, explains how a science ship Captain suddenly realises that they've landed at a military installation, explains how an image of an Alien appears on the wall before it has even been created, addresses why the ship would have holograms to show how to fly the ship for, you know, that moment when human needed to work out how to fly and alien ship using a space flute! Makes the use of Mac to override an alien ship in ID4 seem positively realisic! How Shaw suddenly has more oxygen in her space suit moments after it only had 30 secs in its tank - where did she refuel? I could go on... The final act is rushed and a mess killing of characters willy-nilly as Scott hurries towards having a solo heroine face off against and alien threat at the end. Theron getting crushed by the ship reminded me of the death by steamroller in Austin Powers! Overall this is the worst of the Alien canon (yes it is part of the Alien canon no matter what Scott says) and only just a bit better than the first Alien Vs Predator (also ripped off along with its sequel). 2 and a half stars and the second worst film starring Guy Pearce I've seen this year....

      Alert a moderator

    • jaykays hat

      Jun 2nd 2012, 12:09

      Well said Barney, I totally agree.

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      Jun 2nd 2012, 15:24

      3

      It was a stunning movie to watch but I can't help but feel a little let down. Michael Fassbender was amazing though.

      Alert a moderator

    • Hadouken76

      Jun 2nd 2012, 17:43

      We can't even blame George Lucas for it. Talk about insult to injury.

      Alert a moderator

    • mcghater

      Jun 3rd 2012, 11:18

      nacho316 and i went to see it together we just wound up sucking each others c oc ks far more exciting than prometheus

      Alert a moderator

    • mcghater

      Jun 3rd 2012, 18:22

      lol at least it would be a better show than prometheus

      Alert a moderator

    • Flynners

      Jun 3rd 2012, 19:16

      4

      Maybe Scott denied the connection to maintain some surprise, future featurettes may tell.Amazing visuals and 3D aside, did no one else have goosebumps at the idea that the aliens were born from the very essence of death mixed with the creators of life as we know it? How more elemental could an evil creature be? I found the whole concept extremely satisfying. As for the loose ending, could be down to pacing issues but it seems very deliberate and it's not a stretch to imagine that first alien is a queen who will lay eggs to beat the band and given the viral nature of the alien, it wouldn't take much for 'the ultimate survivor' to spread. Is this not a benchmark for prequels in that its breaking new ground setting up a new parallel storyline with new protagonists while actually building reverence for the creature of the original feature(I'm looking at you Texas Chainsaw Massacre:The Beginning). We can more or less fill in the gap and I personally appreciate not being spoon fed every step towards the Nostromo's landing and would look forward to an Alien-free Prometheus sequel if thats where Scott wants to take it. Some Plotholes duly noted though.

      Alert a moderator

    • nacho316

      Jun 3rd 2012, 19:34

      @mcghater oh aye hud tae get a wee gay bit in lol mcghater and his big horse boaby lol;) Film was total mince though BIGGEST PIECE OF s**t AND EVEN WORSE PREQUEL THAN PHANTOM MENACE AND THAT'S SAYING SOMETHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • 2Dglasses

      Jun 3rd 2012, 19:58

      4

      Lets not go mad-this wasnt one of the worst films of all time. I was fearing the worst, endless nods and winks to alien etc, even god forbid a post credits bit with young ripley...that didnt happen, and generally i think the film was sound, the characters didnt always behave like real people though and somethings had to happen that were a bit contrived to make the story end where it needed to. The one sore spot for me as always is the 'conspiracy/cover up' angle. The choices and behaviour of the weyland character(s) and by association David were daft and inconsistent. You could also point out the leap of faithness of the Shaw character-bit a a stretch to think the pictures were 'an invitation' so for anyone who hasnt seen it yet its worth a watch, just be prepared to pick the plot and characters apart, which is sadly a shame because there is a lot to enjoy.

      Alert a moderator

    • mcghater

      Jun 3rd 2012, 21:37

      lmfao@nacho

      Alert a moderator

    • FBRRuss

      Jun 3rd 2012, 23:05

      1

      I am an avid Science Fiction fan and this movie was a massive disappointment and Scott is finished at the top directors table. Why would somebody spend $1T building the space ship only to fill it with a bunch of idiots that make more mistakes than a bunch of convicts. The script left you with more questions than answers. Apart from the Android the characters were awful and they all seemed to dislike each other. The all made so many basic mistakes they really deserved to die... This is awful!

      Alert a moderator

    • Hadouken76

      Jun 3rd 2012, 23:37

      They should have sent Riddick, he would have laid a path of smackdown

      Alert a moderator

    • dex2010

      Jun 4th 2012, 8:55

      2

      SPOILER!This is a huge disappointment! The first hour is interesting, before trailing off into something laughable. The acting apart from fassbender and rapace (both fantastic) reminded me of the dull idiots from alien vs predator, They add nothing and you know their faith from their first scene.The film takes along time to go nowhere.The alien/creature was very poor and wasnt scary in the slightest.I was expecting so much more. I reckon the total film review will lose 1 maybe 2 stars when reviewed for dvd/blueray.

      Alert a moderator

    • jpotts

      Jun 4th 2012, 12:29

      Haven't seen this yet but I'll be sure not to have high expectations. Oh and I'm pretty sure I won't have to suck anything to get any enjoyment out of going to the cinema.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBJRider

      Jun 5th 2012, 12:49

      4

      I think most people who give a bad review are too busy comparing it to the original to think of it as it's own film. For the first half an hour to an hour I criticized most of the film on how it's not as good as the original but then I let it go forgot the original just watched Prometheus as Prometheus not Alien 5 and I loved it every second. As everything in existence it's not without it's flaws but it's a perfect prequel. Just watch it again, think about it properly and you'll love it.

      Alert a moderator

    • jmcg91279

      Jun 5th 2012, 19:52

      This is probably the worst film i've seen in a couple of years, and i saw Skyline. This is garbage from start to finish, it really wants to be relevant, purposeful and clever but tries too hard and ends up a shambles. The person i went with had not really ever shown any interest in the other Alien films and i doubt i could get her to watch them now. This makes the alien versus predator films seem entertaining and to be honest i'd raher watch either of those before watching this again. This has nothing to do with comparisons to earlier films as others have sugested when bad reviews have been given above, it just simply really isn't very good at all. A big disappointment.

      Alert a moderator

    • MikeyRix

      Jun 5th 2012, 20:02

      4

      Pretty good, tense enough, but a bit disappointed. Fassbender and Rapace were both brilliant and there certainly was some tension, although Theron, Pearce and Elba were a bit short-changed in their roles. And ew ew ew THAT sequence, which made me leave the cinema with my arms crossed protectively over my hips >.< good job by all, if a little less than what I thought it would be.

      Alert a moderator

    • Murphy0806

      Jun 5th 2012, 22:13

      Just watched and very disappointed. SPOILEEERS!! I chose not to watch this in 3D and maybe that was a mistake as a lot of the scenes seemed geared towards this. Watching the opening credits just seemed like a Star Trek opening sequence in 2D. Character development (as mentioned above) was a major issue which didn't need to be. If you consider what some of them actually went through, if time was taken for them to actually deal with them, or even mention them afterwards you might have had some insight to how these people ticked. It also wasn't scary in the slightest and I feel they needed a main threat instead of lots of separate incidents. The wormy thing attacked and killed and was never seen again, a crew member went postal after appearing to be dead and was never even discussed by the crew and never happened again. They clearly didn't act like scientists and worst of the lot was Noomi Rapace's bloke, travel that far just to make cocker one-liners (It's christmas and I want to open my presents is just plain bad) and get p****d? I think not. There were a few things I did like. The surgery scene was good, though would have been better if it wasn't the main character as you knew she was going to be OK. The giant facehugger was cool, though being birthed as it was didn't really hold together with the other films. All in all it really left me feeling like I'd just watched a slightly better version of Mission to Mars.

      Alert a moderator

    • koolerking

      Jun 7th 2012, 1:46

      5

      Thank the lord for a good review. Empire has this as a 3 stars and has fallen straight into the other stupid reviews. I saw it last night and loved it, i can't believe that some people are slating it because its not Aliens! Ridley couldn't win on this one. If he made this sci fi film with no links to Alien people would say its too much like Aliens. Aliens has been done, its been done with Predators. Even if he had done a straight prequl to keep everyone happy there'd still be unhappy people and actually it'd probably still be slate for "not moving on". It has links, and ones that are the correct "strength of link". Not to obvious, not to thin and ones that can be continued to make a parallel plot to Aliens. Some reviews say there's no horror, REALLY!? It has plenty. Our cinema was full of "oooh" sounds in a certain scene. The way the first 2 charecters go was tense. Thin character back-stories? Well, unless you have a 3 hour film its difficult to cover them all. But come on, i watched Aliens to prep the wife to see Prometheus and characters on that have pretty much no back-story (bar Ripley), and everyone loves those films. Complaints of what the "space jockey/engineer" are or means is another point to make. It was such a small shot in the original, one that Ridley had to fight to keep and he has constantly kept this character open to viewers imagination. The only problem with that is what we have now, which is the character plot never making peoples vision, but again, Ridley could never have won that one. To make it a perfect film there are bits that you could tidy up the story just a bit, perhaps the blueray will get an extended version, but really it stands on its own as a film and with the others. Go see it, you won't be disappointed.

      Alert a moderator

    • manfromthezoo

      Jun 7th 2012, 10:52

      4

      To be balanced, I don't think you can call the Empire review 'stupid' - that's a bit extreme. Having met Ian Nathan before and talked the Alien movies with him, the man knows his stuff and can truly count himself a knowledgeable fan. Some aspects of it just weren't for him, obviously. Personally, I'm going along with TF's four stars. Whether or not you like the film I think you'd be hard pressed to say it's not interesting. I would have been disappointed if RS, Spaights, et al had delivered something too 'neat and convenient' - and not many films prompt you to think about them long after the final reel, as Prometheus has with me (and thusly passed the test). It's important not to pore over minutiae from the previous Alien movies - Prometheus isn't a 'Where's Wally' exercise. That has been made abundantly clear. It's a thematic cousin, and watched like that, it works.

      Alert a moderator

    • Hadouken76

      Jun 7th 2012, 16:47

      Ian Nathan is the guy who revealed the big twist in his Fight Club review. This was before the film came out , that had a limited release and was scarcely advertised, unless you knew where to look. So calling him stupid is pretty apt.

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisWootton

      Jun 9th 2012, 11:30

      1

      Worst film I've seen in a long time.. completely incoherent, terrible performances.. all involved should be embarrassed. Why not just hire an actor who is old?

      Alert a moderator

    • GrantB

      Jun 9th 2012, 14:19

      1

      I was not disappointed by this film because it's not Alien or Aliens. I was disappointed because it was a terrible movie. Dumb characters you know or care nothing about, script full of plotholes, ropey monsters.Thank god for the fantastic sets (got to give Giger a star). No character apart from Shaw had a shred of motivation. Dialogue and action was quite the dumbest stuff I've seen in a long while - sub-B-movie things like "Hey why don't I just take off my helmet" "Lets stop looking after our crewmates who are clearly positioned on the magic hologram map and have sex so they can get killed". It was an Alien prequel, Ridley - although I wish it wasn't as the alien reveal was hopelessly dire. I'm ashamed to say that it was worse than Alien Resurrection - a movie I have denied even exists for years by only talking about the Alien Trilogy. Shame Total Film also sidetracked the issue by not putting a review in print.

      Alert a moderator

    • theruffler

      Jun 10th 2012, 9:33

      2

      This has got to be the biggest cinematic disappointment since Indy 4 or Phantom Menace, and I can only assume the TF Reviewer was still buzzing with excitement from the endless hype when writing this. I expect that when you re-watch it, or are doing the review of the Blu-Ray/DVD its 4 stars will be halved. At least. Despite its lovely opening the film is full of truly dreadful performances, corny lines and schoolboy horror/sci fi clichés. The closing "Oh it is related to Alien after all! Who knew!?" scene was so amateurishly tacked on it was embarrassing.

      Alert a moderator

    • tim1363

      Jun 11th 2012, 12:40

      2

      Below average, 3D pointless, characters characterless, no suspense and quite predictable. I sampled Cinworld D-BOX screening, even the vibrating chairs didn't help, even though the lady next to me seemed to enjoy them immensly! Left so wide open for a sequal, which I will not be waiting to see!

      Alert a moderator

    • NickyC

      Jun 11th 2012, 15:32

      2

      SPOILER ALERT: The problems with the movie are sadly obvious. The characters have nothing to do because there's too many of them and they have no desire line. A crew of 17 in an Alien movie? Not needed. David is the only one who acts rather than reacts, so everyone is going loopy for Fassbender's performance. In truth most (but by no means all) of the cast do very well, but nobody's after anything and so nothing's at stake. Which leads to the biggest problem of all, which is the fact that there is no discernible antagonist. There is a procession of unoriginal ideas that are all, unbelievably, nipped in the bud and they are all burnt, ripped out or eaten before they can become a tangible threat. Lots of nasty creatures but not one truly mean motherf*cking bad guy/organism between them. Alien was very simple but incredibly well done. It had a fantastic antagonist identified by a simple key struggle (control over the human body, which the alien cleverly needed as a host in order to reproduce. Easy to understand, and utterly terrifying). There is no struggle in Prometheus because the humans can't make up their minds what they want (some of them actually give up a third of the way through anyway) and the creatures don't want anything at all ... let alone having the protagonists and antagonists fighting over the same thing, which is what you really want and what Alien and Aliens both had in spades. It's all just some stuff happening to some people, which is not the same as a story. Sorry to waffle, but the people who made this have decades of experience and know better.

      Alert a moderator

    • skylaird

      Jun 12th 2012, 15:09

      3

      Is it me, or was Noomi Rapace not very good in this? I loved her in the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but I thought she was struggling with her English a bit in this one. Loved the digital mapping of the alien spaceship's bunker - some proper tension as the 'pups' reveal what's down there bit by bit. Fassbender brilliant. Production design fab, particularly the spacesuits. Music awful, rubber alien suits bad (particularly rubbery in opening sequence), bit of a cop-out the space jockey being humanoid, script written on hundreds of post-it notes and then assembled in a slightly random order, felt very 'bitty' with not an awful lot of linkage between scenes. Maybe there's a director's cut on its way which might put back the little scenes that are needed to pace the story better. Very good effort. And since we're on the subject of Ridley Scott, how hard would it be to digitally remove Orlando Bloom and his performance from Kingdom of Heaven and replace him with an actor? Like, ooh, Russell Crowe?

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisWootton

      Jun 12th 2012, 16:29

      Not just you skylaird.. I thought she was dreadful.. the delivery of the line "There's no bloody way I can be pregnant" actually made my girlfriend laugh out loud. Orlando Bloom looked the part but his acting didn't cut it.. the directors cut is so much better than the cinema release.

      Alert a moderator

    • jaykays hat

      Jun 12th 2012, 19:58

      I'm with GrantB on this, I didn't dislike it because it's not Aliens, I disliked it because it was a boring film that just doesn't make any sense at all. f**k me even Iron Sky was more entertaining than this. Ridley, see me after School for detention.

      Alert a moderator

    • Jareth64

      Jun 13th 2012, 12:05

      3

      Seriously? 4/5? There were a couple of inspired moments but largely it was a total mess - the horrendous dialogue and underdeveloped, annoying peripheral characters were one thing, but the film just doesn't go anywhere. It's certainly worth watching once, but never again.

      Alert a moderator

    • pingpong

      Jul 10th 2012, 10:55

      2

      Very good, thrilling, spectacular????? How can they associate these attributes with Prometheus? It was rather disappointing, boring, muddled. A random combination of set pieces that didn't fit together or made any sense in the end. Ok, visually it was well done, Fassbender was a treat but this still doesn't make en enjoyable movie experience. And how is the surgery a stand out scene? It was completely out of context, didn't have any effect on other characters and was just a cheap scare to introduce the lame ending. Shame on you Sir Ridley.

      Alert a moderator

    • neilschofield

      Jul 19th 2012, 14:00

      1

      I still get angry about this retarded film.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBSHeldberg

      Oct 4th 2012, 23:43

      Thank you for such a great review Jonathan. I’ve been hearing great things about the smart android. Ridley Scott’s ability to pick cast members like Fassbender who mesmerizes with every scene he’s in, to his ability to surround me with the environment he’s created is why I love his films. I’ve not seen the film, but after I had a discussion with some of my coworkers at DISH who also love sci-fi, they agreed that not only is the visual experience and CGI incredible, but Scott reenters the genre with serious imagination. So, I’m anxious to check it out. When I get excited about a movie, I’ve been known to run out and buy it, but that has gotten expensive over the years, so I’ve gotten more picky. I like the peace of mind I feel when I save money by renting first from Blockbuster @Home, and then if the Blu-ray meets my expectations, I’ll buy it and add it to my collection.

      Alert a moderator

    • Jareth64

      Oct 25th 2012, 15:49

      2

      Having watched it again recently I thought I'd return to offer my second opinion. Prometheus is a shambles. There's nothing else to it.

      Alert a moderator

    • Igrayne

      Dec 28th 2012, 17:26

      Excellent film, so glad I finally saw it and ignored the hordes of people who said it was either ok or poor. The cinematography alone makes this three stars but it is the soundtrack and main cast which add the extra star. The story is also superb and let usnot forget it is only the first part of a planned trilogy. As a film devoid of any Alien franchise connections I do believe this would have been better received but it still remains a creepy, well filmed and directed part of the Alien saga. Not as good as the first two but as good as the directors cut of Alien three and a thousand times better than Alien Resurrection. People who complain about spoilers should go and see the film first, this is a review of a film seen not a preview or a trailer, if you are so angry at Total Film stop reading. This is the second review they have done of Prometheus, by now it is assumed all readers have seen it, stop bloody b******g.

      Alert a moderator