Reviews

Real Steel

3

Rise of the machines…

Real Steel review

Charlie (Hugh Jackman) has made a mess of his life.

An ex-boxer who saw his title shot vanish when robot combat superseded human endeavours, he’s now peddling scrap metal town-to-town, pimping lacklustre ’bots in shabby slugging contests.

Heavily in debt, his relationship with unlikely gym-owner Bailey (Lost’s Evangeline Lily) has ground to a halt and he’s just been landed with his estranged 10-year-old son (Dakota Goyo), a stubborn introvert who insists Charlie rebuilds an outmoded robot and trains him up…

Brought to director Shawn Levy (Night At The Museum, Date Night) by Steven Spielberg, Real Steel combines the Beard’s love of droids (*batteries not included, Transformers) with his fondness for examining splintered families and childhood trauma.

It is, at heart, a fatherand- son-bond-on-the-road movie – albeit punctuated by crunching fight scenes as 2000lb machines spill buckets of hydraulic fluid – though it also bobs and weaves through every sports movie cliché en route to a rousing finale.

Levy spent six months retooling the script and you can’t help thinking he watched Over The Top and Rocky IV during that time.

With its tale of redemption, reconnection and triumphant underdogs interwoven with seamless effects boasting a palpable physicality (four of the 19 ’bots were constructed, full-size, at $500,000 apiece), Real Steel does nothing new but does it well. Jackman’s solid, the kid’s likeable and the climactic fight is a prize winner.

Only those with a heart of tin could resist.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • colinofhove

      Oct 12th 2011, 11:22

      4

      thought this film was one of the best I've seen for a while, had a touch of transformers about it, and for once the "hero" didn't end up in bed with the damsel!! But you had the inevitable cheesy scene where girl and boy look adoringly at father and lover, oh please !! , but all in all a fab light hearted film with real entertainment value, that had me from the opening scene, not many films do that.

      Alert a moderator

    • springaling

      Oct 12th 2011, 11:33

      This movie was suprisinly good, it def had a touch of Transformers about it. Hugh Jackman was easy on the ey as always :)

      Alert a moderator

    • xXBOOSHXx

      Oct 12th 2011, 11:47

      4

      Its a classic tale of the underdog, it was a nice film with a fairly simple story line, fairly predictable outcome but still has the feel good factor. Great film for the younger age group and family viewing.

      Alert a moderator

    • freddude

      Oct 12th 2011, 13:15

      I enjoyed the film, it was much better than I expected. The puppetry was incredible.

      Alert a moderator

    • elmarinero77

      Oct 16th 2011, 21:12

      The noncommital 'its alright' review because Total Film have a competition linerd to it. 20 quid says its a two star DVD review. There is no way that rock'em sock 'em robots the movie is not s**t.

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Oct 17th 2011, 21:56

      1

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Oct 17th 2011, 21:56

      1

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Oct 17th 2011, 21:57

      4

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Oct 17th 2011, 21:58

      4

      Real Steel Review Set in the near future, human boxing has been replaced by robot boxing. Former boxer Charlie (Hugh Jackman) buys and controls robots to fight against others. After losing a fight, where all his money and the robot are lost. He finds out that he has an eleven year old son Max (Dakota Avery Goyo) which his wife’s sister wants to take custody of. He agrees but only if he is allowed to look after him for the summer in exchange for money to buy parts. While searching for parts the two come across an old robot named Atom. After a winning a fight, Charlie decides to train Atom to get to the highest level possible to battle WRB Champion Zeus owned by business couple Tak Mashido (Karl Yune) and Farra Lemcova (Olga Fonda). While trying to rise to the top Charlie begins to form a closer bond with his son as they both train Atom for success. The film combine’s an underdog story, battling robots and a father relationship with his son. All these themes might seem there is too much going on, however the film is able to incorporate all of them well together. The fight scenes especially in the beginning are fun and entertaining to watch as you’re not sure how the story is going to play out. The soundtrack used is another positive about this movie as it ties in well with the particular scenes the song plays in. If you’re not a fan of battling robots this film will not change your mind but it’s not transformers where robots battle most of the movie. Overall Real Steel has an interesting story, heart and the right amount of battling bots to please most audiences. 4 Stars (4/5) Real Steel is in cinemas now

      Alert a moderator

    • Jrdnsans1792

      Oct 18th 2011, 23:39

      4

      Really wasn't expecting to like this film, i anticipated just another mediocre action movie full of ridiculously over the top fight scenes and no storyline just a bunch of shiny robots running around to keep the mainstream audiences quiet for another 2 hours or so. Also as it was directed by Shawn Levy, who i still haven't forgiven for the awful 'Date Night' i was sure i was gonna hate it, however i will admit when i'm wrong and on this occasion i am, i thought it was a great film. I really enjoyed it and thought it was directed superbly by Levy who has redeemed himself with this very good film, not quite one of the years best, yet still one to watch.

      Alert a moderator

    • jeffamania

      Nov 27th 2011, 20:07

      4

      guys, this movie was a 4 to 4.5 star movie. it had heart. i couldnt believe they got me and the whole routing for a robot. one of the best films i,ve seen this yr

      Alert a moderator

    • reggiehammond1

      Jan 15th 2013, 23:40

      4

      Rock'em Sock'em Robots and Rocky Balboa had a baby and out popped Real Steel . A good film I enjoyed watching, which had me caring and concerning more for the robot Atom than Hugh Jackmans character or the annoying little kid. Id give it 4 Stars atleast.

      Alert a moderator