Reviews

Remember Me

2

Sorry, R-Pattz. No can do…

Remember Me review

Remember Me review - “I’ve had enough of this brooding introvert shit!” sighs the best friend of Robert Pattinson’s Remember Me antihero, a moody NYU student with a distant father (Pierce Brosnan), a neurotic little sis and a huge shoulder-chip over the beloved late brother who topped himself at the same age he is now.

Who better for Tyler to fall for, then, than Ally (Emilie de Ravin), a classmate with daddy issues of her own thanks to an overly protective cop-pop (Chris Cooper) still grieving for the wife she saw gunned down when she was a kid?

Chuck in a fatal illness and a hit theme tune and you’d have ‘Love Story 2010’. Yet Allen Coulter’s melodrama has a different destination in mind, one not-so-subtly telegraphed by some telling geographical details, a fleeting news report and a cinema trip to see a certain comedy sequel.

Admittedly, this does facilitate an emotional pay-off bound to have Rob’s Twilight fan club in floods. But it doesn’t justify the long, slow build-up, one so full of petulant outbursts and sullen sulks from the Brithunk du jour that non-worshippers will want to climb up on screen and slap him out of his stupor.

There’s no shame in being outshone by Cooper, an Academy Award winner able to play blue-collar, salt-of-the-earth types in his sleep. But to be acted off the screen by Brosnan – last seen as a hairy centaur in Percy Jackson And The Lightning Thief – is a different proposition altogether.

It’s something that ominously suggests R-Pattz will have his work cut out turning his current stardom into a true lasting career. De Ravin fares rather better, showing real moxie in her flirtatious banter and a fiery temper when crossed.

Such attributes, alas, only serve to reinforce how ill-suited she is to Pattinson’s doleful Holden Caulfield wannabe. She’d be far better off with his wise-cracking mate (Tate Ellington).
 

Verdict:

A sleepy weepie with an 11th-hour reveal which is a trifling reward for enduring the soapy slusher that precedes it. Pattinson’s acolytes will ensure solid returns, though even they may not be able to deny his limitations sans fangs.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • zakmccormack

      Oct 16th 2010, 21:43

      3

      It was ok... It didn't really click till the end but it was just meh

      Alert a moderator

    • aigreen

      Dec 1st 2010, 3:44

      5

      These fashionable and comfortable white uggs usually are costly in the market. However, you still can get fabulous pairs without breaking your bank account. Here come some tips. First of all uggs chocolate short, buy them in off season uggs bailey button sand when most UGG boot sellers providing their products on sale. Another option is to shop them on the internet, which can help you get the best deals camo uggs. Items sold at online stores are usually cheaper than those from local shops, UGG boots are not an exception. What you need to do is to pick a reputable internet retailer ugg flip flops to make your purchase from. In addition uggs classic short black, it is a great idea to purchase these shoes ugg bailey button triplet with your friends as many retailers offer certain discount on large orders ugg kensington.

      Alert a moderator

    • nancymatinzer

      Dec 10th 2010, 5:00

      5

      This really is an awesome post, I'm happy I recently found. I have been trying to find guest writers for my blog so if you ever decide that's something you are interested in please feel free to contact me. I will be back to look at out more of your articles later dissertation writing AND essay writing AND research paper writing

      Alert a moderator

    • nancymatinzer

      Dec 10th 2010, 5:06

      5

      Thank you for your post! I look for article search along time about online flowers and gift shopping on occasion of valentine's day, today i find it finally.this post gives me a lot of advice. it is very useful for me. term paper writing AND book report writing

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 12th 2011, 14:25

      I am glad to read this post, its an interesting one. I am always searching for quality posts and articles and this is what I found here, I hope you will be adding more in future. Thanks HCG Diet

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 24th 2011, 15:22

      4

      Very interesting article. Content has been written in very nice manner. I enjoy reading this kind of stuff. Thanks for sharing good knowledge. irs tax liens

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 13:56

      4

      Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I'll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon. houston locksmith

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 2:11

      2

      Very interesting article. Content has been written in very nice manner. I enjoy reading this kind of stuff. Thanks for sharing good knowledge. Forex Forums

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 26th 2011, 2:23

      4

      Thanks a lot for enjoying this beauty article with me. I am appreciating it very much! Looking forward to another great article. Good luck to the author! all the best! North Myrtle Beach Condos For Sale

      Alert a moderator

    • johndd

      Feb 28th 2011, 10:25

      3

      Wow, it's actually weird to see Robert Pattinson in a film that doesn't have vampires in it. I saw this the other day and I was actually pleasantly surprised.. I rate it a 3. -John from Sonicare Coupon

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Mar 7th 2011, 14:56

      3

      Still there is room for greater development and I would recommend more emphasis on research and of course it will bring a better situation. Thanks for sharing a nice read. Cheers carpet cleaning

      Alert a moderator

    • rahuldev1234

      Mar 8th 2011, 8:25

      4

      Interesting post and thanks for sharing. Some things in here I have not thought about before.Thanks for making such a cool post which is really very well written.will be referring a lot of friends about this.Keep blogging Baby Nursery Furniture

      Alert a moderator

    • alexroy

      Mar 10th 2011, 11:10

      It’s really good to have these kinds of blogs around to keep the information flow steady.Keep up the good work. write my essay essay writing service

      Alert a moderator

    • rahuldev1234

      Mar 11th 2011, 11:50

      4

      Interesting post and thanks for sharing. Some things in here I have not thought about before.Thanks for making such a cool post which is really very well written.will be referring a lot of friends about this.Keep blogging sheds

      Alert a moderator