Reviews

Sex and the City 2

3

Release the waxworks!

Sex and the City 2 review

Sex and the City 2 review: “I am woman!” shriek the four horsewomen of the menopocalypse during a boozy bonding karaoke session in the middle of a film as polished, savvy and calculating as Samantha Jones herself. A fitting rally cry for a movie that attempts to be all things to all women and succeeds in addressing only a handful of storylines satisfactorily.

Set two years after sex hack Carrie’s wedding, the gals now have high-class problems to face. Carrie (Parker) has a longer face than usual because her hugely wealthy hubby (Chris Noth) enjoys watching TV and eating takeaways. Lawyer Miranda (Nixon) wants a nicer high-paying job, while Charlotte (Davis) struggles with her kids and full-time nanny. PR cougar Samantha (Cattrall) worries about the edge coming off her legendary libido and douches daily with hormonal gels. When a five-star freebie trip to Abu Dhabi comes up the quartet are straight on the plane.

Sacrificing meaty story arcs for a checklist of universal girl grumbles, SATC2’s scattergun approach will connect to an audience escaping similar experiences – and on that level it works for core fans. Tweaked to waxwork-like weirdness, the foursome ooze fabulous, from the OTT fashion (seriously, how big are their suitcases?) and high-camp situations, to the run-ins with celeb cameos (Penélope Cruz, a doddery Liza Minnelli) and beloved series characters (welcome back, Aidan).

The uninitiated (ie: blokes) may struggle to relate to women who are never developed beyond seemingly vapid ciphers in an abridged version of the original show. Alice Eve’s tits and Noth’s world-weary bemusement at Carrie’s obsession with the minutiae aside, there’s not much here to charm a dragged-along chap. But that’s probably the way the girls like it.

Verdict:

Disposable, glitzy fun lacking depth or staying power, Sex And The City 2 is the cinematic version of karaoke: a giddy, silly hoot best enjoyed in tipsy groups.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • hulk68

      May 26th 2010, 11:51

      I have not seen it yet, but are rating this film which the reviewer himself describes as disposable, lacking depth, blah blah, more than Robin Hood for all its faults?

      Alert a moderator

    • MikeyRix

      May 28th 2010, 20:09

      Will you stop generalising the entire female population?? I'm female (despite the username) and find statements like this: "there’s not much here to charm a dragged-along chap. But that’s probably the way the girls like it" so lazy. I'm with the men on things like this. Some girls like shoot 'em ups too. Most don't but "most" is not "all".

      Alert a moderator

    • lettielovesgary

      Jun 4th 2010, 10:31

      3

      yeah thanks jane crowther for being unbelieveably sexist 'thats probably the way the girls like it'. fair enough the films not great on many levels, but its enjoyable - and no its not because i have a vagina, its because i love the series and the first film, so seeing the girls back together for me is good! my respect for total film has just plummeted.

      Alert a moderator

    • Hadouken76

      Jun 15th 2010, 22:44

      Judging by the series standards, itll be as funny as a pencil catheter.

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 18th 2011, 11:38

      I didin't saw sex and the City 2 But I watched the trailer of this movie and I think It will be fantastic and more enjoyable then sex and the city 1.. Eskorte date

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 19th 2011, 9:44

      Its an great movie I'll watch it soon when I got my pocket money I heard that It is fantastic rather then sex and the city 1 and I've to buy the tickets. Discount Computers

      Alert a moderator

    • James11

      Feb 20th 2011, 15:40

      This is an Awesome movie to watched in cinema even though I appreciate the writer who wrote it script. Panasonic lumix

      Alert a moderator

    • sonjaa

      Mar 6th 2011, 21:45

      I have been a huge fan of sex and the ciy for years now and I thought this movie was really fun and entertaining. Carry looked so beautiful and sexy as always and had the great wit about her, the girl has still got it and while visiting a free cams site I met a girl who looks just like her from the earlier days, must be her dopple ganger or something lol. Well I really do hope they make a sex and the city 3 because it gives us long time fans something to look forward to and heck, maybe they will bring it back for another season. Ya never know!

      Alert a moderator

    • sonjaa

      Mar 6th 2011, 21:46

      I have been a huge fan of sex and the ciy for years now and I thought this movie was really fun and entertaining. Carry looked so beautiful and sexy as always and had the great wit about her, the girl has still got it and while visiting a free cams site I met a girl who looks just like her from the earlier days, must be her dopple ganger or something lol. Well I really do hope they make a sex and the city 3 because it gives us long time fans something to look forward to and heck, maybe they will bring it back for another season. Ya never know!

      Alert a moderator

    • FranJester

      May 16th 2011, 23:35

      I don't know how this one got more than the first one! The first one was amazing! It was brilliant, well written and the storylines were intriguing and entertaining! This one however did not compare! The storyline was not of as good quality and Carrie, Samantha and Aidan were were written wrong in this one! Aidan became the old Big by cheating on his wife with Carrie, Carrie overreacted and was extremely hypocritical of the fact that Big liked siting in watching tv and having a takeaway and that he fancied a bit of time away after she'd spent 2 days in a different appartment and Samantha was written so over the top and behaved so uncharacteristicly! The film wasn't all bad though! There were some good moments: The gay wedding was particularily enjoyable! And I thought they portrayed the struggling Charlotte extremely well! Over all though, it was an average film that although cheesily enjoyable doesn't quite measure up to the first film or the television series (both of which i am a huge fan of)!

      Alert a moderator