Reviews

Solomon Kane

3

Purefoy cuts a dash…

Think of almost any role that went to Hugh Jackman, Thomas Jane or Viggo Mortensen in recent years and you can guess James Purefoy would have fancied it.

On paper, the Brit has it all: brawn, brain, looks, gravitas. But for whatever reason – and the pull-out from V For Vendetta perhaps didn’t help – the Rome star seemed beached on the cusp of stardom.

Little wonder, then, that he hurls himself into Deathwatch director Michael J Bassett’s swords-and-scorcery fantasy with such ferocity. Not much story to chew on in Bassett’s script, but Solomon Kane is one hell of a meaty central character.

Created by Conan The Barbarian author Robert E Howard way back in the ’20s, this bloodthirsty 16th Century Puritan antihero is first seen ruthlessly pillaging a Spanish castle before narrowly avoiding having his soul sucked out by a demon.

Solomon duly has second thoughts about his life of evil – and retires from bad-assery to spend the rest of his days praying for salvation in an English monastery. Happily, the priests turf him out, thus sparing us a sequel to In Great Silence and setting Kane on the road to destiny. And perhaps Purefoy, too. Even through a West Cun’ry aahk-cent, he unleashes a performance of immense charisma, etching Kane’s inner struggle of faith and fury with conviction and hacking his way through the movie’s brutal fight scenes like a one-man slaughterhouse.

Aside from a terrific early hall-of-mirrors sequence, Bassett’s movie carries little flair, but it leaves you in no doubt about a broadsword’s capabilities. Impalings, throat-slitting and dismemberments abound.

At one point, Kane takes three hacks to sever a man’s head. Respect. With rain and sleet lashing through most scenes, Kane is a wonderfully evocative throwback, let down only by a little shonky CG. More Kane to come? Maybe. More Purefoy? Without a doubt.
 

Verdict:

A brutal fusion of angst and action, this mini-epic gives the sword-and-sorcery genre a bleak, brusque new life. Watch it for some terrific limbchopping and a mighty turn by James Purefoy.  

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Pennydouglas

      Feb 19th 2010, 15:36

      5

      Since I live in the USA and can't review the movie yet, I can review the trailer at least! Being a Die Hard James Purefoy fan forever, I can tell anyone James does not disappoint! I had to wait for a year just to see the trailer and I was totally excited and blown away. Of all of the movies coming out this year, Solomon Kane looks to be the most exciting one yet! Bravo James! I love you! Now James, hurry up and get that ROME movie done too while you're at it. I am your #1 fan for the ROME series too. Anyone who has not seen the ROME series, you are missing the boat. Also, looking forward to seeing Ironclad here too. So when the movie finally does get to the USA, (and I still cannot understand why it's not here yet), I will give a proper review. As for now, I can tell you that this movie will be a trilogy and one that will be talked about for a long time. Best regards, Penny Douglas Louisiana

      Alert a moderator

    • rorschach

      Feb 22nd 2010, 0:41

      3

      Was pretty good. Enjoyable but ultimately disappointing. The end was woeful and Jason Flemying should be shot. Agree with the praise in the review though.

      Alert a moderator

    • penderfer

      Sep 30th 2010, 17:00

      This was a really superb post. I will visit again soon! My Mahjong and Hidden object games, great Farm games free, news Pet games for kids, awesome Salon games for girls, usa Babysitting games free, best Air traffic controller game trial, free Download games and new Roads of rome game cheats for Hospital Haste fans

      Alert a moderator

    • estar

      Oct 9th 2010, 10:27

      uggs on sale ugg stiefel ugg boots reduziert ugg evera ugg bailey button triplet ugg cardy boots

      Alert a moderator

    • u2010

      Oct 18th 2010, 14:44

      Share with you this website whom supply oakley sunglasses and ray ban sunglasses, you can get cheap oakley sunglasses, discount oakley sunglasses, cheap ray ban sunglasses and discount ray ban sunglasses from their website.

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Oct 20th 2010, 8:05

      Great informative post thanks for sharing..... graphic design service web design service logo design

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Oct 20th 2010, 8:05

      Very nice Site number one topic Thanks you.. label design web design

      Alert a moderator

    • seded

      Oct 28th 2010, 8:02

      nice one. SEO

      Alert a moderator

    • seded

      Oct 28th 2010, 8:02

      great post. hosting

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 19th 2010, 20:04

      great site vigrx plus

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 22nd 2010, 14:15

      great site male enhancement

      Alert a moderator

    • cataclysmcdkey

      Dec 4th 2010, 6:16

      3

      cataclysm cd key wow cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm cd key buy wow cataclysm cd key buy wow cataclysm buy cataclysm wow cd key wow cd key cataclysm collector's edition cataclysm cd key wow cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm buy wow cataclysm wow cataclysm key buy wow cataclysm cd key wow cd key cataclysm collector's edition cataclysm cd key wow cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm cd key buy wow cataclysm cd key buy wow cataclysm buy cataclysm cataclysm cd key wow cataclysm cd key buy wow cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm cd key buy wow cataclysm key buy wow cataclysm buy cataclysm buy cataclysm key cataclysm cd key wow cataclysm cd key buy wow cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm wow cataclysm key buy wow cataclysm buy cataclysm key wow cd key cataclysm cd key wow cataclysm cd key buy cataclysm cd key wow cataclysm key buy wow cataclysm

      Alert a moderator

    • Andrew123

      Dec 14th 2010, 9:14

      I did not care for this movie at all. The story line was not good at all. There is much work to be done for this film. Ecommerce Web Design

      Alert a moderator

    • jazzy713

      Dec 16th 2010, 15:17

      4

      Interesting post. This can really help the readers because it is very informative. You can gather many readers through this Keep it up! Texas car insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Dec 21st 2010, 14:25

      I did not care for this movie at all. The story line was not good at all. There is so much work that needs to be done to this movie. Watch How Do You Know Online | Watch Tron: Legacy Online | Watch Season of the Witch Online

      Alert a moderator

    • marie25

      Dec 23rd 2010, 13:55

      I'm very much interested to see this movie in Houston Doctors

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Jan 18th 2011, 13:10

      I did not care for this movie at all. The story line was not good at all. There is so much work that needs to be done to this movie. how to give good b******bs how to give a good bj how to give a b******b how to give good head how to give great head how to give head how to give good head how to give great head how to give a good b******b b******bs how to give a b*****b

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Feb 2nd 2011, 7:57

      I'm very much interested to see this movie the mechanic download the rite download the roommate download the eagle download gnomeo and juliet download just go with it download I am number four download unknown download drive angry download hall pass download shelter download

      Alert a moderator

    • lizzy21

      Mar 6th 2011, 5:46

      This is a great post; it was very informative. I look forward in reading more of your work. Also, I made sure to bookmark your website so I can come back later. I enjoyed every moment of reading it Austin General Contractor

      Alert a moderator

    • montresen

      May 9th 2012, 14:29

      4

      Here we have our stunning Replique Montre for your perusal. Our Hublot Big Bang are brimming with just as much grace, elegance and beauty as authentic ones! These attractive Montre Hublot in men¡¯s, ladies, and unisex sizes will be the crowning touch to any outfit, any occasion, and any season. Our Swiss Watches are only the very best quality, as we test each one before shipping and get our merchandise only from the best suppliers. As we are in the watch business, we know how important time is to you. With our high quality Tag Heuer Grand Carrera and super-low prices, you won¡¯t find a better place to shop. Breitling Airwolf is a beautiful replica of the authentic ones, no one will ever know the difference. The Calibre De Cartier is of the same quality and examined for perfection as any other high priced watch. We only use the most reputable suppliers for each piece of jewelry shipped. Pick up your Cartier Montres at affordable price, you will receive even greater benefits! Omega Speedmaster is my favorite! With the economy these days why pay more if you don't need too. There is no reason to spend thousands of dollars for an outrageously expensive Omega Seamaster Watch when you can buy a high quality Replique Montres for a fraction of the cost. Our Montre Replique look exactly like the original watches with a much more affordable price. With our high quality and low prices, you can even afford to have more than one Tag Heuer Carrera, and you do not have to worry about losing or breaking a very expensive original brand watch. We sincerely wish you can find your favorite brand. Montresen.com

      Alert a moderator

    • montresen

      May 9th 2012, 14:30

      4

      Here we have our stunning [url=http://repliquemontre.webstarts.com]Replique Montre[/url] for your perusal. Our [url=http://hublotbigbang.webstarts.com]Hublot Big Bang[/url] are brimming with just as much grace, elegance and beauty as authentic ones! These attractive [url=http://montrehublot.webstarts.com]Montre Hublot[/url] in men¡¯s, ladies, and unisex sizes will be the crowning touch to any outfit, any occasion, and any season. Our [url=http://swisswatches.webstarts.com]Swiss Watches[/url] are only the very best quality, as we test each one before shipping and get our merchandise only from the best suppliers. As we are in the watch business, we know how important time is to you. With our high quality [url=http://tagheuergrandcarrera.webstarts.com]Tag Heuer Grand Carrera[/url] and super-low prices, you won¡¯t find a better place to shop. [url=http://breitlingairwolf.webstarts.com]Breitling Airwolf[/url] is a beautiful replica of the authentic ones, no one will ever know the difference. The [url=http://calibredecartier.webstarts.com]Calibre De Cartier[/url] is of the same quality and examined for perfection as any other high priced watch. We only use the most reputable suppliers for each piece of jewelry shipped. Pick up your [url=http://cartiermontres.webstarts.com]Cartier Montres[/url] at affordable price, you will receive even greater benefits! [url=http://omegaspeedmaster.webstarts.com]Omega Speedmaster[/url] is my favorite! With the economy these days why pay more if you don't need too. There is no reason to spend thousands of dollars for an outrageously expensive [url=http://omegaseamasterwatch.webstarts.com]Omega Seamaster Watch[/url] when you can buy a high quality [url=http://repliquemontres.webstarts.com]Replique Montres[/url] for a fraction of the cost. Our [url=http://montrereplique.webstarts.com]Montre Replique[/url] look exactly like the original watches with a much more affordable price. With our high quality and low prices, you can even afford to have more than one [url=http://tagheuercarrera.webstarts.com]Tag Heuer Carrera[/url], and you do not have to worry about losing or breaking a very expensive original brand watch. We sincerely wish you can find your favorite brand. Montresen.com

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular