Reviews

The Avengers

4

Earth’s funniest heroes

What do you get if you cross a Norse god-king with an ego the size of a planet, a nervy science boffin with gigantic anger issues, a WW2 super-soldier with a very silly costume and a genius billionaire playboy with flying armour? Arguments, obviously.

With great power comes great banter in writer/director Joss Whedon’s blockbuster multiplier, which isn’t the best superhero movie ever – but might well be the funniest.

Avengers Assemble is a power-play that’s unprecedented in Hollywood history: launching three different $100m franchises (four if you count the 2008 reboot) to construct one super-mega-franchise. And it has to be said, handing it to a 47-year-old fanboy whose single previous feature film (Serenity) couldn’t even scrape back its budget at the worldwide box office was a massive dice-roll.

Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.), Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), Thor (Chris Hemsworth) and Captain America (Chris Evans) on the big screen together was always going to be a massive kick.

But could any screen be big enough for all them? Would Avengers Assemble look like four bodybuilders in an elevator? The suit, the smash, the hammer, the shield... Like X-Men: The Last Stand, Spider-Man 3 and Iron Man 2, there was a real danger of heroverload.

Sure enough, it takes Whedon a while to assemble his Avengers, as S.H.I.E.L.D. agents Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Phil Coulson (Gregg Clark) recruit the superheroes to save Earth after Loki (Tom Hiddleston), Thor’s power-mad brother, returns to enslave mankind with an all-powerful cosmic cube.

“What does he want me to do, swallow it?” asks Ruffalo’s Dr. Bruce Banner. And from there, the zingers keep coming.

With X-Men and X2, Bryan Singer showed how you could disguise a compelling ensemble drama as a superhero actioner. This is exactly Whedon’s speciality – as well as creating cult TV phenomenon Buffy, he worked on the scripts for X-Men and Toy Story – and his screenplay drags together a group of characters with pretty much zero interest in each other.

How? By locking big egos in small rooms and letting the funnies fly. Lifting the movie’s pace every time he steps on screen in the first half, RDJ’s Tony Stark catalyses the Avengers with machine-gun wit.

He gives both barrels to Thor, whether it’s his cape (“Doth mother know you weareth her drapes?”), his kingly lingo (“Shakespeare In The Park”) or the fact he hasn’t had a haircut since his own movie came out (“No hard feelings, Point Break”).

Arguably the least interesting and most poorly dressed of the Avengers, Cap duly suffers in his first brawl with Loki and finds his 1940s brain drubbed like a speed-ball by the sarcastic Stark.

But affectionately, Whedon plays to his characters’ weaknesses as well as their strengths as his comic-book heroes bounce off each other. And we do mean that literally.

Despite being mere mortals, Jeremy Renner’s laser-sighted archer Hawkeye and Scarlett Johansson’s gymnastic spy Black Widow find key roles in the story. (And, just so you know, the coolest cameo in the movie doesn’t belong to Stan Lee.)

Despite Scar-Jo’s seam-straining catsuit and S.H.I.E.L.D. eye-candy Maria Hill (How I Met Your Mother’s Cobie Smulders, a Wonder Woman contender), there’s no sex factor in this superhero sausage-fest.

Instead, maybe the most interesting frisson sparks between fellow brainiacs Tony Stark and Dr. Banner. Third time’s the charm: Mark Ruffalo’s hand-rubbing performance as Bruce feels definitive and Whedon, in a few short scenes, captures a far more dangerous relationship between Banner and “the other guy” (as he dubs his alter ego) than we’ve seen in two previous big-screen Hulks.

One of the problems was that Mr Hyde never really looked like Dr Jekyll. But with Ruffalo’s features used to construct the CG monster’s face, a much more humanised Hulk emerges as the movie’s unlikely stand-out. Once the green giant bursts free, he grabs hold of the movie and yanks it out of Downey Jr.’s hands. The best moments and the biggest laughs belong to Hulk’s smash-happy personality – and only one of them is blown by the trailer.

Unlike Banner, bigness doesn’t come naturally for Whedon. So it’s no surprise that much of Avengers Assemble involves people talking in rooms. He hired Irish cinematographer Seamus McGarvey (We Need To Talk About Kevin, Atonement, High Fidelity) for that, but he’s also surrounded himself with a crew of slam-bang assistant directors who’ve worked on everything from The Bourne Ultimatum to Tarantino’s upcoming Django Unchained.

Behind the camera, Whedon’s dream-team help him put his money (more than $200m of it) where his mouth is: after an airship siege high in the clouds, the movie surges towards an exciting, epic extended finale of city-smashing carnage that stretches for a Transformers level of mass destruction.

As Loki’s army pours in from another dimension, one showboating unbroken action shot swoops through the battle to track each Avenger kicking ass against gigantic flying robo-fish and alien warriors riding space chariots.

Perhaps inevitably, there’s never quite enough real drama or danger for our effectively invincible protagonists. But this 142-minute romp between gods, monsters, men and supermen packs so much crowd-pleasing colour and humour that it’s impossible not to walk out grinning.

Just don’t walk out too soon. As if we need to tell you, a few tantalising post-credits seconds reveal a guest star who’s ready for the sequel(s)…

Verdict:

Big, brash and very funny, Joss Whedon’s Avengers Assemble is equal to the sum of its parts – and for once, that’s no faint praise. Suit up.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • MoodyMonkey

      Apr 20th 2012, 9:37

      5

      im certain this will live up to my expectations. next thursday cant come soon enough!

      Alert a moderator

    • NathDyl

      Apr 20th 2012, 11:33

      If not Stan Lee for best cameo I am guessing it is true that Spider-Man turns up. Looking forward to the movie, I tend not to get bothered by blockbusters but this one seems a little different.

      Alert a moderator

    • YorksProp

      Apr 20th 2012, 11:58

      Can Spider-Man turn up? Thought that was a no no in the whole Sony/Marvel agreement?

      Alert a moderator

    • YorksProp

      Apr 20th 2012, 11:58

      Irrelevent though, this film will be awesome, the definition of popcorn fun!

      Alert a moderator

    • thedanieljson

      Apr 20th 2012, 12:09

      God this is exciting.. Whedon's having a good year. Here's hoping he'll get plenty of work on the big screen now.

      Alert a moderator

    • Chufferstud

      Apr 20th 2012, 12:39

      I've never heard of this film, what is it about? :) I seriously cannot wait and have booked my tickets! I have done the normal thing I do and looked high and low for what happens (I know, I'm strange) and I think I know who the cameo is from, but of course saying no more! It seems Mr Whedon can do no wrong at the moment! Maybe he'll do a proper Buffy film next with the original tv actors before they get too old? I can only dream.

      Alert a moderator

    • MikeyRix

      Apr 20th 2012, 12:49

      Woohoo! Knew it. Have to concentrate on Uni work today and this has served as a distraction. Cheers :D

      Alert a moderator

    • FBAAntony

      Apr 20th 2012, 13:28

      going to see this movie when i comes out in europe and then again on may 4th in america can't wait to buy this on blu ray

      Alert a moderator

    • SiMan

      Apr 20th 2012, 14:20

      "a few tantalising post-credits seconds reveal a guest star who’s ready for the sequel"........please, please can we make sure that this is not spoiled for us before we've seen the movie. I absolutely loved the little cameo that in X-Men first class and it was even more cool because i was not expecting it at all. Cannot wait to see this film, but do feel as if i've seen too much of it in the recent weeks.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBJRider

      Apr 20th 2012, 17:10

      5

      Of course Lee is the best cameo, he is God! I'm really hoping the post credit sequence guest star is Ant-man, Wasp or Black Panther. But it will be amazing!

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      Apr 20th 2012, 18:10

      Hmm I am gonna say Ant-Man given that Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish have been working on the script for ages, although I hope it's someone a little more well known ( no offense to any Ant-Man fans.)

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      Apr 20th 2012, 18:11

      Speaking of Black Panther that young actor from The Hurt Locker would be perfect for that role.

      Alert a moderator

    • mbembet

      Apr 20th 2012, 19:01

      come July nobody gonna talks about this movie cos DKR will swallow everything!

      Alert a moderator

    • stevolbauer

      Apr 20th 2012, 19:19

      5

      I have been waiting to see this movie for 4 years, ever since Samuel L Jackson's Nick Fury turned up at the end of Iron Man in 2008 and uttered those words that made fan-boys around the world wet their pants: "I'm here to talk about the Avengers initiative". And after 5 films I can honestly say that my incredibly high expectations were not let down, they were exceeded. The Avengers is an incredible movie, not just a great superhero movie but a really good film. Marvel has made a big gamble with this picture and it has paid off. The movie starts off with an introduction to each of our heroes and their antagonist: Loki. It's all pretty usual stuff from here. But once the heroes come together, the movie becomes something more. There are a lot of big egos flying around and each one is more used to being the centre of attention, especially Robert Downey Jr.'s Tony Stark. It's in these heated rows and witty banter that The Avengers becomes something that I really wasn't expecting: it's really funny. All these characters are so different and come from such different backgrounds that there is a lot of fun to be had by bouncing them off each other. The fish out of water gags at Captain America's and Thor's expense are great ("Easy there Point Break") with Tony getting to roll off line after line of witty insults. And in the film's climax, Hulk gets most of the laughs as he smashes everything around him. The Hulk could easily have been the film's main weakness, Marvel had already tried bringing him to the screen twice with little success (Ang Lee's 2003 version being one of the worst superhero movies ever) but he ends up being one of the film's biggest strengths. Mark Ruffalo makes a great Bruce Banner but he actually gets to play both Banner and the Hulk through motion capture (the first time ever that an actor has played both Banner and his massive alter-ego) and it works great. There was a huge cheer and applause when Cap' got to tell him: "Hulk, SMASH!" and he proceeded to do so. A few of the new characters and ones that were limited to cameos in previous films get their chance to shine here. Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow gets to do more kicking and is given a love interest in Jeremy Renner's unbelievably bad-a*s Hawkeye. Samuel L Jackson finally gets to spend more than 5 minutes on screen after showing up in 4 Marvel movies prior to this one in part of his massive 9 picture deal with Marvel. Cobie Smulder's of How I Met Your Mother fame gets to show off her action chops as Maria Hill and the Stan Lee cameo is present of course. Which brings us to the film's action sequences. They are astounding. Each one better than the last. An early 3 player bout where Iron Man and Captain America try to take down Thor is great, but an aerial fight between Thor and the Hulk is better. But then there's the climactic "glorious war!" which really shows the potential of bringing this group together as they get to fight as a team. The problem with them on their own as demonstrated in previous movies, is that your limited to the adversaries to give your hero. Iron Man has just been fighting other men in suits, Thor monsters, etc. But now you can throw any enemies you want at The Avengers and the action will be incredible. The only grievance some people will have is with the villains and the Macguffin. At the beginning I thought the whole aliens and gods thing was a bit fantastical for an Iron Man, Hulk or Captain America movie, but in the end it suits the movie perfectly as the Avengers are given a main villain the can all fight with and a whole army to battle against. The plot is tight and clever and the screenplay brilliantly written with some cracking dialogue. Joss Whedon's directorial style translates perfectly into the blockbuster mould. The perfectly cast actors are all 100% comfortable in their roles and have great fun both bouncing off each other and uniting to fight as a team. The action sequences are breathtaking and the whole movie is terrific fun without being dumb. In terms of where it stands in the pantheon of great comic book movies is strictly down to personal preference. But in my opinion this is the second best comic book movie ever (The Dark Knight wins out due to it's better story and villain) and one of the best action movies ever made. The Avengers is a truly magnificent film and it will be interesting to see where the Marvel movies go next as they have all been leading up to this film, hopefully there will be many more Avengers adventures in the future.

      Alert a moderator

    • Hadouken76

      Apr 20th 2012, 22:43

      eh..? How come I havent heard about this film until now? :P

      Alert a moderator

    • FBMRawlinson

      Apr 22nd 2012, 14:40

      ughh its so annoying for me! ive been waiting for this film for AGES, and ive been keeping up with all the news and stuff on various websites. so like a few days ago i was on SHH and some d****e in the comic section who'd seen the fan screening gave two MASSIVE spoilers, and can i just say, all of you are wrong so far in guessing who the best cameo belongs to;)

      Alert a moderator

    • MoodyMonkey

      Apr 22nd 2012, 23:05

      @FBMKhan please do one. This film is just tickling me good! can't wait!

      Alert a moderator

    • FBSLewis

      Apr 24th 2012, 7:38

      Thanos IS THE PRE-CREDIT CAMEO !!!!! T H A N OS !!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • FBJYeung

      Apr 25th 2012, 2:15

      4

      THis is no way a five star or a 4 and a half star film I'll give it a 4 and 1 quater stars This isn't a masterpiece but a good popcorn flick, acutally a great popcornflick like Indiana Jones or Die Hard but it is not as good as Indy but better than Die Hard. Know what I mean? I loved the Seven Samorai concept of this film, it was like Mass Effect 2 with Superheroes. This is not the best comic book movie ever. The best is Sin City and The Dark Knight in my opinion and those are masterpieces, classics like Godfather (well, not LIKE Godfather the greatest movie of all time). expect a great popcornflick and a great film and nothing more, and in fact why would anyone expect this to be The Dark Knight of Marvels? This is sth like Indiana Jones so expect something like that, a great film.

      Alert a moderator

    • Chortney

      Apr 25th 2012, 9:25

      5

      This movie is absolutely amazing. I can't wait until I see it again. Joss Whedon has done an amazing job, and the script is pure gold.

      Alert a moderator

    • theruffler

      Apr 25th 2012, 18:42

      Can anyone confirm what the 3D job is like? Is it worth forking out the extra or just see it in 2D?

      Alert a moderator

    • Kedders1986

      Apr 26th 2012, 14:56

      The 3D is ok. Like many other movies it starts off bad, but as the film goes on it gets better. The 3D is at its best in the final.

      Alert a moderator

    • SpideyLew

      Apr 26th 2012, 16:47

      Saw it today, it really lives up to expectations. Whedon could not have done a better job. The cast Assembled are amazing. They bounce off each other really well. Ruffalo's Hulk is the big screen we have been waiting to see. RDJ is at his usual best as Stark. Evan's Cap displays the vulnerability and naivete you'd expect of a character thrust decades into a world unknown. And Hemsworth's Thor is every-bit the God of Thunder. Jeremy Renner's Hawkeye is outstanding and ScarJo brings eye candy as Black Widow (Although i much preferred Colby Smulder's Maria Hill to be honest). The mid-credits scene is there to excite people like myself that read the comics. General cinema-goers wont get much (if anything) from it. There is nothing after the credits themselves, just the scene a few minutes in. See it 2D, no gimmicky 3D or D-Box is required. It wasn't shot in 3D so there is no need to pay extra cash for a crappy post-conversion. Avengers is a movie with enough story, action & humour to draw you in without the use of gimmicks which actually have the opposite effect. In no way does a chair shaking (D-Box) or a random bit of debris (2D) flying at you enhance the movie experience. Avengers does not require this. Whedon has done the unthinkable, he has united Earth's Mightiest Heroes in a movie which in my honest opinion, is right up there as one of, if not the best superhero adaptions. Personally if i was reviewing this, I would have scored it a perfect 5/5.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBDWilliams

      Apr 26th 2012, 20:35

      5

      just came back watching the film and i fully agree with this review i was thinking along the 4* margin but that 3rd act really made me tear up a bit cause it was just purely too awesome which a superhero film has never made me do so this is a 5* film and deserves a BAD-a*s seal of approval (copyright Angry-Joe)

      Alert a moderator

    • Heisenberg

      Apr 27th 2012, 7:46

      4

      POSSIBLE SPOILER? MAYBE. 4 stars is right. the film is brilliant, the cast amazing, the writing excpetional, the storyline f*****g awesome. The secret cameo was a cracker!! RDJ was funny, Ruffalo introduced a very new hulk but possibly the best of them all, and i know she has been gettin slated but even Johannson was on very fine form, her acting and kick-assery was pretty damn good. Cap was still old cappy, and Thor and Loki were their usual demi-god selves lol. The only place where it gets lets down for me is towards the epic epic final fight scene, i didnt feel the emotion for the characters, simply because i already knew there was going to be more avenger movies, another ironman movie, another thor movie etc etc so i was 99.9% sure no1 was gonna forsake themselves for humanity. So it didnt quite suck me totally in, it still had my heartstrings in its hands, without quite pulling on them hard enough. But overall, genuinely amazing movie. Whedon, you sir, are a genius.

      Alert a moderator

    • zeike

      Apr 27th 2012, 9:20

      TF review is pretty spot on although i'd give it 3.5 stars if i could. The characters coming together works very well, Black widow was a pretty cool character, her apparent heart to heart with a captured loki was a stand out for me. Things i loved were the verbal sparring between the avengers, the helicarrier, the hulk(he got the biggest laughs), and the effects for the most part were pretty eye-popping. The things i didnt like.......Captain America's suit just looks plain naff, camp is not the word. i dont understand this as in his own movie it was pretty cool. for all Fury's doom and gloom speeches and large-scale destruction on show there doesnt seem to be much peril, you just felt the Avengers are going to wipe the floor with this vacuous rent-an-army and make a mess doing it. and how on earth a couple of shots of loki riding a chariot towards us against a massive screen made it into the final film is beyond me. But overall the film was a lot of fun, and a fitting culmination of all the characters you been watching leading upto this point.

      Alert a moderator

    • Mulder

      Apr 27th 2012, 9:35

      Avengers was EPIC! Also, found this hilarious and spoiler free 60 second fan review: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vf4a2Je_IcY

      Alert a moderator

    • FBJHurst

      Apr 27th 2012, 11:26

      5

      Great fun film very funny and well filmed. Annoyed that Tony's chest piece was left out in some shot. he has a black sabbath shirt in which we can clearly see the chest piece through and in other shots its not showing - come on guys sort your editing out

      Alert a moderator

    • nigellockett

      Apr 27th 2012, 16:00

      Seen it 5 stars not 4 Imagine all the best bits you would ever want to see the Avengers do as individuals and as a team. Now stop imagineing and go and see the film - it is brilliant, Joss Whedon is a genius.

      Alert a moderator

    • nigellockett

      Apr 27th 2012, 16:02

      5

      just to make it official - wait for the title ending true believers

      Alert a moderator

    • thedanieljson

      Apr 27th 2012, 22:29

      5

      If your this far down the comments having read all of these reviews and you haven't already booked tickets, there is no hope for you. Suffice to say, this is as good as everyone says. I would like Joss Whedon to manage every project in Hollywood now, and I don't care if he "doesn't have the time" or will "get stressed". In the name of entertainment, it should happen.

      Alert a moderator

    • jamieneish

      Apr 27th 2012, 22:42

      Nice review. Here's my take on The Avengers - http://emptyscreens.com/2012/04/26/review-the-avengers-2012/

      Alert a moderator

    • pimpernel

      Apr 28th 2012, 10:12

      Um, excuse me, Hiddleston was hardly in this review and he was the best thing in it!!

      Alert a moderator

    • SiMan

      Apr 28th 2012, 17:42

      I'd say its a 4 star film for the general movie-going pubic and a 5 star film for those of us who are comic book/superhero movie nerds. Best Marvel film of the lot and just a purely fun and enjoyable film. Cannot wait to go see it again.

      Alert a moderator

    • lukeworm100

      Apr 28th 2012, 18:31

      4

      I really enjoyed this film but can anybody tell me who this person was in the credits? Because i stayed and saw the frost giant talking to someone, didn't recognise the second one and then it went to the scrolling credits, was there another thing after or are we supposed to recognise the people in the credits?

      Alert a moderator

    • cinders

      Apr 28th 2012, 20:05

      4

      If I could give it 4 1/2 stars, I would. In my opinion, Wheldon ALMOST gets it just right. Right amount of humour peppers the Movie at regular intervals, and it was so interesting to see the various Characters / egos on screen. Just a few niggly scenes smudged it just a little (ie; Black Widow on the back of the alien flying craft), but really just a minor gripe. Good stuff, and cant wait for the inevitable sequel. By the way, Lukeworm, I think the character just before the end credits is one of the Skrulls - an alien villain from the Comics, presumably on show for the sequel.

      Alert a moderator

    • cinders

      Apr 28th 2012, 20:35

      Correction - Thanos, oops !

      Alert a moderator

    • cookie7991

      Apr 29th 2012, 21:07

      4

      POSSIBLE SPOLIERS NOTHING MAJOR THOUGH!!!!!!!!I have gave it 4 star but i would stretch to five there were more loki fighting scenes, however there are still alot of scenes of him fighting which are still impressive that is my only complaint!! The whole film does something that others do not, MAKES you enjoy it, you literally cannot watch the film and not enjoy it its amazing and adds something for everyone, laughs galore really impressive and well edited cgi scenes along with all the figting script cool weapons plot twists everything you could want not only would this appeal to new audiences because its simply a new amazing genre but fan boys and girls alike will love the film as it lies up to comics and the hype. what i enjoyed the most was the structure of the film and how evryone got there set peices and equal amount of time on screen and all characters neccasry for the job. and addition of stan lee was really well played by marvel. great job they did lets hope te seqaul isnt a let down!!!!!!!!!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • YorksProp

      Apr 30th 2012, 8:34

      Saw it last night, loved it. As far as a superhero film goes it's the best I've seen. Nolan's Batman series doesn't feature 'super' heroes so I can discount those. But the humour, the action, all tremendous, saw it in 3D purely because the 2D was full. I'm not a massive lover of 3D anyway so I won't comment on that aspect. Just a great film, and one that I'm going to see again without a doubt.

      Alert a moderator

    • FILMartin

      Apr 30th 2012, 16:14

      POSSIBLE SPOILERS BELOW! First of all: Loved the movie. Everyone else has commented on this, and I have nothing more to add. 'nuff said. BUT: TFs review mentions a cameo cooler than Stan Lee (who by now isn't relly cool, but more expected). I have to say: I have no clue who that was supposed to be. I've seen the movie once, and even though I paid attention, nothing stood out to me. This could be because of this: 1: I looked down at the wrong moment. 2: I'm Norwegian and may not be familiar with a famous American face. I may have seen the person without realizing who it was. I do however expect a cameo to be recognizable, so I guess it's not Thanos during the credits. And I'm guessing it's not Skarsgard, Palthrow or the still of Natalie Portman. What am I missing? I realize people may not want to spoil this in here, so can anyone P L E A S E put my mind to rest by e-mailing me the answer before I lose it completely... yeah, might seem like I allready have, I guess... (martin at filmmartin dot no)

      Alert a moderator

    • cinders

      Apr 30th 2012, 17:52

      Filmartin - the character was Thanos, seen just before the end credits. He is a Marvel Character (Villain) from the comics.

      Alert a moderator

    • blompey

      Apr 30th 2012, 20:50

      5

      Pant wettingly good. Best film I've seen in a very long time. Went to see it with my husband and 2 teenage sons, and none of us were disappointed. 5 stars from us!

      Alert a moderator

    • thompson1978

      May 2nd 2012, 11:54

      Do TF Mean T at the end (I'm not spoiling even though it is spoilt) or the uncredited lou ferrigno as the voice of the Hulk.

      Alert a moderator

    • trist808

      May 2nd 2012, 13:15

      SPOILERS!!!!!!! Jesus, you all call yourselves film fans? The cameo is Harry Dean Stanton as the security guard who helps Banner after his free fall ... and his line "You an alien?" is brilliant (he played Brett in ALIEN) and his follow up "Well son, you've got a condition" is one of the best laugh out loud moments in the film :)

      Alert a moderator

    • inkmark

      May 3rd 2012, 18:02

      4

      Fantastic!! I too was (pleasantly) surprised at how good this popcorn summer movie was. Can Joss weadon write and direct every movie that comes out of hollywood please? All characters were great, particularly Stark, Thor and Banner/Hulk, but its Tom Hiddleston's wonderful comic turn as Loki that was Weadon's trump card. He walks away with the movie. No mean feat when you've got Robert Downey Jr and Samuel L Jackson in the cast. Both The Amazing Spider-man and that rising Dark Knight are going to have to pull something special out of the bag to top this!

      Alert a moderator

    • SaveFerris

      May 5th 2012, 15:31

      3

      Not all that... I felt the film was missing a human perspective, as every point of view is from a character invovled in the little world of s.h.i.e.l.d. The best scenes were those involving crowds of ordinary people, because their 'what the f**k? This is amazing!' expressions are what I felt I should be feeling. They're the only bits where you feel an element of danger; as there's never any doubt that all of our team of Avengers will make it to the end credits alive. Having said that, the action scenes are spectacular and Robert Downey Jr is as likable and funny as ever, and Scarlett Johansson isn't just eye-candy; she kicks some serious a*s.

      Alert a moderator

    • jeffamania

      May 6th 2012, 13:34

      5

      Guys - I'm really looking forward to the Dark Knight Rises too, but lets give honour where its due! This movie is a 5 star!!!!!! not a 3 or a 4.............its a solid 5! Its the best comic book movie ever as least until the DKR comes out later this year or Man of Steel next year, definitely the best for laughs and action. Its a also a great story although it took another 4 prequel movies to get here...hence why the story may not feel that compelling. Weadon passed with flying colours on a massive task of seamlessly bringing together an essemble cast of leading men, strong action heroes and 3 movies together. I was just expecting a 'good' movie, but instead I got a great movie! Best movie I have seen this year....I was scared, laughing, clapping, whopping and wanting more...............

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      May 6th 2012, 18:54

      5

      Now that was alot of fun.

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisWootton

      May 8th 2012, 0:26

      3

      Glad so many loved it.. I didn't think it was all that to be honest, felt as though I walked in halfway through the movie when it started.

      Alert a moderator

    • filmfreak2

      May 9th 2012, 12:35

      It is amazing !! I have just found great stream online in HD , here is link http://www.yebako.com/2012/04/28/the-avengers-2012/ This site is becoming number one in USA,,enjoy

      Alert a moderator

    • baldeelox

      May 13th 2012, 8:10

      In this review this part "As Loki’s army pours in from another dimension, one showboating unbroken action shot swoops through the battle to track each Avenger kicking a*s against gigantic flying robo-fish and alien warriors riding space chariots" is the best piece of superhero action in any film ever. From the time Black widow gets bounced into the air cap usa"s shield my mouth was open with awe for minutes after…breathtaking and exactly what i have waited YEARS to see…briliiant film and hats off to Marvel for approving what were average films leading up to this EPIC FLICK!!! Dark Knight, Spidey and Prometheus have their work cut out!

      Alert a moderator

    • moviegeek2000

      May 22nd 2012, 7:23

      4

      I'm probably a bit late in the game, since everybody else before me has already agree with this reviewer, but I just wanted to add my voice to the chorus of people who found the Avengers deliciously entertaining! This is what an action film should be! Here's my 2 cent review: http://wp.me/19wJ2

      Alert a moderator

    • 4bs7162

      Jun 11th 2012, 17:11

      1

      Booooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnng! it was boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg i just could not take it i nearly fell asleep

      Alert a moderator

    • ProjectJames

      Jun 19th 2012, 19:14

      4

      HAWKEYE! HAWKEYE! HAWKEYE! Jeremy Renner is so awesome. The Avengers is fantastic. I didn't like the film Thor, Ironman 2 was average and both Hulks sucked, so I took a gamble seeing this really. It was amazing, so much action and destruction. The last act is so like Transformers Dark of The Moon, you know, superheroes vs aliens fighting whilst a whole city is decimated. The 3D was epic, especially when Hawkeye dives off a rooftop and fires his arrow, came right out the screen. Overall a wicked movie, can't wait for the 3D Blu-Ray release.

      Alert a moderator

    • alansukonnik

      Aug 8th 2012, 14:15

      Great Review! Here is my take if you'd like to read: http://mostrecentlywatched.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/theavengers

      Alert a moderator

    • nickaldous

      Sep 13th 2012, 15:53

      i cant stress enough how could this movie was.

      Alert a moderator

    • jakesfake

      Sep 24th 2012, 14:01

      2

      http://thoughtburp.wordpress.com/2012/09/24/2012-best-and-blah-of-the-year-so-far/

      Alert a moderator