Reviews

The Final Destination

3

The 3D justifies another 'final' destination.

Having exhausted the potential of the death-as-serial-killer gimmick in the first three movies, the fourth Final Destination takes the Scream route by poking fun at its morbid premise and peppering its grisly set-pieces with self-referential in-jokes.

The opening racetrack disaster takes place at McKinley Speedway, dubbed (one assumes) after the assassinated US president; a racist redneck dies being yanked in flames behind a truck bearing the legend ‘Destiny Towing’; and a mother-of-two perishes after having her locks trimmed at ‘Salon Dante’. (“We just lost a hot MILF!” sighs one character after she is viscerally offed.)

There is also a nod to Clear Rivers, the role Ali Larter took in the first two instalments of this gleefully gruesome series.

You don’t go to a Final Destination for the jokes, though. You go for the kills, here lent an extra fillip by 3D visuals that send the hapless victims’ entrails dropping into our laps and their sundry means of destruction (wooden spike, car tyre, plummeting engine block) flying in our direction.

Yes, having one bratty youngster meet her maker while watching a 3D movie does push David R Ellis’s film perilously close to shark-jumping self-parody.

But for the most part those glasses do their job in generating enough of a reason for the Destination team to have one last hurrah.

It should definitely end here, though. Even 3D can’t disguise the creative bankruptcy of a franchise that has to use its traditional “It was only a dream!” rug-pull twice just to reach the finish line, or one whose idea of getting a big name is to cast Mykelti Forrest Gump Williamson as a recovering alcoholic.

The juvenile stars, meanwhile, are almost spookily faceless, being little more than mannequins off the Hollywood production line. For them, you suspect, Final Destination is not so much a career break as a virtual death sentence.

Verdict:

Returning 3D to its exploitation roots, the latest Final Destination ups the gory splatter and plays it pretty much totally for laughs. Nine years on from the first one, though, the Grim Reaper is finally running out of lethal surprises.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • vanillasky

      Sep 1st 2009, 20:19

      2

      When you go and see these kind of films, you have to remember that you are not going to see The Godfather or Gladiator. It is the hilarious killings that make the Final Destination films but even this one is a stretch too far in terms of how many decapitations you have already seen before. Ok Final Destination was great, Final Destination 2 was good and Final Destination 3 was c**p so hopefully this will be the last one because at just 89 mins long, it just about crawls over the finish line.

      Alert a moderator

    • Joker

      Sep 2nd 2009, 19:56

      2

      s**t s**t s**t how can you give this 3 stars 3D was good for two parts in this film at the start with the spanner type thing flying at you and the tire and another good part the x-ray titles and end best parts so two stars for titles and tiny bit of 3D but really i agree with vanillasky the first 2 are good third ok this c**p

      Alert a moderator

    • RalphTwice

      Sep 7th 2009, 12:09

      3

      Come on, lighten-up! These films are what they are, tongue-in-cheek gorefest movies. I'll admit the premise is wearing thin and this is the same formula milked for the 4th time, but don't tell me you didn't know that before you bought the ticket. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, which needs to be seen in 3D to be fully appreciated. The mostly young cast do a good job, but there are no mourning family and friends about to tug at your heart-strings, so you don't get attached to them enough to care. It didn't have the same tension building up to some deaths bar one, as in 1 & 2, guessing how they were going to meet their gory end, but the 3D made-up for this. If you're a fan of the first 3 then you must go, even if it's just to see the brilliant opening credits. Yes, time to bow-out gracefully. A satisfyingly gory end to the FD franchise.

      Alert a moderator

    • macfetters

      Sep 16th 2009, 0:23

      5

      Alert a moderator

    • macfetters

      Sep 16th 2009, 0:30

      5

      i think final destination 4 is brilliant in which thousands of fans in usa think so by making it no1 film and huge in the uk which is something alot of horror films cant do. the killings are clever with an excellent ending. its a film ive been waiting for in a long time since i loved the 3rd one. these are the best horror thrillers around in which you watch over and over and not get bored as you dont have to know who the killer is because there is no killer like in slasher films. i hope they make loads more. people who slag it off isnt fans of the franchise and moans because they cant do any better themselves, plus havent got a clue how hard it is to come up with ideas linked together. as theres a lack of films being made and getting harder to make new great ones, alot of films needs to have good reviews, before we get no films to watch apart from old ones.

      Alert a moderator

    • parker

      Sep 22nd 2009, 12:47

      1

      This was one of the worst film i have ever seen. 1. a rubbish opening death scene (didnt they already use cars in the second one?) 2. Terrible acting and dialogue (toasting champagne just minutes after their friend was sucking into a pool vent. 3. Terrible cop-out having yet another flashforward moment at the end 4. No background on any of the wooden characters (there was no way of knowing if they were still in college, or all had jobs. nothing) 5. please dont watch this film (even if its just because you liked the first 3 or for the 3D RUBBISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • oysterboy212

      Sep 23rd 2009, 10:03

      3

      This was my first 3D film and even though the movie itself was the same old predictable stuff, I really enjoyed the novelty value of the 3D. I agree that this should be the last one in the series though. Its been taken as far as it can go.

      Alert a moderator

    • totalmilf

      Sep 23rd 2009, 23:32

      2

      Two stars: both for the 3D. Need I say more?

      Alert a moderator

    • TVC15

      Sep 25th 2009, 5:34

      1

      Plays it for laughs? If this is your idea of fun don't bother inviting me to the party.

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Jan 17th 2011, 5:33

      3

      The latest final destination movie brings 3D to Death. With the same idea as the other movies with a group of people surviving a accident in this case a crash at the local speedway track. When Nick O'Bannon (Bobby Campo) has a vision of everyones death. But during the course of the movie they all die. The movie brings nothing special with the deaths scenes as many of them seem nothing special. However nicks first vision at the race track and later in mall are new and exiting to watch plus the 3D in race track scene really works. Overall the film is nothing special or new but the 3D makes the movie worth watching and buying on DVD

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular