Reviews

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

4

All the markings of a genre classic…

Jet-black hair, spiked collar, enough piercings to make magnets hazardous to her bone structure… and beneath the surface, a cauldron of victimised anger, photographic memory and poor social skills.

As computer hacker Lisbeth in this superb Swedish thriller, Noomi Rapace is a vision of gothic torment: a star is bjorn.

Rapace is so compelling, like some neo-punk Pippi Longstocking, that Michael Nyqvist’s crusading financial journalist can’t help paling in comparison. His more passive approach still yields dividends, however, as they become a chalk/ cheese detective duo, hired by aged industrialist Henrik Vanger to solve the 40-year disappearance of his niece Harriet. Skeletons clatter from the Vangers’ family closet, and a serial killer looms large…

Director Niels Arden Oplev’s directorial hand is strong and sure, instilling a slow-burn build-up that, if it weren’t for a shocking detour involving Lisbeth’s sadistic guardian, would play like a classic parlour story. Supremely efficient in its storytelling, it’s also acutely atmospheric and suspenseful – perhaps mild compared to the shock-and-gore of Hollywood serial-killer thrillers, but not without its gut-punching moments.

True, two films do not a cinema revolution make, but after Let The Right One In and this, Swedish film is concreting a rep for taut, involving genre pieces that bridge the subtitle divide. Better still, Dragon Tattoo is based on the first book in novelist Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy, with the remaining two adaps due in a matter of months.

Best of all, they both star Rapace. Consider us tantalised.
 

Verdict:

Great characters, strapping story, ominous ambience and a phenomenal lead performance: the hype is fully justified.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • TheGirl

      Mar 3rd 2010, 12:22

      5

      Become a fan of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo film on Facebook for your chance to win screening tickets or a trip to Sweden, and find out more about the film – in cinemas on March 12th!

      Alert a moderator

    • TheGirl

      Mar 8th 2010, 11:15

      5

      Want to see the Girl With The Dragon Tattoo first and for free? Head to our Facebook page where we’ll shortly be announcing details of free preview tickets – plus enter our comp for a holiday to Sweden! www.facebook.com/thegirlwiththedragontattoouk

      Alert a moderator

    • mason0507

      Oct 4th 2010, 10:21

      Here let me introduce thelouis vuitton bagsto you. Coating in shiny patent leather as well as textile lining with a strikingLVin large golden brass letters, it would be standing out other gorgeouslouis vuitton pursesfrom top fashion brands due to its brilliant material and exquisite design. Therefore, it would be an idealLouis vuitton handbagsfor participating a party or a date when you don’t need to carry a lot. Open with the magneticlouis vuitton wallets, one zipped pocket adds its interior space. And this clutch is designed for hand-held. FromLV.

      Alert a moderator

    • mason0507

      Oct 4th 2010, 12:15

      5

      Gucci shoes tennis shoes for instance, engage artifact for the bushel and arc. Tennis shoes refrain campaign this problem by using a strain of caoutchouc that is writer lasting and scratch defiant then added forms of caoutchouc used on cheap gucci shoes such as panting preventive. discount gucci shoes feature been mangey on the feet of umpteen extraordinary tennis players. Of action, gucci-watches someone also graced the feet of umpteen high novices, as shaft.The stalking pages schema rightful a few of these elements and individuals which together ride the daedal enation behindhand producing Buy Cheap Womens Gucci Shoes footgear which is improved to the verbatim specifications of hero athletes.

      Alert a moderator

    • mason0507

      Oct 4th 2010, 12:16

      5

      Coach Outlet to maintain the same position for too long after walking the main useful function of structure. And many common shoes may aggravate the situation. But now,cheap Coach Outlet Store online the main battle tank in your shoes can eliminate these problems and cheap Coach Handbags can help you maintain your health.When do you usually wear Discount Coach , painless leisure and Cultural Services Department to accept. so shoes and bresk interpretation of daylight saving time, a pair of coach back packs feet relax and rest.

      Alert a moderator

    • mason0507

      Oct 4th 2010, 12:17

      5

      This amazing Coach Bags for those busy days or nights of perfect. Coach Outlet , leaders and affordable for the American luxury brand known to create attractive Coach Outlet Store online fashion handbags and signature characteristics and use of quality fabrics materials.Shop these coaches and the latest design wallet Coach Outlet StoresCoach Patchwork Handbags here. Coach Handbags are new arrivals direct from the factory area . .Check more classical style Poppy coach jewelry our online store, buy more and more concessions.

      Alert a moderator

    • mason0507

      Oct 4th 2010, 12:18

      5

      This rare deep red coach handbags are with the hermetic crocodiles. Locking close to add luxury this authentic coach handbags . In our store, we provide you with the best quality reproductions, buy coach handbags – red bag HB021 crocodile line all. Therefore, we are lower, the wholesale price reproductions, authentic coach handbags for sale .It may have used more leather than some people would have preferred,but leather coach purses sale are their bread and butter. so celebrities and everyone who have this sure made a great choice with this coach back packs.

      Alert a moderator

    • mason0507

      Oct 4th 2010, 12:20

      5

      This amazingcoach outletfor those busy days or nights of perfect.coach outlet store online, leaders and affordable for the American luxury brand known to create attractive designercoach handbagsand accessories.coach wallets fashion handbags and signature characteristics and use of quality fabrics materials.Shop these coaches and the latest design walletcoach handbags outletCoach Patchwork Handbags here.

      Alert a moderator

    • Jazzysheff

      Oct 13th 2010, 14:13

      4

      When are the Total Film Moderators gonna put a stop to all this junk posting about cheap bags. Ruins their credibiltiy. PS The movie was ace

      Alert a moderator

    • OnScreen

      Oct 19th 2010, 15:46

      1

      First of all this film was way too long, secondly it was incredibly boring at times and finally it wasn't as intense as they've made it out to be. Here's our full opinion: http://zoopy.com/q/58il

      Alert a moderator

    • ellyka19

      Oct 27th 2010, 10:25

      5

      Hello,I love reading through your blog, I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wishing you the best of luck for all your blogging efforts. devis assurance voiture sans permis

      Alert a moderator

    • johnalbert486

      Nov 8th 2010, 8:33

      I visited your blog for the first time essay help and just been your fan. Keep posting assignment help as I am gonna come to read it everyday!! Regards, dissertation help

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 8:35

      4

      I found your website perfect for my needs. It contains wonderful and helpful posts. Carry on this work. In the end, I would like to thank you for making such a nice website. business administration degree AND business management degree AND accounting degree

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 8:36

      4

      I am absolutely blown away at how great the information is on this webpage. I have written down this website and I truly intend on visiting the site in the next few days. Great job keep up the great work education degree AND nursing degree

      Alert a moderator

    • alexyc44

      Dec 5th 2010, 4:12

      This was a great film to say the least. I love movies like this and I really plan on working hard to learn more from this website. I just wanted to say thanks. Alaska Fishing Lodge Manager

      Alert a moderator

    • rileyw21c

      Dec 5th 2010, 19:47

      This was a very interesting article to say the least. I really am a huge fan and I look forward to learning more from this site. Thanks Data Recovery Chicago

      Alert a moderator

    • jennyz21

      Dec 8th 2010, 21:28

      This was really a great article that I really do apprecite. This website is really very interesting and I think this is a great review of this movie. It one of my favorites. Thanks Jenni Clark city hall wedding san francisco experts

      Alert a moderator

    • jacquelinefkm

      Dec 9th 2010, 20:41

      4

      Thank you for the article. I was very informative. I appreciate the work you do! Keep Up the good work Thanks! Cystitis Treatment

      Alert a moderator

    • faithhnh

      Dec 10th 2010, 0:09

      4

      Nice site! Thanks for the article! I look forward to reading more! Thanks! Miley O'Brian from Business Internet Providers

      Alert a moderator

    • hannar33c

      Dec 10th 2010, 0:43

      This is really a great film. I cant wait to see it again. I really enjoyed your great review. This is very spectacular to me. Thanks ppi

      Alert a moderator

    • Haley259

      Dec 10th 2010, 2:43

      I have been waiting to see this film for a while. I'm hoping it will live up to the novel, however your review makes me think that this movie will be phenomenal. Thanks Cheap Auto Insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • seoaddiction

      Dec 10th 2010, 22:12

      5

      Some weeks ago I had a great opportunity to watch this film. I want to say it is very specific, it clearly shows how violence influences us in the childhood and its consequences in adulthood. Really interesting movie and great review essay writing about this film. Well done!

      Alert a moderator

    • daniellewby

      Dec 11th 2010, 2:02

      5

      Love the article! Very informing! Keep up the great work. I really enjoy your site! Danielle Williams from Hornby Model Trains

      Alert a moderator

    • Shanen

      Dec 14th 2010, 14:00

      5

      I found this is an informative and interesting post so i think so it is very useful and knowledgeable. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative coursework writing ability has inspired me. Really the article is spreading its wings rapidly... order essay

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Dec 21st 2010, 14:24

      Some weeks ago I had a great opportunity to watch this film. I want to say it is very specific, it clearly shows how violence influences us in the childhood and its consequences in adulthood. Blue Valentine Download | Season of the Witch Download | How Do You Know Download

      Alert a moderator

    • nicoleqrcb

      Dec 21st 2010, 21:39

      4

      Very great site! Thanks for the article! I really like the site! Nicole from Coconut Water

      Alert a moderator

    • jordyg18c

      Dec 21st 2010, 22:06

      This was a fantastic article that I really do appreciate. This is a great website to say the least. Thanks Jordan Shaffer - retail distribution review

      Alert a moderator

    • marie25

      Dec 23rd 2010, 13:48

      I watched this movie in Oaks of Devonshire and it was great.

      Alert a moderator

    • rahuldev1234

      Dec 24th 2010, 11:10

      4

      I am very enjoyed for this blog. Its an informative topic. It help me very much to solve some problems. Its opportunity are so fantastic and working style so speedy. I think it may be help all of you. Thanks a lot for enjoying this beauty blog with me. I am appreciating it very much! Looking forward to another great blog. Good luck to the author! all the best! www.nohasslenewsletters.com

      Alert a moderator

    • Amanda259

      Dec 25th 2010, 4:07

      This was a great movie and a wonderful article to go along with this review. I think that everyone who has read the book will enjoy this movie. I have seen it once with some coworkers from my Omega 3 company. Thanks for the wonderful review.

      Alert a moderator

    • rahuldev1234

      Dec 27th 2010, 4:19

      4

      You always can publish something absorbing that does not waste minutes of your life like what you see on countless other sites. This is very interesting and I will be back for more. Thanks for sharing. Buy Used College Books

      Alert a moderator

    • victoriafrtg

      Dec 31st 2010, 22:41

      4

      I love this movie! Great site too! Keep up the great work! Tori from Wool Socks

      Alert a moderator

    • Bredly

      Jan 6th 2011, 12:19

      This is an essay that gives information for thought. Somebody can share it, but somebody no. I'm sharing!

      Alert a moderator

    • rissatech33

      Jan 14th 2011, 1:32

      This was really a great film to be honest. I really did enjoy it and hopefully I can watch it soon. Thanks Marissa Manderson - Internet Business Training

      Alert a moderator

    • Mackenziehnr

      Jan 16th 2011, 2:41

      4

      Love the site. Thanks for sharing such a great article. I really love this site! Keep up the great work. Mackenzie from Round Brilliant Cut Diamond Engagement Rings

      Alert a moderator

    • PeteTod44

      Jan 16th 2011, 22:43

      I have seen fantastic blogs and I have seen not so fantastic blogs. This blog is very informative in many ways and certainloy ranks in the former category. Really appreciate the information your providing use avid readers! Domain Parking

      Alert a moderator

    • mediahuset

      Jan 17th 2011, 11:05

      Cheap Womens Shoes This post creates great impression into my mind, the explanation, content quality, purpose are very good and very much helpful.

      Alert a moderator

    • jimb45

      Jan 17th 2011, 18:31

      This is a thriller movie that will definitely have you on the edge the whole movie. This is the type of movie that i just love. The writers did such a great job with this movie. This is a must see movie. auto loan

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Jan 18th 2011, 13:07

      I have seen fantastic blogs and I have seen not so fantastic blogs. This blog is very informative in many ways and certainloy ranks in the former category. Really appreciate the information your providing use avid readers! cedar rapids download | the eagle download | gnomeo and juliet download

      Alert a moderator

    • denil

      Feb 3rd 2011, 6:07

      I would have never done it, Lisbeth. But I understand why you did. I don't know what you have experienced. But I was about to die in that cellar, and you saved my life. Whatever you have seen, you don't need to tell me. I'm just happy that you're here. advokat kristiansand

      Alert a moderator

    • glegs

      Feb 4th 2011, 8:23

      4

      So much spam!! Good film though.

      Alert a moderator

    • stacie

      Feb 9th 2011, 4:21

      I've watch this movie.....a great movie. This article is has raised some very interesting points. Salute for the writer that has spend much attention for this informative articles. New and valuable information I found in this read. Thank you for your post. Education and Scholarship | Student Education

      Alert a moderator

    • danleyvilla

      Feb 9th 2011, 19:01

      5

      Excellent article about the Girl With The Dragon Tattoo that will provide the incentive and basis for my works. I wonder if I can mention the article as a revitol review in my work. Thanks! intumescent paint

      Alert a moderator

    • jameskeaton

      Feb 9th 2011, 19:03

      3

      The information and the detail were just perfect. I think that your perspective is deep, its just well thought out and really fantastic to see someone who knows how to put these thoughts down so well. market samurai review / fat burning furnace reviews

      Alert a moderator

    • rodhildred

      Feb 9th 2011, 19:05

      5

      That is genuinely helpful. I would like to ask if it would be Okay if I mentioned some of that on my own seo elite review blog. Of course, I would credit you, and link back here also.

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Feb 12th 2011, 12:25

      The post is very nicely written and it contains many useful facts.Home Security Cameras.I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement. Thanks for sharing with us. Regards, internet marketing services

      Alert a moderator

    • sidkof

      Feb 14th 2011, 19:49

      This was really a great article that I really do apprecite. This website is really very interesting and I think this is a great review of this movie. It one of my favorites.Binoculars Explained

      Alert a moderator

    • coloccini

      Feb 18th 2011, 6:12

      I would have never done it, Lisbeth. But I understand why you did. I don't know what you have experienced. But I was about to die in that cellar, and you saved my life. Whatever you have seen, you don't need to tell me. I'm just happy that you're here. Laptop

      Alert a moderator

    • stevej

      Feb 23rd 2011, 21:32

      thank you for the nice artice Adult dvd

      Alert a moderator

    • Nelly

      Feb 24th 2011, 22:34

      4

      Well I did like this film but as a swede i believe it could have been better. When you see a film in your own language you get a bit more critic I believe. - rabattkod cellbes

      Alert a moderator

    • jessmarchant123

      Mar 3rd 2011, 11:00

      Games Lovers this is for you download games for free

      Alert a moderator

    • jessmarchant123

      Mar 3rd 2011, 11:02

      Send Flowers to anyone any time any where through our services UAE flower

      Alert a moderator

    • sonjaa

      Mar 6th 2011, 21:39

      Now that is classic !

      Alert a moderator

    • born2wildout

      Mar 9th 2011, 16:46

      Movie was awesome, great tattoos laptop screen repairs

      Alert a moderator

    • platnumcn

      Mar 10th 2011, 4:38

      I have an applicable visa for Brazil. I just want to know whether yellow passion inoculation is required when I depart from nether land. Please help me I am very confused. thesis help nike dunks

      Alert a moderator

    • alves43J

      Mar 10th 2011, 7:25

      This article is has raised some very interesting points. Salute for the writer that has spend much attention for this informative articles. טיסות זולות

      Alert a moderator

    • ronnie9h

      Mar 22nd 2011, 5:38

      gucci-watches someone also graced the feet of umpteen high novices, as shaft.The stalking pages schema rightful a few of these elements and individuals which together ride the daedal enation behindhand producing Buy Cheap Womens Gucci Shoes footgear which is improved to the verbatim specifications of hero athletes.טיולים מאורגנים

      Alert a moderator

    • athenaedward

      Apr 29th 2011, 9:35

      This article truly impressed me. I was surfing around the entire net until I discovered such a nice and useful blog.The concept of your article is pretty unique which is a good element in driving more people to visit your blog.I even told my friends to have a look at your blog and in fact your blog is already bookmarked on my computer. I am looking forward to see your upcoming post. Good job! cookie cutter sets

      Alert a moderator

    • deesydia

      May 10th 2011, 15:11

      Kind of reminds me of the film where it features a chainsaw-wielding girl. This one's pretty good as well, although, it lacks blood and gore, when it is billed as one. Anyway, 3 out of 5 stars for me. Dee - http://woodworkingplansdiy.org

      Alert a moderator

    • jamesluke

      May 28th 2011, 10:25

      This is an awesome post . I really love reading blogs on this site. Thanks for Sharing James http://www.cheaparticlewriting.com

      Alert a moderator

    • achava

      May 31st 2011, 1:53

      Your site is beneficial and helpful. Many people will definitely agree that everything in your blog post is nice. If you keep on publishing helpful posts on your online site, there's always a better chance that many viewers will go to your web page. Land For Sale

      Alert a moderator

    • gwainedi

      Jul 1st 2011, 8:56

      5

      I have watched this movie with friends and it is one nice movie to watch. good job to the film director and the script writer. intensity workut dvd

      Alert a moderator

    • deesydia

      Aug 28th 2011, 12:55

      4

      It's really good! That's all I can say about it. Dee - http://www.marketbold.com/KeywordSniperPro/

      Alert a moderator

    • WoodrowMcDowell

      Oct 7th 2012, 15:49

      I have seen the movie and it was kind of disturbing. The genre is something interesting but I don't know if there's something to learn from the whole story. [url=http://greatcustomcabinets.com/custom-cabinets-home/]Great Custom Cabinets[/url]

      Alert a moderator