Reviews

The Hangover

4

Dude, where’s the groom?

"Do you know where the Best Little Wedding Chapel is?” asks one of the clueless heroes of Todd Phillips’ raucous latest. “Sure,” says a testy doctor from the Las Vegas ER.

“It’s on the corner of ‘Fuck Off’ and ‘Get a Map’.” If you’ve caught the trailer, you already know The Hangover contains knockabout farce a-plenty involving one trashed hotel suite, taser-happy cops and a crooning Mike Tyson.

As that exchange proves, however, there’s oodles of verbal humour as well, Jon Lucas and Scott Moore’s inventively profane script missing few opportunities to tickle the funny bone as it charts the deranged aftermath of the ultimate Sin City stag night.

Marking a return to the sparkling form of Phillips’ earlier Road Trip and Old School, this thoroughly entertaining, often hilarious tale of three groomsmen sifting through the wreckage of a debauched evening that has left one of them (Ed Helms) missing a lateral incisor and all of them missing a groom (Justin Bartha) certainly delivers its fair share of ribald fratboy comedy.

In keeping with other recent ‘bromances’ like I Love You, Man and Role Models, though, The Hangover roots its outlandish elements in recognisably human relationships, Helms and Bradley Cooper’s attempts to locate Bartha’s Doug and get him to the church on time being motivated by a genuine sense of filial responsibility towards a needy, AWOL comrade.

It’s this that sends them and Doug’s future brother-in-law Alan (a film-stealing turn from stand-up comedian Zach Galifianakis) on a manic odyssey down The Strip that sees them minding a baby, returning a tiger, bonding with a stripper (Heather Graham) and dodging a demented Asian gangster (Ken Jeong).

The ensuing shenanigans are convoluted enough to fill two pictures, which probably explains why a follow-up is already in the works. The gags wouldn’t land half as well, though, if we didn’t engage with Phillips’ protagonists as they stagger blearily through their waking nightmare.

Indeed, it’s knowing we’ve all been there that ensures we do.

Verdict:

Succeeding equally well as rowdy romp, what-happened mystery and man-crush comedy, /The Hangover/ is an unexpected winner. If you’re at all squeamish about dentistry, though, you’d best leave before the end credits reveal how Helms came to lose that tooth.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • paisleybhoy7

      Jun 12th 2009, 14:16

      1

      Just got back from watching this rubbish, not funny at all, got very bored of the movie walked out after 65minutes and I wasnt the only person, abos**te c**p. the only positive was I got refunded

      Alert a moderator

    • thesquire51

      Jun 15th 2009, 1:04

      4

      Ignore paisleybhoy7. This film is hilarious. It had everybody laughing out loud in the cinema and has some classic lines. Considering the cast are not that well known generally, they were all really good. Shame that Tyson's cameo was the most wooden performance ever, but all in all, probably the funniest comedy I've seen this year.

      Alert a moderator

    • captainchod

      Jun 15th 2009, 14:35

      5

      Definately ignore paisleybhoy7. I was lucky enough to be taken to see this after a friend of mine got 2 free tickets. I wasn't really expecting much, but this is definately the funniest film of the year. It had me laughing all the way through, and I haven't left the cinema in a better mood for a long, long time.

      Alert a moderator

    • chuffster

      Jun 16th 2009, 15:03

      1

      I have to agree with paisleybhoy7,it was totally unfunny and extremely boring. I walked out after 45 minutes though!

      Alert a moderator

    • somers16

      Jun 18th 2009, 22:19

      5

      literally the funniest movie i have ever seen and im not exaggerating. charachters are lovable and hilarious with a stryline which is great! 9/10

      Alert a moderator

    • spuckle

      Jun 18th 2009, 22:20

      5

      I laughed out loud at this more than I have at a film in ages. Ignore the negative reviews, it's a cut above your average comedy flick.

      Alert a moderator

    • Marta

      Jun 19th 2009, 16:16

      5

      I have to agree with captainchod - when I went to see this film (also had free tickets) I wasn't expecting much but I really liked it. I haven't laughed like that for a quite long time. V.funny and left positive feelings. Loved the last bit. I'll probably watch it again sometime.

      Alert a moderator

    • parker

      Jun 25th 2009, 12:04

      5

      awesome movie. one of the best comedies in years.

      Alert a moderator

    • ManMadeMonkey

      Jul 7th 2009, 22:12

      5

      So surprised by just how good this film was. The first trailer wasn't funny, second was much funnier and that convinced me to go and see it. Hilarious movie

      Alert a moderator

    • zakmccormack

      Jul 15th 2009, 17:08

      3

      Not as funny as I expected but still was a great movie. Some parts did have me in stitches, plus I thought Mike Tysons part was brilliant.

      Alert a moderator

    • Phoenix81

      Jul 28th 2009, 14:04

      4

      Really good film, crazy situation - Loved it!!

      Alert a moderator

    • hulk68

      Aug 5th 2009, 12:53

      5

      The people who said this film was boring must be on "floories" or something. It was much better than I expected. For the first time the situation is the actual hero. I went out with fantasitic mood, read my Public Enemis short review. Both excellent movies nontheless.

      Alert a moderator

    • Hazza

      Sep 18th 2009, 13:53

      5

      This film is great. funny the whole way through, "counting cards isn't illegal, it's just frowned upon.. like masturbating on an airplane." Zach Galifianakis plays a great part as Alan. Best Comedy so far this year, in my opinion.

      Alert a moderator

    • NMM1310

      Apr 26th 2010, 18:37

      3

      haveing heard the hype about this movie i watched it and i feel that it has its moments but does not live up to the hype of best r rated movie of 2009. the film tells the story of 4 friends geting drunk at a bachelor party (ed helms, zack galifianakis, bradley copper) and wakeing up the next day finding that they have lost doug (played by justin bartha) following this they try and piece together there wild night which included loseing a tooth, steeling mike tyson,s tiger, marrying a striper and finding a naked asian man in the truck of there car. overall the hangover is a fun movie to watch but is nothing special as hyped.

      Alert a moderator

    • sophieb0855

      Sep 4th 2010, 22:41

      5

      The Hangover truley forfills the role of a comedy film. Todd Phillips set the standard of comedy high in 2009 from the script to the setting with this hilarious film. The setting of four men going to Las Vegas for a stag do, resulting in the loss of the groom and no-one remembering the night before seems like a typical storyline. One i assumed i could predict, i was happily mistaken. As the three grooms-men begin to retrace their steps in order to fimd the groom they come across things they did the previous night which could have great concequences. The film appears to be a general 'guys movie' looking specifically from a guys point of view, however, the overal comedy of the film would in my oppinion appeal to all. The grooms-men Phil Wenneck (Bradley Cooper), Stu Price (Ed Helms)and Alan Garner (Zach Galifianakis) give a time-less performance throughout. Zach's character in particular causes countless humour melt-downs as the rather disliked brother-in-law to be. With that in mind a Mr. Chow (Ken Jeong) can hardly go un recognised. His role contributes dramatically to the movies humour and insures viewers leave keeping specific scenes in mind. The actors seemed to mould to their characters perfectly giving off a natural set-up, and ensuring the viewers are quickly drawn in. Todd Phillips (the director and producer) who had already writen, produced and directed many successful comedy's previous to Hangover such as 'Starsky & Hutch', 'School for scoundrals', 'Road Trip' and 'Borat' portrayed his talents to screen throughout the movie. The difficulty of writing a comedy scrift seemed none existent and had a humourous part for everyone. There were parts where it seemed the comedy got slightly out of hand and was on the borderline of offensive, however, this is an easy consequence of comedy movies. The overall film is easy to watch and something which can easily be relaxed to. From start to the very last second the film is entertaining and humourous and is highly praised from my point of view. The Hangover 2 is eagerly anticipated.

      Alert a moderator

    • dergerse

      Oct 1st 2010, 21:05

      This was a really awesome article. Well done. My Mahjong and Hidden object games, great Farm games free, news Pet games for kids, awesome Salon games for girls, usa Babysitting games free, best Air traffic controller game trial, free Download games and new Roads of rome game cheats for Hospital Haste fans

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 19th 2010, 20:09

      great site vigrx plus

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Dec 15th 2010, 11:11

      Very nice Site number one topic Thanks you.. online master degree mba degree online campus

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Dec 15th 2010, 11:11

      Very good information .... Thanks guy... college degree online diploma

      Alert a moderator

    • sarahpaul

      Dec 21st 2010, 14:32

      Very nice Site number one topic Thanks you.. How I Met Your Mother Season 6 Episode 13 Rules of Engagement Season 5 Episode 13 Two and a Half Men Season 8 Episode 13 Mike and Molly Season 1 Episode 13 The Closer Season 6 Episode 15 Castle Season 3 Episode 11 Hawaii Five-0 Season 1 Episode 13 Men of a Certain Age Season 2 Episode 5 No Ordinary Family Season 1 Episode 11 V Season 2 Episode 1 Live to Dance Season 1 Episode 1 The Biggest Loser Season 11 Episode 1 Millionaire Matchmaker Season 4 Episode 11 Detroit 1-8-7 Season 1 Episode 11 Parenthood Season 2 Episode 11 Southland Season 3 Episode 1

      Alert a moderator

    • marie25

      Dec 28th 2010, 8:49

      Great site... How to do it Home Improvement Cebu beach resort Educational Learnings Learning Toys lot for sale in cebu house for sale in cebu Weight Loss Diets Cebu Blogger Blogger ko bai Educational Learning

      Alert a moderator

    • cassivalade

      Jan 19th 2011, 5:36

      4

      Thanks a lot for enjoying this beauty cheap designer handbags article with me. It is home to over half of Alaska’s chanel bags population, and is a hermes bag playground of activities from world-class fishing, hiking and louis vuitton handbags wildlife viewing. Southcentral offers the advantages of remote wilderness. I am appreciating it very much! Looking forward to another great chanel purse article. Good luck to the author! all the best!

      Alert a moderator

    • cnanursing

      Feb 1st 2011, 16:35

      5

      Very good post I enjoy your blog keep up the great posts cna state test red cross cna classes duties of a cna

      Alert a moderator

    • Idell

      Feb 21st 2011, 3:03

      While this polo outletwill be pocket change for the wealthy stars showing off the latest pieces on the red carpet Juicy Couture, a modern line of both casual and dressy Basic Velour Tracksuitsapparel in the glamorous USA (as stated in its logo), is marketed as Floral Print Velour Tracksuitsupscale clothing series at an Basic Terry Tracksuitsaffordable price and is aimed at young women market. No wander Embroidery Velour Tracksuitsits fashion collection is marvelously innovative and charming. The brand is well known for its numerous slogans and symbols. Tees ralph lauren Big Pony Polohave always been in demand. It does not matter that which gender is wearing, all that matters is juicy couture outletthat it should always an admiring Juicy t-shirt. Men and women look damn good, ralph laurenstylish, sexy and funky in these t-shirts.Juicy Couture is a brand, which has become style juicy couturestatement because of its best quality and designs. It has been only 13 years of its inception, but the brand has gone beyond the boundaries of success. Everyone takes the name of Juicy Couture, for people know that this brand fulfills their fashion needs in a startling way.

      Alert a moderator

    • glegs

      Mar 10th 2011, 10:19

      5

      normally I do not care much for comedies, as it is a relatively dead genre these days, but this movie is just hilarious. 4.5/5

      Alert a moderator

    • jackcarlin

      Jul 30th 2011, 22:59

      5

      this fim is simply HILARIOUS! i have nothing more to say than this movie is a classic! one to watch and one you would never forget!

      Alert a moderator