Reviews

The Hangover: Part II

2

Phil and the gang take their hangover to Thailand...

The Hangover 2 review

“It happened again!” groans a sweat-drenched, filthy, bloodied Bradley Cooper from the roof of a Bangkok hotel minutes into the follow-up to 2009’s smash hit. Oh yes, it did. Only more so.

In case you have been face-down in your own comatose drool for the last 2 years, a quick recap on what happened before: Three stag do friends woke up in a trashed Las Vegas suite with no memory of the night before and an AWOL groom.

Like Memento with delirium tremens, the trio had to piece together details of their debauchery to find their mate.  

Employing an ‘if-it’-ain’t-broke’ methodology to the misadventures of Phil and gang, The Hangover 2 makes no apology for being a carbon copy of the original, just amped up, strung out and dropped into Thailand.

Which means after some perfunctory scene-setting – Stu (Helms) is getting married in Thailand so the boys have a pre-wedding quiet drink only to come to in Bangkok with amnesia and a member of the party missing – we can get down to the real business of watching the boys endure a series of gross out situations, humiliating disasters, pain and mental/physical duress.

Like its predecessor, the biggest pleasure of H2 is in the shock value, so it would be churlish to go into the fontrum-inducing plot specifics.

Suffice to say that aborted Mel Gibson cameo isn’t missed, Cooper gets dirtier as cocky Phil (dropping C-bombs in IHOP and dumping bodies), Helms excels at dismay with another ill-advised union and there are chain-smoking monkeys, dick-swinging ladyboys, dismemberments, motor-cycle helmet assaults, mobsters, a returning cameo (with appalling singing) and an animal shooting. Plus Paul Giamatti turns up to lay down some OTT rage.

While the broad strokes hit all the right beats, the devil is in the details. The cast and crew filmed on location, upchucking with food poisoning and wilting in the heat amid the madness of Bangkok.

And it shows, giving an unexpected layer of veracity to the wolfpack’s desperation and bewilderment, and anchoring the more outrageous moments in a screwed-up travelogue for Thailand’s most infamous city. Why wouldn’t that or that happen in a place this chaotic?

Not so successful is the hit-and-miss decision to expand the roles of Galifianakis’ sweet/stupid Alan and Jeong’s Mr Chow.

The Hangover rightly made a star of Galifianakis so while it’s entertaining to dial up Alan’s more nefarious side and peek into his geeked out bedroom, Mr Chow’s appearance (and his tiresome tiny penis jokes) jar, playing as a cynical franchise addition to appease the character’s unexpected cult following at the expense of logical plotting.

Verdict:

Darker and meaner than the original but just as funny and horrifying.  And like the best stag do’s, sure to be recalled in the pub for weeks afterwards…

Film Details

User Reviews

    • writerdave87

      May 26th 2011, 19:15

      3

      Saw this today, thought it was good but pretty samey. Mr Chow wasn't as irritating as I expected, but Alan was downright creepy and annoying at times. Vague spoiler... Why did no-one at the end care about the crippling injury suffered by the talented musician and future surgeon? He was very happy considering both careers were effectively over...

      Alert a moderator

    • FBSManuscript

      May 27th 2011, 11:32

      a little “safe” — true to the original movie, yet very entertaining. A nice escape from the ‘real world’, with some good old fashion Hollywood fun and action. (your Key) लेखक डैन ब्राउन स्टीव meyer संत anthonys चर्च पिता mollinger Coming off the heels of his very suuccessful Limitless Motion Picture, coming out soon on DVD and Blu-ray, Bradley Cooper has cemented his place presently as one of the hottest (I don’t mean looks wise) Actors on the planet right now. Steve Meyer

      Alert a moderator

    • FBSManuscript

      May 27th 2011, 11:32

      5

      a little “safe” — true to the original movie, yet very entertaining. A nice escape from the ‘real world’, with some good old fashion Hollywood fun and action. (your Key) लेखक डैन ब्राउन स्टीव meyer संत anthonys चर्च पिता mollinger Coming off the heels of his very suuccessful Limitless Motion Picture, coming out soon on DVD and Blu-ray, Bradley Cooper has cemented his place presently as one of the hottest (I don’t mean looks wise) Actors on the planet right now. Steve Meyer

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisMac

      May 27th 2011, 11:49

      4

      In complete agreement with this review - why all the bashing? I think 'The Hangover' was loved by critics for its freshness and audiences for its laughs - 'Part 2' improves on the laughs but - obviously - a sequel to a film with a premise like 'The Hangover' was never going to be as fresh as the original. People really need to get over themselves. This film really is fantastic.

      Alert a moderator

    • Callum

      May 27th 2011, 14:39

      2

      It was... the same! I'm far more in agreement with Empire's review on this, although I didn't think the first film was the comedy masterpiece that everyone thought. Aside from a slightly novel narrative structure, neither film really supplies consistent laughs. Alan clearly has mental health issues, which, aside from a few one liners, are more tragic than funny; Stu is still irritating; Doug still has no character whatsoever. Very average.

      Alert a moderator

    • NickCroker

      May 27th 2011, 16:48

      2

      I do think this was poor, to be honest, and it would seem that an awful lot of critics agree. I'm a bit surprised to see TF rate it so highly - they gave Inception 4 stars, and that was one of the most original and interesting films I've seen in years. This is a Xerox cash-in sequel, and yet garners the same score! Incredible. None of the unexpected charm of the original is present. It is almost EXACTLY the same film, save for the fact it was filmed in Thailand. I've just come back from a relatively busy lunchtime showing, and there weren't many laughs to be heard. The final third of the film in particular was lacking in any good gags. I just couldn't believe how formulaic it was. I'd definitely recommend giving this one a miss.

      Alert a moderator

    • matty2392

      May 28th 2011, 15:49

      2

      Very disappointing, its exactly the same as the first, but the jokes are not as fresh or funny and everything happens in the same order as the first. I must say though that Zach Galifanakas is the only funny thing in this film, all Ed Helms does is shouts constantly shouting anytime he is on screen and Bradley Cooper does nothing and the monkey is'nt even funny. Probably should of expected this though TF did give Due Date 4 stars as well and that was just as bad

      Alert a moderator

    • Nashnash

      May 30th 2011, 1:21

      2

      Four stars? Really? I say two. I could maybe push to three but it would mostly be because the fact that it was filmed on location in Bangkok really looks to add a lot to the look of the film as well as the actors' performances. I haven't seen the first one because I figured it was just some generic, simple comedy that I could easily get bored with. Based on what I've seen from this one I reckon I wasn't far off. Maybe I just don't get it.

      Alert a moderator

    • Psybolt

      May 30th 2011, 22:58

      2

      Two stars is kind. I gave it 1 3/4 stars. This was a total rehash. Heck, some of the punch lines were exactly the same. Only this time, it wasn't as funny. Nor was it as clever as the original. Very disappointing.

      Alert a moderator

    • davidleach2000

      Jun 1st 2011, 12:12

      2

      Four star? Either you're joking or it's a typo. Why on earth would you rate this lazy, pointless, hateful movie four stars? What did you see that warrants such an enthusiastic score? How can we accept your opinion of Super 8, which you gave 5 stars to, when you award this bloated cinematic mess 4? The hardest part of it for the writers must have been coming up with a location to set it in. After that, they just cut and paste the script of the first film and changed every mention of Las Vegas to Thailand. This is just a nasty, mean-spirited and xenophobic rant. At best it had possibly two or three laughs in it. And don't even think about some of the implications that arise once you actually think about the actions of some of these characters. Disappointed in you, Total Film. Disappointed.

      Alert a moderator

    • Fiddyshilling

      Jun 2nd 2011, 16:46

      2

      Poor film. Such a shame as I had high hopes. All the best stuff was in the trailer!

      Alert a moderator

    • glegs

      Jun 5th 2011, 11:28

      3

      It had its moments. No where near as good as the original.

      Alert a moderator

    • craigy111

      Jun 6th 2011, 1:04

      1

      It was basically near enough the same as the first one with a couple of new parts thrown in, I found it to be a real let down after the first one's success, I found the comedy barely laughable. Maybe they should have left it for a year or two before they made the sequel and gave themselves time to write something better. What makes it worse is that there is now word of a third in the pipeworks, I know Hollywood love making money, but should they maybe give the writers some time to actually make something worth while making instead of creating a let-down.

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      Jun 7th 2011, 15:11

      3

      “It happened again!” this time in Bangkok. After the huge success of part one of The Hangover set in Las Vegas the wolf pack moves to Thailand. Set two years following the last movie, Phil (Bradley Cooper), Doug (Justin Bartha), and Alan (Zach Galifianakis) join Stu (Ed helms) for his wedding to Lauren (Jamie Chung). After having one drink together along with Lauren’s brother Teddy (Mason C. Lee) they wake up next morning in a Bangkok hotel room where Alan has no hair, Stu has a tribal tattoo on his face and no idea where teddy is. They spend the next two days trying to piece together everything that happened and finding teddy before Stu getting married. If you’re looking for something very different from the first hangover movie, you’re not going to find it because other that set in Bangkok and different gags it’s the same. This is not to say it’s a bad movie, because it is entertaining to watch. The jokes I believe are as funny as the first movie if not better. The story while simple does make your think what’s going to happen next to the wolf pack. Mike Tyson returns for a cameo along with Paul Giamatti as an undercover agent and Nick Cassavetes as a tattoo artist replacing Liam Neeson. Overall Hangover: Part Two keeps to the same formula as the first, expanding the cast and giving a darker more enjoyable movie than the first.

      Alert a moderator

    • baldeelox

      Jun 24th 2011, 9:16

      1

      I believe there is such a thing as hyped reviews and this is one..anyone who couldn't see a joke coming in about lady boys based on the films location needs to wake up...this was like watching the first one but this time couldn't feel as sorry for the guys or rooted for em..it was more how stupid can 4 people be than anything else...very disappointing sequel and nothing more than a cash in. sad

      Alert a moderator

    • jackcarlin

      Jul 30th 2011, 22:53

      2

      Deja vu anyone ? well whilst watch part 2, i suddenly realised that halfway through it wasnt in vegas ??? wat was going on, oh yes... it was the exact same only with fewer laughs. honestly, i think that the film was pointless and unsatisfactory, leaving no need for a sequel as the first was a classic on its own, honestly it didnt feel like a sequel, more like a reboot as it was almost the exact same accept a monkey instead of a tiger, a tatoo instead of a missing tooth, and it even has the old roofies "joke" like the first! come on! they even say there is a chance of a part 3, umm... no thanks

      Alert a moderator

    • loveaction

      Dec 12th 2011, 18:36

      4

      I haven’t watched the first one which after watching hangover 2 I will defiantly do, any way it was a crazy comedy movie, I personally loved it I didn’t think that I’m going to like it. I really like the part Edward Paul “Ed” just found out he had an intercourse with transsexual….lol the way he said it was so funny and he even made a song for it :D avtransfer.co.uk | computerszone.co.uk | happytobuy.co.uk

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular