Reviews

The Hangover Part III

2

Time, gentlemen, please…

How, to paraphrase John McClane, can the same shit happen to the same guys thrice? In fairness, The Hangover Part III isn’t quite as copy-‘n’-paste as Part II (all the 2009 original’s gags reheated with some Thai seasoning). For one, there’s no actual hangover.

Still, soon enough it’s déjà vu all over again, with the Wolfpack drawn once more into Mr Chow’s (Ken Jeong) demented orbit as they embark on a(nother) hectic quest to rescue Doug (Justin Bartha, reprising the most thankless role in modern comedy).

Eventually, the road leads back to Vegas (via Tijuana) and a second attempt to ruin Caesar’s Palace. Heather Graham’s back. So’s the baby in the sunglasses (same kid actor, in fact). Missing in action: laughs.

It’s not that Todd Phillips’ film isn’t funny; it’s that it doesn’t try to be funny. This isn’t a really a comedy – it’s more a road trip cum heist movie with some incidental humour. Melissa McCarthy is a welcome addition to the series, but 50 per cent of her performance is in the trailer. Ken Jeong gets a lot to do, but mostly overdoes it.

And our heroes? Alongside the main gold/guns/John Goodman (generically menacing as a Chow-chasing kingpin) plot, H3 is driven by Alan (Zach Galifianakis), off his meds and in need of help.

Sure, Alan’s the most interesting one, but putting all the eggs in one basket case does no favours for the bromantic chemistry. Too often, alpha-male Phil (Bradley Cooper) and panicky Stu (Ed Helms) are reduced to looking on while their oddball buddy does or says something else random.

Galifianakis does hairy manchild better than anyone since Robin Williams, but third time around (fourth if you count Phillips’ Due Date), he’s starting to feel stuck in his schtick.

Still, there is at least one scene that rekindles the first film’s energy and hilarity; it’s just a shame it doesn’t rock up until the end credits are rolling.

Verdict:

Less abrasive than Part II, but lacking any of Part I’s freshness, this is the most lacklustre return-to-Vegas, trilogy-closing caper since Ocean’s Thirteen.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • davebe

      May 21st 2013, 14:38

      How Ken Jeong keeps getting work is beyond me.

      Alert a moderator

    • jasonoconnor

      May 21st 2013, 14:52

      i wanted to watch this but am not now

      Alert a moderator

    • kenjbool

      May 21st 2013, 14:53

      And there was me thinking that this would be worth watching. I liked the last ones so I will probably check this one out, but I'll expect it to be rubbish. On a side note... I liked Oceans Thirteen, Damn you!

      Alert a moderator

    • marc96

      May 21st 2013, 17:35

      I'm still going to be at the cinema watching it this Saturday, I loved the first film & found the second to be enjoyable (how can it not be if its pretty much the same as the first).. I like the sound of this one being a little bit more serious, but what do I know.... I actually love Mr Chow so im probably a minority here :D

      Alert a moderator

    • JohnJDuffy

      May 21st 2013, 17:43

      Regarding davebe question. Because of his tiny d%ck

      Alert a moderator

    • smellyhands

      May 21st 2013, 17:45

      Over rated series of films anyway

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      May 21st 2013, 21:44

      Because Ken Jeong is awesome and he's also a legitimate doctor.

      Alert a moderator

    • FightforKandor

      May 21st 2013, 22:24

      Ali1747, Jeong being a doctor has nothing to do with him being a s**t actor, stop trying to show off your useless trivia knowledge (that most people already knew). Jeong is the worst thing about both these movies and Community. I'll be avoiding the cinema for this one, maybe catch it on DVD. Unsurprising review. Todd Phillips seems so stuck up his own deluded a*s, maybe all the s****y reviews will make him re-evaluate his own arrogance.

      Alert a moderator

    • QuietLife

      May 22nd 2013, 11:14

      Hey! Stop the Chang-hate! Ken Jeong rules (although I wouldn't let him anywhere near me for medical advice!!)

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      May 22nd 2013, 12:11

      Jesus who knew Ken Jeong was hated so fiercely.

      Alert a moderator

    • SussexUK

      May 24th 2013, 16:17

      part 2 was a hangover to watch so will be avoiding this completely.

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      May 24th 2013, 16:53

      I am very much looking forward to Mark Kermode's review of The Hangover III, I hope he goes on a full 15 minute rant.

      Alert a moderator

    • matthewbrady

      Sep 11th 2013, 21:44

      2

      It all ends today

      Alert a moderator

    • ryanfrench

      Sep 20th 2013, 21:53

      1

      this film is terrible 1 star purely for some of Alans lines

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular