Reviews

The Human Centipede

4

Just had lunch? Then turn the page...

The Human Centipede

The Human Centipede (First Sequence) review - Kevin Smith will tell you that “ass to mouth” was never supposed to be like this.

In Human Centipede, the porno phrase takes on a yucky new meaning as a German doc (Dieter laser) grafts two chicks and a dude together to create a “human centipede”, stitched mouth to anus, mouth to anus. It really sucks to be the last person in that conga train...

Whizzing straight out of leftfield, Dutchman tom Six’s instant-cult-flick is laced with a high-concept vision of inhumanity. It’s a balls-out exploitation flick; grubby, sadistic and, given the tiny budget, expertly put together.

Once revealed, Centipede’s central idea is one you can’t get out of your head, a how-could-they-do-that? Moment of body horror to rank alongside Jeff Goldblum’s dick falling off in The Fly.

Although it’s likely to stoke controversy, the most shocking thing about Six’s movie is that it skimps on the blatant gore and nudity promised by its set-up, as lost yanks Lindsay (Ashley C. Williams) and Jenny (Ashlynn Yennie) end up manacled in a torture lab.

Instead, it’s visually coy and hilarious even. Exhibit A is laser’s deranged doc, a villain straight out of SS Experiment Camp. He’s pitched somewhere between Udo Kier and Christopher Walken, screaming “Swallow it, bitch!” when his creature’s first, inevitable bowel moment occurs.

Six reckons his monstrosity is 100% medically accurate. All we can guarantee is that it won’t turn a first date into a second.

Between the barfs and the larfs, there’s something more – a horrified, nihilistic take on existence that propels this towards the sadism of Pasolini’s Salò.

So what if the plotting is paper-thin? After the WTF? shock and giggles have evaporated, it’s a truly bleak ode to the notion that life is a giant shit sandwich.
 

Verdict:

Shocking, funny, disturbing, Centipede is a throwback to the glory days of Cronenberg. Yes, it’s a one-idea movie but what an idea.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • fuzzydunlop1

      Aug 3rd 2010, 7:18

      I've just seen the trailer, and frankly, Jamie, you need help.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sulaco76

      Aug 17th 2010, 9:27

      Why anyone would want to see a film like this, is beyond me to be honest. Just reading your review has made me feel sick to the stomach.

      Alert a moderator

    • Trasea

      Aug 17th 2010, 14:45

      Just watched the trailer, resisting the urge to throw up. Why would you do this?

      Alert a moderator

    • Vespertine

      Aug 18th 2010, 9:30

      1

      This film isn't shocking, gross or disturbing, it's just terrible. And a four star review is the final nail in the Total Film coffin.

      Alert a moderator

    • HardcoreNinja

      Aug 18th 2010, 23:33

      As much as I would enjoy a pretentious director trying to make a justifiable comment on humanity, it appears to me that this is a revelation of a strange fetish from a man who evidently needs severe psycotherapy.

      Alert a moderator

    • thetree

      Aug 19th 2010, 14:09

      I have actually seen this film, and as much as I would like to un-see it, I can't. I could not believe what I was watching, it's seriously grim. What scares me is that there is a sequel in the works titled The Human Centipede (Final sequence). I won't be seeing that in a hurry.

      Alert a moderator

    • Lingdada

      Aug 22nd 2010, 13:32

      5

      Talk about bad taste!

      Alert a moderator

    • JohnJDuffy

      Aug 23rd 2010, 11:27

      4

      It's a shame that this film will only be remembered for its A2M thing, because it features some great camera work and one of the best bad guy/evil scientist performances ever by Dieter Laser. However a sequel I can't see how or why.

      Alert a moderator

    • Sulaco76

      Aug 24th 2010, 7:53

      1

      Alert a moderator

    • sevdamm

      Feb 25th 2011, 9:58

      Canlı Chat Canlı Sohbet canlı okey okey oyna okey oyna canlı okey sohbet canlı sohbet odaları canlı chat odaları sohbet odaları chat odaları sohbet siteleri Sevda Sevda Sohbet Sevda siteleri damar sohbet hatay sohbet kayseri sohbet damar sohbet kızlarla sohbet burdur sohbet bolu sohbet trabzon sohbet mamak sohbet artvin sohbet mardin sohbet kilis sohbet gumushane sohbet edirne sohbet dersim sohbet almanya sohbet antalya sohbet mersin sohbet karadeniz sohbet akdeniz sohbet ankara sohbet izmir sohbet cinsel sohbet adana sohbet kadinca sohbet Dj Ates Dinle travesti sohbet turkce sohbet online sohbet dini sohbet islami sohbet nur sohbet risali sohbet mynet sohbet fransa sohbet almanya sohbet belcika sohbet avusturya sohbet hollanda sohbet isvicre sohbet danimarka sohbet ingiltere sohbet bulgaristan sohbet azerbaycan sohbet canlı sohbet okey oyna sevda sohbet sevda chat sevda odaları sevda siteleri okey oyna okey sitesi okey odaları okeyciler canlı okey oyna okey oynamak forum sohbet odaları lez sohbet gay sohbet cinsel sohbet- mirc indir çet hatay radyo dinle- ankara sohbet- izmir sohbet istanbul sohbet adana sohbet bursa sohbet- trabzon chat zurna dul sohbet sohbet kanalları- mersin chat antalya sohbet - rock mp3 indir türkü dinle sohpet mersin sohbet adana sohbet yozgat sohbet sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları- sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları erzurum chat türk chat türk chat hatay sohbet sıcak sohbet sex sohbet sex sohbet radyo dinle radyo dinle sohbet odaları sohbet odaları avrupa sohbet islami sohbet

      Alert a moderator

    • Wrapper30

      Mar 3rd 2011, 20:56

      60 odd minutes wasted of my life watching this drivel last night on Sci Fi. What happens in the end I don't know as I turned over when the inevitable bowel movement occured. Camp? Hilarious? No just sick and no place on a civilised website in my eyes. Truly Awful.

      Alert a moderator

    • astridgamez

      Feb 18th 2013, 23:27

      4

      To be honest the movie was interesting(in a way) it has some disturbing moments but not as bad as people say it is. P.s we All have different opinions on this movie and this is my opinion. :)

      Alert a moderator