Reviews

The Inbetweeners Movie

4

Crete just got some fresh cretins…

The Inbetweeners review

The lads go on holiday but the laughs stay at home in this disappointing postscript to E4’s mint teen comedy, a hastily assembled spin-off with little of the flair and wit of its small-screen predecessor.

In transplanting geeky Will, soppy Simon, vulgar Jay and dopey Neil from their suburban schoolyard to the Cretan resort of Malia, director Ben Palmer proves a change of scene is not necessarily as good as a rest.

Nor does it bring out the best in co-writers Iain Morris and Damon Beesley, whose knob, poo and vomit gags smack more of desperation this time around than the exquisite social embarrassment the TV show mined so successfully.

Starting on its heroes’ last day at Rudge Park Comprehensive, The Inbetweeners Movie wastes no time packing them off on a vacation Jay (James Buckley) promises will be full of “sex, minge, fanny and booze”.

The reality, of course, is rather different: a dilapidated timeshare, lifeless clubs and, apart from the grannies throwing themselves at Neil (Blake Harrison), a distinct lack of clunge. It doesn’t help that Simon (Joe Thomas) is hung up on an ex, or that Will (Simon Bird) is more interested in surveying ruins than popping his cherry.

Small wonder they’re soon at each other’s throats, endangering not just their admission into a super-cool boat party but also their chances of copping off with the four vivacious fillies Palmer generously throws their way.

If anyone deserves praise here, it’s the actresses (Laura Haddock, Jessica Knappet, Lydia Rose Bewley and Tamla Kari) obliged to find these morons attractive, a task made all the harder by the stream of misogynist invective that flows from Buckley’s potty mouth.

Yet the real insult is the way Morris and Beesley try to redeem and rehabilitate their gormless foursome in time for a happy fade-out, one that’s wholly incompatible with their sitcom’s warts-and-all approach to the agonies of adolescence. Ball slaps all round.

Verdict:

Affection for the characters will bring fans in. But many will leave wishing the makers of one of the most enjoyable programmes of recent years had left well enough alone.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • writerdave87

      Aug 17th 2011, 21:42

      THANKYOU. Someone who has the same opinion of the p**s poor 'humour' of the inbetweeners as me...

      Alert a moderator

    • matty2392

      Aug 17th 2011, 22:58

      I'll never trust TF on comedies, you did give The Hangover 2 4 stars and that was one the worst comedies ever!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • Scottycent1234

      Aug 17th 2011, 23:16

      1

      I can't say I agree with this review, actually as far as reviews go this has to be one of the most lackluster ones I have read of Total Film. I know nowadays they're a few people who when something gets popular they feel the need to be this small minority that decide to hate on it for the sake of hating therefore making themselves look like a cool individual. The revieiwer basically states the plot of the film and then whinges about turd jokes, have you not ever seen the TV series? It was never going to Gosford Park was it? This film is like a longer episode, it's not perfect and at times there is a lot of ground already covered by Kevin and Perry Go large, some of teh jokes can be obvious and too broad. Yet it still captures the spirit of an average group of lads and their banter. There is enough jokes to make you laugh and shock moments to keep you from ever being bored the typical beats of a script are their but it refreshingly dosent get crippled underneath sentiment. I wouldn't take any notice of that review, go with your friends grab some snacks enjoy the film with an atmosphere of fun and laughter. Life is too short.

      Alert a moderator

    • Scottycent1234

      Aug 17th 2011, 23:17

      3

      That's one star for the review. The Film its self is three stars.

      Alert a moderator

    • ChickenShed

      Aug 18th 2011, 8:01

      1

      Oooo watch out, you're going to get some abuse for this. I wouldn't worry too much, most of it will come from tedious dullards with no mind of their own who think this is funny because enough people have told them it is.

      Alert a moderator

    • KeiranFuller

      Aug 18th 2011, 9:24

      1

      Totally disagree with this review. Film did the series justice in my professional opinion. The series was hilarious and it never had to step up its game for the movie and watching this was like watching one long episode and I fully enjoyed it.

      Alert a moderator

    • blade32

      Aug 18th 2011, 13:33

      Neil Smith, you've told the whole story in your review, where they go, what they do, who pulls and how it ends. what's the point of that?? that's not a review!

      Alert a moderator

    • Scottycent1234

      Aug 18th 2011, 15:44

      @ ChickenShed. I don't think it's fair to assume that people like this film as dullards. People's sense of humour is diverse and if you don't like it then thats fair enough. It's patronising and smug to assume that mordern audiences will find it funny because someone told them to. They may or may find it funny for the jokes. Some jokes are broad yes and at times make your eyes roll. Just because you don't like something that the majority of people do like dosen't mean you'll stand out as an individual.

      Alert a moderator

    • JohnJDuffy

      Aug 18th 2011, 16:40

      Knew it, Kevin and Perry go large 2

      Alert a moderator

    • Porkchopexpress

      Aug 18th 2011, 18:06

      Puerile and infantile s**t, I couldn't stand those four idiots on the small screen and I don't for one minute imagine their big screen outing will be any different. Humour for people with attention span and intellect of plankton.

      Alert a moderator

    • dantallica

      Aug 18th 2011, 19:48

      @porkchopexpress. you should write a strongly worded letter to to times about this abomination of a film good sir! YOU STUCK UP TW*T!

      Alert a moderator

    • scuzz80

      Aug 19th 2011, 8:27

      Come on, it's a feature length version of a British sitcom, it should be judged as such. It should be compared with , and contrasted against the likes of 'Kevin and Perry Go Large' , 'Steptoe and Son' and any of those horrible 'On the Busses' movies. It's not high art but then it never had any aspirations to be. It's at least as funny as the 30 minute episodes. Yes the story is tenuous and it does get lost a bit for about 15mins in the middle but that's not really the point. It's about silly infantile one liners and childish behavior and it's all the better for it. It never tries to be anything other than a feature length episode of 'The Inbetweeners'. If you liked the show then you'll enjoy the film, if you didn't like the show then this wasn't for you in the first place. I for one missed half the jokes in this because I was laughing so hard at the inappropriate and infantile nonsense on screen.

      Alert a moderator

    • dannynitro

      Aug 19th 2011, 13:22

      1

      If you didn't like the series just go away, you're a bus w****r and no one cares what you think. That said, good film, not great. Definitely worth watching. Probably wouldn't buy the DVD but its a great night out with mates if you fancy a laugh. It's more a british Superbad than Kevin & Perry go large, doesn't do anything unexpected but ticks all the boxes and the comedy is classic Inbetweeners. I'd go see it again.

      Alert a moderator

    • dfooster

      Aug 19th 2011, 19:31

      There are plenty of positive reviews doing the rounds to quite simply ignore this one and explain it away as someone who doesn't know what they want. All the negative things in this review were actually positives to me. Anyone can critique film, assess it for cinematography, art design etc but occasionally we just want a laugh. The best reviewers are able to distinguish between the two and score the film appropriately for the demographic it's trying to cater towards. Something the reviewer here clearly isn't aware of.

      Alert a moderator

    • redflost

      Aug 19th 2011, 21:09

      5

      You gave Hangover 2 four stars, that deserved 2, The Inbetweeners deserves four, I'll stick to EMPIRE's review of four stars thanks!

      Alert a moderator

    • missmop09

      Aug 19th 2011, 22:44

      Wake up and smell the coffee, which, in this case, is NOT the finest, Italian, rich beans, BUT t the cheapest, naffest and basic instant coffee there is! This is comedy at its worst, pure and simple... not helped by the fact the four central actors have less acting talent then four goalposts. I hope this is the end of the whole 'Inbetweeners' franchise and that those four bellends don't get too much work off it and infect our screens any longer with their over the top "acting" and completely off beat comic timing...I'm sorry, but I've always been proud of British comedy and this film and show is an insult to that institution!

      Alert a moderator

    • Porkchopexpress

      Aug 20th 2011, 14:48

      It's not stuck up to consider a film of this ilk and theme infantile, a bit like 'Kevin and Perry' or other similar tripe like 'Superbad', films of that sort just aren't cricket darling. UK TV comedy hardly every translates to a successful film, 'Monty Python' managed it, but even those films can be hit and miss. 'Holy Grail' looks weaker with each passing year for instance.

      Alert a moderator

    • tonly

      Aug 21st 2011, 11:08

      CSI New York: Seasons 1-7 DVD Plot http://dvdshopsonline.com/CSI-New-York-Seasons-1-7-DVD-Boxset-DVD-3617.html Purchasing CSI New York: Seasons 1-7 DVD Boxset requires only $ 61.99,it will be a not bad choice for you to enjoy them by yourself, present them to your friends, sell them out or dropship(dropshipping) them to your clients.

      Alert a moderator

    • tonly

      Aug 21st 2011, 11:09

      http://dvdshopsonline.com/CSI-New-York-Seasons-1-7-DVD-Boxset-DVD-3617.html Purchasing CSI New York: Seasons 1-7 DVD Boxset requires only $ 61.99,it will be a not bad choice for you to enjoy them by yourself, present them to your friends, sell them out or dropship(dropshipping) them to your clients.

      Alert a moderator

    • birchy6

      Aug 21st 2011, 15:44

      This is a horrendous review - why send someone who's obviously never watched/liked the TV show in the first place? There are also too many pretentious folk on here slagging off others as being intellectually inferior because they find this funny. Jog on. Monty Python is fantastic, but it was just as juvenile as The Inbetweeners.

      Alert a moderator

    • stuxmusic

      Aug 22nd 2011, 12:54

      It's basically an extended episode of the series. Which is fantastic. If they'd changed the formula too much then it would have been rubbish. As it is, it's a really fun film. Not ground-breaking (although it never really tried) but just simply entertaining.

      Alert a moderator

    • moviemind91

      Aug 22nd 2011, 18:21

      Neil Smith, you really don't have a sense of humour at all if you didn't find this funny! This is the only negative review I've seen and I'm shocked! This was much better than Hangover 2! I guess everyone has their own opinion though...

      Alert a moderator

    • FBCLovett

      Aug 23rd 2011, 21:02

      I'm afraid many of you, including the reviewer, have missed the point of this film, which has remained the same point of the TV series, this being that this film is doing what cinema does best - entertain people simply for sheer entertainment. Nobody is trying to win an oscar here and we should be thankful for that, if it were any different you would only slate it for 'taking itself too seriously'! Ultimately, DO NOT listen to this reviewer, be your own critic and go see the film!

      Alert a moderator

    • Amelie

      Aug 24th 2011, 12:12

      4

      Counting myself as a great fan of the Inbetweeners series I would say the movie was the perfect way to end it with the boys. Sure it's no masterpiece but since when were they ever trying to be? It's a hilarious film. If you don't see the humour in it then I don't see how you can have enjoyed the series either. It's a select type of humour that won't be to everyone's tastes but you could say that of anything. But for fans of the series this will not dissapoint!

      Alert a moderator

    • trist808

      Aug 24th 2011, 15:31

      1

      I've never seen the TV series, I only went to see this because some friends of mine are in one of the nightclub scenes and to see if it could work as a stand alone film. Gotta say, I loved it, really enjoyed, thought it was very funny and by the film's end knew the four characters and liked them and was fully behind and rooting for them. Will now search out the TV series and probably enjoy that too. If you've not watched The Inbetweeners before don't let that put you off, the film is great fun and you don't need to know their back stories to get who they are or enjoy the film for what it is :)

      Alert a moderator

    • Jrdnsans1792

      Aug 29th 2011, 15:11

      1

      As i massive fan of the Inbetweeners TV series i was really looking forward to this. However to say i was disappointed would be a huge understatement, it isn't funny. A real let down, I only laughed once throughout the entire film, absolutely awful.

      Alert a moderator

    • JamieTSB

      Aug 29th 2011, 21:31

      2

      I laughed four times, which for me is very good in a comedy movie. It was ok, not as awful as I expected it to be.

      Alert a moderator

    • Hattyhat

      Sep 9th 2011, 16:11

      I watched this in a cinema full of teenagers like myself, and we all laughed A LOT. It was the day after when I realised that all of the humour was cringe-induced rather genuinely funny. This does reflect the real lives of adolescent boys and viewers immediately 'click' with the film because it's so close to home, but all it achieved for me were some cheap laughs and an unfortunate reminder that males are disgusting up until the age of 30. I recommend the series - it's much funnier in twenty minute doses.

      Alert a moderator