Reviews

The Last Exorcism

4

The devil isn’t out of good tunes yet...

The Last Exorcism

The Last Exorcism review - At last, a possession movie for lapsed horror acolytes to believe in.

Indie director Daniel Stamm’s intense slow-burner threads re-jigged exorcism basics through another oft-abused genre, the mock-doc and scares up smarts and scares to refresh both.

Easy genre regurgitations (pea soup) are cast out: this little devil delivers wicked new head-spins. Cleverly, the documentary thrust is doubly driven: by character and by a need to disarm doubting viewers.

A showman priest, Patrick Fabian’s Reverend Cotton Marcus charms us and channels our cynical perspective. Opting to oust one last demon in a filmed confessional, he answers the call of Louisiana farmer Louis Sweetzer (Louis Herthum).

 Is Louis’ 16-year-old daughter Nell (Ashley Bell) possessed? Or is Cotton right in deducing that closer-to-home traumas – mum’s death, other implied horrors – have scalded her soul?

As Stamm and his writing tag-team simmer the psychological-satanic stew in ambiguity, the cast add flavoursome character studies. From these sure foundations, Stamm delivers chills that seep under the skin, aided by Hostel heavyweight Eli Roth’s input as producer.

Cotton realises he’s in deep as Nell’s behaviour intensifies from darkly darting eyes to animal abuse and then… extreme self-harm, like something’s assaulting her from within.

The intimacy of the docu-style is cunning: the screen shudders as we do. Engaged and rattled, we’re tensed for a killer pay-off – which is, sadly, where balls are dropped with a finale both over-busy and over-abrupt.

A letdown? Yes, but not enough to crush Stamm’s otherwise strong, creepy character horror. Be warned, though: don’t take your cat.
 

Verdict:

Stamm’s chiller puts care into scares, taking time to involve us before unleashing its demonic payload.

Film Details

  • 15
  • UK Theatrical Release Date: September 3rd 2010
  • Genre

User Reviews

    • macateb

      Aug 27th 2010, 13:48

      2

      The last 10 minutes of this film completely ruin the whole thing. Up until then it was a bit like The Exorcist & The Blair Witch Project with a little touch of The Office mixed in. Daft but at times a little creepy (but not enough times I should add). The ending was like a very bad horror film from the 70's - it was so bad people had WTF looks on their faces and laughed as they left the screening.

      Alert a moderator

    • voodooray

      Aug 27th 2010, 17:29

      Yep, this comment echoes similar feelings I had about this film. Its a shame, as they were building out really nicely up until then. Equally shocking was how this managed to get a certificate of PG-13 in the US! Anyone looking to get a few nervous chuckles and murmurings from a screening should try and watch this on an opening weekend. Someone in mine dropped what was presumably their mobile phone making the entire auditorium jump, so bring an air horn with you!

      Alert a moderator

    • beck79

      Sep 3rd 2010, 11:40

      2

      Seriously, 4 stars? I didn't really want to watch this film as I thought it would be cheesy and c**p but the first two thirds of the film really did have promise, a little creepy and well acted. I had warmed to the characters, been put on edge waiting to get scared and was curious to see how this would play out. Sadly it started to falter towards the end and I agree with the above comments - the ending was horrendous. I can't give anything away but it got to a point where I just though oh, this is how it's going to play out. I completely lost interest and let the whole now obvious and ridiculous ending play out. A real shame and I think the majority of the audience felt the same way, judging by the comments and faces afterwards.

      Alert a moderator

    • nacho316

      Sep 3rd 2010, 23:34

      2

      Saw this a few hours ago and cant get it out my head as to how boring it was, not one genuine fright in it...sorry but think you got the 4 star review wrong 2 at most I think........and what was that ridiculous ending wow Roth should quickly detach his name from this cheep paranormal activity cash in............;(

      Alert a moderator

    • elijay

      Sep 6th 2010, 10:52

      3

      There was two flaws that should have either been explained or changed. 1) Of course, the ending. It felt rushed. As if the filmmakers realised they were running out of film time and hurriedly wrapped it all up in an insanely ill-thought conclusion. After the film's unpredictability when it comes to exorcism movies, it pandered to the cliche and was out of sync of the build-up. 2) *MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS* What was the film? Was it just found footage? Was it a half-finished documentary? If so, who started post-production? It couldn't make up it's mind. It started a really well put together/shot mockumentary, then descended into 'The Blair Witch Project' territory. They needed to make up their minds there. Other than that, I liked the subtlety of the movie. I liked the layers. It was well shot, not too shaky for a hand-held camera movie. (I normally can't watch those; they make my eyes hurt.) The actors seemed natural, and it was a great show from Ashley Bell. However, I can think of at least two alternate endings that would have made this film end with less cliche than it did. Also, don't watch it if you see a lot of teenage chav/emo-wannabes going in with you. They talked amongst themselves, laughed inappropriately and completely missed the point, declaring that they could have joined in the middle of the movie and it would have been better. Some of them even walked out a mere twenty minutes in. Those expecting a 90 minute shriek-fest will be disappointed. Go in expecting a well put together documentary on the power of exorcisms in the Deep South with a bad ending, and you won't be disappointed.

      Alert a moderator

    • Jrdnsans1792

      Oct 5th 2010, 11:10

      1

      Another mediocre horror film. I must admit i wasn't expecting much from this film, but incredibly it was even worse than i had prepared for. The whole film was just tedious and dull, the docu-style was badly done and just pontless, it didn't help the film at all, if anything it just made it less watchable! Also there were no scares whatsoever throughout the course of the film and most of the time it was laughable rather than terrifying. Overall this is just another awful horror movie, its nearly as bad as paranormal activity for gods sake! Why is it impossible for anyone to make a good horror film these days? Avoid this.

      Alert a moderator

    • siddus74

      Jan 9th 2011, 23:09

      I have just registered for this website just too save some other poor soles from wasting 1h 14m of there life with this utterly rubbish film. The idea was great the execution was toilet. It never got going and I am disgisted that anybody should give this film 4 stars. I cant beleive the front cover suggested it is the most scary film your watch this year - if this is the case we are indeed in for a dull year! I am in two minds to email Kevin Harvey and ask for the rental fee and charge him for 1h 14m of my time . . . He should think about a career change!

      Alert a moderator

    • johnpeter

      Feb 19th 2011, 6:59

      I have just joined car rental ireland and i like the concept versace watch. i think its really helpful for the one who want to know about this vans watch.

      Alert a moderator

    • johnmartin806

      Feb 25th 2011, 5:10

      The real estate businesses in Mexico and Central America are different from the way that they are conducted in the United States. Some similarities include a variety of legal jacksonville mortgage loans formalities (with professionals such as real estate agents generally employed to assist the buyer); taxes need to be paid (but typically less than those in U.S.); legal paperwork will ensure title; and a neutral cheap vacheron constantin watches party such as a title company will handle documentation and money to make the smooth exchange between the parties. Increasingly, U.S. title 642-617 companies are doing work for U.S. buyers in Mexico and Central America. Prices are often much cheaper than most areas of the U.S., but in many locations, prices of houses and lots are as expensive JN0-343 as the U.S., one example being Mexico City. U.S. banks have begun to give home loans for properties in Mexico, but, so far, not for other Latin American countries.

      Alert a moderator

    • sevdamm

      Feb 25th 2011, 9:53

      Canlı Chat Canlı Sohbet canlı okey okey oyna okey oyna canlı okey sohbet canlı sohbet odaları canlı chat odaları sohbet odaları chat odaları sohbet siteleri Sevda Sevda Sohbet Sevda siteleri damar sohbet hatay sohbet kayseri sohbet damar sohbet kızlarla sohbet burdur sohbet bolu sohbet trabzon sohbet mamak sohbet artvin sohbet mardin sohbet kilis sohbet gumushane sohbet edirne sohbet dersim sohbet almanya sohbet antalya sohbet mersin sohbet karadeniz sohbet akdeniz sohbet ankara sohbet izmir sohbet cinsel sohbet adana sohbet kadinca sohbet Dj Ates Dinle travesti sohbet turkce sohbet online sohbet dini sohbet islami sohbet nur sohbet risali sohbet mynet sohbet fransa sohbet almanya sohbet belcika sohbet avusturya sohbet hollanda sohbet isvicre sohbet danimarka sohbet ingiltere sohbet bulgaristan sohbet azerbaycan sohbet canlı sohbet okey oyna sevda sohbet sevda chat sevda odaları sevda siteleri okey oyna okey sitesi okey odaları okeyciler canlı okey oyna okey oynamak forum sohbet odaları lez sohbet gay sohbet cinsel sohbet- mirc indir çet hatay radyo dinle- ankara sohbet- izmir sohbet istanbul sohbet adana sohbet bursa sohbet- trabzon chat zurna dul sohbet sohbet kanalları- mersin chat antalya sohbet - rock mp3 indir türkü dinle sohpet mersin sohbet adana sohbet yozgat sohbet sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları- sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları erzurum chat türk chat türk chat hatay sohbet sıcak sohbet sex sohbet sex sohbet radyo dinle radyo dinle sohbet odaları sohbet odaları avrupa sohbet islami sohbet

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      May 7th 2011, 19:38

      Producer Eli Roth known for popular horror movies Hostel and Cabin Fever alongside director Daniel Stamm brings a new take on the exorcism horror movie. Set in Baton Rouge, Louisiana the plot line follows Cotton Marcus (Patrick Fabian) a reverend working in a local church where he performs a different style of service along with preforming exorcisms to individuals who claim to be possessed by the devil. After reading a letter he received regarding a possible case involving an exorcism, he decides to film a documentary of this case to show to the world and prove if exorcism is real. When cotton and his team get to the location however they soon find there is much more to this case than first expected and in the process some strange happenings begin. This is filmed in a documentary style with a hand held camera similar to the way Paranormal Activity and the Blair Witch Project where shot, so don’t expect a big budget horror movie. Despite being advertised as a horror movie it is not scary in less you dislike scenes when someone is possessed by a demon. Usual I would say this was a bad thing; however the story keeps you interested throughout as it’s fresh to see something new bought to a story involving exorcism. There are some scenes towards the end of the movie which use the same technique’s used in Cloverfied. This are small to notice but adds a positive touch to the ending of the movie, where you’re left with a cliffhanger of why did they do that? Overall The Last Exorcism is a fresh take on this type of movie; it lacks scares but keeps you interested almost throughout.

      Alert a moderator

    • Legacy3D

      May 7th 2011, 19:38

      4

      Producer Eli Roth known for popular horror movies Hostel and Cabin Fever alongside director Daniel Stamm brings a new take on the exorcism horror movie. Set in Baton Rouge, Louisiana the plot line follows Cotton Marcus (Patrick Fabian) a reverend working in a local church where he performs a different style of service along with preforming exorcisms to individuals who claim to be possessed by the devil. After reading a letter he received regarding a possible case involving an exorcism, he decides to film a documentary of this case to show to the world and prove if exorcism is real. When cotton and his team get to the location however they soon find there is much more to this case than first expected and in the process some strange happenings begin. This is filmed in a documentary style with a hand held camera similar to the way Paranormal Activity and the Blair Witch Project where shot, so don’t expect a big budget horror movie. Despite being advertised as a horror movie it is not scary in less you dislike scenes when someone is possessed by a demon. Usual I would say this was a bad thing; however the story keeps you interested throughout as it’s fresh to see something new bought to a story involving exorcism. There are some scenes towards the end of the movie which use the same technique’s used in Cloverfied. This are small to notice but adds a positive touch to the ending of the movie, where you’re left with a cliffhanger of why did they do that? Overall The Last Exorcism is a fresh take on this type of movie; it lacks scares but keeps you interested almost throughout.

      Alert a moderator