Reviews

The Spy Next Door

3

Jackie Chan gets some help from the kids in this family action caper

Jackie Chan is globe-schlepping Chinese spy Bob Ho, working with the CIA to take down a fiendish Russian terrorist called Poldark (Magnús Scheving).

Through the usual series of absurd circumstances, the put-upon Ho is forced to look after his girlfriend’s trio of snotty kids, who eventually aid him in pursuit of the villainous Russkie.

Filled with slapstick guffaws, dodgy accents and copious pratfalls, Brian Levant’s (The Flintstones) light-hearted action comedy succeeds because it stays true to what it actually is: a kids’ movie.

It doesn’t hedge its bets with cheeky nods and winks to mum and dad, while Chan doesn’t risk anything death-defying, bone-breaking or vaguely alarming here, as is his wont when trying to please the more demanding martial arts hardcore. He simply mugs for the camera and bashes the bad guy.

If you are five, you will laugh, cheer, and no doubt kick bushes all the way home. If you are not, enjoy the nap.
 

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Hareton

      Dec 9th 2010, 9:34

      This film was pretty much the typical fare in the “family comedy” genre. It was directed by the same man who brought us “Beethoven” and “Jingle All The Way,” so if you're looking for his style of story you might refer to those films. The movie was entertaining throughout, though it did strongly portray an American family who is weak rebellious. My wife and I do not have children, but if that were the case, I would have some cautions about my kids hearing the screen kids yell about hating their family. For sure, parents that do take their children need to explain how serious the offense of disobeying parents is mentioned in the Bible. The action was fun and it is good that those who have families can see a Jackie Chan action film without too major moral issues that surround many of his films. In all, there is nothing too impressive about the film, and it will soon be one of those cheap DVDs that you can buy for a song or download by any shared files site.

      Alert a moderator

    • nancymatinzer

      Dec 10th 2010, 4:45

      4

      This article describes three approaches to parsing the sentences from a body of text; three approaches are shown as a means of describing the pros and cons for performing this task using each different approach Thanks for sharing the informative post. writing help AND academic writing AND assignment writing

      Alert a moderator

    • nancymatinzer

      Dec 10th 2010, 4:48

      5

      Really its a good news.This site has lots of advantage. I found many interesting things from this site. I like it very much. Its so interesting.I want to sharing this topic with some of my close friends. So thanks this post. coursework writing AND thesis writing

      Alert a moderator

    • rileyg21c

      Jan 7th 2011, 1:00

      I really loved this great movie. I have to say it was boring at the start but got better as it went on. I think it could have been a little better thought out. Thanks Riley Rakes - Raid 5 Data Recovery Manager

      Alert a moderator

    • alyssa143

      Jan 15th 2011, 3:17

      This was a great movie that I really love. I say this movie at my cheap auto insurance company. I really do appreciate this great reviews.

      Alert a moderator

    • jimb45

      Jan 23rd 2011, 2:50

      5

      Jackie Chan is the man. I am such a big fan of his movies. There is nothing better then this. orlando accident lawyer

      Alert a moderator

    • Speakersystemm

      Feb 12th 2011, 14:23

      4

      Still there is room for greater development and I would recommend more emphasis on research and of course it will bring a better situation. Thanks for sharing a nice read. Cheers California Loan Modification

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 13:54

      4

      Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! gun safes houston

      Alert a moderator

    • evworld11223

      Feb 25th 2011, 17:31

      4

      Very nicely written post it contains useful information for me. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement the concept. Thank you for the post. Carpet Cleaning Toronto

      Alert a moderator

    • tcoook23

      Mar 2nd 2011, 3:56

      Well reviewed. I wasn't huge on the cinemaphotgraphy, but the overall delivery was pretty good. Higher budget would have did much justice. regenerect

      Alert a moderator

    • tcoook23

      Mar 2nd 2011, 3:57

      Well reviewed. I wasn't huge on the cinemaphotgraphy, but the overall delivery was pretty good. Higher budget would have did much justice. regenerect

      Alert a moderator

    • deesydia

      May 26th 2011, 9:59

      It was a fun movie, nevertheless. Although, it lacks action (where Jackie Chan is known for), but it is understandable since it is a family movie. 3 out of 5 stars. Dee - http://woodworkingplansdiy.org

      Alert a moderator

    • deesydia

      Aug 29th 2011, 2:23

      2

      Watched it again with our friends' families, and what do you know, it's better if watched with kids! Dee - http://www.marketbold.com/KeywordSniperPro/

      Alert a moderator