Reviews

The Switch

3

Best mate turned inseminator...

Formerly known as The Baster, this was originally set to go up against that other sperm-donor comedy, The Back-Up Plan.

It’s the stronger of the two, a giggle that plays like the love-child of About A Boy and When Harry Met Sally, although not as sharp as either.

Jennifer Aniston is a 40-year-old singleton who decides not to wait for Mr Right to have a baby. Her best mate (Jason Bateman) thinks she’s nuts but in traditional knockabout fashion somehow winds up The Inseminator.

While Aniston gets stuck playing an undercooked neurotic cipher, Bateman knocks it out of the park with his physical clowning and easy-breezy bonding scenes with newcomer Thomas Robinson – an amusingly grave little nipper with saucer eyes and all the best lines.
 

Film Details

User Reviews

    • feevee

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:17

      3

      Amusing but not hilarious. Light-hearted but predictable...

      Alert a moderator

    • dumdumboy

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:18

      1

      It took TWO directors to put together this tired piece of celluloid?! Lazy filmmaking, lazy performances. You won't get these TWO hours back - so avoid.

      Alert a moderator

    • helenbubble

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:20

      4

      I enjoyed it, just a nice light movie. Don't think I would watch it again. Thought the little boy was excellent.

      Alert a moderator

    • casinman1

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:21

      Yet another middle of the road style movie that seems to be churned out now on a regular basis. Do they make these films exclusivly for the female audience as yet again I found myself thinking 'Here we go again'. To be fair Feevee probably has the best and shortest summary. Spot on Feevee, well done.

      Alert a moderator

    • steph1976

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:28

      3

      This is an intelligent and highly entertaining comedy. Jason Bateman manages to carry the film through the dry humour of the script and his excellently delivered lines. Jeff Goldblum manages a brilliant part as his friend and the charm of the two friends is one of the highlights of the film. The kid playing the part of Sebastien manages to brilliantly potray an adult like character with ease and the scenes between him and Bateman are used brilliantly to achieve both humour and to display how the main character manages to relate to the young boy. The films only weakness is its unoriginal approach to the relationship between Bateman and Anniston. Whilst both actors bring charm and top notch performances to bear the lack of imagination in this are of the script is unfortunately highlighted by the scripts more original thinking outside this dynamic. It rings especially false for Anniston's portrayal of the main character as you feel the character would have acted differently but there is little to explain why she chose not to. Apart from this the film is brilliantly entertaining and is a fine choice for light entertainment or as a film to take a date to. Steph

      Alert a moderator

    • Beatfienduk

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:31

      1

      The kid and New York are the stars here. Jeff Goldblum was reasonable and nullified Juliette Lewis's involvement thankfully. Another of Aniston's poor movies (she needs to get back to stuff like Friends With Money)and Bateman is on half power. The story hinges on him needing to say one sentence which is too flimsy a premise for any laughs. And we're supposed to believe J.A. is 46 by the time she returns to New York? Come on.

      Alert a moderator

    • alijb61

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:32

      2

      It was ok, not amazing. Totally predictable with an abrupt ending. Definitely one for a girly night in with a bottle of wine.

      Alert a moderator

    • ourkidjuli

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:32

      A nice feel good film :)

      Alert a moderator

    • ourkidjuli

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:32

      4

      A nice feel good film :)

      Alert a moderator

    • lovelyness

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:41

      I did enjoy the movie but would definitely not call it a romcom. The little boy (Thomas Robinson) was adorable, although I didn't feel there was much chemistry bewteen him a Jennifer Aniston she seemed more like an aunt than a mother. The chemistry between his and Jason Bateman was very touching. A lighthearted movie for a Sunday afternoon.

      Alert a moderator

    • rglasier

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:42

      4

      This film is very entertaining and the main performances are of a high order. I especially liked the performance of Jennifer Ansiton, which surprised me, but she played her character very well and I found it superior to Bullock's Blind Side performance. The scene in the bedroom during her insemination party, where she was realising that it didn't feel right was a particularly good performance. The star of the film is certainly the young boy and his interaction with Bateman is both heartwarming and totally believable. The only let-down performance was Jeff Goldblum, who constantly looked disinterested and gave the impression that he had not even learnt his lines and was reading off boards all the time. Overall though, a very entertaining film that may not appeal to all but if you are someone who enjoys Outnumbered, you will certainly enjoy this.

      Alert a moderator

    • lovelyness

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:43

      3

      I did enjoy the movie but would definitely not call it a romcom. The little boy (Thomas Robinson) was adorable, although I didn't feel there was much chemistry bewteen him and Jennifer Aniston she seemed more like an aunt than a mother. The chemistry between his and Jason Bateman was very touching. A lighthearted movie for a Sunday afternoon.

      Alert a moderator

    • ALISONMJ123

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:43

      This film was a great feel good movie the new genre Harry met Sally type of. I love a good rom com and this was very real including the choice of very normal looking actors who looked thier age wrinkles ans all. Took my mum but will take my boyfriend as most blokes do love a good rom com wheather they admit it or not, provided it aint too soppy which this one is not at all. Had a good look round the audience and they had a half smile on thier faces most way through the film. Great casting match of the kid and father. I say go see it, unless your taste is hard core psycho, geekfest as this will not be one for you. Definately a film for the Normals. A believeable snapshot of a group of believable charachters.

      Alert a moderator

    • loops

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:46

      3

      Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman make a good pair in this movie about freindship, fertility and family. Cass (Aniston) wants a baby but, being single, wants to do it on her own. When she asks her best friend, Wally (Bateman), to help her he feels that he should do his best in his duty as BFF. However, as Cass' plans for a baby get more serious and a sperm donor is found, Wally's jealous streak leads him to a series of events that will change things forever... With good, sturdy performances from the two lead actors, this film is warm and fuzzy. Not laugh-out-loud funny throughout, but with enough of storyline to keep you reasonably interested, The Switch has it's moments of tenderness and down-to-earth humour. This is a chick flick, which was confirmed at the end of the film by the gentlemen sitting next to me at the screening when the credits began to roll - the fact that he uttered his 3-word critique of the film (starting with "That was...") and then held is head in his hands confirming my suspicions that for the gentlemen in the audience less in touch with their feminine sides this might not enjoy this! Both Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman have been type-cast for this movie - they both play roles that are similar to previous roles; Aniston as a slightly ditsy but rather intelligent woman and Bateman as a neurotic but quirky and witty guy. This does not distract from the film, in fact it may help some viewers settle into it quicker. Disappointingly, support from Jeff Goldblum and Julianne Moore were not really necessary and didn't add anything to the film Overall, a pleasant film with a funny, nice story (only a couple of "fetch me a bucket!" moments). Did I look at my watch? Yup... squeezeonfilm.blogspot.com

      Alert a moderator

    • angelica1

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:50

      I thought the movie was thoroughly entertaining from beginning to end. Will definitely recommend it!

      Alert a moderator

    • mh2bul

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:54

      3

      Light-hearted romantic comedy about the mid-life crises of two friends. Kassie's single, and wants to have a baby before she's too old. She finds a donor who is married but his wife consents to it. Wally can't hold on to relationships, and had a fatherless childhood. In a hilarious fit of drunken rage, Wally disposes of Kassies hopes, but can't recall much of that night. 7 years later Kassie returns with a son, and falls for her now divorced donor, giving Wally time to bond with her son. It all comes to funny but predictable end. 7/10

      Alert a moderator

    • bossknows

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:54

      3

      not for the male audience unless trying to get lucky it had a few funny scenes but the film was the same plot as most of the films in this genre with the film depending on the the word i love you to make it come together come on movie makers try something new but even with all the negative about the film its no worse or no better then other films like it

      Alert a moderator

    • jgmcmahon

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:56

      2

      touted as comedy? the odd titter maybe and from the oohs and aahs definitely a chick flick.bateman was good but the rest of the cast were anonymous,especially jeff goldblum,ot one i would recommend as someone already said 100 minutes i will never get back

      Alert a moderator

    • jgmcmahon

      Aug 25th 2010, 10:56

      touted as comedy? the odd titter maybe and from the oohs and aahs definitely a chick flick.bateman was good but the rest of the cast were anonymous,especially jeff goldblum,ot one i would recommend as someone already said 100 minutes i will never get back

      Alert a moderator

    • freddude

      Aug 25th 2010, 11:28

      3

      I enjoyed the film, it was a flimsy bit of fun that didn't need much thinking about. The little boy Sabastian was brilliant and for me the highlight of the film.

      Alert a moderator

    • begovigo

      Aug 25th 2010, 11:46

      4

      Alert a moderator

    • donna

      Aug 25th 2010, 11:59

      3

      A light fluffy feel good film. Not great but not awful mainly down to the two performances of jeff goldblum and good acting from the child star. one to look out for.

      Alert a moderator

    • sdavis

      Aug 25th 2010, 12:48

      romantic.i love the child character excellent acting by the child

      Alert a moderator

    • geeorob

      Aug 25th 2010, 13:06

      3

      Would have stuck with "The Baster" as very previctable movie. Some big name but lacked any good substance to make the grade.

      Alert a moderator

    • petersfmp

      Aug 25th 2010, 13:10

      3

      A nice, entertaining film. Original story-line, and well-acted leading roles. At times very amusing; at times quite sad; but a nice happy ending. 1hr 40mins long, but the time seemed to pass quite quickly. Not an outstanding film, but certainly a large cut above the average.

      Alert a moderator

    • indieannabanana

      Aug 25th 2010, 13:41

      3

      The film was a by the numbers typical romcom with a few laughs but not many. It was the relationship between Wally and Sebastian that made the film stand out as a more than average film in this genre. Would have liked less of the set up at the beginning and more relationship development. This may have made it a better film.

      Alert a moderator

    • shellbuns

      Aug 25th 2010, 14:25

      3

      The little boy in this film was the star for me, along side jason bateman, as for jennifer aniston i think anyone could have played her part not her best work!

      Alert a moderator

    • maggiemay1963

      Aug 25th 2010, 16:17

      3

      Predictable schmaltz. I found it very unlikely that they'd be such good friends then not even speak to/e-mail each other for many years, he apparently didn't even know the child's name-did she not call him to say the baby was born? But of course it all works out in the end. Definitely not a blokes film. Surprised there were so many stunt people mentioned in the end credits.

      Alert a moderator

    • kas42

      Aug 25th 2010, 16:31

      3

      Good in parts, but slow moving in others. Someone sitting near me thought Jason Bateman was Ewan McGregor, I could see what she meant. Not the best of acting and overall felt like there was something missing from the plot.

      Alert a moderator

    • Kathy

      Aug 25th 2010, 18:22

      3

      Surprisingly melancholic in tone, but otherwise relatively predictable. It doesn't hurt that Jason Bateman's a handsome man...

      Alert a moderator

    • jabam

      Aug 25th 2010, 19:28

      3

      enjoyable but could see ending from about ten mins in, although thought storyline was well thought out if it happened in real life the male would be in jail at this moment

      Alert a moderator

    • tigerlilly

      Aug 25th 2010, 20:14

      3

      I agree with helenbubble only to add it a very predictale ending

      Alert a moderator

    • sharp5

      Aug 26th 2010, 2:59

      3

      Although a predictable film, it had a 'cosy' feel to it. Jeff Goldblum added to the dry humour to make it more quirky.

      Alert a moderator

    • nswapnil

      Aug 26th 2010, 8:07

      3

      Nice movie, light comedy, I enjoyed it, but a little predictable film, don't think I would watch it again.

      Alert a moderator

    • byungbabe101

      Aug 26th 2010, 17:31

      4

      i must agree the story was a little bit predictable. but not your everyday rom-com! excellent acting from Jason Bateman and Thomas Robinson! and i thought it really dealt with issues we dont really see a funny side of in film. i enjoyed it. thanks again Total Film! i shall definetly be attending the you're next screening :)

      Alert a moderator

    • susannah

      Aug 27th 2010, 2:02

      highly embarassing film with aniston in the same role as many many many times before

      Alert a moderator

    • sevdamm

      Feb 25th 2011, 9:53

      Canlı Chat Canlı Sohbet canlı okey okey oyna okey oyna canlı okey sohbet canlı sohbet odaları canlı chat odaları sohbet odaları chat odaları sohbet siteleri Sevda Sevda Sohbet Sevda siteleri damar sohbet hatay sohbet kayseri sohbet damar sohbet kızlarla sohbet burdur sohbet bolu sohbet trabzon sohbet mamak sohbet artvin sohbet mardin sohbet kilis sohbet gumushane sohbet edirne sohbet dersim sohbet almanya sohbet antalya sohbet mersin sohbet karadeniz sohbet akdeniz sohbet ankara sohbet izmir sohbet cinsel sohbet adana sohbet kadinca sohbet Dj Ates Dinle travesti sohbet turkce sohbet online sohbet dini sohbet islami sohbet nur sohbet risali sohbet mynet sohbet fransa sohbet almanya sohbet belcika sohbet avusturya sohbet hollanda sohbet isvicre sohbet danimarka sohbet ingiltere sohbet bulgaristan sohbet azerbaycan sohbet canlı sohbet okey oyna sevda sohbet sevda chat sevda odaları sevda siteleri okey oyna okey sitesi okey odaları okeyciler canlı okey oyna okey oynamak forum sohbet odaları lez sohbet gay sohbet cinsel sohbet- mirc indir çet hatay radyo dinle- ankara sohbet- izmir sohbet istanbul sohbet adana sohbet bursa sohbet- trabzon chat zurna dul sohbet sohbet kanalları- mersin chat antalya sohbet - rock mp3 indir türkü dinle sohpet mersin sohbet adana sohbet yozgat sohbet sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları- sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları sohbet odaları erzurum chat türk chat türk chat hatay sohbet sıcak sohbet sex sohbet sex sohbet radyo dinle radyo dinle sohbet odaları sohbet odaları avrupa sohbet islami sohbet

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular