Reviews

The Woman

4

A chilling attack on misogyny

The Woman review

Labelled both misogynistic and feminist, The Woman, says writer/ director Lucky McKee, is neither: “It shows the abuse I see around me.”

It is upsetting, as Maine lawyer Chris (Sean Bridgers) finds a feral woman (Pollyanna McIntosh, outstanding) in the woods and hauls her home to “civilise” her.

Like co-writer Jack Ketchum’s The Girl Next Door, it involves severe abuse, though the violence is portrayed responsibly and the bizarre final act empowers the victim.

McKee’s oblique storytelling and Sean Spillane’s mournful music add unusual textures to an otherwise savage attack on patriarchy.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • badger86

      Sep 30th 2011, 11:40

      its a stunning film, lucky mckee is one of the best directors working in the genre. The woman is an excellent examination of gender roles in a patriarchal society. I rarely see such well rounded female characters, especially in the horror genre. It really is a shame his films tend not to make such an impact on the mainstream, with films like sex and the city telling us that what women want and need is plenty of shoes and a man with money its important that we have movies like 'The woman' and 'May' to bring some emotional truth to women in film. If you do get to see it, make sure you stay for the very odd post credits sequence! I could talk about the meaning of that alone for hours....BUT i'll stop now. 5STARS!

      Alert a moderator

    • badger86

      Sep 30th 2011, 11:51

      Also DaliDab should watch this, he might learn something, such as what misogyny actually entails.

      Alert a moderator

    • badger86

      Sep 30th 2011, 23:55

      Dalidab, presumably you haven't actually scene this film have you? Because your comments are so far off the mark. 'the woman' is so far removed from things like i spit on your grave. As stated in the review any violence in the film is handled responsibly. There is one single scene of sexual assault, but it is done without the leering camerawork prevalent in many 70's rape/revenge movies. Please check the film out before you make such sweeping statements. Mckee has made a film which examines the way women have been indoctrinated into a male dominated world. The titular women represents a sort of female Id a prime evil powerful figure of which men are inherently fearful of and as a consequence attempt to domesticate and control. That is what the films about, and it does it brilliantly without the sickening scenes of sexual violence of which you speak. Please understand this is not last house on the left or isoyg it is a remarkable film, if you get the chance please check it out you would be missing out otherwise.I think you may be pleasantly surprised. and yeah, its the guy who made may, one of my fav horrors of the previous decade and the woman shares that films quirky style, i shall say again....give it a chance.

      Alert a moderator

    • writerdave87

      Sep 30th 2011, 23:57

      Dalidab, you stupid ignorant little c**t. Watch the film THEN offer your opinion, you retarded little s**t. Seriously do you like making yourself look ridiculous? Because everything you post just makes you look more and more stupid.

      Alert a moderator

    • badger86

      Oct 1st 2011, 0:01

      Also, deliverance still haunts me, and i meant seen rather tha scene in the first line....g*****n spelling errors.

      Alert a moderator

    • writerdave87

      Oct 1st 2011, 1:28

      Dalidab you said that all straight men are misogynistic rapists. You haven't proved your point at all, yet again you're just a hypocritical little troll.

      Alert a moderator

    • anant

      Oct 1st 2011, 3:50

      1

      same question dalidab do u seriously enjoy people calling u stupid? are u determined that u need to be a laughing stock? u haven't seen the film, still u r just judging it. there seems to be no end to how stupid u r

      Alert a moderator

    • anant

      Oct 1st 2011, 3:59

      that one star was a mistake, didn't mean to click it coz haven't seen the film, n i am not dalidab to know how a film is without even seeing it!!

      Alert a moderator

    • smellyhands

      Oct 7th 2011, 1:43

      I for one have seen this film and really enjoyed it. I think Dalidab1982 misses the point as to what this film is about. The film isnt just about rape and revenge you ignorant bafoon. Maybe take 90mins out of your Trolling career and give it a chance and then you can criticise the c**p out of it. Then and only then can you do that.

      Alert a moderator

    • StevePotter

      Oct 8th 2011, 20:38

      I, for one, won't be seeing this film, mainly because it doesn't seem like my cup of tea. That said, if I were to see any movies like this, I think this would be the safest bet.

      Alert a moderator

    • Igrayne

      Nov 27th 2011, 20:06

      Man hating sexist feminist balls.

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular