Reviews

Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen

4

Robot wars. Round two...

Before a single reel of film had unspooled on the original Transformers, executive producer Steven Spielberg was confident enough to predict there would be “many, many more” adventures for Hasbro’s clanking ensemble of robots in disguise.

“But,” he added, “we’re going to make the best one first...”

Two years on from Michael Bay’s jaw-dropping original, Revenge Of The Fallen proves the Beard right - but only just.

It was always going to be a tall order for the sequel to replicate its predecessor’s wow factor, stoked as it was by twenty years of fanboy expectation and CG magic that made childhood imaginings flesh.

But Fallen so frequently approaches the first pic’s all-out awesomeness, and even occasionally surpasses it - notably in an opening blitzkrieg in Shanghai and a forest face-off between Optimus Prime and three Decepticons impressive enough to merit comparison with King Kong’s multiple T-Rex smackdown - that it's this close to being the perfect summer flick.

The problem is, it’s the parts you remember, not the whole.

Bay may have upped the ante, taking his ’bots on the road (New York, Paris, the Pyramids), into space and even back in time (courtesy of an Apocalypto-like prologue set in 17,000 BC), but he hasn’t managed to assemble his components into a coherent mechanism.

Nor does his inability to keep his camera still or go two minutes without blowing shit up help, the hyperactivity reaching its nadir during a drawn-out climax in the Egyptian desert.

But Fallen has much to admire. It's at its best in early scenes showing Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf, likeable as ever if hardly stretched) trying to balance college life without hot girlfriend Mikaela (Megan Fox) and carrying a brain-frying secret that makes him key to evil robot The Fallen’s plan to wipe out the world.

Bay baiters will be in hysterics when he ostentatiously nods to his own oeuvre with Pearl Harbor ship-sinking, Armageddon metropolis destruction and a Bad Boys II promo on Sam's dorm room wall.

But fans of The Bayhem will have their eyes on another poster in Sam's room - the Cloverfield one-sheet, which betrays the glory at the heart of the flick. It's a thrill-ride, plain and simple. And it delivers.

For all its faults, Fallen is genuinely more enjoyable than the summer’s other giant-robot picture Terminator Salvation. In contrast to McG's portentous, po-faced tone, Bay works in a likeable strain of knowing humour that makes the two hour-plus running time fly by.

The extended metal-on-metal punch-ups are cartoonish but, thanks to the game-raising CGI, utterly convincing. That bit in the trailer where Optimus hangs off the giant robot? That's the first scene.

But, like McG, Bay also steers his franchise down a creative cul-de-sac, leaving its heroes - human and non-human - facing an uncertain future.

Over in Hollywood, Spielberg is no doubt still convinced that the series can run and run. After this, you won’t be sure where a sequel will come from... But you'll want one.

Verdict:

Old folks may find the relentless sensory assault a little draining, but the bangs, ’bots and bombast ensure Fallen has everything Transformers fans will want and expect.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • AYBGerrardo

      Jun 13th 2009, 23:16

      First!

      Alert a moderator

    • fuzzcaminski

      Jun 14th 2009, 12:16

      3

      AYBGerrardo, how about you actually post something of worth instead of pointlessly saying first, you didn't even give it a rating, a friggin a**e you are. On a different note, a little more about the plot would have been welcomed from the review, plus whether Bay has developed the balance between human and CG characters more from the first film. But overall, good to see it's got a positive review. Three stars for the review, who knows what I'll think of the film until I see it

      Alert a moderator

    • pslim

      Jun 14th 2009, 14:43

      i was lucky enough to see it last friday (thank u paramount!) and imho i found it alot better than the first one (which i loved)all i can say is that if u get eh chance try to see it on an imax screen i sawit at the odeon leicester sq which iwas huge but imax will be totally amazing! if u wanna see my thoughts and answers to loads of q's check here! http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/transformers-movie-discussion/239975-i-have-just-seen.html

      Alert a moderator

    • pslim

      Jun 14th 2009, 14:44

      5

      sorry i missed the rating 5/5!

      Alert a moderator

    • fanman2

      Jun 14th 2009, 17:08

      pslim did the rest of the movie live up to the forest fight

      Alert a moderator

    • fanman2

      Jun 14th 2009, 17:08

      5

      forgot the rateing my bad

      Alert a moderator

    • AYBGerrardo

      Jun 14th 2009, 17:29

      Seventh!

      Alert a moderator

    • pimpernel

      Jun 14th 2009, 22:02

      4

      Hold it - more enjoyable than Terminator Salvation! C'est impossible! Looking forward to seeing this now. Nicely balanced review.

      Alert a moderator

    • mchops

      Jun 14th 2009, 22:44

      5

      absolutely sick robot fighting action and you get your money worth out of bay for sure. some dumb humor but that's expected. you won't be disappointed!

      Alert a moderator

    • NachoMan316

      Jun 15th 2009, 13:00

      5

      Excellent 4 stars unlike that other magazine wankpire or something cant quite remember the name who gave it 3 stars making it worse than terminator salvation....dont think so, so I think that subscription I had for t**tpire or whatever its called could be cancelled shortly and I could be getting a new subscription to a magazine where you get honest unbiased opinions about films.....UP YOURS EMPIRE YOUR CRED JUST TOOK A NOSE DIVE INTO MCG'S s****y UNDERPANTS from where you have had your tounge firmly lodged these past few months.......Thanks Total Film subscription cheques in the post.

      Alert a moderator

    • TransformersUK

      Jun 15th 2009, 13:37

      Hello All, The London premiere of Transformers ROTF is taking place tonight! We will be tweeting and uploading photos live from the red carpet as it takes place from about 6pm. There will also be a live streaming video of the red carpet action – we’ll put the link up on our Twitter as soon as it’s live. To see the premiere as it happens, befriend us here at Twitter: http://bit.ly/FirrQ Also check exclusive content on our Facebook: http://bit.ly/KltIW Enjoy Transformers UK

      Alert a moderator

    • TransformersUK

      Jun 15th 2009, 13:38

      5

      Hello All, The London premiere of Transformers ROTF is taking place tonight! We will be tweeting and uploading photos live from the red carpet as it takes place from about 6pm. There will also be a live streaming video of the red carpet action – we’ll put the link up on our Twitter as soon as it’s live. To see the premiere as it happens, befriend us here at Twitter: http://bit.ly/FirrQ Also check exclusive content on our Facebook: http://bit.ly/KltIW Enjoy Transformers UK

      Alert a moderator

    • tommyflemin

      Jun 18th 2009, 17:53

      5

      I saw this last night at an advanced screening and I thought it rocked! A lot better than the first as the big battle scenes seem to involve a lot more action and screen time from the robots themselves something which I thought the first severely lacked. The film is faster, funnier and above all bigger with huge set pieces that drag you into the film. In my opinion this along with Star Trek are two of the best from this year (so far) but I don't think I have ever been happier to pay for a cinema ticket than with these two films I hope this helps - Tommy

      Alert a moderator

    • MrMiyagi

      Jun 19th 2009, 12:19

      2

      Transformers were my favourite toy and cartoon in the eighties. So I find it unfortunate that I thought the first Transformers was c**p. It was too long! And that's always death for a film in my eyes. That bit when the Autobots are treading all over the garden/avoiding the parents was 20 minutes long ffs! And the robots were (and still are) too complicated in design. And Shi-ite La Rue or whatever his name is is just annoying. Isn't he? Admit it, he is. He's so DESPERATE in the first film. By the looks of it the 2nd film is going to be just as nauseating, the run time already gives it away and again there seems to be more, heh, "humour", plus more s**t-shaky cam. I'll watch it, but on DVD so I can fast forward the 45 minutes of p**sing about because I've got better things to do with my life like shagging, living, partying with friends and improving myself as a whole than to sit through (yet) another lowest common denominator/over rated/over long/self-congratulating/souless mediocre film. WHEN O WHEN WILL BRITAIN GET IT'S OWN HOLLYWOOD SO WE CAN COMPETE WITH THE YANKS!!! THE AMERICAN/BRITISH MUSIC INDUSTRIES BALANCE EACH OTHER NICELY AND WE AS THE PEOPLE GET TO PICK AND CHOOSE THE BEST MUSIC FROM BOTH. YET WHEN IT COMES TO BLOCKBUSTERS, IT'S UNCHALLENGED OVER CONFIDENT AMERICAN BLOCKBUSTERS OR NOTHING! WE DON'T HAVE TO PUT UP WITH JUST AMERICAN MUSIC SO WHY DO WE HAVE TO PUT UP WITH JUST AMERICAN BLOCKBUSTER FILMS? Don't get me wrong I do like them, but like any good company they need competition to keep the products fresh and exciting.

      Alert a moderator

    • mydogminton

      Jun 19th 2009, 14:52

      Each to their own, obviously, but I'm surprised you rate it so highly. The first one was s**te and I expect this to be too (although I'll never know as I won't be going to see it).

      Alert a moderator

    • frostfacechilla

      Jun 19th 2009, 16:16

      Just seen it a few hours ago and really enjoyed it...but the only thing really worth remembering is Megan Fox...How frakkin hot that bird is!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • frostfacechilla

      Jun 19th 2009, 16:17

      5

      forgot my rating...5 stars for Megan Fox

      Alert a moderator

    • Geekboy

      Jun 19th 2009, 16:49

      5

      What an AWESOME movie. I feel like someone punched me in my brain. Hell, I think a giant freakin' robot punched me in my brain. The audience for this afternoon's showing was a collection of geeks and nerds, I was already happy before the movie started, dudes in Batman tees (me) Green Lantern tees and best of all Autobot and Decepticon tees. Brilliant I was amongst my own kind. The movie is THE best Summer movie EVER without a F-ing doubt. It's geek heaven, beautiful sexy chicks, robots, giant freakin' robots, guns, warplanes, war-copters (gunships I believe is the technical term?) battleships, big amazing explosions, destruction, giant freakin' robots shooting, punching and stabbing each other...aaaah! I felt like screaming throughout the entire movie. I wanted to high five everyone on my way out. This is one happy geek. This is one hell of a movie.

      Alert a moderator

    • bigtom302

      Jun 19th 2009, 18:25

      4

      Just epic, thats all i can say really! its a true bayhem movie. however the story line jumps about a bit, for example, in the desert, how are they suddenly being chased by police! what! and then the sequence in the town when there running away from the police i thought was just pointless. I love the twin robots, just genious writing and should definatly get a spin off movie! all in all, epic, but with cracks

      Alert a moderator

    • Kranitoko

      Jun 19th 2009, 23:32

      5

      This film was awsome! Fast paced in many ways. The only disappointment was that it rushed to the point all too quickly. I will say Transformers 1 is a tad bit better but they're both brilliant!

      Alert a moderator

    • hendrixisgod777

      Jun 21st 2009, 11:13

      1

      "The film's too long", "Bay blows too much s**t up", "There's too much cheesy humour"... yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. Can somebody please tell me something specific about this film instead of the usual hackneyed, unoriginal tripe which could be applied to not only every Micheal Bay film but 90% of the films that come out of hollywood! And by specific, I mean something other than telling me that there's a fight scene in Egypt, I could tell that by looking at virtually any screenshot posted on the bloody internet. The only thing I've been able to discern is that the film may be good or it may be bad, but it definitely won't be as bad as some of the comments and reviews I've read on this page today.

      Alert a moderator

    • hendrixisgod777

      Jun 21st 2009, 11:16

      1

      Alert a moderator

    • mattburgess

      Jun 21st 2009, 21:33

      1

      Most of you guys are absolutely crazy. While the first film was very good, this was the worst film I've seen in the last ten years. By far. No script. Very poor graphics. Stupid, completely un-funny robots. Most of the main cast were entirely redundant. Should have finished an hour earlier. Awful, awful film. Cannot believe TF gave it 4 stars. How much did you get paid for that?

      Alert a moderator

    • liamfrench

      Jun 21st 2009, 22:56

      1

      Oh my god, did you see the same film as me or were you just on drugs? For the record i absolutely loved the first one, so i couldn't wait for this one, and i don't think i have actually been more disappointed by a film! Lets go with the good bits first, the first hour of the film was ok, good opening good fights etc but that's about it. There were too many robots, all the main transformers from the first film return but are shoved in with about ten other robots, none of which get any decent air time which makes me think why should i care about them? Same with the bad guys, and some half-baked "super-villain" who really doesn't do that much. The film was far too long and almost turned into some sort of adventure film halfway through, at which point i had completely lost interest in where they were going or why. Now the films are based on toys so i will forgive it the ridiculous convoluted plot, but maybe someone should tell Michael Bay that bigger is not always better. Blowing stuff up and hoping that the audience doesn't realise there actually isn't a plot doesn't make good watching. To sum it up its too long, too ott, too many robots and not enough plot. I would gladly watch mall cop before i waste my time with this again!

      Alert a moderator

    • liamfrench

      Jun 21st 2009, 22:57

      1

      Alert a moderator

    • Avanbeek

      Jun 22nd 2009, 13:12

      1

      Wow - I've know idea what Mark was smoking when he saw this, but it must have been pretty potent stuff. I actually enjoyed the first film, but having caught an IMAX screening of the sequel at the weekend I'm amazed that anybody who considers themselves to be a serious film critic can possibly give this film four stars. Not only was this supposed tentpole flick dull, humourless and ponderous, but it also managed to screw up every major story beat and be incredibly offensive. The latter is particularly true of its treatment of women and some of the worst racial stereotyping this side of The Phantom Menace in the guise of the new Autobot twins.

      Alert a moderator

    • Avanbeek

      Jun 22nd 2009, 13:16

      And obviously I meant 'no' not 'know' at the start of my previous comment - it would appear that watching Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen really does destroy your IQ.

      Alert a moderator

    • hendrixisgod777

      Jun 22nd 2009, 21:03

      Okay, okay, the last few post have been a bit more enlightening. I still haven't watched the film myself but I'm now starting to get the impression that it's a giant-sized turkey. To be honest the trailer left me pretty cold and I smelt another rat when I read that poor excuse for a review at the top of the page. However, I need more info. Is the CGI as bad as been mentioned? Is the storyline conspicuous by it's absence? Are the real stars of the film, the Transformers themselves, sidelined in favour of wooden acting from substandard actors? and what's this about offensive jokes and racial stereotyping? tell me more, I implore you fellow cinemagoers, tell me more - I need more info!

      Alert a moderator

    • Hammy050

      Jun 23rd 2009, 0:34

      the film was not all doom and gloom as some people say! it was generally okay to watch and i would watch it again! megan fox looks fantastic (as always). okay yer maybe a few too many robots, but seriously the story line is quite easy to grasp not too difficult and the humour is quite funny (are u expecting it to be high class?? its not supposed to be a comedy!!) overall a very enjoyable and good film

      Alert a moderator

    • TheTingler

      Jun 23rd 2009, 11:36

      3

      Definitely a fun film for the Transformers fans (Soundwave voiced by Frank Welker! Ravage! The Matrix of Leadership! More Starscream being snivelly! Um, Wheelie!) and great explosive fun all the way, there are obvious problems. I didn't mind Megan Fox's bare midriff (what straight male would?) in first one as Sam's reaction mirrored my own, but here the female fawning-over gets ridiculous. Why is Sam at the only college in the world populated entirely by supermodels? The script could've certainly done with more serious editing too. Characters appear and disappear, with some well-respected ones getting one or no lines (Arcee, Ratchet, Devastator) and hated ones becoming main characters (the Twins, Wheelie). There's also no real ending to speak of, nor does it end in a cliffhanger. It's open-ended, but it does sorta just STOP. On the plus side, I did enjoy it all. Jetfire and Soundwave were great, Starscream and Megatron's bickering was perfect, and the final battle was incredible (if filled with a lot of generic robots and all-too-brief appearances - poor old Scorponok!). As for a sequel, there can only be one possible plot. One word for you: Unicron.

      Alert a moderator

    • Avanbeek

      Jun 23rd 2009, 13:25

      Okay, having had another 24hrs to reflect on the film, here's what I liked... 1. The fight in the forest. Sure everybody is talking this up as the highpoint of the film, and with good reason. It's the only part of the movie that seems to favour the long-shots and slowed-down footage necessary to tell what the hell is happening during any of the robot on robots scraps. It also a scene that plays with emotions as well as spectacle, paying off with a fun throwback to the '80s animated feature. 2. Honestly, I really can't think of anything else. And here's more of the stuff that I didn't... 1. Considering how many new Transformers are shoe-horned into this mess of a movie, few of them are ever really introduced as characters. Its as if fans are supposed to be excited simply by going 'Oh look it's Ravage and there's Soundwave', with bugger all explanation as to why there's a Decepticon floating in Earth's orbit all the time and why there should be a cat-like one other than it might look fairly cool. And by the time of the final battle with what could be anything from ten to one-hundred robots (there's just no way of knowing), just haven't the faintest idea who anybody is or what side they're on. 2. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I seem to remember a Bay blog that took a swipe at McG for the giant robot in the Terminator: Salvation, saying he was riding Transformers' coat-tails. Now I haven't seen that film, so I'm not playing favourites, but how can Bay have the audacity to do when he's put what is essentially a nubile young Terminator in his film? 3. The film also has a problem with setting things up and completely failing to pay off on them. Early on we're introduced to new Autobot motorbikes. Then we discover Megan Fox works in a motorbike workshop and rides around on her own hog. Can you see where this is going? Can you imagine how cool this could be? But of course, giving Megan Fox her own action scene with a Transformer (other than a horny Decepticon small enough to provide up-skirt POV shots) would be to acknowledge her as a real character rather than just a piece of eye-candy. So she just gets to run around after Sleeply LeBeef (copyright Mark Kermode 2009) and pout instead. 4. There's plenty more, but my fingers are getting bored now.

      Alert a moderator

    • rorschach

      Jun 23rd 2009, 17:29

      2

      4 stars. I may nave seen it all now. Im not even sure why im surprised anymore.

      Alert a moderator

    • sdx800

      Jun 23rd 2009, 20:17

      5

      Transformers is an amazing film and as fans we couldn't ask for it to be resurrected in a better way, huge budget, huge action scenes, good cast, amazing looking robots, one of the best directors in the world, it could have been a lot worse. this is an epic Sci-fi film, people go on about the story being silly, its sci-fi about giant robots, of course its unbelievable and silly at times its meant to be, its not a serious film, how boring would that be, its pure fun, sit back and enjoy it like a rollercoaster. Another point is the humour, these are highly intelligent robots from another galaxy who have learnt our languages and have individually taken on a personality that they have chosen to suit them, these robots act as we do, they have souls almost. of course you will get a few who act a tad immature at times, you need a little comic relief in there, these robots have their more intelligent leaders and warriors and they have their faithful if yet sometimes stupid followers who are their soldiers and spies. they interact how they feel they should with humans as they are still learning how to interact with us as its all new to them. if you look a little deeper and use a bit of imagination you will see just how good this film is and how much passion has gone into making it for fans and new comers alike, Revenge of the Fallen is a masterpiece and cinema history, from an iconic 80's TV show that was fading out in the public eye to a multimillion epic movie that now millions more people are now fans of. I cant wait for Transformers 3.

      Alert a moderator

    • magicwings

      Jun 23rd 2009, 22:54

      2

      4 stars? Really? 4 stars as in on par with the original? On par with, say, according to your reviews, Gangs of New York, Old Boy and Minority Report? Bigger clearly isn't necessarily better in this loud, brawly sequel to the surprisingly good franchise-starter Transformers. Shia Labeouf and some startlingly great-looking CGI barely save this film from some godawful plot, ballsack humour (the "twins" win the Jar Jar Binks award) and just downright bad filmmaking. We all know who goes into the many robot fights, and we all know who wins, but nobody has a clue what happens in the IQ-reducing, butt-numbingly long sections inbetween. The story sounds like the writers decided on the first thing that entered their heads after an alarming amount of alcohol had entered their mouths (I mean, the "matrix of leadership"? Seriously? Are they 12?) and the result is scarier than the prospect of a nuclear holocaust. Watching this film is the cinema equivalent of taking a brick and repeatedly bashing it against your skull for 2 and a half hours. Saved from 1 star rating by seeing it in IMAX. Just.

      Alert a moderator

    • superfurryliam

      Jun 24th 2009, 14:08

      1

      I simply cannot believe some of the reviews on here - this film is an overlong, brainless and downright horrible film. After seeing this trash I have hereby lost all confidence in seeing a contemporary Summer Blockbuster to rival fun of old. Too much CGI, too much atrocious dialogue, too much slow-mo, too long. The humour throughout this film was both juvenile and insulting, whats more - PEOPLE WERE ACTUALLY LOVING IT! I was baffled and not only lost confidence in an intelligent fil-loving population, but also in a beloved film magazine who's reviews I previously valued. 4 stars? Unbelievable. I give this one star - for John Turturro alone who was vastly under-used.

      Alert a moderator

    • MrMiyagi

      Jun 24th 2009, 17:17

      1

      Mr Miyagi say: A stuffed Peacock is just as pretty as live Peacock on surface. Only wise man know when one is full of soul while other is full of s**t.

      Alert a moderator

    • superfurryliam

      Jun 25th 2009, 10:02

      1

      Also - how is the average user rating four stars? I averaged it out at just over 2 stars - I demand a re-count!

      Alert a moderator

    • parker

      Jun 25th 2009, 12:02

      1

      This was one of the worst blockbusters i have ever seen. it's up there with phantom menace. Im a big fan of the first movie but this was simply dreadful. terrible acting, too much pointless, overdrawn fighting, awful plot, terrible new robots (the old robot with a beard - did he always have that beard or did the mtal grew with age) It's clear that bay wanted to appeal to the kids but theres no need for so much cheese (silly hiphop robots and small robots h*****g legs). as long as kids see robots fighting, they're happy. take the simpsons: the dialogue is clearly for adults, but kids still love it because its colourful and has great characters. And to put in a terrible, pointless scene with his mother stoned just to appeal to the older fans was stupid. if it wasnt for the flawless special effects, it wouldnt even get 1 star. whats going on total film: 4 stars? (yeah i forgot, you gave Matrix 2, and phantom menace 5 stars - and you gave the awesome american history X a measly 3 stars) sort it out!

      Alert a moderator

    • essentialatom

      Jun 26th 2009, 1:45

      What a cop-out of a review. It speaks volumes that the film gets four stars and the only mention it gets in the magazine is a tiny one in the contents telling you it can be found online. Scared we won't get access to Michael Bay's next retarded machosmofest are we?

      Alert a moderator

    • scarmona

      Jun 26th 2009, 12:56

      1

      This review was crazy. This movie sucked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • thegreatiaino

      Jun 26th 2009, 14:02

      2

      I can't believe Total Film's review. I thought this movie was awful. The plot is ridiculous and makes no sense, and far too much time is spent on the amazingly dull, entirely 2-dimensional human characters. Let's face it, everyone who goes to see this movie is going because they want to giant robots fighting each other. No one gives a monkeys about Shia LeBoeuf going to college, or whether or not he's told Megan Fox he loves her yet, and yet most of the excrutiatingly long running time is spent on c**p like this. The attempts at humour are pathetic. "Oh wouldn't be funny if Sam's mum ate a hash brownie and got stoned". No. No it wouldn't. It would be unfunny and dull and take away more screen time from the actual Transformers. To be fair, the action scenes are pretty awesome, but they're entirely let down by the guff that happens in between them. There's also too many different Transformer characters, which means none of them ever really get a chance to shine. Megatron is about as threatening as Wall-E and The Fallen is not much better. I entirely agree with the guy who pointed out the racial stereotyping of the twins - yet another attempt at humour that falls flat on its face. On top of the horrendous script, Michael Bay's directing is insufferable. Evan when there's nothing of any excitement happening he still insists on constantly swinging and spinning the camera around. Seriously, someone buy the man a tripod. A big disappointment.

      Alert a moderator

    • Wrekit

      Jun 26th 2009, 21:12

      4

      The scene in the forest where a a certain robot dies... WAS EPIC!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • thesquire51

      Jun 27th 2009, 13:50

      2

      Basically, all you need to know is that if you liked Transformers 1, you'll also like this. The robot battles are bigger and better than before and I did find it easier to tell the difference between the Autobots and Decepticons (my biggest annoyance with the first film). But other than that (1) it's far too long (I was actually looking at my watch at about halfway and thinking I hope it is coming to a conclusion soon), (2) it's got a slow moving plot that jumps around completely randomly - I think Bay couldn't be bothered with a plot and concentrated on explosions, but (3) there are some funny moments and also there is Megan Fox.

      Alert a moderator

    • dmode71

      Jun 27th 2009, 15:07

      Are the British Film journos on really strong medication are just Paramounts b*tch? Did I see the same movie??? Where's the integrity in the reviews? I have to say that I was very much looking forward to a second installment of the franchise. Bigger? Better? Who knew. I could write an essay on what was wrong with this movie, but most of the internet especially Stateside pretty much have that covered. Spielberg should be ashamed of himself, the writers never allowed to submit this kind offensive cr*p ever again, and Bay should retire. Period What's the target audience? Cos I certainly wouldn’t take my kids to see this!! I can't remember seeing a more morally offensive film in a long long time. In no particular order here's my top list of Bayisms. Objectification of women, racial stereotyping (not just Mudflap and Skids) Megan Foxs uh…acting, robot balls, jive talkin' gold toothed homie autobots, purile inane humour, robot heaven, pearl harbour refs, shouting dialogue. I could go on but wont. Trans 2 is being compared to Batman and Robin which I think is pretty fair. Hopefully someone else can sprinkle some magic cybertron pixie dust on the franchise and bring it back to life.

      Alert a moderator

    • movieman15

      Jun 28th 2009, 8:35

      this film was 100% dreadful how could you give this , terminator and wolverine high scores they were all extremly bad. its like all the bad summer movies turned into one huge, longggggggggg and boring movie you insult me total film what is wrong with your tastes

      Alert a moderator

    • Dominc

      Jun 28th 2009, 9:20

      2

      Did not think the forst one was fantastic but this well lets hope they dont make a thrid one bt I think they might only reason I this a 2 star is because Megan Fox is in it and shes fit. All in all only for big transformers fans.

      Alert a moderator

    • k0rrupt

      Jun 28th 2009, 22:00

      2

      People will say its just a summer blockbuster but i don't see how it should it get a free pass or be judged differently from other films. The excuse that "it's a thrill-ride, plain and simple" is a rubbish one. The film is garbage, its not thrilling at all, all the faults you label in the review are forgiven, unforgivable c**p for something that's a giant robot film http://www.toplessrobot.com/2009/06/bonus_robs_transformers_2_faqs.php?page=2 this made me laugh tho

      Alert a moderator

    • itchygoo

      Jun 29th 2009, 15:01

      2

      I saw no. 1 on DVD with my boys (4 & 5) and was surprised by how much I liked it as I had expected something overblown with a poor plot and poor direction. I needn't have worried because No. 2 delivered in spades. Bay has successfully made battling robots boring by piling it onto you far too much. By the last reel I really didn't care who won or lost. Also the attempts at humour were really badly placed and the English/ pirate accented "old" transformer Jetfire really badly balanced. I know it's a 12a which means under 12's allowed if accompanied, but given the level of violence and swearing it should have been 15. Just what age group does he think the toys are aimed at? If you want "adult" SF stick to Terminator et al, not a film based on kids toys. I can only imagine TF went with a 4 rating to ensure future access to Bay for interviews etc. This is in fact a very poor film.

      Alert a moderator

    • thegreatiaino

      Jun 30th 2009, 17:15

      1

      That page posted by k0rrupt is absolutley spot on, and sums up this movie perfectly, unlike the sycophantic bilge at the top of the page.

      Alert a moderator

    • Rich7thGoonie

      Jul 1st 2009, 10:49

      1

      wow...total film you've lost a little respect from me i must say,you're no longer film reviewers these days you love any popcorn Blockbuster going+i seriously think this is'nt your true Rating,its as if you cracked a deal with Paramount to promote it,here's what i thought-Transformers 2-absolutely awful film i very nearly walked out the Cinema+regreted that i did'nt,they could'nt go 2 minutes without an action scene which got very boring after the 50th action scene,also the comedy in it was really stupid+quite embarassing as if its intended for 5 year olds,dont get me started on the story,the story was non existent,its as if they didnt give a s**t+just had robots fight each other for 2 hours and a half+were more interested spinning the camera around the place and just filming Eye Candy,a horrendous film deffinetly the Worst of 2009,and i hated Skids+mudflaps they were the most annoying characters of all time they made Jar Jar Binks look like Robert De Niro+i really wanted them to meet a painful death,gutted coz i loved the 1st film+they ruined this one,a steaming pile of s**t+Total Film you've sold your soul to cheese

      Alert a moderator

    • blade32

      Jul 2nd 2009, 13:19

      3

      great action, but why does Bay have to use so many panning shots around the action, and bathe everything in flares of sunlight?! It's like he's got a new effect button and can't stop pressing it! plus next time he should ditch the family. or have them taken out, preferably gruesomely

      Alert a moderator

    • Jaymo

      Jul 2nd 2009, 19:45

      4

      Il try to be breif. I enjoyed the film but thought it ran a little too long. Little bit too much stupid comedy, but I expect that of a movie like this. I think the film lost a little of the charm of the first movie thanks to Bay amping up the set peices just for the sake of grandsanding and trying to "out do" the first in the only way he can. Like John Holmes. Bigger and longer. My main gripes are from the kid in me. In the original Soundwave was, more or less, Megatrons second in command. In ROTF he appears to have been demoted to weird satillite with a head-thing. Ravage was re-named Rampage and had one eye? Devestator looks good as an acheivment of effects but simply does not look anything like Devestator and has the ability of...erm...a Hoover? Most anoying though, was Megan Foxs' character training a 'Bot for a pet of sorts? Come on.... That is one of the things I have say annoys me with a movie of this type. Taking the much oved orignal source material and changing too much of it. All that said, I enjoyed it! Beleive it or not!! Also, that was far from brief. Oh, well. Whatever. Four stars.

      Alert a moderator

    • Jaymo

      Jul 3rd 2009, 16:54

      3

      I ment three stars. Everyone was banging on a bout four stars...and I was very sleepy......you know how it goes......

      Alert a moderator

    • regieeallen

      Jul 6th 2009, 22:14

      5

      Watch online here http://watch-movie-online-free.com/

      Alert a moderator

    • hendrixisgod777

      Jul 6th 2009, 23:02

      1

      BAY ALERT! BAY ALERT! BAY ALERT! After curtailing his usual sensibilities and producing a surprisingly good 1st Transformers flick, Michael Bay reverts back to type and provides more crash, bang, wallop, and trollop for the 2nd film. I ignored my better judgement (and the majority of the more discerning posts on this forum.) and watched this film last week. It was a mistake - a bad one. My synopsis of the film goes something like this: explosion, someone says a cheesy line, explosion, Bay slo-mo sunflare shot (tm), another cheesy line, explosion, megan fox, explosion with blurry cgi, more slo-mo, recycled joke from 1st movie, explosion... and so on, and so on, and so on. DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM. There ahave already been comparisions made to 'Batman and Robin'. 'B and R' is 'Gone with the Wind' compared to this movie. Arnie's worst oneliner in 'B and R' is better than any joke in this film. This film was so poor, it made the Go-Bots look good and it fills me with despair that I lost 2 hours + of my life watching it. I've already had a few says on this forum but if I end up having the last say then let it be this: SAVE YOUR MONEY AND AVOID THIS FILM LIKE THE PLAGUE - LIFE IS JUST TOO SHORT! I give this 1 star, and that's because it ended.

      Alert a moderator

    • Scarlet

      Jul 7th 2009, 15:23

      1

      Too long, the robot fights are awful and lacking emotion. The is lots wrong with this film, more wrong than right. Nuff said

      Alert a moderator

    • ManMadeMonkey

      Jul 7th 2009, 22:16

      2

      Very disappointed. Love the first but the second was awful. The fights were pretty good but it was much too similar to the first for me. I must congratulate Bay though for dragging it out for a good bit over 2 hours when it was originally just a toy. Major kudos on that front for a pretty poor film.

      Alert a moderator

    • euanmcgrath

      Jul 9th 2009, 0:05

      3

      Ain't people's tastes hilarious "best film ever!" ***** "worst film ever!" * I enjoyed it loads.. My mate really didn't. It's geek visual porn really? And for that it really delivers! I'm not watching a michael bay film about robot aliens (toys!) for the depth and plot.. I'm watching it to fry my eyes!! And it did that.. Much less agonising than Terminator Salvation as I knew what I was getting.. And they knew what they were creating. Not a great film.. But a great Blockbuster.! (The twins were f*****g diabolical though!!)

      Alert a moderator

    • hulk68

      Jul 12th 2009, 12:35

      3

      Good entertainment, especially the first one and half hour. Towards the end its a bit repetitive, boring and waiting for a climax which wasn't worth it. Also too much focus on Megan Fox's looks, which sometimes feels forced to please the teens. Don't get me wrong she is brilliant but I'm trying to be professional here.

      Alert a moderator

    • deadpanmatt

      Jul 12th 2009, 23:04

      1

      When I saw the four stars that Total Film had awarded this movie I couldn't believe my eyes. As a new TF reader (I generally don't buy magazines), I am starting to doubt that I can ever really trust their reviews at all; should I ever buy the mag when they the staff seem to enjoy noisy, aimless and ultimately pointless drivel like Revenge of the Fallen? Youtube plays host to many 60 second versions of popular films (Twilight being the one foremost in my mind- also tripe), and this is usually done in jest; I mean how could a 90 minute movie be compressed into 60 seconds without losing any of the vital plot information? After watching Michael Bay's latest pyrotechnic-fest I firmly believe this could be done with ROTF with time to spare. In fact, as I'm using acronyms I feel I should point out that Revenge of the Fallen is only one letter away from conceivably being ROFL- unfortunately I wasn't laughing. I was yawning. If anyone who hasn't seen the movie wants to know whether or not it is genuinely worth checking out, I'll leave you with this. When the big bad dude has Sam (our hero) exactly where he wants him he declares his intent with "I'm going to kill you." If you're dumb enough not to know that this is generally what bad guys in action films want to do to the hero, check this film out. It caters for your kind.

      Alert a moderator

    • harley1903

      Jul 15th 2009, 13:48

      4

      I really enjoyed this film I thought its one of the most entertaining films so far this year I watched it at the imax and thought the fighting was much clearer in this one compared to the first

      Alert a moderator

    • Wintermute

      Jul 18th 2009, 9:48

      1

      Utter garbage ... a perfect example of Hollywood excess gone awry. Like "Bad Boys 2" Michael Bay has taken a reasonably enjoyable film and turned everything up to 11 resulting in a OTT mess that ignores all logic, narrative or character in favour of too much CGI, infantile humour, epileptic editing and so many explosions that it descended into parody come the 2 hour mark. How ANYONE can contruct a film that runs for close to 3 hours and contains not ONE instance of intrigue or suspense is quite beyond me but it's been a long time since a Summer Blockbuster left me so damn BORED. Note to Hollywood: Please prescribe Michael Bay some SERIOUS medication before allowing him to make another film ... Note to Audiences: PLEASE don't watch this film, it'll only encourage the fool!

      Alert a moderator

    • sweaterpuppy14

      Jul 18th 2009, 22:05

      1

      okay, this film is s***e. i was just bored for two and a half hours, and i saw it in imax. and this is not as enjoyable as terminator salvation. is the reviewer high or something? this film sucked, salvation was far better. don't waste your money on this garbage. go see terminator. or public enemies. both fantastic films.

      Alert a moderator

    • Phoenix81

      Jul 28th 2009, 13:55

      2

      Any chance of a decent plot to go with the overlong action please... Loved the 1st film, this was just below average at best

      Alert a moderator

    • Chrisic

      Aug 6th 2009, 18:09

      3

      Slightly concerned by the constant use of 'But' as a paragraph starter. Impressed for the first time by 'Transformers one' Bay could hold a candle to any other action packed extravagant. However this time he takes one step too far with Revenge of the fallen. A certain level of pleasure came from tracing exactly where Optimus Primes' windscreen wipers ended up on his fully transformed juggernaut body. This time it's more a case of 'we know where it goes, just shoot him already'. This is exactly the attitude Transformers two has taken as the entwining mechanics is overseen amongst all the excitement. It truly is an explosion a minute with Bay but with Megan Fox bent over a motorbike who cares if Labeouf screams 'Bumblebee' once too often? There is sex appeal and there is quite a high level of amusement throughout, making Transformers two pure entertainment for the family. Maybe not so much for the ladies taste though.

      Alert a moderator

    • catcheeky

      Sep 29th 2009, 14:45

      4

      very good. if u liked the 1st u will like this. not a bad film at all a lot like the first but a few twists.

      Alert a moderator

    • letthewookiewin

      Nov 23rd 2009, 21:54

      2

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      Dec 4th 2009, 22:03

      1

      Abomination ,I thought it would never end.

      Alert a moderator

    • bassthing

      Apr 6th 2010, 9:39

      1

      Awful. There is simply nothing to redeem this film. Where do I begin to describe how thoroughly unpleasant an experience it was to watch this movie! From the very beginning one of the biggest problems is Bays inability to keep the camera static for even a second. The worst example of this is in a scene early on in the movie in which Sam and Mikaela are stood talking to each other in a romantic embrace, this had potential to be a romantic and engaging moment in an otherwise emotionally barren film, however Bay has the camera doing 360 degree whirls all over the place, completely ruining the moment. This is also true for the fights between the robots, when metal meets metal it’s difficult enough half the time to figure out what’s going on, but add Bays ridiculous direction to it and it’s difficult to understand what’s going on most of the time This leads me to another criticism, at times the special effects aren’t so special. There are occasions that the screen was so full of CGI that this film looked a lot like an adequate, but not very exciting, computer game on the PS2. Add to this several other elements such as the film needing editing by at least half an hour, Megan Fox having no purpose apart from to give the boys some eye candy, and the most annoying side kicks since Jar Jar Binks (that’s right Jar Jar has been beaten) and Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen should have stayed down.

      Alert a moderator

    • Smokinator

      Apr 13th 2010, 23:13

      2

      this was a bitter dissapointment and was know where near as good as the first one

      Alert a moderator

    • madrox

      Aug 2nd 2010, 13:55

      3

      Alert a moderator

    • cuddlycutebaby

      Sep 27th 2010, 11:56

      4

      i love the movie Transformer. it was really nice and i am giving it 4 stars. Vigrx Plus

      Alert a moderator

    • cuddlycutebaby

      Oct 4th 2010, 16:54

      Music give me relax so when i feel board i start music. the movie Transformer is a really very good movie. HP Cartridge

      Alert a moderator

    • estar

      Oct 9th 2010, 5:12

      Ugg boots are believed to have been uggs classic short first developed in Australia or New Zealand, although the exact date is uncertain—they have been, at different times, identified with pilots in World War I who are said to have worn them for warmth in unpressurized planes, shearers purple uggs in rural Australia during the 1920s, surfers and competitive swimmers who wore them in the 1960s and 1970s for keeping warm while out of the water. In the early 2000s, they became a fashion trend in the United States, leading to increased global sales.[2]

      Alert a moderator

    • turlington

      Oct 20th 2010, 8:15

      Thanks for sharing. i really appreciate it that you shared with us such a informative post.. International Accreditation Distance learning accreditation University Accreditation

      Alert a moderator

    • wxhwxh

      Oct 21st 2010, 8:16

      christian louboutin buy christian louboutin buying christian louboutin cheap christian louboutin cheaper christian louboutin cheapest christian louboutin discount christian louboutin christian louboutin discounted christian louboutin pumps christian louboutin boots christian louboutin sale christian louboutin sandals christian louboutin shoes christian louboutin shop christian louboutin sling back christian louboutin wedding christian louboutin wedges christian louboutin bridal christian louboutin orsay christian louboutin paquita christian louboutin peep christian louboutin petal christian louboutin pigalle christian louboutin pronounce buy chanel cheap chanel cheapest chanel discount chanel chanel sale chanel bags chanel handbags chanel purse chanel belt chanel wallet chanel shop chanel store chanel designer chanel messenger chanel hobo chanel travel chanel shoulder chanel business chanel 2.55 louis vuitton bags louis vuitton handbags louis vuitton purse louis vuitton wallet louis vuitton belt louis vuitton briefcase louis vuitton travel louis vuitton luggage louis vuitton messeger louis vuitton designer louis vuitton discount louis vuitton sale louis vuitton store louis vuitton stock louis vuitton shop louis vuitton collection buy louis vuitton cheap louis vuitton lv bags lv handbags lv purse lv wallet lv belt discount lv buy gucci cheap gucci cheapest gucci discount gucci gucci sale gucci bags gucci handbags gucci purse gucci belt gucci wallet gucci shop gucci store gucci designer gucci messenger gucci diaper gucci large gucci medium gucci travel gucci shoulder gucci business gucci d gold gucci flap

      Alert a moderator

    • cuddlycutebaby

      Oct 29th 2010, 13:04

      It is a fantastic movie. There are very nice animation effects in it. Many interesting characters such as optimus prime and bumble bee which are really good friends of Sam.

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Nov 19th 2010, 20:05

      great site vigrx plus

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Dec 3rd 2010, 19:27

      http://links2rss.com/feed/899106459.xml

      Alert a moderator

    • truballer2

      Dec 3rd 2010, 19:27

      http://links2rss.com/feed/899106459.xml

      Alert a moderator

    • addsites

      Dec 3rd 2010, 21:33

      The film it was more good than i was expect..Great.I will wait to see the 3rd part! http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/member.php?u=287689

      Alert a moderator

    • addsites

      Dec 3rd 2010, 21:34

      addsite

      Alert a moderator

    • Auston

      Dec 19th 2010, 9:42

      3

      Its really too amazing and awesome movie. I wanna watch this movie again after my itil v3 dumps exams.

      Alert a moderator

    • kenatsa

      Dec 23rd 2010, 16:09

      Great film,one of the best fantasy movies ever,also the main actor play very good the role!Thanks. online forex trading forex trading

      Alert a moderator

    • TonyS

      Dec 28th 2010, 23:39

      4

      Way to bring back a classic. I got flashbacks of the cartoon. Business Loan

      Alert a moderator

    • sakura132

      Jan 13th 2011, 22:15

      menurunkan berat badan cara mengecilkan perut diet golongan darah gemuk diet golongan darah berat badan ideal cara menurunkan berat badan diet menurunkan berat badan cara diet sehat tips diet sehat tips diet diet herbalife indonesia

      Alert a moderator

    • RodneyR12

      Jan 24th 2011, 21:03

      You have a great list of flicks here. Thanks for taking to the to put all this together Merchant Cash Advance.

      Alert a moderator

    • usman100

      Feb 8th 2011, 8:15

      4

      but not very exciting, computer game on the PS2. Add to this several other elements such as the film needing editing by at least half an hour, Megan Fox having no purpose apart from to give the boys some eye candy, and the most annoying side kicks since Jar Jar Binks (that’s right Jar Jar has been beaten) and Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen should have stayed down. 642-971 \ 70-236 \ 1z0-050 \ E20-361

      Alert a moderator

    • lizzy21

      Feb 18th 2011, 8:18

      4

      Just the other day my dad came across my original fishing rod and reel that I had not seen in decades. I guess I got to preoccupied as the years went by to take the time to relax by the river and look back on those early afternoons with papa. I failed to understand it then but, there was a lot of wisdom shared in those days. Austin Dental Implants

      Alert a moderator

    • johnhungry100

      Feb 19th 2011, 6:33

      I have just joined mgm hotel and i like the concept torgoen watches. i think its really helpful for the one who want to know about this traser watch.

      Alert a moderator

    • Arnald

      Feb 25th 2011, 4:42

      Airlines assign prices to their services in phoenix mortgage loans an attempt to maximize profitability. The pricing of cheap blancpain watches airline tickets has become increasingly complicated over the years 1Y0-A09 and is now largely determined by computerized yield management systems. Because of the complications in scheduling flights HP2-E31 and maintaining profitability, airlines have many loopholes that can be used by the knowledgeable traveler. Many of these airfare secrets are becoming more and more known to the general public, so airlines are forced to make constant adjustments.

      Alert a moderator

    • janet21

      Feb 26th 2011, 6:56

      As far as me being a member here, I wasn’t aware that I was a member for any days, actually. When the article was published I received a username and password, so that I could participate in Comments, so perhaps that is it. But we’re certainly all intellectuals. Dog Behavior Tips

      Alert a moderator

    • alison88

      Mar 8th 2011, 16:55

      I thought it was going to be some boring old post, but I'm glad I visited. I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful. Face lift serum

      Alert a moderator

    • glegs

      Mar 10th 2011, 8:21

      1

      Vile garbage. Not tolerable even as a Friday night action movie. Just disgusting.

      Alert a moderator

    • daria25

      Mar 21st 2011, 14:42

      I like very much this movie. Great job with this blog, good luck in the future casino bonus

      Alert a moderator

    • sara532

      Apr 12th 2011, 3:15

      This is really good news today…. - vehicle insurance - car insurance quotes - car hire - car rental - home loan - home loans - loan - loans - car insurance - insurance - stretch mark - stretch marks

      Alert a moderator

    • janet21

      Apr 20th 2011, 8:38

      5

      I admit, I have not been on this webpage in a long time... however it was another joy to see It is such an important topic and ignored by so many, even professionals. I thank you to help making people more aware of possible issues. aggressive dog training

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular