Reviews

Whip It!

4

Juno turns roller grrrrl…

‘Be your own hero’ runs the tagline to Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut.

It could have been ‘Fuck Twilight’. Because while Whip It! is just as much about being the cool outsider and pulling the skinny emo guy as the mega-franchise, it’s so much more vital and fun.

Whip It! isn’t about falling in love forever with a bloke you can’t shag, it’s about falling in love right now, with a bloke you can shag. It’s not about giving up your formative years, it’s about embracing them, making mistakes, finding a balance. And it’s about fighting on skates.

Bliss Cavendar (Ellen Page – channelling Juno minus the smugness) is an indie-kid 17-year-old in small-town Texas, who reluctantly enters beauty pageants to please her mother (Marcia Gay Harden – spiky but sympathetic). But when Bliss and best friend Pash (Alia Shawkat) sneak out to a roller derby bout, Bliss is smitten with what she sees, hears and feels. She joins the Hurl Scouts, becomes ‘Babe Ruthless’ and meets band leader Ollie (Landon Pigg). But her double life can’t last...

Part underdog sports flick, part coming-of-ager, Whip It! trades on familiar formulaics, yet Shauna Cross’ smart script (based on her novel) keeps things fresh and funny. Using up to seven referees at once, roller derby’s a hard sport for newbies to follow; still, girls in fishnets and war paint shoving each other about will appeal to both genders.

The romance between Bliss and Ollie is sweet and believable, but with the exception of the excellent Kristen Wiig as Maggie Mayhem the movie skates over backstory for most of the Hurl Scouts, including Barrymore herself (as Smashley Simpson), who mostly guffaws and punches people.

Yet Whip It! is so passionate, so positive and, yes, empowering, it’s hard not to fall for. It might even make you want to get skates and have a go yourself. And at least roller derby won’t bugger off to another country if you get a paper cut.
 

Verdict:

Barrymore’s debut is a blazing coming-of-ager for alt girls. Confusing derby scenes mean it struggles as a sports film, but Twi-sceptics should love it.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 9:37

      4

      Hrmm that was weird, my comment got eaten. Anyway I wanted to say that it's nice to know that someone else also mentioned this as I had trouble finding the same info elsewhere. This was the first place that told me the answer. Thanks. affordable degree AND degrees by mail AND fast degree

      Alert a moderator

    • rashood23

      Dec 3rd 2010, 9:38

      4

      Great post, I have to agree with that this is so Hot & perfect. Thanks you so much. But i prefer more information about this topic. online diploma AND free diploma

      Alert a moderator

    • ennalewis2

      Dec 11th 2010, 15:19

      5

      The best part of this review is "Using up to seven referees at once, roller derby’s a hard sport for newbies to follow; still, girls in fishnets and war paint shoving each other about will appeal to both genders. " renamer

      Alert a moderator

    • kanderson3454

      Dec 14th 2010, 2:05

      4

      I love this movie. Two thumbs up.:) semenax

      Alert a moderator

    • tomassmith

      Dec 25th 2010, 20:02

      4

      Congratulations on a well written, interesting and superb blog! Where else could anyone get this kind of information in such a clearly presented way?! I genuinely like the way you have expressed this. Obviously the clarity of your writing comes from the topic being close to your heart; And you’re clearly significantly more studied/experienced in this than most who have written about it recently. Remarkable post and I really look forward to your future thoughts. I’m curious as to how long you’ve been researching this? I mean it, you have so much knowledge and passion about this issue. I also like your underlying ability to influence your reader into rallying behind your thoughts. You've got a great structure here that's not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what you're saying. Love it. In regard to substance, your piece of writing is solid, grammatically correct and informative. I tend to agree with most of what you’re saying. I’m going to subscribe to the rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Thanks again, and good luck in your business efforts! Government Business Loans

      Alert a moderator

    • 24one

      Jan 12th 2011, 12:59

      Very very impressive movie. It showcases the real capacities of a woman in One24

      Alert a moderator

    • Nelson321

      Jan 13th 2011, 18:30

      5

      The post was perfectly marvelous! A lots of outstanding data & inspiration, both of which we all demand! If possible, as you increase expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is extremely helpful for me. You can't say you how much I appreciate all you do. breville bov800xl

      Alert a moderator

    • cassylady23

      Jan 18th 2011, 3:04

      This was a spectacular article and I really thought this was a great movie. I think this is really awesome. I love this awesome website. Thanks Cassidy Denson - Hard Disk Data Recovery Expert

      Alert a moderator

    • trina21jackson

      Feb 9th 2011, 7:11

      This is a very cool movie. With a lot values learned and I enjoy watching it. nono hair removal

      Alert a moderator

    • mandela011

      Feb 16th 2011, 12:54

      yes , its quite good to give people some positive inspiration to advice them to be their own hero. Auto Insurance Quotes

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 16th 2011, 15:29

      5

      Excellent post.The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me.keep up the good work Online Printing Services

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 18th 2011, 7:49

      There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also. Car Leasing

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 18th 2011, 7:49

      Useful information shared.I am very happy to read this article.thanks for giving us nice info.Fantastic walk-through. I appreciate this post.Thanks Pajama Jeans

      Alert a moderator

    • Sheeelashela

      Feb 18th 2011, 8:35

      4

      The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post. Now you make it easy for me to understand and implement the concept. Thank you for the post. love messages

      Alert a moderator

    • foxmartin321

      Feb 19th 2011, 15:46

      5

      I really learn a lot of good things in this blog and I am sharing it with my friends who are searching similar type of information from a lot of days. Hope so this post will be very helpful for everyone. great essays

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 19th 2011, 17:39

      It is such an interesting thing having this post of yours. I was interested with the topic as well as the flow of the story. Keep up doing this. NY Criminal Lawyer

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 20th 2011, 13:57

      This is a very cool movie. With a lot values learned and I enjoy watching it pallet service Amtico flooring jaguar service

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 20th 2011, 14:00

      5

      The post was perfectly marvelous! A lots of outstanding data & inspiration, both of which we all demand! After colour treatments electric mobility sc****rs computer recycling

      Alert a moderator

    • Fisherman011

      Feb 21st 2011, 15:26

      5

      Electric utility stocks and their dividend feature is great for retirement plans and a conservative way to play the recovery of the economy in a regular investment account. Loan Modification

      Alert a moderator

    • vijaysbhagat

      Feb 21st 2011, 16:43

      This was a spectacular article and I really thought this was a great movie. I think this is really awesome. I love this awesome website. Thanks honda cbr250 manual

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 21st 2011, 19:10

      5

      This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article. bunk beds

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 21st 2011, 19:11

      5

      This was a spectacular article and I really thought this was a great movie. I think this is really awesome. I love this awesome website real estate internet marketing

      Alert a moderator

    • brianjohnson

      Feb 22nd 2011, 1:47

      This would be another movie hit that will surely rock cinemas. Drew Barrymore is a famous actress and surely, many are waiting to see her new movie. doctorate in psychology

      Alert a moderator

    • Gemsonline

      Feb 22nd 2011, 7:48

      5

      I would like to appreciate the great work done by You,Please continue posting like this..Lasix

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 23rd 2011, 19:23

      This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article. motorcycle jackets

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 23rd 2011, 19:23

      I'am very much impressed with what you had to say.. keep up the good work.. NY Bankruptcy Attorney

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 25th 2011, 19:32

      You got a really useful blog I have been here reading for about an hour. I am a newbie and your success is very much an inspiration for me. electric fence for dogs underground dog fence

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 25th 2011, 22:18

      Thank you for another great article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect way of presentation. Internet TV Free chicago photographers

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Feb 27th 2011, 6:34

      I seriously enjoy just reading all of your blogs. Just wanted to tell you that you have folks like me who value your work. local business seo

      Alert a moderator

    • trina21jackson

      Feb 27th 2011, 13:14

      This is a great review about the movie. I love this movie. car insurance

      Alert a moderator

    • trina21jackson

      Feb 27th 2011, 13:16

      Actually, I watched it for three times. Thank you for sharing the review here. unsecured loans

      Alert a moderator

    • vijaysbhagat

      Mar 3rd 2011, 10:06

      Excellent post.The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me.keep up the good workPortable dvd player

      Alert a moderator

    • jessy

      Mar 3rd 2011, 12:40

      The only thing that keeps Barrymore's effort from playing like an American Movie Classics rerun is the soundtrack, an alternarock all-skate to which Juno's Ellen Page goes 'round and 'round an Austin, Texas, roller-derby rink during her rather sudden rise from klutz-on-wheels to girl-power poster child. prevent premature ejaculation

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 3rd 2011, 15:11

      5

      Great post, I have to agree with that this is so Hot & perfect. Thanks you so much. But i prefer more information about this topic. Mercedes Car Leasing

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 3rd 2011, 15:13

      5

      Excellent post.The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me.keep up the good work The Truth About Six Pack Abs

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 5th 2011, 10:20

      Excellent post.The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me.keep up the good work web hosting web design

      Alert a moderator

    • arieboy

      Mar 6th 2011, 12:36

      Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is extremely helpful for me. 48hourbizsites bpkc

      Alert a moderator

    • jackzdonaldson

      Mar 9th 2011, 2:21

      Whip it was a pretty good movie. To be honest, I thought it wasn't gonna be all that great at first, but after seeing the ladies really get to it when they're skating, it turned out to be pretty decent. natural fertility treatments

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 9th 2011, 11:11

      Excellent post.The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me.keep up the good work baby shower invitations

      Alert a moderator

    • SarahAnderson

      Mar 9th 2011, 15:45

      I saw this movie and thought it was pretty good. The fact that they shot some parts of the movie in places I have been or seen was pretty cool, and Ellen Page did a great job as usual. Sarah likes free Turbo Tax 2011

      Alert a moderator

    • jfinguy

      Mar 10th 2011, 21:50

      It's a fun film but it does get bogged down a bit in the 2nd act. Private placement, Go Public, IPO (Initial Public Investment).

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 13th 2011, 11:51

      The post was perfectly marvelous! A lots of outstanding data & inspiration, both of which we all demand! okk spindle repair

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 16th 2011, 12:19

      5

      I really love the way information is presented in your post. I have added you in my social bookmark. Cheers. presbycusis

      Alert a moderator

    • filano

      Mar 16th 2011, 16:51

      I really thought this was a great movie. I think this is really awesome. I love this awesome website Football X Sports Wallpapers HD

      Alert a moderator

    • vijaysbhagat

      Mar 17th 2011, 8:01

      This is a good post. This post gives truly quality information. I’m North York Real Estate definitely going to look into it. Really very useful tips are provided here. Thanks you so much. Keep up the good works

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Mar 22nd 2011, 20:47

      This is a very cool movie. With a lot values learned and I enjoy watching it. nono hair removal Tienda virtual Norinse Body Bath

      Alert a moderator

    • filano

      Mar 24th 2011, 5:01

      I saw this movie and thought it was pretty good.I have to agree with that this is so Hot & perfect. Thanks you so much. But i prefer more information about this topic. Lhasa Apso Wallpaper

      Alert a moderator

    • filano

      Mar 28th 2011, 14:58

      I enjoy watching it. nono hair removal Tienda virtual Norinse Body Bath Football X

      Alert a moderator

    • liftchairs

      Mar 29th 2011, 13:52

      It is a thoroughly likable and endlessly entertaining picture, and its befuddling box office failure is one of the most depressing movie business stories in recent memory. It is also funny and warm movie. lift chairs

      Alert a moderator

    • rock11

      Apr 1st 2011, 22:17

      Excellent post.The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me.keep up the good work baby shower invitations whole life insurance quotes

      Alert a moderator

    • hkabir08

      Jun 2nd 2011, 7:16

      This is a very useful post.I think it will be helpful for us. Costume sexy infirmiere costume sexy policiere costume ecoliere sexy

      Alert a moderator

    • prince01960

      Jun 20th 2011, 13:53

      This information is very interesting, I really enjoyed, I would like get more information about this, because is very beautiful, thanks for sharing! Bunn Coffee Makers

      Alert a moderator

    • vijaysbhagat

      Jul 26th 2011, 17:59

      The post was perfectly marvelous! A lots of outstanding data & registry cleaner inspiration, both of which we all demand! If possible, as you increase expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is extremely helpful for me. You can't say you how much I appreciate all you do.

      Alert a moderator

    • ssunnsan

      Dec 25th 2011, 19:56

      subway coupons

      Alert a moderator

    • faamtu09

      Dec 31st 2011, 20:02

      1

      Excellent information to many people like to read articles to learn about these issues of great interest.Oups... my blog disappeared from Les Explorers list ; )So many people leave a coment in your blog, For this we can know that your blog is very Wonderful,Cheers for your performance, I hope you continue to post such good articles. ..... ipad 2 flash player ipad 2 flash flash player for ipad 2

      Alert a moderator

    • FBZZics

      May 16th 2012, 23:26

      4

      Im impressed, I must say. Very rarely do I come across a site thats both informative and entertaining, and let me tell you, youve hit the nail on the head. Your site is important; the issue is something that not enough people are talking intelligently about. Im really happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this issue. mineral rights gas leasing

      Alert a moderator

    • FBZZics

      May 16th 2012, 23:27

      5

      Awesome blog. I enjoyed reading your articles. This is truly a great read for me. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- http://mineralrightsgroup.com/

      Alert a moderator