Reviews

Wrath Of The Titans

4

Makes Clash look two-dimensional

If studio sequels operate by the law of diminishing returns, then Wrath Of The Titans is the rule-proving exception.

Of course, it helps that the 2010 remake of beloved 1981 fantasy adventure Clash Of The Titans set the bar lamentably low. Fortunately, its $493m gross allowed Sam Worthington & Co another go; this time, they don’t disappoint.

Set 10 years after events of the original, demi-god Perseus (Worthington) is pressed into rescuing father Zeus (Liam Neeson), who’s been kidnapped by brother Hades (Ralph Fiennes).

Making a pact with giant CG-monster Kronos, the father they long ago incarcerated in Tartarus, “great prison of the Underworld”, Hades has been promised immortality – but only if he imprisons Zeus so the Titan leader can feed off his son’s powers and escape his fiery jail.

Underused in Clash, Neeson and Fiennes get far more face time here, with the added pleasure of Carlos star Édgar Ramírez (as Ares, Zeus’ godly son, who sides with Hades) chewing serious furniture with them.

Perseus, meanwhile, calls upon Andromeda (Rosamund Pike), no longer a Kraken-fearing damsel in distress but a rock-hard warrior queen, as they search for Tartarus. Newcomer Pike proves a gutsier Andromeda than previous actress Alexa Davalos was allowed to be.

Toby Kebbell, along for the ride as Perseus’ cousin, Agenor, adds a much-needed light touch (even if he’s saddled with lines like “I thought I’d give them an eyeful” when a Cyclops attacks).

Only a misfiring Bill Nighy baffles as “fallen” god Hephaestus, his eh-oop accent and hirsute look making him appear like the love-child of Brian Glover and Catweazle.

With Battle Los Angeles’ Jonathan Liebesman replacing Clash Of The Titans’ Louis Leterrier, Wrath learns from so many of the 2010 film’s mistakes, not least beefing up the father-son emotions (Perseus is now a father, while Ares suffers from serious daddy issues).

As for the visuals, Tartarus looks splendid, and from the early moment when the camera dives through the rocks and lava to take us there, the 3D has been vastly improved. Some of the set-pieces are also breath-snatching – notably the rotating labyrinth Perseus and pals must navigate.

Liberated from having to release the Kraken, the film’s parade of monsters also thrills (particularly Kronos). As Zeus says, “Let’s have some fun.” And Wrath certainly manages that.

Verdict:

Leaner, meaner, and far superior to 2010’s Clash cock-up. From top-grade 3D to a multitude of monsters and a welcome influx of acting talent, this is pure popcorn pleasure.

Film Details

User Reviews

    • Trickycustomer

      Mar 29th 2012, 15:51

      Four stars? i didnt see that one coming! Worth a look then....

      Alert a moderator

    • Mings

      Mar 29th 2012, 22:35

      I actually quite enjoyed the first one. I know it's not a popular opinion, but as post-pub fodder I thought it was pretty good. I think I would have been a little more negative had I paid to go to the cinema though, given the general slating it got and the apparently rubbish 3D. A certain other well known cinema site only gives Wrath two stars, but I couldn't help but feel that the reviewer was leaping onto the 'let's slate a franchise' bandwagon, so I'm pleased that TF sees the value in entertainment, and doesn't get too bogged down in 'the language of cinema' and all that cobblers.

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisWootton

      Mar 30th 2012, 10:00

      Hmmm.. not so sure about four stars, but.. I haven't seen it so you never know. I've read that the script is beyond terrible and the accents all over the place (not really touched upon by TF) and that the 3D is again post conversion. Surely it can't be THAT difficult to make a movie with both spectacular effects and a decent enjoyable script?

      Alert a moderator

    • piffle

      Mar 30th 2012, 11:41

      I was generally pretty stunned by four stars here, not expecting much after the po-faced and dull remake. Looking at Metacritic though, TF is vastly in the minority on this one with the movie sitting at an aggregate of 38 precent. I'll reserve judgement until I see the movie but I have a funny feeling Total Film hasn't quite hit the mark here.

      Alert a moderator

    • FBRSimpson

      Mar 30th 2012, 17:50

      A mess of a film, not sure TF watched the same Wrath of the Titans as everyone else. Its not entertaining, its boring, and above all its badly made. For a film with such a good cast to fail on near enough every level is inexcusable.

      Alert a moderator

    • Ali1748

      Mar 30th 2012, 18:20

      The first one was horrible but the sequel looks enjoyable. I don't trust Helen O'hara's empire review.

      Alert a moderator

    • mgkoeln

      Mar 31st 2012, 16:22

      Oh my... seems like the infamous "Transformers 2" review just got a successor... Wrath is actually a total bore as it doesn't spend a second on trying to make its characters likable. So, I couldn't care less, who was threatened by which noisy CGI creature.

      Alert a moderator

    • Mattsimus

      Mar 31st 2012, 20:53

      Havnt seen this yet and was hopful that it would get 4 stars, but now its got four stars I dont really trust it!!! Ive finally got over revenge of the fallen recieving 4 stars and it stinking!!!.................I really enjoyed both clash of the titans, argonaughts and thought Immortals was alright......ya know what even Percy jackson was ok! hahahahaha (Yes I have a thing for greek mythology).....Im looking forward to seeing this but im realistic and beleive it will be a visual treat and thats it but you know what thats fine with me!!!...............XMX

      Alert a moderator

    • moviemind91

      Mar 31st 2012, 22:48

      Okay...how much did Johnathan Liebesman pay Total Film to give his movie a four star review??...

      Alert a moderator

    • demmike

      Apr 1st 2012, 12:32

      @moviemind91 you're right - it sucked. 4 stars it certainly ain't!! But come on, is this a surprise? They gave Terminator Salvation 4 stars!!!

      Alert a moderator

    • chrysler

      Apr 1st 2012, 22:32

      Saw the first one in the cinema & it left me scarred. I think ill wait until this is on TV and even then...... @TKoC, for future reference you should compare films in a series to the Gold-standard rather than the worst available option. It will make your argument more valid. Using the terminator film series as an example,Terminator Salvation is ok as an action film, but in comparison to T2 its is a pretty poor sequel. However in comparison to the dire T3 it is a revelation in film making!!! Do you get my meaning?!

      Alert a moderator

    • moviemind91

      Apr 1st 2012, 23:02

      @TheKingofCinema...No I haven't seen the film BUT I have read all the reviews and it's been getting a very negative response. With Total Film being most of the time right about films this seems a bit of a shock.

      Alert a moderator

    • Chufferstud

      Apr 1st 2012, 23:14

      3

      Just come back from watching the film (so justified in my opinion) and it is not four star! It has it's moments and looks amazing, but does plod along at times. The best character is Ares, who shows why he is the god of war. Bill Nighy is shocking and don't get me started on the various accents Sam Worthington goes through! So would be two star, but dragged to three with its vision and CGI. Oh, better 3D, must compliment that!

      Alert a moderator

    • chrysler

      Apr 1st 2012, 23:26

      Im sorry TKoC, Im not sure you do get what Im saying. I didn't mean to get into a debate about the merits of the different terminator films. That was just an example. What I was trying to impart was that in the future your argument would be more valid if you compared a film in a series to the best film in that series rather than the most recent or worst. So when arguing the merits of Salvation, it should be compared to T2, not T3. This too is just an example.

      Alert a moderator

    • bencobra

      Apr 2nd 2012, 16:34

      This is easily the worst film I have seen at the cinema this year. The dialogue was worse than the first one. It has got to be one of the most pointless sequels ever made.

      Alert a moderator

    • LSJShez

      Apr 2nd 2012, 21:09

      4 stars meaning very good. I've seen better 3 star films than this one. Notable only for Toby Kebbell sporting the best shouldn't-really-be-there teeth fillings since Christopher Reeve's Superman screamed for Lois and turned back time.

      Alert a moderator

    • writerdave87

      Apr 2nd 2012, 22:17

      'Do you know what Joel Kinnaman?. you can go f**k yourself with this RoboCop remake because its going to be s**t ok. :)' - Dalidab, you guessed it, judging a film before he's seen it. Like he does all. The. Time. General consensus is that this is utter toss, I threw away money seeing the first one in the cinema, won't be doing so again.

      Alert a moderator

    • MoodyMonkey

      Apr 3rd 2012, 14:20

      @Dalidab you cant say in the same fecking sentence to not judge a film you haven't seen and then slag off 2 films we know next to nothing about. remember the flame wars that erupted over x-men first class only for it to turn out to be pretty decent? anyway i dont like the look of this one and the consensus seems to be that its not too good. maybe its a guilty pleasure but i aint spending money to see it in 3D at 15 quid a pop (i'll wait for it to appear on netflix). if you enjoyed it Dalidab, good for you but i judged it on the p**s poor first film and the other reviews i've seen...

      Alert a moderator

    • smellyhands

      Apr 3rd 2012, 18:07

      Guys. I've come to realise that trying to explain logic to TheKingofCinema is pointless. If he was a Borg he would be saying "Explanation is futile". The first film was cack. The trailer for this film made it look enjoyable. Judging from all other reviews 4 stars seems generous.

      Alert a moderator

    • writerdave87

      Apr 3rd 2012, 19:00

      I'm judging 'wrath' by the fact that I wasn't really a fan of the first and that everyone who's seen it apart from the TF reviewer and you says it's boring pap. I actually quite liked the trailer for the Total Recall remake, I thought it actually looked much closer to the Phillip K Dick universe I always had in my mind's eye than the Arnie film did. I'd love it if it was good just in different ways. Am I worried about Len Wiseman? Yeah I am a bit, he's not a great director. But you're running around slobbering and snotting all over the place in totally irrational hatred flinging your toys out of your pram like a developmentally challenged toddler on crack, and you like Paul WS Anderson films. Next to that talentless hack, Wiseman is bloody Coppolla.

      Alert a moderator

    • JacksSR

      Apr 3rd 2012, 19:52

      The first film was terrible but against my better judgement I was looking forward to seeing this after reading TF's review and seeing the trailer. What a jip! This is categorically not a 4 star movie. The story is noticeably un-epic, it involves only a few characters and rushes to its conclusion. The characters are all one-note with little or no justification for their actions. Bill Nighy's brief and painfully mis-judged appearance as Hephaestus recalls unhappy memories of Michael Sheen in Tron: Evolution. As for the labyrinth sequence, it's all over in a jiffy and leaves you wondering 'was that really it'? Hephaestus talks about the maze having a thousand doors and being so difficult that you have to conquer your worst fears to pass through it but 5 minutes and it's all over and done with. This is undoubtedly better than the god-awful first film, but like the first film it is still a 2nd rate hack job.

      Alert a moderator

    • NickyC

      Apr 4th 2012, 11:23

      2

      THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR FILM! It's a 2 STAR film. Disregard this review because it's talking BOLLOCKS! The 3D is not top grade (it was rumoured that it would be native 3D, but it's another conversion and not the best either), the acting talent has nothing to do because the script is diabolical. Most of the considerable cast look uncomfortable and half of them phone it in. Pike is surprisingly c**p considering how good she was in Barney's version. Nighy seems to be in panto mode. The Minotaur scene is pointless and is part of Theseus' story, not Perseus. The FX are AMAZING but fruitless under the weight of so much dross. There's no sense of adventure or quest which Clash did at least get right. Mind you, considering how unwatchable Battle Los Angeles is I really don't know what I was expecting. To put it into plain context I would rather watch Transformers 2 again than this.

      Alert a moderator

    • LSJShez

      Apr 5th 2012, 20:28

      I'm not sure why they keep hanging these big films on Worthington anyway. I know it all starts with the script, then it's the director that's to craft it, but the guy has no charisma whatsoever. I wasn't really rooting for him at all. Even Neeson and the other big hitters didn't seem once bitten twice shy; after the first one, they should've told em where to shove this film. A total waste for everyone involved, including me.

      Alert a moderator

    • aragorn01

      Apr 8th 2012, 14:44

      as much as i did too enjoy this sequel (not necessarily more than the first one, though), i do think 4 stars is way generous for it. the monsters are more exciting than the ones in Clash, so are the cast members (the new ones). i just feel that it coulda used more character moments for both the humans and monsters. just a lil backstory bit for some of the new characters.

      Alert a moderator

    • aragorn01

      Apr 8th 2012, 14:46

      oh...and lemme add: ROSAMUND PIKE should play SUSAN STORM, in the Fantastic Four reboot. she's the ONLY actress for the job. seriously....

      Alert a moderator

    • ChrisWootton

      Apr 10th 2012, 14:47

      I think after the box office disaster of both John Carter and Tron Legacy, I'd be very surprised to see Tron 3 released at all. Don't believe everything you read.. oh, too late.

      Alert a moderator

    • MoodyMonkey

      Apr 11th 2012, 13:30

      Luke Goss = straight to video. if Tron 3 is happening thats probably the best option for Disney. those stars dont come cheap... and can someone please explain what is 4D cinema? i always thought it was some machine farting unconvincing wind and rain effects at me while im trying to watch a 3D movie...

      Alert a moderator

    • MoodyMonkey

      Apr 11th 2012, 20:58

      @Dalidab cant you say anything without being insulting and/or swearing at people? i actually think Goss is underrated and was the best thing in Blade 2 but he stars in DTV s**te most of the time (Tekken anyone?) you are free to have your opinions and so am i just dont be such a dick about it ok? and we are laughing at you, not with you. LMFAO IMHO :)

      Alert a moderator

    • MoodyMonkey

      Apr 12th 2012, 9:28

      Thanks for being big enough to apologise and i also apologise for the way i come across sometimes. im a big enough and old enough guy to let it slide but PLEASE just try and remember that you really have no idea who the other person is who you are talking to like that and you could really hurt somebody's feelings. i think you take whats said to you far too personally, just step back dude! as for 4D, I personally feel it would draw me out rather than into a film. Peace.

      Alert a moderator

    • Chufferstud

      Apr 12th 2012, 13:33

      I think @TheKingofCinema's epitaph will read "IMHO, I don't think I have died, I am part of the Matrix, which btw would have been so much better with Luke Goss as Neo, LOL, TTFN" His comments do make me laugh :)

      Alert a moderator

    • FBIStevely

      Apr 14th 2012, 9:47

      1

      Did not like the first one. And the 2nd i thought how could they make it any worse and they did. 4 stars is a joke for this. All they had to do it get a couch, a lie detector test to see if Zeus really loved his bro and son and Jeremy Kyle and would of saved me 2hrs of my life. Shocking move and shocking rating.

      Alert a moderator

    • SixStepSamurai

      Apr 15th 2012, 2:23

      I bet when they revew this film on DVD/BluRay in a couple of months time, it will get a 2* rating.

      Alert a moderator

    • filmfreak2

      Apr 15th 2012, 14:29

      great film, for me the best one in this year if you miss the theater you can watch it online in HD at www.safewatch.tk/ enjoy,,,

      Alert a moderator

    • ProjectJames

      Jun 19th 2012, 19:11

      5

      The 3D was incredible, the depth and the pop out moments. The only issue I have with the film is the video game like soundtrack, it was nowhere near as epic as it was in Clash. But, Wrath Of The Titans delivers mind blowing effects and a legion of terrifying creatures!

      Alert a moderator

Most Popular